Grapevine, TX 
Bear Creek Share
Uploaded By: cc0049 Hole #2
3 / 303ft.   3 / 354ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Short Tee



Reviews: 82
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Short Wooded Course

5+    4/27/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: Slimrn
Played: 18  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 0.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great place to learn to throw kids and putters. This is my home course, but that doesn't make me biased. This course is lacking a lot: distance, open shots, forgiveness disc retrievability, etc. That being said, it is a great place to get your short game in check. On windy days this place is generally less windy. In the winter, the lack of foliage makes this a much easier course. Some nice locals, some folks always there- will help you find baskets etc if you need help although you generally won't. The biggest "pro" is that a variety of shots is needed to properly play the course.
Cons: -The baskets almost never move.

-There is wicked poison ivy about. A very nice guy named Scott has put forth 100+ hours of his free time to clean up the course and has done a phenomenal job, however- the PI is still out and angry.

-Water comes into play on many holes, which keeps it interesting, but discs are unretrievable on 6, 10, 15, and 16.

-Only one hole to really air it out and get some distance, and only from the long tee (14). This is what I think the major limitation is of the course.


-This course gets a LOT of traffic, and there are often very large groups playing 9-11 people. Manners and etiquette aren't always observed and you often have to ask people to play through, but folks usually let you when you ask.
Other Thoughts: Use the trash cans people. Not many of you bring your moms along, so they aren't picking up after you.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Memorable course

5+    3/31/2014   4/5/2014
Review By: tbsox
Played: 40  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes

12 - This hole is stuck in my disc golf memory for sure. I played this course a lot when I lived in this area and it was the one I was most interested in seeing again to see if memory met up to the reality as my game as improved. It has. This is a tough hole and the deep creek is still imposing. It felt a lot less imposing though from previous plays.

15 - Tough little keyhole shot across a creek and through many trees. Lanes are clear but the shot is challenging. If you don't make it somewhat deep on throw one its a very tough recovery.

18 - This is a good finishing hole. If your throw is accurate your in for an easy 3 but a mistake is costly. There is a risk reward for those needing a stroke which makes it interesting as a birdie is possible with a good throw.
Cons: Not a very pretty course. Vegetation is plentiful and the pond that many of the mid holes play around is more sewage like than one would hope. There is an overwater throw on one holes long tee. While its an easy toss across if you square up and hit a tree you go in at your own peril. I would suggest using a retriever if you do.
Other Thoughts: Its a good course on par. Lots of shot variety and hole to hole feels very different. Having not played this course in a while it plays very similar to how I had remembered it. Most holes are tight shot shaping holes but there are a few long throw opportunities such as 14. Its not the most friendly beginner course as the trees are very thick and tight in some areas but it will definitely help you improve your game for intermediate players.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/23/2013   11/25/2013
Review By: natay
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Great terrain diversity
- Good tee boxes for the beginner and expert alike.
- Friendly Squirrels- On hole 9 I threw my driver way up in a tree. I climbed up to get it and when I was close to the top where my disc was a squirrel stuck his head out of a hole. I was like 'hey there buddy' and I noticed he had an acorn in his mouth. He started inchin towards me and I was like 'what is this squirrel up to?!' When he was right up by my face he grabbed the acorn out of his mouth and held it up to mine. And I said 'no thanks'. I got my disc back in the end.
Cons: Some holes are hard to find. Lack of signage.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course!

1    11/19/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: fhtagn
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Long and short tees for variability of play.
Plenty of trees in clumps and singles, small and large, with the course set in a way to make them enjoyable in the challange they bring without simply being "throw through this tunnel we cut in the trees."
A very fun walk and setting.
Cons: Some confusion on where to go to get to the next tee, at least for me on my first play through.
At this time of year there were a few spots with leaves a foot thick on the ground making losing a disc under them a possibility.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Newbie had a blast on this course

1    10/6/2013   10/6/2013
Review By: 2003F150Lariat
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.1 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good mix of long and short drives.
Really good challenge for the newbie and veteran alike.
Cons: The popularity of this course with others does slow down the pace.
No other con's
Other Thoughts: Will definitely play this course again.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Nice course in heart of DFW

