Rockwall, TX 
Harry Myers DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 199ft.   3 / 199ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Blue Tee



Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Sweetness

5+    3/7/2009   3/7/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good course with TONS of different shots. Short and longs on pads on most holes. A good mix of tight fairways and open shots. This course will test everything you have in your bag and then some. You will need everything from rollers to thumbers and everything in between. Great tee signs and baskets. The pads are good as well. Must be consistent off of the pad and on up shots as well to score well. A big arm is a big plus especially from the longs. Not any places to lose plastic is a plus too. Pretty east to follow except for 3 and 8. You really get rewarded for good shots and punished for bad ones when you are in the rough.
Cons: Holes 3 and 8 can be confusing for someone that hasnt played before(you see 8's basket from the tee). The criss cross of the fairway after 8 is crazy too. A little trimming around some of the baskets and a couple of fairways would be nice too. Other then that, not much except poison ivy and snakes during the hotter months.
Other Thoughts: Park and playground nearby for the family to hang out. Fun and worth the drive!!

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Top of the List

5+    1/10/2009   2/8/2009
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 177  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/8/2013
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Houk had A good time on this one,variety of shots needed to shoot well,Ties Houks other course in Mckinney for best signage,very nice low rolling valley the course flows thru.If your wondering if you are at pro level try battling all longs here.Playing mixed tees here is the best eighteen of hardcore Disc you can put yourself through in the metroplex hands down.Two of the longest holes in DFW reside here.
Cons: On windy days you'll definately feel it on the back half.Not alot of trash cans.I have seen lost discs on eighteen going hyzer over the basket deep into the woods or (snake)pond.A few short holes that are a little dull towards the end.
Other Thoughts: If I had to do a top five best DFW holes countdown Hole three here is one of them,Z Boaz,Gateway an Crossroads of Life and Veterans the only comparisons to this beast of a park. .

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Worth It!

1    11/8/2008   1/13/2009
Review By: zwturner
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Everything you would want for a tricky course is offered at this course. Woods, tricky holes,easy holes, and great scenery is just a taste of what is provided. Played this course for my first round of disc golf ever and enjoyed every bit of it.
Cons: The only thing i can honestly think of is maybe updating the hole info at the tee area.
Other Thoughts: Worth playing and well deserved of the #17 rating it has on the top courses and could very well be higher rating.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Top Notch!

5+    8/1/2008   10/31/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10.3 Years
23 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful city park that's always well groomed, has nice/clean restrooms, water fountains, and a small water park for kids. The City of Rockwall puts a lot of man hours into keeping this park clean, and the large number of people there on an average weekend shows the results of those efforts.

The course was designed by John Houck, so you know it's going to be challenging...and hole 1 starts off with a big challenge. The basket for this hole sits on a steep incline leading to a small creek - very beautiful, but treacherous. Holes 2 and 3 are long (#3 is the definition of "epic"), 4 - 8 are all short/tight/technical midrange distance shots. Hole 9 offers another big challenge with its tight, up-and-down, winding tunnel lined with thick woods leading up to an elevated basket. Holes 10-11 are mostly flat with some very slight elevation changes, but both have narrow fairways lined with trees. 12-15 are all birdieable, and although each is unique, these feel a little like "filler" holes compared to the signature holes early on. 16 is another bomber - uphill through a fairway dotted with evergreen trees with OB fence on the left. 17 is a giant, wide-open par 5 that utilizes an imaginary OB line marked by a series of trees...pretty difficult from the long tees, but a little gimmicky to me. 18 is a simple hyzer with another sloped green, this time heading towards thick underbrush.

All in all the design is very challenging from both sets of tees...though the longs do offer significantly more challenge on most holes. Houck did a great job of utilizing all the unique landscape features in the park, and most of the holes really make you think before you throw.

New Discatchers on every hole, most have 2 sets of tees (all concrete), and each tee has a very nice sign.
Cons: Many of the holes will probably be overwhelming for new players.

The sign for #3 makes it looks lot shorter than it actuall is, which confused me the first time through. Also, the walk from Hole 8 to Hole 9 crosses the fairway for Hole 3...though the area is open enough that being hit isn't really a concern.

Some of the schule is very thick and difficult to recover from - for me, this isn't necessarilly a con but to some it could be.

I've heard some complaints about the wind at this park...but personally I've never felt it was stronger here than anywhere else in Rockwall. In my opinion, wind is a part of the game...so you just have to deal with it.
Other Thoughts: The first time I played Harry Myers I was blown away...it offers some truly unique holes: 1,2,3,9....especially 3 (I could play that hole all day). After playing several more rounds, I realized that some of the holes pale in comparison to the others. Should Houck have "toned down" the signature holes to make the others seem better? Absolutely not! The signature holes make this course...and the rest are all very solid, just don't make me feel any excitement like the others.

