Grapevine, TX 
Bear Creek Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #6
3 / 339ft.   3 / 428ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee: You shoot to the opening then through some trees to a clearing. The basket is in the clearing with a drop off behind it.



Reviews: 82
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great course for all

5+    5/1/2013   5/4/2013
Review By: ericl244
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A great overall course for people of all skill levels. A good mix of "back woods" holes and wide open throws. I have probably played this course 3-4 times a week over the last 6 months, and have a blast every time.
Cons: Large groups are a real issue here. I usually play alone, and my wife will walk along next to me. We will get caught at some holes for 10-15 min stuck behind a large group of 6+ that don't tend to be very courteous.
Other Thoughts: Go play it, you will really enjoy it. Just watch out for holes 15 and 16, they claimed MANY discs.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorites!

5+    2/12/2013   3/14/2013
Review By: FairwayBeast
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very fun course to play. It has clear info of the course. It has one of the best holes I've ever played, hole 12. The locals call it "the gauntlet".
Cons: It gets packed on the weekends. I really don't like waiting on large groups and we ran into that many times.
Other Thoughts: I suggest going during the week. My buddy and I went on a Tuesday and played for a good 7 hours with no interruptions.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Bear Creek

2-4    2/10/2013   2/22/2013
Review By: Jimbotten
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Sensational utilization of nature.
Challenging throughout.
The best place to play in DFW on a windy day.
Hole 13 is easily one of the most unique holes in DFW in a frustratingly good way.
Multiple tees!!!
Cons: Expect above par scores.
Long walk from hole 13-14.
Lots of insects in the warmer seasons.
Expect Delays: expect big groups waiting on big groups (5+ players)
Other Thoughts: The classic hole #1 would make this course better if it was still around. Now, however, we have a frustrating start to the course with a hard left turn shot that is close to Tee # 2

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Does a bear poop in the woods?

1    11/5/2012   11/9/2012
Review By: Spookyspence
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long and short concrete tees
Nice and technical
A few really nice signature holes
Nice tee signs
Practice basket
Cons: Can be hard to find
Can get crowded leading to mob golf
Poison Ivy heavy, be careful
Short tees are not challenging at all
Other Thoughts: This course is a fun 18 hole course to play through with its combination of technical and wooded holes ( from long only ) and good basket locations. The short tee locations are disappointing but would be fun for someone who has just started. The course can have tons of poison ivy so keep an eye out! Over all this course is awesome and I will be playing it anytime I am in the area!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great find, Underrated

1    7/23/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: DGCakes
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Pretty Technical
Each hole has two tee positions
Through woods so very shaded from TX heat
Cons: Wont miss the trees
Not the most easily navigable
Other Thoughts: This park was awesome. It's kind of nestled out of the way and you will miss it if you aren't looking for it from the road. Don't let it's short length make you think it'll be easy!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 New Signage

5+    6/23/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: Kuel
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.8 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: NEW signage. Signs are large and use satellite photography for hole layout.
Two sets of concrete tees on every hole.
Two practice baskets about 30 feet apart.
Lot's of good birdie opportunities, especially from the short tees.
Cons: Poison Ivy. Can get get crowded during peak hours. A coulpe of holes are notorious disc eaters.
Other Thoughts: This is probably my second favorite course of the 14 I've played. Most of the holes require more touch off the tee than power. Somebody has put in some serious hours out there the past couple of months. The new signage, wood chip around the starting area, and new practice baskets are great.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Ok shots, terrible navigation

1    4/12/2012   5/30/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course plays through a wooded park that's disc golf exclusive other than the first few holes. There are some pretty open shots mixed in, with most playing through scattered trees or denser trees. Many of the holes have fairly thick rough waiting to punish errant shots. Water comes into play on several holes, including a few that offer tricky risk/reward decisions.

It felt like a pretty good mix of hole shapes, with a few really interesting lines to hit and a decent balance of left and right turning shots. The alternate tees offer some different lines to hit and some distance difference on the longer holes. Both sets of tees are nice concrete pads. There are alternate pin positions that could change up how the course plays.
Cons: Navigation is a major issue here. Many of the holes have multiple paths leading away from the basket, so some wandering is required at times to find the next tee. Hole 1 has a really long walk to get to the bridge across the creek, then back over to the pin area. After hole 12, you have to walk all the way back to the parking lot and find the right trail into the woods to get to the rest of the holes. None of these are marked or obvious, and the map available here is pretty useless.

