Grapevine, TX 
Bear Creek Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #5 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 299ft.   3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 92
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Technical, Wooded Course.

5+    7/18/2016   7/18/2016
Review By: nckirksey
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 0.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/3/2016
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clear tee signs (hole 3 is missing the beginner tee sign), easy to find the tee pads.

Plenty of benches and trash cans near tee boxes

The city takes care of Bear Creek Park maintenance, meaning the course is cut regularly.

Very technical course. You'll be thinking about pretty much every shot you take, due to the many trees. Expect to use your driver maybe once (hole 14 is by far the longest at around 380 ft.).

Variety of tee shots (excluding many long shots). Adequate forehand and backhand technique is a must for all players.
Cons: Tee pads are very tall (2-3" above the ground - good luck beginning your run-up from off the tee - though you likely won't need to).

Not many elevation changes.

The front 8 or so holes are pretty difficult to navigate for the first time.

I have personally encountered plenty of poison oak and poison ivy, a few water moccasins, and early morning golfers will have to deal with some spider webs near the back 6 tee boxes. Just be careful where you walk, remembering to stomp as you walk near water (to ward off any snakes) and you'll be fine.

Many holes end in wooded areas, meaning you'll want to bring plenty of water and towels (if not a long-reaching disc-grabber) in case you throw into a large patch of poison ivy/oak.

Course contains no super epic holes.

Not many straight, open tee shots for beginners to practice throwing straight off the tee.
Other Thoughts: Other than hole 14 (the only "long" hole at 380 ft. off the advanced tee), I pretty much just tee off with my Roc or putter on this course.

Got lost my first time trying to play this course. After hole 12, you've gotta walk back past hole 1 and into the woods near the highway entrance. Hole 13 starts right there. The back 6 are my favorite holes on the course.

I learned to play disc golf on this course. Due to the technical nature of the course, it really helped develop my approach and putting game early. However, it would've been nice to have more than one or two holes with a straight, open tee shot. Newer players looking to practice straight shots will be somewhat disappointed. There are sections, but this course is heavily wooded and plays pretty short (most holes being around 200-250 ft.).

On Saturday mornings in the summer, the lot is packed out due to Little League. You can still park off the third hole on a residential cul-de-sac and play on these days. I forgot the name of the street, but it's Bear something - very close to "Bear Creek". Just look up the course on Google maps and it'll show the course, holes and all. You can find the street and plug it into your GPS that way.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I LOVE this course

5+    11/10/2015   11/18/2015
Review By: sommelier73
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - mostly generous fairways
- lots of obstacles, but only one or two mandos
- plenty of shade, but bring water -- only one drinking fountain, and it's by hole 1
- good mix of long and short holes, tunnel shots, hyzer bombs, technical shots, carry-the-water, thread-the-needle
- multiple pins/tees
- signage shows distance, alterate holes/tees and next hole/tee
Cons: - signs not always accurate, there is no distance shown for alternate hole positions, and there are some new hole positions that are not on the signs
- distances wrong on some holes, due to the new positions
- unforgiving water hazard 10 (if you turn it over too much), 15, 16 -- there are a couple of people that will fetch your disc out of the water for a fee
- lots of poison ivy (!!!)
- tee pads are a little small, but there aren't a lot of monster run-ups needed
- gets pretty busy, so go early -- particularly on weekends
Other Thoughts: This is the course where I learned to play disc golf, so I'm a little biased. That said, I have explored a bunch of other disc golf courses around and this is still one of my faves. The many trees cause you to get creative with your shots, and the risk/reward factor is high. The rough is really rough, and I've lost lots of discs in the underbrush, or the water. Most of the people that play here are pretty cool, and will help you look for a disc. And there are ALWAYS people playing here. From sunup to sundown, the only time that I've seen the place empty is when the weather is absolutely awful (like Texas ice storm bad.) This means that you'll run into some slow playing groups, which usually will let faster groups play through. The only people that may not like playing here are giant bombers, since there aren't many opportunities to throw 300+ ft. I would recommend this course for good beginners and intermediate players, or anybody that wants to work on shaping shots.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

2 Different Courses for sure

2-4    9/22/2015   9/23/2015
Review By: Trex530swanson
Played: 53  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course always has shade which is needed to play those hot summer rounds in Texas.
-I love that this course has two different tee pads per hole, playing the shorts for the casual round is quicker and tons of fun, But if you want to have a great challenge then play all the log tee pads.
-End of summer not really any water to worry about except on holes 15 and 16.
-Walk between hole 12 and 13 is the longest walk on the course. not long at all I will take that any day of the week
-there are a few holes with different basket locations also
Cons: - It can get really crowded on certain days and almost every evening
-there are a few blind shots that you can lose your disc if not careful
- The signs need a little work, some are hard to follow and a couple I didnt not know which was the long and which was the short. same distance just different angles and lines to the basket.
Other Thoughts: -getting to the course can be a little tricky the first few times you go there, I think it depends on which way you are coming from because its of 360 but you have to stay on 11 to get off at the right exit if you are coming from the north

