Grapevine, TX
Bear Creek Share
Uploaded By: cc0049 Hole #14
3 / 228ft.   3 / 387ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Short Tee



Reviews: 81
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Ok shots, terrible navigation

1    4/12/2012   5/30/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course plays through a wooded park that's disc golf exclusive other than the first few holes. There are some pretty open shots mixed in, with most playing through scattered trees or denser trees. Many of the holes have fairly thick rough waiting to punish errant shots. Water comes into play on several holes, including a few that offer tricky risk/reward decisions.

It felt like a pretty good mix of hole shapes, with a few really interesting lines to hit and a decent balance of left and right turning shots. The alternate tees offer some different lines to hit and some distance difference on the longer holes. Both sets of tees are nice concrete pads. There are alternate pin positions that could change up how the course plays.
Cons: Navigation is a major issue here. Many of the holes have multiple paths leading away from the basket, so some wandering is required at times to find the next tee. Hole 1 has a really long walk to get to the bridge across the creek, then back over to the pin area. After hole 12, you have to walk all the way back to the parking lot and find the right trail into the woods to get to the rest of the holes. None of these are marked or obvious, and the map available here is pretty useless.

The signage at the tees is mediocre, and many are missing or broken. With multiple pin positions and no marking of which are in use, it can get frustrating to have to scout ahead on the blind holes. There is a lot of trash and vandalism present here. Though there are some fun shots, there are also some mediocre filler type holes, and the overall challenge level just isn't that high even from the longs.
Other Thoughts: Beginners can have a great time from the shorts here, there are some risky water shots and some thick rough but the distances are reasonable. More experienced players will find the course fairly short and straightforward even from the longs, though a few of the holes are cool enough to make this one worth a stop.

My reviews are written from the perspective of a player seeing the course for the first time, so the navigation issues knock the rating down slightly for me. Locals won't have those issues once they know the course but other traveling players will likely share my frustrations.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/3/2012   1/4/2012
Review By: pfluegel
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Variety of shots, Concrete pads.
Cons: Poor Signage, difficult to find the baskets from a lot of the tees, which would be fine, if there were signs.
Other Thoughts: With a printed out map it was fine. If you dont mind doing some foot work this course is a fun course to play. Hole 12 is particularly fun.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Back to the Beginning

5+    8/13/2011   8/15/2011
Review By: gek76
Played: 35  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 11.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Each hole is fun and challenging. Holes 1 and 12 are like nothing I have ever see at any other course. They are both scarey and exciting all at the same time. When you do well on them you do real well, when you do bad good by disc.
Lots of tree cover.
Nice concrete tee pads.
2 Tees for every hole.
Cons: No signs on the holes. If you don't know the course you might have trouble finding baskets or next tee. Especially hole 13-18 which are across the parking lot from hole 1.
Difficult terrain for some hole, 12 specially.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. This is where my adventure with Disc Golf began. I still remember standing on the tee for hole 1 and seeing the creek and thinking, "I have to throw across that!" We won't talk about how many discs I have lost on this hole alone before I learned to drive. I hadn't played here in years because I moved more than an hour away. It was great fun to play here again and see how much my game had improved since those crazy first years.
As much as I love this course it has its faults. There aren't any real signs to tell you where to go.. If you don't have a local you will be lost. The guy that showed me the course my first time told me he didn't even know about 13-18 for the first few times he played here. Much of the course felt over grown. I think there are 2 benches on the whole course. Getting from the tee to the basket on hole 12 is an adventure. There is no clear path or bridge across the creek. You have to just climb down the steep banks hop the water and climb up an even steeper bank.
With all the excellent courses in the DFW area Bear Creek is showing its age. Tee signs would be a great improvement. I would love to know how far it is to the basket and what is officially considered out of bounds. Some sort of seating at the tees would be nice especially when your waiting on the group ahead to hole out. Some sort of bridge at hole 12 would be nice. Guess I am getting old but I don't really want to climb through the mud anymore. Signs in the parking lot explaining where holes 13-18 are.
With some improvement this course could be the must play course of DFW. It is already in a great location for almost everyone to get to play here at least once in a while.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short But Oh So Sweet

