Grapevine, TX 
Bear Creek Share
Uploaded By: cc0049 Hole #15
3 / 189ft.   3 / 218ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 82
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Memorable course

5+    3/31/2014   4/5/2014
Review By: tbsox
Played: 40  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes

12 - This hole is stuck in my disc golf memory for sure. I played this course a lot when I lived in this area and it was the one I was most interested in seeing again to see if memory met up to the reality as my game as improved. It has. This is a tough hole and the deep creek is still imposing. It felt a lot less imposing though from previous plays.

15 - Tough little keyhole shot across a creek and through many trees. Lanes are clear but the shot is challenging. If you don't make it somewhat deep on throw one its a very tough recovery.

18 - This is a good finishing hole. If your throw is accurate your in for an easy 3 but a mistake is costly. There is a risk reward for those needing a stroke which makes it interesting as a birdie is possible with a good throw.
Cons: Not a very pretty course. Vegetation is plentiful and the pond that many of the mid holes play around is more sewage like than one would hope. There is an overwater throw on one holes long tee. While its an easy toss across if you square up and hit a tree you go in at your own peril. I would suggest using a retriever if you do.
Other Thoughts: Its a good course on par. Lots of shot variety and hole to hole feels very different. Having not played this course in a while it plays very similar to how I had remembered it. Most holes are tight shot shaping holes but there are a few long throw opportunities such as 14. Its not the most friendly beginner course as the trees are very thick and tight in some areas but it will definitely help you improve your game for intermediate players.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Newbie had a blast on this course

1    10/6/2013   10/6/2013
Review By: 2003F150Lariat
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.1 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good mix of long and short drives.
Really good challenge for the newbie and veteran alike.
Cons: The popularity of this course with others does slow down the pace.
No other con's
Other Thoughts: Will definitely play this course again.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Nice course in heart of DFW

5+    7/4/2013   7/5/2013
Review By: thejake78
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is in a nice, wooded park in a central DFW location
- Course demands throwing good technical lines, dealing with several low ceilings,demanding accuracy
- Relatively beginner-friendly without being too easy
- Water hazards (creek, pond) can add a bit of challenge
- Two concrete tee pads at every hole
- Decent signs at tee boxes
- Several wooden benches throughout course provide good places to sit while you wait
- A good amount of trees means a decent amount of shade during the hot summers
- Nice, newly-paved parking lot provides a decent amount of parking at this busy course
- Practice basket is provided before the first tee
Cons: - Navigation is not ideal for a first-timer; in particular, there is a bit of a trek from #12 to #13, which takes you close to the pin on #1. Follow the signs back to the parking lot and basically cut diagonally across.
- Course is a popular venue and can get very crowded at times, with several large groups, particularly on weekends
- The rough is very thick in places
- Poison ivy is fairly prevalent
- Walking/biking track runs close to #2 in particular
- A few non-disc golfers will walk parts of the front twelve
- A few places where throwing into a water hazard (nasty pond when water is present on #5, creek on #6, #10, #15-#18) will be difficult to recover the recover the disc
- After heavy rains parts of this course are difficult-to-impossible to play due to standing water or flooded creek
- #12 could be difficult for some to play due to the trek through the ravine
Other Thoughts: - Not a bomber's course with generally shorter holes and lots of trees
- When dry, the ground is hard and conducive to bad skips/slides
- The redesign of #1, taking away the shot over the creek, is a disappointment, even though I can see the reasons why they did it.

This was the first course I ever played, and was my home course for several years. I still enjoy playing here, as it really is a well-designed course. The crowds are the biggest issue for me: a single round can take hours to play at times. On the flip side, there are plenty of friendly locals and opportunities to catch on with other groups. It is a must play in DFW, if only for the fact that so many people do cut their teeth on this course and continue to play here even after seeing some of the other great courses in the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Glad I'm not allergic to poison ivy

1    6/12/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: Schlangewurst
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Good variety in hole length and pin placement.
- I liked the change in environment from woods to field to marsh to creeks.
- Great signs to mark where the pin was placed.
- Good tee boxes and holes.
Cons: - I had to go off the fairway more than once and the poison ivy this time of year is fierce.
- low lying branches are the devil.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good short course

2-4    5/23/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 45  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: All of the tee boxes are marked. Baskets are very nice and show the hole number on each basket.
Cons: Cant say any really bad other than the grass needs to be cut and some trash picked up. But other than that the course plays very good.
Other Thoughts: Good course to practice all your shots in the bag.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

improved signs

1    5/11/2013   5/15/2013
Review By: Memphis Newbie
Played: 33  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Design--good variety

Signage--past reviews have mentioned the poor signage and navigation. This has been much improved. There are nice satellite imagery signs with all the info you need including next tees (actually, not all the info you need, there is no way to mark the current basket postion which is a pet peeve of mine). There are also lots of separate directional signs.

Tees-- there are two tees (multiple tees is one of pet faves) and they are plenty big

Practice area-- nice touch
Cons: Too many blind baskets-- one of the best parts of disc golf is watching a good shot fly all the way to the basket, with a blind basket that's not possible. Also, when you're playing the course for your first time, like we were, it makes it hard to know what you're shooting for even though the signs are good.

