Grapevine, TX 
Bear Creek Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #2
3 / 303ft.   3 / 354ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee: Beautiful shot over a wide gorge (big creek) on the first hole.



Reviews: 82
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Bear Creek

1    7/17/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: flapjack
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I like how there are two tees for each hole.
Cons: There was a big line for hole one at 11am. Not enough shade for summer. It is very stinky in many places. The parking is not good. Too many people. Extremely Hard to navigate. Hard to find.
Other Thoughts: I will never waste my time or gas to go to this course again. I threw hole one and somebody walked over to my disc and picked it up but before they put in in their bag I ran over there and told them it was my disc. This kinda shows how many people are actually there.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The Balance Beam

1    7/13/2011   7/14/2011
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros:
- Long and short teepads
- Plenty of shade
- Maintained fairways
- Technically challenging
- The water isn't much of a factor on most of the holes labeled "water"
Cons:
- Be careful on hole 15! You can't tell from the teepad, but creek is right behind the goal!
- Signage was terrible, very difficult to navigate without a map
- The creek is pretty nasty
Other Thoughts:
- Seriously, a sewer pipe/balance beam on hole 1? I did not expect to have to do an Indiana Jones routine right out of the gate here, but I survived without falling in the nasty creek.
- Hole 12 would be an awesome place for a tree fort, but it wasn't as amazing of a disc golf hole as other reviewers make it out to be.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 ITCH-WEED!! WOO!!

5+    4/27/2011   4/29/2011
Review By: pilsurquell
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -well designed holes
-multiple tee boxes
-great variety of shots
-good risk/reward on several holes
-public restrooms in case you need to drop a log
-nice paths & bridges over the creek
Cons: -POISON IVY!!!
-MORE POISON IVY!!!
-did i mention that there's some POISON IVY??
-aside from poison ivy, there's poison oak too!
-gets crowded on weekends, but duh...
-only one hole where you can really open up and rip it full strength for distance, unless you're using the back tees =)
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses in the dfw area, rating up there with Lewisville(lake course) and Veterans. It remains challenging time after time, and the multiple tee boxes make for a totally different course if you want to play it twice in a row back to back, just play the back tees. All in all, a darned fine course, def 4 stars.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Bear Creek

1    2/11/2011   2/11/2011
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 101  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park close to DFW airport easy to find.
Great use use of property available, just plain fun to play. Well maintained concrete tees and baskets catch well. Course was clean and the locals were friendly and helpfull when I had trouble finding the next tee.

The multiple tees allow different skill levels to play together. Multiple pin positions keep the couse fresh for those who will be playing here regularly.
There are a wide variety of shots required, some techinical and some wide open to
"let her rip". I found the course to well thought out, great use of the land available. All holes had a line availble even those most heavily wooded.
My favorite holes are one and twelve, both holes require a drive across a deep groge. Twelve is also pretty heavily wooded. Pretty big pucker factor the first time you nplay this course.
Cons: The only cons are the signs. Many had been vandalized and some were missing completely.
A few next tee signs would help first time players.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed my round and recommend you don't miss this course if you are in the area.
The Dallas/FtWorth area is truely bless with a couple of truely great disc golf courses.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Tech Course

2-4    1/3/2011   1/27/2011
Review By: j0atz
Played: 35  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy access right off of 360/121. In the middle of a nice park that isn't directly surrounds my housing.

Parking - Right off the highway, hole 1 is right in front of the parking lot. Generally easy to park...weekends are a bit more busy.

Layout - The course in general is layed out well, flows pretty nicely. Theres 1 or 2 holes you might get confused on but once you have played it once, you know it pretty well.

Shot Variety - There are some really fun shots on this course. There is a good variety of routes/lines that can be taken. Couple of "easy" ace runs. Shot variety is well balanced I would say.

Skill Level - I've heard from people that say this course is hard, but in reality its not THAT tough really. There are a lot of fun lines but most of them are short which can leave you in birdie position more often than you would think.

Teepads - All concrete and in decent condition. Multiple teepads, well placed I would say.
Cons: Crowded - It can get pretty crowded on the weekends...NOT REALLY A CON unless you are trying to get a quick round in. Best time for quicker rounds is on weekday mornings.