1    1/1/2011   1/10/2011
Review By: sheamous
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/16/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Right off highway 360, 15-20 minutes from Arlington in North Central DFW, lots of trees and water hazards, very technical, and also some holes you can run for aces. I love the terrain on this course, deep creeks, beautiful tree lines, and nice grassy meadows.
Cons: Lots of people love this course so I tend to schedule my tee times for off hours to avoid loads of golfers. I've gotten stuck behind really large groups on the weekends. All the holes are par 3's and as a power thrower I always love the addition of a few long holes. Take a Golden Retriever with you or be prepared to get in neck deep creeks for lost discs.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play in DFW. I usually wait for a day off in the week and there's never anyone there, which makes this course extra perfect.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun homeboy course

5+    3/12/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 179  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2013
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice mix of relatively open holes and wooded-ish holes
-Concrete tee pads, new signs with distance and map, baskets in good shape
-Lots of interesting fairways, creeks, pond, rusted out car
-Two sets of tees
-Pro tees give different look at many holes not just added distance
-Plenty of parking; holes 1 & 18 near parking lot
-Lots of friendly locals
-The park has that undefinable "homeboy" essence
Cons: -The park has that undefinable "homeboy" essence
-Trash
-lots of Poison Ivy, watch the rough!
-Navigation can be a little tricky for first timers, definitely bring a map. better now with new signage!
-For a half-wooded course, it's not that challenging
-Cops, hood rats, annoyed neighbors
-Real easy to lose plastic out here, watch out for the pond behind the basket on #5 and the creek behind #15
-Can get real crowded
-A few of the crossings or paths are not for the balance-challenged, #12 for example
Other Thoughts: ***Update***
New practice area with 2 warm up baskets, new signs on all holes at short and long tees, lots of work cleaning up the course. This place looks great right now! New course map at hole 1. Basket positions have changed, forgot some of those other ones were there it had been so long.
***

This is a really fun, very busy course. The park is nice, albeit not very clean, and has a great vibe for DG. The layout is not all that challenging so it is great for beginners but advanced players might want to check out some of the better courses in DFW if you're visiting.

As a popular urban destination, this course has all the pros and cons that go along with that: it gets busy, play is slow, lots of newer players don't know etiquette, hood rats hang out and the cops show up. The course itself is a lot of fun but sometimes a round out here is not what I'm looking for.

Supposedly the city has had the course on the chopping block for a while now. Keep that in mind before you bring party favors along with your round. The cops do patrol.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great short course!

5+    4/11/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: domingomadagascar
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great short course! If you want to throw a nice, solid round and are looking for a midrange tune up that's heavily treed, stop by Bear Creek and throw a quick round. Some AWESOME geographical challenges! Bring your right bending mdrange. I use a kite here a lot.
Cons: Short. Not real challenging, although there are some water hazard holes and can definitely lose a disk in the water. Not all holes are playable for some one physically callenged or small children, although most of the holes are very family friendly.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to play with a group and marvel at long birdies, or to learn on. But watch the hazards!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Still the one

5+    3/8/2010   3/11/2010
Review By: Riverhouse82
Played: 50  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.1 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Easy to follow
Short and sweet from either box.
Good for work on keeping it low
Cons: Frequently too busy
lots of mud after weather with no easy creek crossing on 12, not bad if your actually athletic.
Other Thoughts: move the baskets. right?

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Average disc course

1    5/12/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: You do get some variety on this course. Lots of right/left, open/tight and elevation changes. Pin placements were well thought out. It can be played fairly quickly.
Cons: The baskets are old and worn. The signs are old and missing and of little hlep. Definate navigation issues here. Lots of trast on the course.
Other Thoughts: It appears to be a well used course, lots of people there. The creek comes into play on several hole so watch out. Needs some longer holes to it. If in the area check it out.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 09 review.

