Grapevine, TX
Bear Creek Share
Uploaded By: cc0049 Hole #2
3 / 303ft.   3 / 354ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Long Tee



Reviews: 81
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    12/2/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: Scoot_er
Played: 123  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.2 Years
4 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Fun course which is good for casual play and has a decent crowd on any given day.

Creek comes into play on a few holes and the overall variety of shots is good for such a "Homie" course.
Cons: It has a decent crowd on any given day and it isn't too hard too get stuck behind a large group of hackers.

Course is fairly short and easy which means most ADv level players go to one of the higher quality courses in DFW.

No way I can rate this course as highly as others on here considering there are so many good courses in the area.

4 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Bear Creek

2-4    10/10/2009   10/21/2009
Review By: jasondguy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great hole 1!! Starts out having to cross the creek. Nice Scenery. Great shot arsenal required. Used Tomahawk, thumber, roller, hyzer, anhyzer, low ceiling shots. Well maintained and good players come here. Very challenging.
Cons: Not for beginners. Pars are not posted usually, nor arrows to next tee.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course i've played so far, love the challenges, and all the different shots needed.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Absolute Best!

5+    6/26/2010   9/8/2009
Review By: allenbosox
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great layout, easy to follow, just make sure you don't go from the 3rd pin to the 8th tee. Follow the path around to the right. 12 is intimidating, but I made it over the gorge on my second round and made 3. Great, 12' concrete tees. You will play all of your discs here. Long, short, left curve, right curve, open pins, guarded pins - every shot imaginable exists on this course, except for big altitude changes. New tee signs installed in 2012, along with some other improvements. Hole #1 was changed - the rest remain in the same layout.
Cons: Only the previously mentioned poison ivy. Minimal altitude changes. There really is nothing negative to say about this course. It is the best I have ever played, IMHO.
Other Thoughts: When I was new to the game, this course challenged me and made me MUCH better. There are plenty of trash cans on the course. PLEASE use them. Because you cross the parking lot between 12 and 13, it's convenient to leave a cold beverage or snack in your car and pick it up as you come through. It can get a bit crowded on the weekend, but I went alone and it only took me about 15 minutes to join in with another solo and get started.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    8/30/2009   9/3/2009
Review By: discfisher
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I love this course! This is where I first started playing and have had a ton of fun palying. I usually play Every Sunday morning with a large group of friends.(sorry to the impatient singles or doubles) The holes are kinda short but very technical. We take our time when we play and usually have a few beers and make friendly wagers along the way.
1- toss across the creek walk the pipe birdie is very possible
2- over the river and thru the woods to a par hole
3-throw sidearm towards the 8th hole tee box over the trees can be aced
4- short strait if you don't birdie this one you have problems
5- lots fo trees watch out for the swamp
6- big mud hole and a lake will surround the pin if it has rained
7- smokers spot there is a circle of logs for the smokers behind the advanced tee
8- first throw usualy ends up in the big tree but can recover on the second toss
9- good hole to roll
10- sidearmers beware!!! lost many disc in the creek
11- closest to the pin contest
12- best to throw from the advanced tee easier to get across
13- if you can't make your disc turn left throw short on your first throw
14- closest to the pin contest(i've aced twice)
15- don't over throw you'll lose your discs
16- fun pretty straight creek on the left
17- tunnell of trees
18- i throw sidearm and aim for the creek breaks right landing within 15 feet of the pin
Cons: POISON IVY EVERYWHERE!!!!!
Leaves of three leave them be
Other Thoughts: i usually score a +1 on the course best game was a -5

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun & Challenging

5+    8/19/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: keenanrh
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I started learning the game on this course, and it was a trial by fire from day 1. A handful of the holes can be very intimidating from the box, but all in all the course can be forgiving at times and rarely do I leave Bear Creek in a bad mood. It's long in areas, short and technical in others, something that when played a lot can really help you develop your different shots, and how to use certain discs. The course almost forces you to get better every time you play it
Cons: the course is blanketed with poison ivy and poison oak, i actually just got over a gnarley case of it that last about 3 weeks and was bad enough to get the steroids shot AND the cycle. make sure you know what it looks like, and do everything you can to stay away from it. there's also a reoccurring trend as of late involving very slow moving groups. i enjoy the popularity and exposure the course gets, but weekends are impossible to get through a round without waiting on 9, or maybe even more holes throughout the round. the course tends to get log jammed fairly easily.
Other Thoughts: all in all, bear creek is a hidden gem. it's great in the summer and better in the winter when the poison ivy isn't as prevalent. it'll challenge you in distance and accuracy, and even gives you a few chances to get an ace. look out for police officers both in street clothes and riding around in bikes. they aren't out there too often anymore, but that doesn't mean they never show up, so be weary.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet

5+    8/18/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: xiaohouzi
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course is not too long, shaded in most parts, and teaches you the value of hitting the fairways. There are a couple of very ace-able holes, and a couple that will challenge your specialty shots. Great fun to play doubles.
Cons: Poison Ivy, think I'd be immune by now.

