Grapevine, TX 
Bear Creek Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
3 / 216ft.   3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Adv Tee: Long narrow patway to the basket that is is off to the right.



Reviews: 87
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 What he said

2-4    3/18/2010   3/22/2010
Review By: emook
Played: 46  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I had a good experience with the course, making my first Ace from the adv tee on the 1st hole. How ever, this course IS challenging. Its a really fun course and layed out well. Tees are marked easy and I didnt have too much trouble finding my way around.
Cons: First and biggest con I have, is the first time I played this course, I stopped at hole 12 simply because I could not find where the course picked up.

This course will make you work for your discs. I have almost lost a disc every time I've played. There are amateur and advanced tees on almost every hole. However some of them make no sense.

The upkeep sucks the more you get into the course also. Alot of sloppy players I find. I haven't had any cop trouble, but a lot of neighborhood locals play so I would say NO to beer or other.
Other Thoughts: Great course, bring crappy shoes and a fresh pair of socks, you'll need them for sure.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

5+    3/13/2010   3/14/2010
Review By: chingy414
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As far as the fun factor goes, Bear Creek Park is one of the best courses around. You can tell right away it's going to be a fun course by the over the creek shot on the first hole. There is a good variety here for right or left handed players, sidearm or backhand. I really like that there are alot of good ace run holes here, but you have to work for most of them. This course was fun when it was only 12 holes, but the addition of the back 6 is icing on the cake. There are alot of regulars at Bear Creek, so it's never hard to find somebody to throw with if your friends have sand in their vaginas.
Cons: One of the biggest cons of this course is the upkeep. A combination of a few disrespectful golfers, and slacking by the city, makes this course look a little trashy at times. Another serious con is cops cops cops. Haven't seen many in a while, but the city of Grapevine is notorious for harassing the local golfers. Beer is not allowed here, and they will ticket you. This course is also a disc eater. There are many holes with water trouble, but if you don't mind getting wet, you can find yours and probably a few others. Watch out for the pond on the back of 5, and the big creek on 15. Those are the two you need to worry most about. Also this course can get very sloppy after a good rain, so bring your crappy shoes if you are going to play. Bear Creek is a popular course, so if you go on a nice day, prepare to chill out for a while.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Bear Creek is a super fun course for all skill levels. This is a course everyone in the area should play.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good ol G vine

5+    3/18/2010   3/13/2010
Review By: Chain_Bang
Played: 45  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/19/2010
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful shots that can all be approached with diverse stlyes of throws. Some tomahawk where others sidearm and another backhands. Leaves in spring and summer make the course more challenging. There can be waits on the tees on particularly nice days but big groups are usually courteous and will let smaller groups pass. There's always a regular who can help you navigate as well, as a first timer may accidentaly skip a few holes, and miss the back 6 all together.
Cons: Water, water, water. Everyone has lost something to the water hazards at this course. The first hole plays over bear creek and will catch discs that hit the trees. Hole 5 has a pond behind it that isn't visible from the tees but will swallow a long shot. Over shooting 6 may land you in the creek. 10 plays with the creek to the right. 12 has some casual water throughtout. 15 is famous so throw something you won't miss. 15 sometime has water in front of the basket after heavy rain. 16 has creek to the left and behind. 17 and 18 can also land you in trouble if you shoot too far left. All of these hazards are deep enough to make plastic dissappear so beware! No alcohol is allowed here, and undercover police have been known to enforce it.
Other Thoughts: My absolute favorite course!

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Still the one

5+    3/8/2010   3/11/2010
Review By: Riverhouse82
Played: 50  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Easy to follow
Short and sweet from either box.
Good for work on keeping it low
Cons: Frequently too busy
lots of mud after weather with no easy creek crossing on 12, not bad if your actually athletic.
Other Thoughts: move the baskets. right?

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the drive across town

1    2/19/2010   2/19/2010
Review By: 4cryNoutLOUD
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots. Many short holes. Good concrete tee boxes. Liked the over the creek shots, it's drivable for most players. Has normal and advanced player tee boxes.
Cons: Baskets not painted not visible. Course not marked very well. It has the hole number at the tee but no map of hole. Some advanced tee's seem easier that novice ones. Trash in the creeks.
Other Thoughts: I played this course for the first time today. It was really a fun course. I can see it being more challenging during the summer with leaves on the trees. If it's your first time go with someone who's been there or get a course map.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bear Creek Rundown!!!