2-4    4/12/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: Trev_Masta
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.5 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Short simple course with a great mix of technical shots.This course would be good for beginners. Very well maintained park with concrete teepads on each hole.
Cons: Getting through this course is sometimes difficult. From the "t" box on hole 1 to the pin you have to balance your way across a pole over a creek unless you want to take the long way to the bridge. Also the back 6 holes are on a seperate part of the park so you sometimes walk into players shooting hole 1.
Other Thoughts: This is an amazing course for windy days. All the trees surrounding the course provide great cover from wind/sun. It's a beautiful layout and will be alot of fun to beginners and regular players.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Local Enough

5+    4/24/2013   2/5/2009
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 168  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/25/2013
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Parking lot construction is over new streetlights as well! .Eagle scouts added ten nice sized benches on 1/21/13.Double up an play some long tees! Plenty of disc golfers around.Signage 2012! Theres a brand new map at hole one by the Bridge don't let it confuse u the holes have individual maps too!Snap a pic helps too!Short tees are very popular here allowing for low scores,long tees here provide a more challenging disc golf experience for sure.Hole15 has a new location as of 1/8/13.The water is still present but the hole is no longer so easy to throw into with the right line being hit.When there's a cold wind blowing out of the north holes 3-10 have virtually no wind ensuring on a cold windy day that you'll be secluded from weathers wrath.Logs to sit and/or to place your bag.The ditch behind hole 10's long placement shortcuts you to 11 short tee.Also on hole 12 you can walk straight down and up the narrow peninsula up to 12's basket. People like to say Bear Creek is easy but the thickness of the flora here can wreak havoc if your disc isn't kept low and/or leaves the fairways.Remember this is a very fast moving 18 hole shin-dig take it to Lewisville, Gateway, Turner or North park none of which are too far from this course for a more DIFFICULT disc golf expierience. Cheap used disc sellers in abundance in the p lot due to the creek.
Cons: The worst problems are too many people,land degraded to dirt, its a short course and poor unmanaged broken down concrete tee boxes.Theres also only 3 tees reaching over 400 and of course the massive amounts of thorny vines and darn near year round poison Ivy that flourish here.Little league has taken over what use to be our field Police presence has increased since these new family events have been taking place every day of the week almost now.K-9's randomly sniff cars here.Beer, weed,even cursing is frowned upon by the neighborhood and these families .WATCH YOURSELF IN THE PARKING LOT.Expired tags are what the cops look for to guys an gals;Okay i said my piece about going to jail possibly from from bear creek which i've witnessed more then a handful people.Some Reject/dooche ripped and broke limbs on alot of our cedar trees recently esp. 9 and 10. Some fool chopped trees also on 16 and 17(No Talent)in 2007.7 long is no longer as hard as it once was with a tree cut down in 2012.We know who cut it, REALLY SUCKS. I wish we had better ways of catching an prosecuting these scums of society that choose to whack down trees on fairways.Beavers are the only ones' allowed to cut our trees! Bring A leash!Idiots that don't respect the leash laws only cause conflicts to flare up when the sidewalk neighborhood pedestrians clash with unleashed dogs.Even if you have the sweetest dog in the world Bear Creek is "NOT" a Dog Park.We aren't out there to watch you schmoozing with the other dog walkers.Honey bees are abundant in warmer months around the zillion trash cans scattered about! Watch Out! A large moccisin bit someone here summer 09' right next to 15's basket while attempting to come onto the shoreline from the creek the moccasin came from under the water to get one anda half fangs in ol' Jeremy S.Consensus is that this snake which he nick-named "Big Poppa" is still around and/or has mated.Wanna hunt him?Follow the shore line downstream from 15 not as far as the backside of hole six.We believe moccasins still live in this area under the creekbanks.
Other Thoughts: After playing the front 12 with Barry Schultz once he said he enjoyed 6 and 9 long.If your hungry the park has pecan trees on 5,8 and 14 and 18's tee areas.Wild onions grow on 10 an 11 and the famous Texas Grapevines never die around hole 13's tees. Plenty of squirrels and rabbits too for added protein.Over five hawks live along the creekway near holes 10,11 and 16 don't be surprised if you hear them being loud while u play.Bring a fishing line if you think your good enough to catch some of the Bass that are spotted swimming upstream as well.Dam yellow jacket bit me! Don't badger the tree and rat snakes they're harmless and not aggressive or venomous unlike the moccasins of course .Moccasin wrangling is approved if you can get one. Copperheads have been seen numerous times too.the Bullfrogs,snapping turtles,ducks and the beautiful Blue Herring are seen soaring thru as well.Clyde is what we're callin the big ass Beaver that has been spotted by me and others. Bobcats,Coyotes,racoons and fox round off the complete # of natve fauna I've seen that the DFW airport wilderness has kept safe to roam our disc course.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.