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I Aced Hole #4 > Flick w/ an APE- witnessed BJ Hansen

5+    9/1/2015   9/2/2015
Review By: Rodmon
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 22.7 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Any course that gives me an ACE, I gotta love.
Well laid out for the terrain.
Dry now but could be muddy after a rain
Several right hook fairways.
Hole 12 is the signature Hole,
with a deep ravine to fly.
Whole lotta trees break up the wind on a windy day.
As anywhere else, follow the path from the basket and you should find the next Tee.
Cons: Dry now but could be very muddy after a rain.
Watch for any men playing with a new disc, (sticker still on the disc) and wearing polo shirts, they are prolly cops.
That deep ravine was very tough for my 2 wheeled cart. It was easier to carry it because path was too narrow and ravine pretty steep. Throw Hole 12 to the left, lay up then go for the hole.
Other Thoughts: I've played Bear Creek at least 7 times, and had no big plans yesterday. I stepped up to Hole #4, ripped an 175 gram Red Innova Ape in my normal flick. Felt a great release, when BOOM! The APE caught the air, bowed for the S-curve, rose a little higher on the wind than I had planned, then cut through the last few leaves of the tree & SLAMED the CHAINS! I was silent for 10 seconds not believing what I saw. BJ started dancing and howling like a wild man. It felt good to be ARES, the GOLDEN GOD of WAR for just a few minutes. It felt like 17 again, and that why we all play disc golf.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

2-4    7/11/2015   7/14/2015
Review By: jbeezus
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun and challenging. Easy to follow from hole to hole. Allot of shade on summer days and very clean.
Cons: Not many, can get a bit crowded.
Other Thoughts: Excellent course for a beginner. Allot of hole that play to the right.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Course by the Creek

1    3/17/2015   3/24/2015
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 373  Reviewed: 172  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a good mix of short, moderate, and longer holes. There are multiple tees and pins placements as well.
Plenty of trees which provide good lines that need to be hit in order to score well.
Good use of the creek and water hazards.
There are some low ceiling shots and a good mix of dog leg L/R holes too.
Good signage and tees.
There are a couple of practice baskets and trash cans and benches at several holes.
Plenty of shade for the summer months and there is a good balance of risk/reward on several holes.
Favorite holes for me were 2,12,15 and 18.
Cons: The transition from 12's basket to 13's tee is a bit lengthy and slows the flow down a bit.
This course gets heavy play so you might have to wait to play, however many of the locals were friendly and offered to let me play through.
Can get a bit sloppy after a good rain.
Pay attention when you are leaving 12's basket and walking on the path to 13's tee. You will pass pretty close to 1's basket and might experience an errant shot so heads up.
The walking path is close to 2's fairway so look before you throw.
Crossing the ravine/creek on 12 could be difficult for some players especially if it has rained a lot.
Other Thoughts: This is a really good course that is fun to play in the DFW area. I enjoyed my round here and was challenged by the lines that are here.
You will need to use all the shots in your bag on this course from BH to FH, Hyzer to Anhyer etc., they will all come into play somewhere.
This course will test your shot shaping abilities and make you think about your shots but its not overly technical to the point of frustration.
If you are in the area you should stop and check this course out. There is a little bit of everything here for all types of players.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bear Creek

5+    1/19/2015   1/21/2015
Review By: FunkytownDG
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short technical course with good mix of wooded shots from the tee. Very little wind makes shot very predictable. Multiple teepads with signs, map of course next to parking lot and 2 practice baskets
Cons: Lots of tournament play and lack of parking on the weekends. Course is very active so it takes a beating and can get dusty or muddy depending on the season

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 nice time today

2-4    11/2/2014   11/2/2014
Review By: JVG333
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great all around course. First time playing this one. Our group of seven had such a great time we went around twice... Great day!
Cons: Weekly turnys interrupted Sunday freeplay for a few minutes here and there at times today.... But we enjoy watching great shots as well as throwing them.... so it really was not a big deal.
Other Thoughts: Ready to go again!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Fun course but often crowded

1    10/14/2014   10/14/2014
Review By: dfw-hucker
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun course, lots of fun shots, hole 12 is a blast, helps with your putting/short and mid range, presents several tricky shots.
Cons: Tons of traffic, often large groups, lots of graffiti, people often walk through the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Be careful here, there are a lot of blind gives and I have had people steal my drivers.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fairly Average Course

1    10/12/2014   10/12/2014
Review By: Joe6Pack
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Well maintained
- Nice tee pads and signage
- Variety of shots
- Good parking and plenty of trash cans
Cons: - Seems to rely too much on significant hyzer/anhyzer shots (gets boring quick)
- Can get very crowded on the course (be prepared to wait)
Other Thoughts: Wanted to like this course a little more, but got bored of it after about 9 holes. Seems to be too many of the same shot types to keep my interest.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.