New London, WI 
Hatten Stadium Park Share
Uploaded By: sunshay   (Taken 8/2010)
Course Sign



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Hatten Statdium Park

1    10/8/2011   10/9/2011
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 31  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) great design with good mix of left, right, and straight holes, excellent pin placements on all of the holes, and pretty good variation of distances (168ft-385ft) with most holes in the 200-300ft range
2) concrete tee pads, even though they are quite small
3) great place to take beginners or lesser skilled players
4) uses the woods on holes 6-9 to make some tough tunnel shots
5) EXTREMELY easy to navigate as a first timer, didn't get confused a single time
6) nice baskets and tee signs on every hole
7) clean and well kept up course
8) big map by the first tee and, even though it was empty, a box to pick up a scorecard before you start your round
Cons: 1) like I said before, short tee pads...all though there's only two holes that they were to short for me
2) hole 17 plays over a small street in the park, could cause a safety issue if you don't look before you throw
3) holes 12 and 16 share tee pads, not a big deal but on a busy day it could slow you down
4) not tons of distance on the course, only used a driver on two holes, but the great design really makes up for this
5) not really any elevation to speak of, except for a little on holes 4 and 5, but again the design makes up for this
Other Thoughts: I was pleasantly surprised by this course, I didn't expect much out of it. Wish I lived closer to this course so I could play it more often, such a fun course to play

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hatten down the hatches

1    8/28/2011   9/30/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 735  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Practice Basket available near the first tee.

2) Decent signs have Pare, Hole #, Distance, a Map including any OB on the course.

3) Mach baskets with the number plates are some of my favorite baskets (aside from being hard to see from time to time.

4) Some dual concrete tees are always an enjoyable aspect to a course.

5) Scorecards in the mailbox near the first tee. This is something I really like seeing, I would like to see it on more courses I just think that the scorecards would simply get stolen or destroyed more often than not, requiring constant refilling and wasting a lot of the local clubs money.

6) Alternate pins in some locations that I could tell.

7) There are some garbage cans on the course to dispose of your garbage.

8) There is a nice mixture of holes out here. There are a couple really tight tunnels but it isn't overly weighted towards this type of hole. Then there are some moderately wooded holes that work their way through more of a parklike setting. Then there are a couple holes with virtually no obstacles, but it also isn't overly heavy on these holes which is nice. It seems to hit the balance just right.

9) There also is a nice mixture of shot shaping required to play well out here. You need to be able to work your disc either direction but there are a lot of holes where you can go either way . . . which is nice to have as long as the challenge of one shot is somewhat consistant with the other option.

10) Distance variation is not extreme, but they have a range of just under 200' to just under 400'. About half of the holes are in the range of 198' to 236, almost another half in the 250'-300' range and the one outlier at 385' on the long end and 168' on the short end. All in all a decent variety.

11) Beginner friendly for sure because most of the holes are no more than moderately wooded.
Cons: 1) Rings on the chains seemed to be flip flopped on #16. The chain configuration looked a little strange to me when I was putting at it.

2) The concrete tees seemed to be a little small from time to time, that might be because the shorter holes you don't need as much runup and I felt it on the long holes. I am not 100% if they were all consistant or some of the tees just felt smaller.

3) Distnce variation could have used a little better differentiation. I like the range of distance variation but I enjoy more overall variety. I would like to see it split into like 4 ranges 150-200, 200-250, 250-300, 300-350 with appoximately the same number of holes in each range. It may not be possible on this course, and i understand not all places can spread things out like this, but it is something I am continuing to look for in good design.

4) Lacks elevation for the most part except the few early holes where you play down towards the tennis courts and then #5 I think where you play back up the hill. The rest is flat for the most part.

5) Holes #1, 2, 3, 4, 16, 17, 18 might have the potential for vehicle damage, or personal injury due to the proximity to the road as well as other activity areas. The rest of the holes are removed enough to be ok, but this is a lot of opportunity to do damage or hurt or scare someone.