1    7/18/2009   1/10/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Dual t-pads and pin positions
-Shot variety (doglegs right and left, str8 shots, tunnel shots, a few open holes)...there are quite a few ace runs but not to the point where it's cheezy
-Terrain variety (makes good used of surrounding trees and creek that run through the park)
-Numerous holes with trash cans (let's keep these courses clean dgolfers, and if ya see trash, pick it up)
-Nice secluded courses, no traffic with hikers and dog walkers etc.
-Challenging course with regards the variety of shots and hazards, but not hard. It's a good play.
Cons: -No holes to really "open-up" on.
-Weekend and nice weather could lead to hole waits (bring a hack!!!)
-Look out for poison ivy, as with many courses. Never had poison ivy till just this past summer, got it bad at Gateway, but also noticed lots here when playing.

For all those d.golfers that have had it, I played with this one guy and he carried a bottle of hand sanitizer and wiped his discs of with it every time her threw into the woods, he sais he hasn't had poison ivy since!!! I haven't tried it, but maybe it works.
Other Thoughts: Good course, again, making good use of the surrounding terrain and wooded areas. Creek runs througt the course opening up the chance for water hazards and/or a lost disc (EVERYONE...should get a golden retreiver).

Lots of ace runs on this course...buddy hit one when we were out there...#17.

I'd definately play it again and give it my approval for sure. Fun course and not hard to find.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/2/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: Scoot_er
Played: 123  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 15.2 Years
4 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Fun course which is good for casual play and has a decent crowd on any given day.

Creek comes into play on a few holes and the overall variety of shots is good for such a "Homie" course.
Cons: It has a decent crowd on any given day and it isn't too hard too get stuck behind a large group of hackers.

Course is fairly short and easy which means most ADv level players go to one of the higher quality courses in DFW.

No way I can rate this course as highly as others on here considering there are so many good courses in the area.

4 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Bear Creek

2-4    10/10/2009   10/21/2009
Review By: jasondguy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great hole 1!! Starts out having to cross the creek. Nice Scenery. Great shot arsenal required. Used Tomahawk, thumber, roller, hyzer, anhyzer, low ceiling shots. Well maintained and good players come here. Very challenging.
Cons: Not for beginners. Pars are not posted usually, nor arrows to next tee.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course i've played so far, love the challenges, and all the different shots needed.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Absolute Best!

5+    6/26/2010   9/8/2009
Review By: allenbosox
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great layout, easy to follow, just make sure you don't go from the 3rd pin to the 8th tee. Follow the path around to the right. 12 is intimidating, but I made it over the gorge on my second round and made 3. Great, 12' concrete tees. You will play all of your discs here. Long, short, left curve, right curve, open pins, guarded pins - every shot imaginable exists on this course, except for big altitude changes. New tee signs installed in 2012, along with some other improvements. Hole #1 was changed - the rest remain in the same layout.
Cons: Only the previously mentioned poison ivy. Minimal altitude changes. There really is nothing negative to say about this course. It is the best I have ever played, IMHO.
Other Thoughts: When I was new to the game, this course challenged me and made me MUCH better. There are plenty of trash cans on the course. PLEASE use them. Because you cross the parking lot between 12 and 13, it's convenient to leave a cold beverage or snack in your car and pick it up as you come through. It can get a bit crowded on the weekend, but I went alone and it only took me about 15 minutes to join in with another solo and get started.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    8/30/2009   9/3/2009
Review By: discfisher
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I love this course! This is where I first started playing and have had a ton of fun palying. I usually play Every Sunday morning with a large group of friends.(sorry to the impatient singles or doubles) The holes are kinda short but very technical. We take our time when we play and usually have a few beers and make friendly wagers along the way.
1- toss across the creek walk the pipe birdie is very possible
2- over the river and thru the woods to a par hole
3-throw sidearm towards the 8th hole tee box over the trees can be aced
4- short strait if you don't birdie this one you have problems
5- lots fo trees watch out for the swamp
6- big mud hole and a lake will surround the pin if it has rained
7- smokers spot there is a circle of logs for the smokers behind the advanced tee
8- first throw usualy ends up in the big tree but can recover on the second toss
9- good hole to roll
10- sidearmers beware!!! lost many disc in the creek
11- closest to the pin contest
12- best to throw from the advanced tee easier to get across
13- if you can't make your disc turn left throw short on your first throw
14- closest to the pin contest(i've aced twice)
15- don't over throw you'll lose your discs
16- fun pretty straight creek on the left
17- tunnell of trees
18- i throw sidearm and aim for the creek breaks right landing within 15 feet of the pin
Cons: POISON IVY EVERYWHERE!!!!!
Leaves of three leave them be
Other Thoughts: i usually score a +1 on the course best game was a -5

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.