Grapevine, TX 
Bear Creek Share
Uploaded By: cc0049 Hole #18
3 / 216ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Long Tee



Reviews: 82
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun homeboy course

5+    3/12/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2013
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice mix of relatively open holes and wooded-ish holes
-Concrete tee pads, new signs with distance and map, baskets in good shape
-Lots of interesting fairways, creeks, pond, rusted out car
-Two sets of tees
-Pro tees give different look at many holes not just added distance
-Plenty of parking; holes 1 & 18 near parking lot
-Lots of friendly locals
-The park has that undefinable "homeboy" essence
Cons: -The park has that undefinable "homeboy" essence
-Trash
-lots of Poison Ivy, watch the rough!
-Navigation can be a little tricky for first timers, definitely bring a map. better now with new signage!
-For a half-wooded course, it's not that challenging
-Cops, hood rats, annoyed neighbors
-Real easy to lose plastic out here, watch out for the pond behind the basket on #5 and the creek behind #15
-Can get real crowded
-A few of the crossings or paths are not for the balance-challenged, #12 for example
Other Thoughts: ***Update***
New practice area with 2 warm up baskets, new signs on all holes at short and long tees, lots of work cleaning up the course. This place looks great right now! New course map at hole 1. Basket positions have changed, forgot some of those other ones were there it had been so long.
***

This is a really fun, very busy course. The park is nice, albeit not very clean, and has a great vibe for DG. The layout is not all that challenging so it is great for beginners but advanced players might want to check out some of the better courses in DFW if you're visiting.

As a popular urban destination, this course has all the pros and cons that go along with that: it gets busy, play is slow, lots of newer players don't know etiquette, hood rats hang out and the cops show up. The course itself is a lot of fun but sometimes a round out here is not what I'm looking for.

Supposedly the city has had the course on the chopping block for a while now. Keep that in mind before you bring party favors along with your round. The cops do patrol.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/24/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: r_raccuglia
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great course to begin on. It has a few ace potential shots. The park in very well maintained and has great landscape. I always feel better about my game when I play here.
Cons: Not to many. It would be great if there was tournaments here. Watch out for snakes.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is one of my favorite courses.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Any minis

5+    4/13/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: tdpat88
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course has a great mix of challenging and easy holes. It is also usually very clean.
Cons: A few of the holes are a little to easy if you have a big arm.
Other Thoughts: Are there any minis that go on here? I have not found any yet and I would like to participate if there are some.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great short course!

5+    4/11/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: domingomadagascar
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great short course! If you want to throw a nice, solid round and are looking for a midrange tune up that's heavily treed, stop by Bear Creek and throw a quick round. Some AWESOME geographical challenges! Bring your right bending mdrange. I use a kite here a lot.
Cons: Short. Not real challenging, although there are some water hazard holes and can definitely lose a disk in the water. Not all holes are playable for some one physically callenged or small children, although most of the holes are very family friendly.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to play with a group and marvel at long birdies, or to learn on. But watch the hazards!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

2-4    3/23/2010   4/10/2010
Review By: lp1holl
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Beautiful Area
Relaxed Environment
Not too busy
Good for Pros and Beginners
Cons: Watch for Poison ivy
Rivers that you can't see, especially on 15
Other Thoughts: This was my first ever Disc Golf Course and by far my favorite, if you're within 20 miles it is well worth the trip, especially now that the weather is nicer

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 What he said

2-4    3/18/2010   3/22/2010
Review By: emook
Played: 46  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I had a good experience with the course, making my first Ace from the adv tee on the 1st hole. How ever, this course IS challenging. Its a really fun course and layed out well. Tees are marked easy and I didnt have too much trouble finding my way around.
Cons: First and biggest con I have, is the first time I played this course, I stopped at hole 12 simply because I could not find where the course picked up.

This course will make you work for your discs. I have almost lost a disc every time I've played. There are amateur and advanced tees on almost every hole. However some of them make no sense.

The upkeep sucks the more you get into the course also. Alot of sloppy players I find. I haven't had any cop trouble, but a lot of neighborhood locals play so I would say NO to beer or other.
Other Thoughts: Great course, bring crappy shoes and a fresh pair of socks, you'll need them for sure.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

5+    3/13/2010   3/14/2010
Review By: chingy414
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As far as the fun factor goes, Bear Creek Park is one of the best courses around. You can tell right away it's going to be a fun course by the over the creek shot on the first hole. There is a good variety here for right or left handed players, sidearm or backhand. I really like that there are alot of good ace run holes here, but you have to work for most of them. This course was fun when it was only 12 holes, but the addition of the back 6 is icing on the cake. There are alot of regulars at Bear Creek, so it's never hard to find somebody to throw with if your friends have sand in their vaginas.
Cons: One of the biggest cons of this course is the upkeep. A combination of a few disrespectful golfers, and slacking by the city, makes this course look a little trashy at times. Another serious con is cops cops cops. Haven't seen many in a while, but the city of Grapevine is notorious for harassing the local golfers. Beer is not allowed here, and they will ticket you. This course is also a disc eater. There are many holes with water trouble, but if you don't mind getting wet, you can find yours and probably a few others. Watch out for the pond on the back of 5, and the big creek on 15. Those are the two you need to worry most about. Also this course can get very sloppy after a good rain, so bring your crappy shoes if you are going to play. Bear Creek is a popular course, so if you go on a nice day, prepare to chill out for a while.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Bear Creek is a super fun course for all skill levels. This is a course everyone in the area should play.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good ol G vine

5+    3/18/2010   3/13/2010
Review By: Chain_Bang
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/19/2010
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful shots that can all be approached with diverse stlyes of throws. Some tomahawk where others sidearm and another backhands. Leaves in spring and summer make the course more challenging. There can be waits on the tees on particularly nice days but big groups are usually courteous and will let smaller groups pass. There's always a regular who can help you navigate as well, as a first timer may accidentaly skip a few holes, and miss the back 6 all together.
Cons: Water, water, water. Everyone has lost something to the water hazards at this course. The first hole plays over bear creek and will catch discs that hit the trees. Hole 5 has a pond behind it that isn't visible from the tees but will swallow a long shot. Over shooting 6 may land you in the creek. 10 plays with the creek to the right. 12 has some casual water throughtout. 15 is famous so throw something you won't miss. 15 sometime has water in front of the basket after heavy rain. 16 has creek to the left and behind. 17 and 18 can also land you in trouble if you shoot too far left. All of these hazards are deep enough to make plastic dissappear so beware! No alcohol is allowed here, and undercover police have been known to enforce it.
Other Thoughts: My absolute favorite course!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Still the one

5+    3/8/2010   3/11/2010
Review By: Riverhouse82
Played: 50  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Easy to follow
Short and sweet from either box.
Good for work on keeping it low
Cons: Frequently too busy
lots of mud after weather with no easy creek crossing on 12, not bad if your actually athletic.
Other Thoughts: move the baskets. right?

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the drive across town

1    2/19/2010   2/19/2010
Review By: 4cryNoutLOUD
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots. Many short holes. Good concrete tee boxes. Liked the over the creek shots, it's drivable for most players. Has normal and advanced player tee boxes.
Cons: Baskets not painted not visible. Course not marked very well. It has the hole number at the tee but no map of hole. Some advanced tee's seem easier that novice ones. Trash in the creeks.
Other Thoughts: I played this course for the first time today. It was really a fun course. I can see it being more challenging during the summer with leaves on the trees. If it's your first time go with someone who's been there or get a course map.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.