6)
Other Thoughts: All in all this was a fun course to play. It took me a while to warm up and make any birdies but I could imagine after getting to know this course better I could birdie a bunch of holes any given week. It is a nice old school park setting course with moderate hole length and moderate wooded holes in general. I would think if they could alter the layout just slightly they might be able to throw a few more in the dense woods to increase the challenge as well as the variety.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A good beginner course

5+    7/13/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: link_smitty42205
Played: 63  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A good park, nice neighborhood.
-A fun course for all styles of play
-In a park that has activities for the whole family.
-Concrete tees
-Well maintained course
-Low traffic for the most part
Cons: -Only one tee pad and placement for most holes
-Very short, rather easy course. (only takes about half hour to play on your own.)
-Lack of hazards/difficulty (no elevation play, no water hazards, just woods)
-Very wet course (swampy edges) for the most part and has A LOT of mosquitoes.
Other Thoughts: This course is not a very challenging course but it is a fun course to play if you are looking for a good round of putter/mid-range throws. The course lacks distance in both the holes and course length. All of the holes are in the 150'-250' range with the exception of hole 11 that can get over 400' depending on which tee you play it from (some of the holes have multiple tee pads in the works).

Each hole offers multiple shot possibilities but lacks a lot of challenge. Holes 6-9 that go through the woods require some accuracy to your shot but are short so a poor first shot can turn into a very manageable par.

Overall this course is a short beginner course that can produce some fun for all levels of players. Bring the bug spray and leave the drivers, not really necessary for this course, but you may want one for hole #11. (I usually empty the bag on this hole because it is wide open and fun to work on multiple shots).

I wouldn't consider this a course you would want to make a special trip to, but if you are in the fox valley area looking for some courses to play, its a solid course to take a look at.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good short course.

5+    6/17/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: mambrose
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 21.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well kept park, in a nice negiborhood
-mowed often.
-Challenging holes that play left to right and right to left
-Great for working on your short game.
-Great place to bring new players.
-Open all year round
Cons: -Short! most holes require nothing more than a mid or a putter
-Can get crowded in the late afternoon
-Thick brush on holes 6,7,8 and 9
Other Thoughts: Bring bug spray if your going to be playing at night, holes 6,7,8, and 9 are in heavy woods.

Playing here every day could get boring, but its a great course to play a few times a week.

Fun, and challenging course, not the longest holes, but you will still have a good time playing.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 old school; improvements coming

5+    5/24/2010   11/24/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 718  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/26/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well kept park.
Cement tees roughed nicely.
Stays open all winter.
Great beginner course.
Disc Headz club has taken this course on as a project in the last couple of years. They are running at least two tourneys a year now; and all proceeds go to the course (this does mean that payouts are small at the present if you come for a tourney).
I have heard there are plans for some new longer tees and longer pin placements as well. (O.k. so this is an update I'm putting in since my original review....Deeper pins have been added to holes #1 and #15. New tees in place for #2, #11 and a new one that #12 and #16 share.)
Lengthening #1 works out pretty nice; as that was somewhat of a tough deuce anyway, and now plays more like a par 3.
Pathway/park road o.b. possible on a couple of holes, should you decide to play it that way. Tennis court o.b. also present on #3.
Tournament level horseshoe tossing area adjacent to course (@middle of course).
Nice, old school rock walls add nice ambiance to various areas. Not really in play; just a nice visual.
General wooded feel throughout.
Cons: Some of the tees are quite short in length. Don't really need a big run up on these holes; but they are less than stellar.
Course overall length is quite short.
This is a deuce or die course.
You only need your driver on one hole, perhaps a fairway driver or long mid on a couple of the wooded tunnel shots.
One hole, around #13 or so, has a standing water pond part of the year; especially in the spring. This is deep enough, and cold enough, at that time, that I've seen discs left behind.
More additional comments related to new "upgrades"....#2 new tee will simply pi$$ off lefties; makes their line near impossible, without really making the hole any tougher for rhbh.
#12 and #16 sharing a tee didn't really add any toughness to those holes and may create traffic jams.
The new #11 new pin simply moved what was already the longest hole at 385 ft. to nearly 450 ft. Makes it more of a par three for everyone; whereas used to be a bit of scoring spread on this one if you had a fairly big arm.
So much for cheering for improvements. Evidently still a deuce or die course that had none of those holes addressed. #1 appears to be the only one improved.
Other Thoughts: This was one of the earliest designs in the Wisconsin. Steve Trogger, primarily of late 1980s guts fame; should be given credit. Originally an object course. 2003 is evidently the date baskets went in (though I could have sworn it was earlier; maybe because I played it as an object course for many years.) The original design was for lids; and this is still the design present. A number of persons, with design, or club credentials, over the years, have contacted the parks dept. here and been unsuccessful in convincing them of the need to lengthen the layout some. I was hoping to see this happen...
This IS a relaxing course; if you're able to forget that you need to be bird everything. Setting is different than other courses in the area.
I have made a trip a year here, or more, for many years. I rather look forward to a Hatten visit.
There are enough obstacles and shop shaping, that you don't get a completely boring pitch and putt feel. It's a true course; just one that you play with a putter or roc/buzz primarily.
If you're hitting your putts, you have the opportunity to put one of your "best rounds ever" up on the board.
With it said that I like coming here as a change of pace; I find myself having to downgrade this one .5, to perhaps the lowest grade I've given an 18 hole layout; due to the improvements not helping out much....oh well....

