Disc Golf Center
Grapevine, TX 
Bear Creek Share
Uploaded By: cc0049 Hole #16
3 / 216ft.   3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Short Tee



Reviews: 87
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Short But Oh So Sweet

1    1/1/2011   1/10/2011
Review By: sheamous
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/16/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Right off highway 360, 15-20 minutes from Arlington in North Central DFW, lots of trees and water hazards, very technical, and also some holes you can run for aces. I love the terrain on this course, deep creeks, beautiful tree lines, and nice grassy meadows.
Cons: Lots of people love this course so I tend to schedule my tee times for off hours to avoid loads of golfers. I've gotten stuck behind really large groups on the weekends. All the holes are par 3's and as a power thrower I always love the addition of a few long holes. Take a Golden Retriever with you or be prepared to get in neck deep creeks for lost discs.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play in DFW. I usually wait for a day off in the week and there's never anyone there, which makes this course extra perfect.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Ragnark

5+    9/25/2010   10/6/2010
Review By: ragnark999
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The course is general very beautiful. There are concrete tee boxes on all the holes. The course is challenging and requires a whole arsenal of different shots to score well. The park scenery is beautiful
Cons: That being said, the park has become overgrown on most the fairways requiring impossible shots to even get a quarter of the was to the hole. The signature hole of a course generally defines the entire course. A few years back hole 12 was a nice shot for both lefties and righties with well defined lanes requiring a difficult skilled shot but a definite aceable make. Now hole 12 have no clear lanes to the basket. It requires a lucky shot to even attempt an ace. All you can really do is lay it up and take a birdie which completely sucks the fun out of the best hole of the course.
Other Thoughts: I would go back to Bear Creek however, it is no longer a must play course when I go to DFW. When I do return I hope that the local DGers will have cleared out much of the over-hanging limbs on some of the holes as well as make hole 12 the beautiful hole that it use to be.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 What happened?

5+    9/25/2010   10/6/2010
Review By: Chris
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The shot over the gorge, great oppo for both righty and lefty. Distance mixed with low and technical shots.
Cons: Very few, except recently
Other Thoughts: I was displaced by Hurricane Ike and lived in Grapevine for about 2 months. When up there Bear Creek was literally 2 blocks from the office I was working out of. This course was a joy to play. Beautiful up shots, nice water hazards and a good mix of distance throws and technical shooting. A couple of weeks ago I was out there to see a concert so the next day my friends and I went to have a go. The course is so grown over it truly was a pain to get through. Trees that have grown down made what was a technical shot near impossible. Brush has grown out, posion ivy was everywhere and it was tedious just to get down the fairways. In the past I would have said either Bear Creek or Z-Boaz were the best 2 courses in DFW. Bear Creek has unfortunatley fell off. It's a shame that what once was a premire course in DFW has fell into such low estate. A good weekend of a DFW DG association putting some trim work in would do it wonders. Until then I'll stick with Z-Boaz

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    10/12/2009   7/10/2010
Review By: grizzledizzle55
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2010
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Multiple Tees
-Multiple holes
-Many ace runs
-Mix of long and short
-Very technical, but not too difficult
-Well maintained
-Water fountain.
-Plays fast
Cons: -Maybe a little too short.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses in DFW. There are a few ace holes, and the river comes into play on some holes. Number 12 is insanely cool, especially if the water is high. I can't say enough about how cool number 12 is. Very birdie-able though. I birdied it twice in one day. Bring good plastic because you are bound to hit a tree. Parking is not good for lowered cars. You will really have fun here. I love this place

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Why haven't I played this course before!

2-4    7/4/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: AequitasVeritas
Played: 22  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/6/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Makes great use of the natural terrain (#1, 2, back 9)
-Very well maintained
-No trash on the course
-Plenty of parking. Technically there are 2 parking lots.
-Multiple tees
-Concrete tees
-Hole #12. Wow, this is an epic hole!
Water fountain near #1/#2
-Ace opportunities galore. #1, #4, #12, #17
-Grilling areas, sand volleyball, and a baseball diamond for other activities
-Locals are friendly!
-Bathrooms near the baseball/softball fields.
Cons: -Can be tough to navigate. Going from 12 - 13 can be near impossible if you don't know where you are going.
-Parking lot is pretty rough. Pot holes and such are not lowered car friendly.
-Huge groups of people playing on the weekends. However, the ones I ran into let us play through no problem.
-Can be very muddy after rain. It is based around a creek.
Other Thoughts: Love Love Love this course! It offers some spectacular shots on quite a few holes, especially #12. That hole is one of the most intimadating holes I have ever seen. If you have a flick or can throw a well controlled anhyzer (right handed) and dodge the multitude of trees, the hole is quite aceable. Keep your eyes out for the old car in the creek between 12 and 13.