From what I've heard, the City of Rockwall has been very pleased with the course and is already making plans for more. Considering the amount of resources they have available, Rockwall could really make a name for itself in the Disc Golf community with more courses like Harry Myers DGC.

23 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 love this course

5+    10/29/2008   10/31/2008
Review By: tstockt
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/8/2008
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very challenging. It requires a large variety of shots to shoot par. The mix of par 3's, 4's, and 5's keeps most of my discs busy. #3 is a little tricky. The sign says it veers right but the dog leg is almost 90 degrees to the right. It is a very long hole, as is 17. The group that I play with refers to holes 5-7 as the Ho Chi Mihn Trail. You can add a lot of strokes on these three holes. #9 takes you back through the woods once again. If you play during the week, it is seldom crowded. I try and play this course a few times a week. The park is very clean and has water fountains and restrooms near the first tees. This is the best course I have played in the area. The city of Rockwall has now gone out and put up at least one new sign per hole and two or three on the tricky holes. There is now no way to get confused or not know where the baskets are located. Kudos to the city for spending the money to put up these new signs. Hopefully the new lakeside park will be completed soon and Rockwall will become the premiere location for disc golf in the metroplex.
Cons: If you don't get out early on the weekends it can get crowded fast. I have had to wait behind groups of 5-7 teenagers a couple times. Most people are very courteous and will be happy to waive you through. Some people have complained about poison ivy. I do see where it could be a major problem but I have been really deep into the woods and have never gotten a single outbreak. I am very allergic to it so if I got into it, I would know.
Other Thoughts: I throw a roller off the tee on #'s 2, 13. I consider myself a decent beginner. I have played this course many times, always from the red tees, and have shot 63 one time. I average 69. If you can make the trip out to Rockwall I highly recommend this track. Happy throwing.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 stunning

1    9/18/2008   9/18/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.3 Years
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long, professional level design stressing power and accuracy, along with placement shots. Many par 4's and a par 5. Water hazard. Different types of terrain including gentle hills, a bowl shaped valley, a jungle, lines of cedar trees on a grassy hill, etc. Beautiful land. Dual cement tees on half the holes. Dual tee signs as well, bathroom and ample parking.
Cons: I'm surprised no one pointed out the major con of poison ivy. There is so much here, I landed in it 9 times in one round, playing very well. If you are allergic, you should skip 1/3 of the holes, be very cautious on the rest.
It can be tough to find a few tee pads, there are no indicators.
Hole #3 was mega-confusing. It didn't seem to match the tee-sign, and you had to play 800' up before you can see it or where it may be.
Other Thoughts: The poison ivy is at an outrageous level, even growing directly below a basket on hole #6.

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging course, above average for DFW, but still some fundamental problems.

5+    8/5/2008   8/5/2008
Review By: t i m
Played: 214  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 17.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2008
19 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a couple of the best holes in the state. As have been mentioned before, holes 2 and 3 -- especially from the longs -- are awesome, memorable, challenging beautiful holes.

The teesigns are great, two concrete teepads on most holes is a plus. The longs play harder than probably any other course in the DFW area, which is good, because DFW needed some courses that are closer to blue/gold level to challenge players to expand their game.

The mix of wooded and open holes is good. It has above average elevation changes for a Texas course. Mix of short and long holes, with everything from deuce-or-die shots to a true par 5 (hole 3 long) that requires accuracy, distance and placement.
Cons: Other people have mentioned the drainage problems, so I won't go into those -- they are a problem, but the four times I've been to the course (in winter, fall and early-spring) drainage hasn't been a big problem -- certainly no worse than other courses in the area (better in many cases). So that's partially a tolerance thing. Do I wish the course was dry and friendly -- yes -- but can I live with some swampy areas on the course -- yes. Just don't bring your best shoes and keep an extra towel on you and you'll be fine. However, the basket for hole 1 is in desperate need of moving a little away from the water because the slope is so unforgiving that it eats a lot of discs on what were great throws. Bad luck should not consistently cost players a disc -- even when they throw safe shots -- yet this hole does.

The bigger problems I have with the course -- that keep it from getting a higher rating -- are that a lot of the back of the course just gets a little laborious and doesn't force enough different throws. The back nine is more of a traditional "Texas"-stereotype course -- big hyzer backhands will get you everywhere it doesn't force players to really improve their games or their shot selection.

My pet peeve on the course is the horribly-marked OB on hole 17. The signage shows a row of planted trees that are the OB-line. Yet the hole has 20-30 trees in several lines (you can connect the trees in at least a dozen different lines), and it is impossible to tell from the signage what was intended by the course designer. This makes a huge difference in strategy for playing the hole. I think the artificially marked OB is a great idea in making the hole more of a risk/reward shot, but if you are going to do that, you MUST mark the OB trees clearly or you just cause innumerable headaches for every group who tries to play the hole.
Other Thoughts: I feel like I'm echoing a lot of existing sentiments, but I figure the repetition is worth hearing for people interested in playing the course -- and hopefully for the parks people and folks who maintain the course as well.