The signage at the tees is mediocre, and many are missing or broken. With multiple pin positions and no marking of which are in use, it can get frustrating to have to scout ahead on the blind holes. There is a lot of trash and vandalism present here. Though there are some fun shots, there are also some mediocre filler type holes, and the overall challenge level just isn't that high even from the longs.
Other Thoughts: Beginners can have a great time from the shorts here, there are some risky water shots and some thick rough but the distances are reasonable. More experienced players will find the course fairly short and straightforward even from the longs, though a few of the holes are cool enough to make this one worth a stop.

My reviews are written from the perspective of a player seeing the course for the first time, so the navigation issues knock the rating down slightly for me. Locals won't have those issues once they know the course but other traveling players will likely share my frustrations.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

5+    4/16/2012   4/19/2012
Review By: zendragon
Played: 28  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great range of shots.
Mostly easy to navigate.
Lots of shade but not too many trees to make it unplayable.
Beautiful landscape.
Cons: A few spots to lose discs.
Crowded on the weekends and evenings.
Other Thoughts: I would consider this my home course and I play it at least once a week. I love the feeling of being deep in nature even though you're right off a highway and a community. The holes themselves are pretty great. There are alternate pin positions and whoever keeps up the course moves them pretty regularly. Combining that with the alternate tee pads gives you the ability to almost play a new course each time you go. Hole 16 is the only hole I've lost a disc in the water. The rest of the creek is pretty shallow and I'll go in and fish them out, but on hole 16 the water gets over 15 ft deep. If you throw rhbh with any sort of stable to over stable disc here, be careful. Hole 15 has a few challenges for your disc as well. One pin position has the basket sitting on the edge of the creek. It's about 4 ft deep just behind the basket, but if you have a shot that goes off a tree or you get a bad release on, further up the creek it gets quite a bit deeper. The only other real dangerous spot to lose a disc is hole 5. There is a murky pond behind one of the pin positions. The pond is full of limbs and debris, so fishing something out of there takes a lot of patience.
If you're careful on those 3 holes though, the rest are pretty safe with just some trees to offer a challenge to the well kept up fairways.
I really can't recommend this course enough. While there is no single hole that I would say is the best I've played, all of them are fun and challenging enough that make this course one of the best I have ever played all around.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bear Creek

2-4    3/28/2012   4/5/2012
Review By: ColtonV
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Great variety
-Fairly Easy to navigate
-Not too short
-Offers a challenge to some
-People sell disks in the parking lot for cheap sometimes
-2 tee boxes per hole
Cons: -Poison ivy is the biggest thing
-Can sometimes get a little backed up
-There is a chance you will lose a disc on a few holes
Other Thoughts: Some REALLY cool holes on here. The only thing that I really don't like is the great amount of poison ivy that resides here. I've only gotten it once when I was there though. This is my "home course" I guess so I do have a kind of bias, but every time I go I have a great time and have thrown with some nice people.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Always Fun

5+    3/16/2012   3/20/2012
Review By: mike_james
Played: 54  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Just fun. Really precise lines needed on these holes, without being short. The long tees change this course completely, making it more lefty friendly. Well shaded, and seems to stay playable after a little rain. The wind also doesn't seem to affect the majority of the course. I hear a lot of people say it is hard to navigate, I don't find this to be an issue. It has a good flow to it. Park is pretty clean and well groomed.
Cons: Will get crowded on you. I would go as early as possible. Sneaky police. Don't be doing anything you shouldn't and it won't be an issue. A couple of long walks to holes. Just #1 if you don't cross the pipe, and from #12 to #13, but it is a good chance to stop at the car for whatever. Some of the teepads are a little short, and/or elevated, so be careful there.
Other Thoughts: Centrally located for most, so when you do check it out, get a couple rounds in and try from the longs too. Police prescence isn't necessarily a bad thing. Lots of cool events go on out here and they are usually lots of fun.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.