Grapevine, TX 
Bear Creek Share
Uploaded By: cc0049 Hole #17
3 / 236ft.   3 / 288ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Long Tee



Reviews: 82
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great course for all

5+    5/1/2013   5/4/2013
Review By: ericl244
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A great overall course for people of all skill levels. A good mix of "back woods" holes and wide open throws. I have probably played this course 3-4 times a week over the last 6 months, and have a blast every time.
Cons: Large groups are a real issue here. I usually play alone, and my wife will walk along next to me. We will get caught at some holes for 10-15 min stuck behind a large group of 6+ that don't tend to be very courteous.
Other Thoughts: Go play it, you will really enjoy it. Just watch out for holes 15 and 16, they claimed MANY discs.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    10/12/2009   7/10/2010
Review By: grizzledizzle55
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2010
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Multiple Tees
-Multiple holes
-Many ace runs
-Mix of long and short
-Very technical, but not too difficult
-Well maintained
-Water fountain.
-Plays fast
Cons: -Maybe a little too short.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses in DFW. There are a few ace holes, and the river comes into play on some holes. Number 12 is insanely cool, especially if the water is high. I can't say enough about how cool number 12 is. Very birdie-able though. I birdied it twice in one day. Bring good plastic because you are bound to hit a tree. Parking is not good for lowered cars. You will really have fun here. I love this place

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Why haven't I played this course before!

2-4    7/4/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: AequitasVeritas
Played: 21  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/6/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Makes great use of the natural terrain (#1, 2, back 9)
-Very well maintained
-No trash on the course
-Plenty of parking. Technically there are 2 parking lots.
-Multiple tees
-Concrete tees
-Hole #12. Wow, this is an epic hole!
Water fountain near #1/#2
-Ace opportunities galore. #1, #4, #12, #17
-Grilling areas, sand volleyball, and a baseball diamond for other activities
-Locals are friendly!
-Bathrooms near the baseball/softball fields.
Cons: -Can be tough to navigate. Going from 12 - 13 can be near impossible if you don't know where you are going.
-Parking lot is pretty rough. Pot holes and such are not lowered car friendly.
-Huge groups of people playing on the weekends. However, the ones I ran into let us play through no problem.
-Can be very muddy after rain. It is based around a creek.
Other Thoughts: Love Love Love this course! It offers some spectacular shots on quite a few holes, especially #12. That hole is one of the most intimadating holes I have ever seen. If you have a flick or can throw a well controlled anhyzer (right handed) and dodge the multitude of trees, the hole is quite aceable. Keep your eyes out for the old car in the creek between 12 and 13.

Hole #1 is a hell of a starting hole. You have to cross a creek immediately. When I say creek, I mean a gorge with some water on the bottom. The shot is really a good slight RHBH hyzer shot and offers a great chance at an ace. If you can get past the water hazard mental thing.

If you are in the DFW area, this course is definitely worth the drive to it. If you are coming from out of the area, it is definitely worth a stop! It is only a few minutes from DFW Airport after all!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/24/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: r_raccuglia
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great course to begin on. It has a few ace potential shots. The park in very well maintained and has great landscape. I always feel better about my game when I play here.
Cons: Not to many. It would be great if there was tournaments here. Watch out for snakes.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is one of my favorite courses.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Bear Creek

2-4    10/10/2009   10/21/2009
Review By: jasondguy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great hole 1!! Starts out having to cross the creek. Nice Scenery. Great shot arsenal required. Used Tomahawk, thumber, roller, hyzer, anhyzer, low ceiling shots. Well maintained and good players come here. Very challenging.
Cons: Not for beginners. Pars are not posted usually, nor arrows to next tee.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course i've played so far, love the challenges, and all the different shots needed.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    8/30/2009   9/3/2009
Review By: discfisher
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I love this course! This is where I first started playing and have had a ton of fun palying. I usually play Every Sunday morning with a large group of friends.(sorry to the impatient singles or doubles) The holes are kinda short but very technical. We take our time when we play and usually have a few beers and make friendly wagers along the way.
1- toss across the creek walk the pipe birdie is very possible
2- over the river and thru the woods to a par hole
3-throw sidearm towards the 8th hole tee box over the trees can be aced
4- short strait if you don't birdie this one you have problems
5- lots fo trees watch out for the swamp
6- big mud hole and a lake will surround the pin if it has rained
7- smokers spot there is a circle of logs for the smokers behind the advanced tee
8- first throw usualy ends up in the big tree but can recover on the second toss
9- good hole to roll
10- sidearmers beware!!! lost many disc in the creek
11- closest to the pin contest
12- best to throw from the advanced tee easier to get across
13- if you can't make your disc turn left throw short on your first throw
14- closest to the pin contest(i've aced twice)
15- don't over throw you'll lose your discs
16- fun pretty straight creek on the left
17- tunnell of trees
18- i throw sidearm and aim for the creek breaks right landing within 15 feet of the pin
Cons: POISON IVY EVERYWHERE!!!!!
Leaves of three leave them be
Other Thoughts: i usually score a +1 on the course best game was a -5

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 great course!!

5+    3/28/2009   3/28/2009
Review By: mitchdrums
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great water holes, tests accuracy, great challenge if you throw from the long tee's. and most of all....you get a workout climbing through the gourge and if you are adventurous, walk across the pipe on hole 1!
Cons: sometimes there are a lot of people, but if you go by yourself as i often do, most everyone will let you throw with them.
Other Thoughts: i love this course, not easy...but not too hard to where you will storm off the course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 This Was FUN But Busy

1    2/22/2009   2/23/2009
Review By: Nastynate
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.6 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I had heard of this course but had never made it to it until last weekend. I went with a buddy of mine after warming up at Tommy and Sue Brown. The difficultly factor of some of the holes are excellent.
Cons: This place was so freaking busy it was unbelievable. I had to wait 7 minutes per hole. On hole 12 I cleared the gourge, but still had to walk through it to get to the basket. so I was beaten to have to walk though it it
Other Thoughts: I would love to play it when not so crowded

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

3/9/2008   3/9/2008
Review By: jessepittman
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2008
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent course. Well maintained, lots of different shots needed to score well. Tees usually well marked. A few holes tee off directly in front of large, deep creekbeds with fallen trees or water manes as direct bridges. Lots of fun.
Cons: To get from hole 12 to 13 you have to exit out to the parking area to cross a large creek, but it's only unclear the first time through.
Other Thoughts: None of the holes are super long, but lots of variety. Some fairways are an alley in the trees, some are an open field. Creeks in play frequently. Again, very fun course.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.