Grapevine, TX 
Bear Creek Share
Uploaded By: cc0049 Hole #1
3 / 240ft.   3 / 267ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Long Tee



Reviews: 88
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Fun Course

2-4    7/11/2015   7/14/2015
Review By: jbeezus
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
Pros: Fun and challenging. Easy to follow from hole to hole. Allot of shade on summer days and very clean.
Cons: Not many, can get a bit crowded.
Other Thoughts: Excellent course for a beginner. Allot of hole that play to the right.

Course by the Creek

1    3/17/2015   3/24/2015
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 339  Reviewed: 161  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a good mix of short, moderate, and longer holes. There are multiple tees and pins placements as well.
Plenty of trees which provide good lines that need to be hit in order to score well.
Good use of the creek and water hazards.
There are some low ceiling shots and a good mix of dog leg L/R holes too.
Good signage and tees.
There are a couple of practice baskets and trash cans and benches at several holes.
Plenty of shade for the summer months and there is a good balance of risk/reward on several holes.
Favorite holes for me were 2,12,15 and 18.
Cons: The transition from 12's basket to 13's tee is a bit lengthy and slows the flow down a bit.
This course gets heavy play so you might have to wait to play, however many of the locals were friendly and offered to let me play through.
Can get a bit sloppy after a good rain.
Pay attention when you are leaving 12's basket and walking on the path to 13's tee. You will pass pretty close to 1's basket and might experience an errant shot so heads up.
The walking path is close to 2's fairway so look before you throw.
Crossing the ravine/creek on 12 could be difficult for some players especially if it has rained a lot.
Other Thoughts: This is a really good course that is fun to play in the DFW area. I enjoyed my round here and was challenged by the lines that are here.
You will need to use all the shots in your bag on this course from BH to FH, Hyzer to Anhyer etc., they will all come into play somewhere.
This course will test your shot shaping abilities and make you think about your shots but its not overly technical to the point of frustration.
If you are in the area you should stop and check this course out. There is a little bit of everything here for all types of players.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bear Creek

5+    1/19/2015   1/21/2015
Review By: FunkytownDG
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.5 Years
Pros: Short technical course with good mix of wooded shots from the tee. Very little wind makes shot very predictable. Multiple teepads with signs, map of course next to parking lot and 2 practice baskets
Cons: Lots of tournament play and lack of parking on the weekends. Course is very active so it takes a beating and can get dusty or muddy depending on the season

nice time today

2-4    11/2/2014   11/2/2014
Review By: JVG333
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great all around course. First time playing this one. Our group of seven had such a great time we went around twice... Great day!
Cons: Weekly turnys interrupted Sunday freeplay for a few minutes here and there at times today.... But we enjoy watching great shots as well as throwing them.... so it really was not a big deal.
Other Thoughts: Ready to go again!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course but often crowded

1    10/14/2014   10/14/2014
Review By: dfw-hucker
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun course, lots of fun shots, hole 12 is a blast, helps with your putting/short and mid range, presents several tricky shots.
Cons: Tons of traffic, often large groups, lots of graffiti, people often walk through the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Be careful here, there are a lot of blind gives and I have had people steal my drivers.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fairly Average Course

1    10/12/2014   10/12/2014
Review By: Joe6Pack
Played: 33  Reviewed: 18
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Well maintained
- Nice tee pads and signage
- Variety of shots
- Good parking and plenty of trash cans
Cons: - Seems to rely too much on significant hyzer/anhyzer shots (gets boring quick)
- Can get very crowded on the course (be prepared to wait)
Other Thoughts: Wanted to like this course a little more, but got bored of it after about 9 holes. Seems to be too many of the same shot types to keep my interest.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Short Wooded Course

5+    4/27/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: Slimrn
Played: 18  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 1.6 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great place to learn to throw kids and putters. This is my home course, but that doesn't make me biased. This course is lacking a lot: distance, open shots, forgiveness disc retrievability, etc. That being said, it is a great place to get your short game in check. On windy days this place is generally less windy. In the winter, the lack of foliage makes this a much easier course. Some nice locals, some folks always there- will help you find baskets etc if you need help although you generally won't. The biggest "pro" is that a variety of shots is needed to properly play the course.
Cons: -The baskets almost never move.

-There is wicked poison ivy about. A very nice guy named Scott has put forth 100+ hours of his free time to clean up the course and has done a phenomenal job, however- the PI is still out and angry.

-Water comes into play on many holes, which keeps it interesting, but discs are unretrievable on 6, 10, 15, and 16.

-Only one hole to really air it out and get some distance, and only from the long tee (14). This is what I think the major limitation is of the course.


-This course gets a LOT of traffic, and there are often very large groups playing 9-11 people. Manners and etiquette aren't always observed and you often have to ask people to play through, but folks usually let you when you ask.
Other Thoughts: Use the trash cans people. Not many of you bring your moms along, so they aren't picking up after you.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Memorable course

5+    3/31/2014   4/5/2014
Review By: tbsox
Played: 40  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes

12 - This hole is stuck in my disc golf memory for sure. I played this course a lot when I lived in this area and it was the one I was most interested in seeing again to see if memory met up to the reality as my game as improved. It has. This is a tough hole and the deep creek is still imposing. It felt a lot less imposing though from previous plays.

15 - Tough little keyhole shot across a creek and through many trees. Lanes are clear but the shot is challenging. If you don't make it somewhat deep on throw one its a very tough recovery.

18 - This is a good finishing hole. If your throw is accurate your in for an easy 3 but a mistake is costly. There is a risk reward for those needing a stroke which makes it interesting as a birdie is possible with a good throw.
Cons: Not a very pretty course. Vegetation is plentiful and the pond that many of the mid holes play around is more sewage like than one would hope. There is an overwater throw on one holes long tee. While its an easy toss across if you square up and hit a tree you go in at your own peril. I would suggest using a retriever if you do.
Other Thoughts: Its a good course on par. Lots of shot variety and hole to hole feels very different. Having not played this course in a while it plays very similar to how I had remembered it. Most holes are tight shot shaping holes but there are a few long throw opportunities such as 14. Its not the most friendly beginner course as the trees are very thick and tight in some areas but it will definitely help you improve your game for intermediate players.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/23/2013   11/25/2013
Review By: natay
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: - Great terrain diversity
- Good tee boxes for the beginner and expert alike.
- Friendly Squirrels- On hole 9 I threw my driver way up in a tree. I climbed up to get it and when I was close to the top where my disc was a squirrel stuck his head out of a hole. I was like 'hey there buddy' and I noticed he had an acorn in his mouth. He started inchin towards me and I was like 'what is this squirrel up to?!' When he was right up by my face he grabbed the acorn out of his mouth and held it up to mine. And I said 'no thanks'. I got my disc back in the end.
Cons: Some holes are hard to find. Lack of signage.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course!

1    11/19/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: fhtagn
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 21.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Long and short tees for variability of play.
Plenty of trees in clumps and singles, small and large, with the course set in a way to make them enjoyable in the challange they bring without simply being "throw through this tunnel we cut in the trees."
A very fun walk and setting.
Cons: Some confusion on where to go to get to the next tee, at least for me on my first play through.
At this time of year there were a few spots with leaves a foot thick on the ground making losing a disc under them a possibility.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.