For people interested in playing the course, it is worth the drive out to Rockwall, and the course does have some very memorable shots. I am usually a fan of playing the longest, hardest layouts possible on a course, but in the case of Harry Myers, I would change my recommendation: play the shorts and you'll be much happier (except maybe holes 1,2,3 -- play those long). The shorts flow better and are less mentally taxing than the longs and really make for a much more fun day of golf.

For most players, the longs will just be frustrating because with the exception of a couple of holes, the longs are just far enough and open enough that shot selection becomes nonexistant: you just take your biggest driver and bomb it RHBH and then go for the lay-up par-3. That's just a silly way to play golf and lessens the joy and beauty of the game.

Play the shorts where your shot selection still has to be careful, but where control and placement off the teebox at least comes a little more into play. The longs have some great potential to spread out the pro scores at tourneys, but for most players, they won't be worth the frustration on a day-to-day basis.

So in short: definitely worth playing if you live in DFW, just to work on different elements of your game. If you're visiting the area, its worth playing just to play holes 2 and 3 (play them a couple times each and enjoy), but don't expect to be "wowed" by the rest of the course.

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Good effort

8/5/2008   8/5/2008
Review By: geoloseth
Played: 44  Reviewed: 8
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Finally DFW has a course that isn't just all par 3s. The city of Rockwall allowed Houck to design a course on a beautifully kept piece of land and ss of the holes should be standards for other courses to measure themselves. Holes 2 and 3 are very well done and require well placed drives to have any chance of a birdie or par.
Cons: When this course was designed one of the major "don'ts" was committed for Texas course design - Don't design a course in the middle of summer, let alone at the tail end of a three year drought. Because of this hold 1 is near unplayable if you've had a recent heavy rain. And even if not, the water is too close to the pin location for a steeply sloping non-grass green like that. Hole 3 gets a rather large collection pool in one of the prime landing areas. The holes that play down in the heavily wooded area are then at risk of being entirely underwater not to mention completely covered with poison ivy. Other holes are natural drainage lines for other areas of the park and are constantly wet and muddy even though there is no standing water. As people have mentioned before at least one of the fairways have to be crossed to get to another hole. And some holes fall into the "make it long because that will make it hard" mindset, ie 17. I know it might be one of the signature holes but really there is nothing to it except a couple long wide open drives. If you want to make a long hole then it has to have some kind of purpouse (hole 3 -a long dogleg right).
Other Thoughts: All in all a good course but it is one that seems to try too hard. I think it should be replanned and some major upkeep done to limit the poison ivy and drainage issues.

Also, no matter what it's like in the rest of DFW, it is always windy in the park. Due to the basin/bowl landscape it can get very windy when outside of the park it's quite calm.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, Fun, Fun!

7/31/2008   8/4/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.6 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation change gives this course more "epic" holes than any I've ever played.

Excellent facilities: parking, restrooms, baskets, tee pads and signs.

Alternate tee locations to seperate the big boys (not me) from the recreational players (me).

The fairways are well groomed and the course has good flow and is easy to follow.
Cons: The rough is a little too rough on a few holes. You can lose discs in the knee high weeds.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Over The Hills and Through the Woods...

1    7/17/2008   7/17/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2010
24 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course will be on your favorite list. You'll know it the minute you pull into the park. It looks like a ball golf course. There were bathrooms and the trashcans were everywhere. So, needless to say it was very clean. The holes have their par settings at a realistic level. The first part of the course is mostly in the woods and the second half opens up to some beautiful fairways. You will be teeing off with some tight tunnel shots, a few left to right, a few right to left, and you might even choose to tomahawk off the tee on one or two holes. This is hands down, one of the most amazing layouts. The trek through the woods had a nice pathway and played tight. There are some elevation changes (not too dramatic), but it sure made some of the holes play long and some shorter than expected. There is a great variation of long and short length holes. So you can air some out and finesse others. All the baskets and signage were in tiptop shape. The even have some signs directing you to the next tee after walking away from the baskets.
Cons: A negative would be the OB on #17. There is an OB area to the right that is marked on the sign, but its physical landmarks are from some baby trees. It is there to protect the amphitheater off to the right on that hole (it is way off to the right). But they really need more trees to make the sign's view of the OB a little easier to follow. I suppose I should also mention that on hole #9 you do have to cross through hole #3's fairway to get to the next tee. However, it did not seem like too big a deal. As always, keep an eye out for for poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: You don't really see regular park-goers except at the very beginning and right near the end. I personally found this to be well worth the 60-mile drive we took to get there. I don't think there is much you can do to improve this place/ I am most certainly going back to play this course again!

24 of 25 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center