Grapevine, TX 
Bear Creek Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #9
3 / 330ft.   3 / 348ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 85
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Glad I'm not allergic to poison ivy

1    6/12/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: Schlangewurst
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Good variety in hole length and pin placement.
- I liked the change in environment from woods to field to marsh to creeks.
- Great signs to mark where the pin was placed.
- Good tee boxes and holes.
Cons: - I had to go off the fairway more than once and the poison ivy this time of year is fierce.
- low lying branches are the devil.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good short course

2-4    5/23/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 45  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: All of the tee boxes are marked. Baskets are very nice and show the hole number on each basket.
Cons: Cant say any really bad other than the grass needs to be cut and some trash picked up. But other than that the course plays very good.
Other Thoughts: Good course to practice all your shots in the bag.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

improved signs

1    5/11/2013   5/15/2013
Review By: Memphis Newbie
Played: 33  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Design--good variety

Signage--past reviews have mentioned the poor signage and navigation. This has been much improved. There are nice satellite imagery signs with all the info you need including next tees (actually, not all the info you need, there is no way to mark the current basket postion which is a pet peeve of mine). There are also lots of separate directional signs.

Tees-- there are two tees (multiple tees is one of pet faves) and they are plenty big

Practice area-- nice touch
Cons: Too many blind baskets-- one of the best parts of disc golf is watching a good shot fly all the way to the basket, with a blind basket that's not possible. Also, when you're playing the course for your first time, like we were, it makes it hard to know what you're shooting for even though the signs are good.

Big walk to hole 13 (which starts by the entrance to the parking lot)-- this is a nuisance, but hey, there's a big creek separating the two parts of the course so you have to go back to the bridge.
Other Thoughts: In defense of this course, I think the foliage type necessitated some blind holes to lengthen the holes and provide more challenge. What I mean by this is that the foliage here is dense, short woods interspersed with open areas. So many of the holes are shooting through the open areas and around the woods rather than through corridors in tall canopy-type woods like I am used to in Tennessee. When you are shooting through the woods at Bear Creek, there is a very low ceiling, meaning a lot of skip shots are needed. I saw the warnings in previous reviews about hole 15 being a disc eater. We were playing fast and I didn't remember this warning. I also didn't carefully read the tee sign. I thought the basket was in the distant woods past the dirt bank and that's where I threw my disk. When I approached the bank I saw that it dropped down into a deep dark creek with opaque water and the distant bank was flush with the densest poison ivy and bushes you've ever seen. If your disk goes in this water or past, it's gone. The basket is on the crest of the near bank, but hidden to the left. I think the locals have done a great job with this course. We played at 7:00 am on a Saturday and there were only a couple other disc golfers there. This course would be much more enjoyable on repeat visits.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great course for all

5+    5/1/2013   5/4/2013
Review By: ericl244
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A great overall course for people of all skill levels. A good mix of "back woods" holes and wide open throws. I have probably played this course 3-4 times a week over the last 6 months, and have a blast every time.
Cons: Large groups are a real issue here. I usually play alone, and my wife will walk along next to me. We will get caught at some holes for 10-15 min stuck behind a large group of 6+ that don't tend to be very courteous.
Other Thoughts: Go play it, you will really enjoy it. Just watch out for holes 15 and 16, they claimed MANY discs.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorites!

5+    2/12/2013   3/14/2013
Review By: FairwayBeast
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very fun course to play. It has clear info of the course. It has one of the best holes I've ever played, hole 12. The locals call it "the gauntlet".
Cons: It gets packed on the weekends. I really don't like waiting on large groups and we ran into that many times.
Other Thoughts: I suggest going during the week. My buddy and I went on a Tuesday and played for a good 7 hours with no interruptions.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Bear Creek

2-4    2/10/2013   2/22/2013
Review By: Jimbotten
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Sensational utilization of nature.
Challenging throughout.
The best place to play in DFW on a windy day.
Hole 13 is easily one of the most unique holes in DFW in a frustratingly good way.
Multiple tees!!!
Cons: Expect above par scores.
Long walk from hole 13-14.
Lots of insects in the warmer seasons.
Expect Delays: expect big groups waiting on big groups (5+ players)
Other Thoughts: The classic hole #1 would make this course better if it was still around. Now, however, we have a frustrating start to the course with a hard left turn shot that is close to Tee # 2

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Does a bear poop in the woods?

1    11/5/2012   11/9/2012
Review By: Spookyspence
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long and short concrete tees
Nice and technical
A few really nice signature holes
Nice tee signs
Practice basket
Cons: Can be hard to find
Can get crowded leading to mob golf
Poison Ivy heavy, be careful
Short tees are not challenging at all
Other Thoughts: This course is a fun 18 hole course to play through with its combination of technical and wooded holes ( from long only ) and good basket locations. The short tee locations are disappointing but would be fun for someone who has just started. The course can have tons of poison ivy so keep an eye out! Over all this course is awesome and I will be playing it anytime I am in the area!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great find, Underrated

1    7/23/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: DGCakes
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Pretty Technical
Each hole has two tee positions
Through woods so very shaded from TX heat
Cons: Wont miss the trees
Not the most easily navigable
Other Thoughts: This park was awesome. It's kind of nestled out of the way and you will miss it if you aren't looking for it from the road. Don't let it's short length make you think it'll be easy!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 New Signage

5+    6/23/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: Kuel
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: NEW signage. Signs are large and use satellite photography for hole layout.
Two sets of concrete tees on every hole.
Two practice baskets about 30 feet apart.
Lot's of good birdie opportunities, especially from the short tees.
Cons: Poison Ivy. Can get get crowded during peak hours. A coulpe of holes are notorious disc eaters.
Other Thoughts: This is probably my second favorite course of the 14 I've played. Most of the holes require more touch off the tee than power. Somebody has put in some serious hours out there the past couple of months. The new signage, wood chip around the starting area, and new practice baskets are great.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Ok shots, terrible navigation

1    4/12/2012   5/30/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course plays through a wooded park that's disc golf exclusive other than the first few holes. There are some pretty open shots mixed in, with most playing through scattered trees or denser trees. Many of the holes have fairly thick rough waiting to punish errant shots. Water comes into play on several holes, including a few that offer tricky risk/reward decisions.

It felt like a pretty good mix of hole shapes, with a few really interesting lines to hit and a decent balance of left and right turning shots. The alternate tees offer some different lines to hit and some distance difference on the longer holes. Both sets of tees are nice concrete pads. There are alternate pin positions that could change up how the course plays.
Cons: Navigation is a major issue here. Many of the holes have multiple paths leading away from the basket, so some wandering is required at times to find the next tee. Hole 1 has a really long walk to get to the bridge across the creek, then back over to the pin area. After hole 12, you have to walk all the way back to the parking lot and find the right trail into the woods to get to the rest of the holes. None of these are marked or obvious, and the map available here is pretty useless.

The signage at the tees is mediocre, and many are missing or broken. With multiple pin positions and no marking of which are in use, it can get frustrating to have to scout ahead on the blind holes. There is a lot of trash and vandalism present here. Though there are some fun shots, there are also some mediocre filler type holes, and the overall challenge level just isn't that high even from the longs.
Other Thoughts: Beginners can have a great time from the shorts here, there are some risky water shots and some thick rough but the distances are reasonable. More experienced players will find the course fairly short and straightforward even from the longs, though a few of the holes are cool enough to make this one worth a stop.

My reviews are written from the perspective of a player seeing the course for the first time, so the navigation issues knock the rating down slightly for me. Locals won't have those issues once they know the course but other traveling players will likely share my frustrations.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center