Signs - The tees/tee signs can be a bit confusing for non locals. Most of the holes have multiple tees...but some of them you just don't know which one to play to stay consistent the whole round. Again, not THAT big of a deal but would be nice to have some clarity on this.
Other Thoughts: Overall..fun little course with a variety of fun shots. Gets pretty crowded on the weekends. Not that tough of a course, but I find it very fun to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short But Oh So Sweet

1    1/1/2011   1/10/2011
Review By: sheamous
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/16/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Right off highway 360, 15-20 minutes from Arlington in North Central DFW, lots of trees and water hazards, very technical, and also some holes you can run for aces. I love the terrain on this course, deep creeks, beautiful tree lines, and nice grassy meadows.
Cons: Lots of people love this course so I tend to schedule my tee times for off hours to avoid loads of golfers. I've gotten stuck behind really large groups on the weekends. All the holes are par 3's and as a power thrower I always love the addition of a few long holes. Take a Golden Retriever with you or be prepared to get in neck deep creeks for lost discs.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play in DFW. I usually wait for a day off in the week and there's never anyone there, which makes this course extra perfect.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Ragnark

5+    9/25/2010   10/6/2010
Review By: ragnark999
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The course is general very beautiful. There are concrete tee boxes on all the holes. The course is challenging and requires a whole arsenal of different shots to score well. The park scenery is beautiful
Cons: That being said, the park has become overgrown on most the fairways requiring impossible shots to even get a quarter of the was to the hole. The signature hole of a course generally defines the entire course. A few years back hole 12 was a nice shot for both lefties and righties with well defined lanes requiring a difficult skilled shot but a definite aceable make. Now hole 12 have no clear lanes to the basket. It requires a lucky shot to even attempt an ace. All you can really do is lay it up and take a birdie which completely sucks the fun out of the best hole of the course.
Other Thoughts: I would go back to Bear Creek however, it is no longer a must play course when I go to DFW. When I do return I hope that the local DGers will have cleared out much of the over-hanging limbs on some of the holes as well as make hole 12 the beautiful hole that it use to be.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 What happened?

5+    9/25/2010   10/6/2010
Review By: Chris
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The shot over the gorge, great oppo for both righty and lefty. Distance mixed with low and technical shots.
Cons: Very few, except recently
Other Thoughts: I was displaced by Hurricane Ike and lived in Grapevine for about 2 months. When up there Bear Creek was literally 2 blocks from the office I was working out of. This course was a joy to play. Beautiful up shots, nice water hazards and a good mix of distance throws and technical shooting. A couple of weeks ago I was out there to see a concert so the next day my friends and I went to have a go. The course is so grown over it truly was a pain to get through. Trees that have grown down made what was a technical shot near impossible. Brush has grown out, posion ivy was everywhere and it was tedious just to get down the fairways. In the past I would have said either Bear Creek or Z-Boaz were the best 2 courses in DFW. Bear Creek has unfortunatley fell off. It's a shame that what once was a premire course in DFW has fell into such low estate. A good weekend of a DFW DG association putting some trim work in would do it wonders. Until then I'll stick with Z-Boaz

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    10/12/2009   7/10/2010
Review By: grizzledizzle55
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2010
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Multiple Tees
-Multiple holes
-Many ace runs
-Mix of long and short
-Very technical, but not too difficult
-Well maintained
-Water fountain.
-Plays fast
Cons: -Maybe a little too short.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses in DFW. There are a few ace holes, and the river comes into play on some holes. Number 12 is insanely cool, especially if the water is high. I can't say enough about how cool number 12 is. Very birdie-able though. I birdied it twice in one day. Bring good plastic because you are bound to hit a tree. Parking is not good for lowered cars. You will really have fun here. I love this place

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Why haven't I played this course before!

2-4    7/4/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: AequitasVeritas
Played: 21  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/6/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Makes great use of the natural terrain (#1, 2, back 9)
-Very well maintained
-No trash on the course
-Plenty of parking. Technically there are 2 parking lots.
-Multiple tees
-Concrete tees
-Hole #12. Wow, this is an epic hole!
Water fountain near #1/#2
-Ace opportunities galore. #1, #4, #12, #17
-Grilling areas, sand volleyball, and a baseball diamond for other activities
-Locals are friendly!
-Bathrooms near the baseball/softball fields.
Cons: -Can be tough to navigate. Going from 12 - 13 can be near impossible if you don't know where you are going.
-Parking lot is pretty rough. Pot holes and such are not lowered car friendly.
-Huge groups of people playing on the weekends. However, the ones I ran into let us play through no problem.
-Can be very muddy after rain. It is based around a creek.
Other Thoughts: Love Love Love this course! It offers some spectacular shots on quite a few holes, especially #12. That hole is one of the most intimadating holes I have ever seen. If you have a flick or can throw a well controlled anhyzer (right handed) and dodge the multitude of trees, the hole is quite aceable. Keep your eyes out for the old car in the creek between 12 and 13.

Hole #1 is a hell of a starting hole. You have to cross a creek immediately. When I say creek, I mean a gorge with some water on the bottom. The shot is really a good slight RHBH hyzer shot and offers a great chance at an ace. If you can get past the water hazard mental thing.

If you are in the DFW area, this course is definitely worth the drive to it. If you are coming from out of the area, it is definitely worth a stop! It is only a few minutes from DFW Airport after all!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.