Hole #1 is a hell of a starting hole. You have to cross a creek immediately. When I say creek, I mean a gorge with some water on the bottom. The shot is really a good slight RHBH hyzer shot and offers a great chance at an ace. If you can get past the water hazard mental thing.

If you are in the DFW area, this course is definitely worth the drive to it. If you are coming from out of the area, it is definitely worth a stop! It is only a few minutes from DFW Airport after all!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun homeboy course

5+    3/12/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 220  Reviewed: 167  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2013
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice mix of relatively open holes and wooded-ish holes
-Concrete tee pads, new signs with distance and map, baskets in good shape
-Lots of interesting fairways, creeks, pond, rusted out car
-Two sets of tees
-Pro tees give different look at many holes not just added distance
-Plenty of parking; holes 1 & 18 near parking lot
-Lots of friendly locals
-The park has that undefinable "homeboy" essence
Cons: -The park has that undefinable "homeboy" essence
-Trash
-lots of Poison Ivy, watch the rough!
-Navigation can be a little tricky for first timers, definitely bring a map. better now with new signage!
-For a half-wooded course, it's not that challenging
-Cops, hood rats, annoyed neighbors
-Real easy to lose plastic out here, watch out for the pond behind the basket on #5 and the creek behind #15
-Can get real crowded
-A few of the crossings or paths are not for the balance-challenged, #12 for example
Other Thoughts: ***Update***
New practice area with 2 warm up baskets, new signs on all holes at short and long tees, lots of work cleaning up the course. This place looks great right now! New course map at hole 1. Basket positions have changed, forgot some of those other ones were there it had been so long.
***

This is a really fun, very busy course. The park is nice, albeit not very clean, and has a great vibe for DG. The layout is not all that challenging so it is great for beginners but advanced players might want to check out some of the better courses in DFW if you're visiting.

As a popular urban destination, this course has all the pros and cons that go along with that: it gets busy, play is slow, lots of newer players don't know etiquette, hood rats hang out and the cops show up. The course itself is a lot of fun but sometimes a round out here is not what I'm looking for.

Supposedly the city has had the course on the chopping block for a while now. Keep that in mind before you bring party favors along with your round. The cops do patrol.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/24/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: r_raccuglia
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great course to begin on. It has a few ace potential shots. The park in very well maintained and has great landscape. I always feel better about my game when I play here.
Cons: Not to many. It would be great if there was tournaments here. Watch out for snakes.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is one of my favorite courses.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Any minis

5+    4/13/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: tdpat88
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course has a great mix of challenging and easy holes. It is also usually very clean.
Cons: A few of the holes are a little to easy if you have a big arm.
Other Thoughts: Are there any minis that go on here? I have not found any yet and I would like to participate if there are some.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great short course!

5+    4/11/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: domingomadagascar
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great short course! If you want to throw a nice, solid round and are looking for a midrange tune up that's heavily treed, stop by Bear Creek and throw a quick round. Some AWESOME geographical challenges! Bring your right bending mdrange. I use a kite here a lot.
Cons: Short. Not real challenging, although there are some water hazard holes and can definitely lose a disk in the water. Not all holes are playable for some one physically callenged or small children, although most of the holes are very family friendly.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to play with a group and marvel at long birdies, or to learn on. But watch the hazards!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

2-4    3/23/2010   4/10/2010
Review By: lp1holl
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Beautiful Area
Relaxed Environment
Not too busy
Good for Pros and Beginners
Cons: Watch for Poison ivy
Rivers that you can't see, especially on 15
Other Thoughts: This was my first ever Disc Golf Course and by far my favorite, if you're within 20 miles it is well worth the trip, especially now that the weather is nicer

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.