Rain, sits on the course for days after rain.
Other Thoughts: If you're looking for a good course to play in the middle of the day, the trees shade 12 out of the 18 holes.

Don't forget holes 13-18 back across the creek by the parking lot.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Shady

5+    7/5/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 84  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 13.9 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads with 2 (at least) choices for each hole. Multiple pin positions also add variety. Overall nice design with a nice variety of shots. somewhat beginner friendly as not too difficult (from short tees) Mostly wooded with some more open shots and some water in play. lots of shade for hot summer days. #12 shoots over a creek/ravine and is one of my favorite most unusual looking holes anywhere.
Cons: I did not see a restroom but I am told there are some over past a baseball field so not right beside the course. navigation is an issue and you have to walk up sometimes to see which pin position is in use. You have to cross the parking lot between #12 and 13.
Other Thoughts: One of my favs. I always play there when I am in Texas.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Thieves

5+    7/5/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: riqr
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: love this course. mostly short to medium shots. lots of trees. creek play on seven holes. lots of technical shots.
Cons: several holes where people can lurk to steal discs. i had one stolen yesterday. i've heard and read about it, but hadn't experienced it until yesterday. clear drive across a creek, landed in wide open. came around the path across a bridge (can't see the fairway from the path) and my disc was gone. the rest of my group's discs were still there, but mine was gone. i hadn't believed the rumors or reviews, but now i'm one of the victims. this is the ONLY reason i won't give this course a solid 5 ... the trash that swipes discs.
Other Thoughts: REMEMBER, STEALING A DISC ISN'T THE SAME AS "FINDING" ONE.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good playin', tough navigatin'

1    4/18/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 183  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.4 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Bear Creek Park is pretty secluded which can lead to a nice calm round without much interference from other typical park activities. Only holes #1-4 are adjacent to the walking trail. There are dual concrete tees and decent double chain baskets with two pin positions. That's getting to be the standard to be considered even a typical DFW course. Good variety of shots available to players on this course, good mix of open vs. technical/treed holes as well. Trash cans throughout the course to help minimize litter. Several memorable holes here including #1, #2, #12, and #18. Not too tough, but still a reasonable challenge.
Cons:
This course is a mess to navigate as a first timer without a map. You can eventually muddle your way through it, but as one reviewer likes to write: "frustration foils fun". The transition from #12 to #13 is ridiculous with no signage posted to assist you. The creek crossing from tee #1 to basket #1 is annoying. There are no hole numbers on the baskets; on long holes that can lead you to question if you're playing to the right basket or not. The course signage starts out will with labeling standard and "Advanced" tees but starting on holes #6 and #7 the signs are swapped with the "Advanced" sign on the standard tee pad this leads to more confusion. The mosquitoes and poison ivy were pretty bad when I played and the fairway of #6 was a swamp. The creek ravine that #12 plays over is eroding and poses a challenge to find the right place to cross. The creek on #15 and #16 will claim discs. No significant elevation in play.
Other Thoughts:
The majority of my cons are specific to playing the course the first or second time and lead me to believe this course is not very "first time friendly". Hole #5 can be a rude awakening if you throw even just a bit long your first time through. I suspect that the regulars love this course as I can see the course familiarity breeding a greater appreciation. One of the DGCR regulars has created a map that's posted here now that would help first timers a lot.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course!

5+    5/27/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: drgnslyr221
Played: 25  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well marked and tees are in excellent condition.With the exception of between 12 and 13 the flow of the course is good and and it is easy to find the next hole.It also has a good mixture of hole types.

There are very few instances were you feel the course is unfair in its toughness.The holes that stick out to me are. 1,3,7,10,12 and 18

1.Fun starting hole that has you throwing over a deep gully.Great chance to start out your round with a bird maybe even an ACE!

3.Starts out open and ends in the woods.The long bombers can get close but you don't want to be left.

7.Great short dogleg wooded hole fairway goes out about 150 than cuts sharp to the right.short hole but basket is well protected by dogleg and trees.

10.Risk/reward hole were going for birdie can lead to double bogie.this hole is driveable to just about everybody from the shorts.creek on the right and heavy foliage will make you think twice about going for the ace.

12.signature hole at bear creek.About a 270 ft throw over a bend in the creek.Mind you this creek bed is about 25-30 feet deep in places.Multiple trees look to ruin your day on this great hole.

18.Fun finishing hole.late breaking hyzer hole with the creek behind and left of the basket.If you can throw a sharp hyzer were it breaks at the right treeline right after the concrete gully your golden!
Cons: POISON IVY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Lots of it everywhere.If your real allergic to it don't play here.I have a moderate sensitivity to it so as long as I get a shower right away I'm fine.

The first 4 holes play along the park walking trails but the people seem courteous and don't dawdle in the middle of the fairway.

I've heard police send their undercover guys to play and catch smokers.You shouldn't be doing anything illegal in a public anyways so I don't see this as a bad thing.Maybe just a waste of taxpayers money.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth checking out if your in the area and can handle poison ivy,LOL

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.