5+    7/4/2013   7/5/2013
Review By: thejake78
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is in a nice, wooded park in a central DFW location
- Course demands throwing good technical lines, dealing with several low ceilings,demanding accuracy
- Relatively beginner-friendly without being too easy
- Water hazards (creek, pond) can add a bit of challenge
- Two concrete tee pads at every hole
- Decent signs at tee boxes
- Several wooden benches throughout course provide good places to sit while you wait
- A good amount of trees means a decent amount of shade during the hot summers
- Nice, newly-paved parking lot provides a decent amount of parking at this busy course
- Practice basket is provided before the first tee
Cons: - Navigation is not ideal for a first-timer; in particular, there is a bit of a trek from #12 to #13, which takes you close to the pin on #1. Follow the signs back to the parking lot and basically cut diagonally across.
- Course is a popular venue and can get very crowded at times, with several large groups, particularly on weekends
- The rough is very thick in places
- Poison ivy is fairly prevalent
- Walking/biking track runs close to #2 in particular
- A few non-disc golfers will walk parts of the front twelve
- A few places where throwing into a water hazard (nasty pond when water is present on #5, creek on #6, #10, #15-#18) will be difficult to recover the recover the disc
- After heavy rains parts of this course are difficult-to-impossible to play due to standing water or flooded creek
- #12 could be difficult for some to play due to the trek through the ravine
Other Thoughts: - Not a bomber's course with generally shorter holes and lots of trees
- When dry, the ground is hard and conducive to bad skips/slides
- The redesign of #1, taking away the shot over the creek, is a disappointment, even though I can see the reasons why they did it.

This was the first course I ever played, and was my home course for several years. I still enjoy playing here, as it really is a well-designed course. The crowds are the biggest issue for me: a single round can take hours to play at times. On the flip side, there are plenty of friendly locals and opportunities to catch on with other groups. It is a must play in DFW, if only for the fact that so many people do cut their teeth on this course and continue to play here even after seeing some of the other great courses in the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Wooded, Low Ceilings

1    6/16/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 50  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice course with shorter technical holes. Most of the holes make you throw under the low ceiling of branches. It puts the creek to good use on a few holes. This is a very good course for those who want to work on shaping lines and keeping their discs lower, as it's not a long bomber course.
Cons: The tee signs, while showing the holes and various lines extremely well, fail on the most important criteria, namely featuring the hole number prominently. The number is in the bottom right corner in the same size font as the other text. Navigation is tricky in a few places, and the lack of prominent numbers on the tee signs, as well a lack of numbers on the baskets, make it difficult to see from a distance which tees and which baskets go together.
Other Thoughts: Holes 1 - 12 are together on one side of the park. 13 - 19 require a walk across the parking lot to get to. Most of the holes are easy to walk around, however 9 has a fairly steep downhill trail to cross the creek.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Glad I'm not allergic to poison ivy

1    6/12/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: Schlangewurst
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Good variety in hole length and pin placement.
- I liked the change in environment from woods to field to marsh to creeks.
- Great signs to mark where the pin was placed.
- Good tee boxes and holes.
Cons: - I had to go off the fairway more than once and the poison ivy this time of year is fierce.
- low lying branches are the devil.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good short course

2-4    5/23/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 45  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: All of the tee boxes are marked. Baskets are very nice and show the hole number on each basket.
Cons: Cant say any really bad other than the grass needs to be cut and some trash picked up. But other than that the course plays very good.
Other Thoughts: Good course to practice all your shots in the bag.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

improved signs

1    5/11/2013   5/15/2013
Review By: Memphis Newbie
Played: 33  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Design--good variety

Signage--past reviews have mentioned the poor signage and navigation. This has been much improved. There are nice satellite imagery signs with all the info you need including next tees (actually, not all the info you need, there is no way to mark the current basket postion which is a pet peeve of mine). There are also lots of separate directional signs.

Tees-- there are two tees (multiple tees is one of pet faves) and they are plenty big

Practice area-- nice touch
Cons: Too many blind baskets-- one of the best parts of disc golf is watching a good shot fly all the way to the basket, with a blind basket that's not possible. Also, when you're playing the course for your first time, like we were, it makes it hard to know what you're shooting for even though the signs are good.

Big walk to hole 13 (which starts by the entrance to the parking lot)-- this is a nuisance, but hey, there's a big creek separating the two parts of the course so you have to go back to the bridge.
Other Thoughts: In defense of this course, I think the foliage type necessitated some blind holes to lengthen the holes and provide more challenge. What I mean by this is that the foliage here is dense, short woods interspersed with open areas. So many of the holes are shooting through the open areas and around the woods rather than through corridors in tall canopy-type woods like I am used to in Tennessee. When you are shooting through the woods at Bear Creek, there is a very low ceiling, meaning a lot of skip shots are needed. I saw the warnings in previous reviews about hole 15 being a disc eater. We were playing fast and I didn't remember this warning. I also didn't carefully read the tee sign. I thought the basket was in the distant woods past the dirt bank and that's where I threw my disk. When I approached the bank I saw that it dropped down into a deep dark creek with opaque water and the distant bank was flush with the densest poison ivy and bushes you've ever seen. If your disk goes in this water or past, it's gone. The basket is on the crest of the near bank, but hidden to the left. I think the locals have done a great job with this course. We played at 7:00 am on a Saturday and there were only a couple other disc golfers there. This course would be much more enjoyable on repeat visits.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.