Big walk to hole 13 (which starts by the entrance to the parking lot)-- this is a nuisance, but hey, there's a big creek separating the two parts of the course so you have to go back to the bridge.
Other Thoughts: In defense of this course, I think the foliage type necessitated some blind holes to lengthen the holes and provide more challenge. What I mean by this is that the foliage here is dense, short woods interspersed with open areas. So many of the holes are shooting through the open areas and around the woods rather than through corridors in tall canopy-type woods like I am used to in Tennessee. When you are shooting through the woods at Bear Creek, there is a very low ceiling, meaning a lot of skip shots are needed. I saw the warnings in previous reviews about hole 15 being a disc eater. We were playing fast and I didn't remember this warning. I also didn't carefully read the tee sign. I thought the basket was in the distant woods past the dirt bank and that's where I threw my disk. When I approached the bank I saw that it dropped down into a deep dark creek with opaque water and the distant bank was flush with the densest poison ivy and bushes you've ever seen. If your disk goes in this water or past, it's gone. The basket is on the crest of the near bank, but hidden to the left. I think the locals have done a great job with this course. We played at 7:00 am on a Saturday and there were only a couple other disc golfers there. This course would be much more enjoyable on repeat visits.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Does a bear poop in the woods?

1    11/5/2012   11/9/2012
Review By: Spookyspence
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long and short concrete tees
Nice and technical
A few really nice signature holes
Nice tee signs
Practice basket
Cons: Can be hard to find
Can get crowded leading to mob golf
Poison Ivy heavy, be careful
Short tees are not challenging at all
Other Thoughts: This course is a fun 18 hole course to play through with its combination of technical and wooded holes ( from long only ) and good basket locations. The short tee locations are disappointing but would be fun for someone who has just started. The course can have tons of poison ivy so keep an eye out! Over all this course is awesome and I will be playing it anytime I am in the area!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Always Fun

5+    3/16/2012   3/20/2012
Review By: mike_james
Played: 54  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Just fun. Really precise lines needed on these holes, without being short. The long tees change this course completely, making it more lefty friendly. Well shaded, and seems to stay playable after a little rain. The wind also doesn't seem to affect the majority of the course. I hear a lot of people say it is hard to navigate, I don't find this to be an issue. It has a good flow to it. Park is pretty clean and well groomed.
Cons: Will get crowded on you. I would go as early as possible. Sneaky police. Don't be doing anything you shouldn't and it won't be an issue. A couple of long walks to holes. Just #1 if you don't cross the pipe, and from #12 to #13, but it is a good chance to stop at the car for whatever. Some of the teepads are a little short, and/or elevated, so be careful there.
Other Thoughts: Centrally located for most, so when you do check it out, get a couple rounds in and try from the longs too. Police prescence isn't necessarily a bad thing. Lots of cool events go on out here and they are usually lots of fun.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Ivy

5+    1/28/2012   2/1/2012
Review By: Lesson
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Has long and short tee pads
-Fun course to play
-Ace runs all over
-Plenty trees so plenty shade and blocks some wind on bad days
-Good baskets
-Long tee pads are fairly difficult and you will get some good practice. Is not too easy to shoot par from all longs.
-Some nice people play here
-Truly is a pretty course to play at
-If your alone at course you can run through a game in prob 40 minutes if you tried so good if you have limited time at a non peak time of day
Cons: -Too many begginers its pretty hard to shoot all longs with the mobs of people
-Pressures you to shoot shorts with everybody else and its hard to develop your game from these shorts its too easy. Big lack of challenge
-Poison ivy all over
-Since so many kids and local youth play here it brings a trouble crowd, lack of respect throwing on you etc.(baskets stolen, discs, some cars messed with)
-Tons of people play here(mostly recreational players) so its mob golf impossible to play a good game at peak hours
-Recently moved some baskets to different pins but there is a big lack of city involvement, the pins were in the same spots for prob 3 years prior
Other Thoughts: Overall a fun course my biggest complaint would be so many people come to play and are recreational players who will develop there game very slow because they stick to this easy course(from shorts). Every player should play multiple courses but there is a huge crowd who play here exclusivly and stay begginer at disc golf for a long time. Still a staple course for disc golf in the area and will always play here and have some fun. Just wish they could make it a little more difficult and get some of these people improving and not just shooting the same old shots everytime.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Has a little bit of everything

5+    2/27/2011   9/30/2011
Review By: aggiegreg
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/27/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Has a little bit of everying
--a couple of my favorite shots are over rivers
-two great place to tee off from on each hole
-paths well built
-good traffic on the course
-friendly disc golfers on course to help when you get a little lost
-cool looking abandoned car at the end of 12
Cons: -can get lost on course without the map
-only par 3s
-kinda smells like garbage
-course not signed well
--baskets are not all numbered
Other Thoughts: great course in the D/FW area, got lost on the course but there were lots of people ready to help. Great course to play everyday. Seems like there are always someone selling disc so make sure you bring cash or plastic to trade

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.