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Park

2-4    4/13/2010   4/13/2010
Review By: Gambl3r
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
Pros: Easy to navigate around this well kept course. Good mix of obstacle baskets and open baskets. Utilizes park space very nicely.
Cons: Some holes seemed too short. The holes in the woods were muddy. Could see underbrush being a problem when it's grown over.
Other Thoughts: All in all a good experience. Recommend it for any disc golfer that happens to be in the area.

  Great things coming up!

1    3/28/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: Disc Headz
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 23.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Disc Headz Club is taking over the course! If you have played this course before, come back and give it another shot! we are improving the course, and working on adding holes. Give us your thoughts on what the course needs. We plan on making this a 5 disc rated course, so give us your input.
Cons: The Park and Rec. has provided us with a great course. We plan on making it an awesome course!
Other Thoughts: Any tournaments (July 24th, 2010 - October 16th, 2010) we hold at Hatten the proceeds go back to the park for improvement, so the more people we can have show up at tournaments the more we can improve this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good for beginners

2-4    7/11/2009   8/15/2009
Review By: wheelz25
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2009
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short holes good for beginners, mostly open except for 5-9. These holes are easy to lose discs. Hole 3 runs next to a tennis court, making the fairway very narrow as you get closer to the hole. Hole 11 is the longest hole and is virtually treeless. A long drive can make for a easy approach almost anywhere.
Cons: Park is usually busy and cars can make for hazards. Nothing too special. Just a course. Trees in the open always seem to pose a problem and can get frustrating
Other Thoughts: I take everyone I know to this place to play for there first time. ANYone can play here and enjoy it. Each time I played there were RVs blocking the 17th basket on all sides. I had to skip the hole but it wasn't that hard at all. If you are new to disc golf, this is a great place for you

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good to play once, if you're in the area

1    10/30/2008   10/30/2008
Review By: Geoffro
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of left and right turns, with some wooded holes offering a challenge. Signage was good, except for the fact that while the signs mapped the holes, the maps/signs did not match the direction of the holes (the sign map would make it look like you were shooting due east, when the direction of the fairway was due south). Quiet park, and nice atmosphere. Concrete tee-pads were available, though not particularly maintained with regard to erosion.
Cons: This course struggles with many others in that it was developed within an already existing public park. Some of the fairways contend with other activities, though not directly; on some holes it would be possible to shank a drive into a playground (admittedly it would have to be a pretty bad shank). The course is not the priority of the park; you definitely get the feeling that the county put in the course and figured that was good enough. There is no feeling of "future" here. As noted above, many holes are short and open, lacking significant challenge.
Other Thoughts: Also as mentioned above, this is a good course to play if you haven't played it before, and are in the area. Otherwise, its a 2 .

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Old Park

5+    10/26/2008   10/28/2008
Review By: J.W.I.
Played: 30  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/1/2008
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice neighborhood. Beautiful park. Scorecards available sometimes. Short and sweet for young kids. Helpful signs at pads. Some nice straight shots required; you're rewarded if you make it down the tree-lined (albeit short) tunnels. If you're looking for an ace, come play here; there are bountiful opportunities. Open all Winter!
Cons: One pad and one pin makes for repetitive rounds.
Other Thoughts: Nice community. People are generally polite. Bathrooms are an added bonus. Nice place for some Winter golf.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.