Grapevine, TX 
Bear Creek Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #2
3 / 303ft.   3 / 354ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee: This shot is through a small opening and over a creek to the basket that is behind some trees on the left.



Reviews: 87
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Fun & Challenging

5+    8/19/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: keenanrh
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I started learning the game on this course, and it was a trial by fire from day 1. A handful of the holes can be very intimidating from the box, but all in all the course can be forgiving at times and rarely do I leave Bear Creek in a bad mood. It's long in areas, short and technical in others, something that when played a lot can really help you develop your different shots, and how to use certain discs. The course almost forces you to get better every time you play it
Cons: the course is blanketed with poison ivy and poison oak, i actually just got over a gnarley case of it that last about 3 weeks and was bad enough to get the steroids shot AND the cycle. make sure you know what it looks like, and do everything you can to stay away from it. there's also a reoccurring trend as of late involving very slow moving groups. i enjoy the popularity and exposure the course gets, but weekends are impossible to get through a round without waiting on 9, or maybe even more holes throughout the round. the course tends to get log jammed fairly easily.
Other Thoughts: all in all, bear creek is a hidden gem. it's great in the summer and better in the winter when the poison ivy isn't as prevalent. it'll challenge you in distance and accuracy, and even gives you a few chances to get an ace. look out for police officers both in street clothes and riding around in bikes. they aren't out there too often anymore, but that doesn't mean they never show up, so be weary.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet

5+    8/18/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: xiaohouzi
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course is not too long, shaded in most parts, and teaches you the value of hitting the fairways. There are a couple of very ace-able holes, and a couple that will challenge your specialty shots. Great fun to play doubles.
Cons: Poison Ivy, think I'd be immune by now.

Rain, sits on the course for days after rain.
Other Thoughts: If you're looking for a good course to play in the middle of the day, the trees shade 12 out of the 18 holes.

Don't forget holes 13-18 back across the creek by the parking lot.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Shady

5+    7/5/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 104  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 15.1 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads with 2 (at least) choices for each hole. Multiple pin positions also add variety. Overall nice design with a nice variety of shots. somewhat beginner friendly as not too difficult (from short tees) Mostly wooded with some more open shots and some water in play. lots of shade for hot summer days. #12 shoots over a creek/ravine and is one of my favorite most unusual looking holes anywhere.
Cons: I did not see a restroom but I am told there are some over past a baseball field so not right beside the course. navigation is an issue and you have to walk up sometimes to see which pin position is in use. You have to cross the parking lot between #12 and 13.
Other Thoughts: One of my favs. I always play there when I am in Texas.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Thieves

5+    7/5/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: riqr
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: love this course. mostly short to medium shots. lots of trees. creek play on seven holes. lots of technical shots.
Cons: several holes where people can lurk to steal discs. i had one stolen yesterday. i've heard and read about it, but hadn't experienced it until yesterday. clear drive across a creek, landed in wide open. came around the path across a bridge (can't see the fairway from the path) and my disc was gone. the rest of my group's discs were still there, but mine was gone. i hadn't believed the rumors or reviews, but now i'm one of the victims. this is the ONLY reason i won't give this course a solid 5 ... the trash that swipes discs.
Other Thoughts: REMEMBER, STEALING A DISC ISN'T THE SAME AS "FINDING" ONE.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good playin', tough navigatin'

1    4/18/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 193  Reviewed: 151  Exp: 7.6 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Bear Creek Park is pretty secluded which can lead to a nice calm round without much interference from other typical park activities. Only holes #1-4 are adjacent to the walking trail. There are dual concrete tees and decent double chain baskets with two pin positions. That's getting to be the standard to be considered even a typical DFW course. Good variety of shots available to players on this course, good mix of open vs. technical/treed holes as well. Trash cans throughout the course to help minimize litter. Several memorable holes here including #1, #2, #12, and #18. Not too tough, but still a reasonable challenge.
Cons:
This course is a mess to navigate as a first timer without a map. You can eventually muddle your way through it, but as one reviewer likes to write: "frustration foils fun". The transition from #12 to #13 is ridiculous with no signage posted to assist you. The creek crossing from tee #1 to basket #1 is annoying. There are no hole numbers on the baskets; on long holes that can lead you to question if you're playing to the right basket or not. The course signage starts out will with labeling standard and "Advanced" tees but starting on holes #6 and #7 the signs are swapped with the "Advanced" sign on the standard tee pad this leads to more confusion. The mosquitoes and poison ivy were pretty bad when I played and the fairway of #6 was a swamp. The creek ravine that #12 plays over is eroding and poses a challenge to find the right place to cross. The creek on #15 and #16 will claim discs. No significant elevation in play.
Other Thoughts:
The majority of my cons are specific to playing the course the first or second time and lead me to believe this course is not very "first time friendly". Hole #5 can be a rude awakening if you throw even just a bit long your first time through. I suspect that the regulars love this course as I can see the course familiarity breeding a greater appreciation. One of the DGCR regulars has created a map that's posted here now that would help first timers a lot.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course!

5+    5/27/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: drgnslyr221
Played: 25  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 11.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well marked and tees are in excellent condition.With the exception of between 12 and 13 the flow of the course is good and and it is easy to find the next hole.It also has a good mixture of hole types.

There are very few instances were you feel the course is unfair in its toughness.The holes that stick out to me are. 1,3,7,10,12 and 18

1.Fun starting hole that has you throwing over a deep gully.Great chance to start out your round with a bird maybe even an ACE!

3.Starts out open and ends in the woods.The long bombers can get close but you don't want to be left.

7.Great short dogleg wooded hole fairway goes out about 150 than cuts sharp to the right.short hole but basket is well protected by dogleg and trees.

10.Risk/reward hole were going for birdie can lead to double bogie.this hole is driveable to just about everybody from the shorts.creek on the right and heavy foliage will make you think twice about going for the ace.

12.signature hole at bear creek.About a 270 ft throw over a bend in the creek.Mind you this creek bed is about 25-30 feet deep in places.Multiple trees look to ruin your day on this great hole.

18.Fun finishing hole.late breaking hyzer hole with the creek behind and left of the basket.If you can throw a sharp hyzer were it breaks at the right treeline right after the concrete gully your golden!
Cons: POISON IVY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Lots of it everywhere.If your real allergic to it don't play here.I have a moderate sensitivity to it so as long as I get a shower right away I'm fine.

The first 4 holes play along the park walking trails but the people seem courteous and don't dawdle in the middle of the fairway.

I've heard police send their undercover guys to play and catch smokers.You shouldn't be doing anything illegal in a public anyways so I don't see this as a bad thing.Maybe just a waste of taxpayers money.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth checking out if your in the area and can handle poison ivy,LOL

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Average disc course

1    5/12/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 8.3 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: You do get some variety on this course. Lots of right/left, open/tight and elevation changes. Pin placements were well thought out. It can be played fairly quickly.
Cons: The baskets are old and worn. The signs are old and missing and of little hlep. Definate navigation issues here. Lots of trast on the course.
Other Thoughts: It appears to be a well used course, lots of people there. The creek comes into play on several hole so watch out. Needs some longer holes to it. If in the area check it out.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 09 review.

2-4    4/12/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: Trev_Masta
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.8 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Short simple course with a great mix of technical shots.This course would be good for beginners. Very well maintained park with concrete teepads on each hole.
Cons: Getting through this course is sometimes difficult. From the "t" box on hole 1 to the pin you have to balance your way across a pole over a creek unless you want to take the long way to the bridge. Also the back 6 holes are on a seperate part of the park so you sometimes walk into players shooting hole 1.
Other Thoughts: This is an amazing course for windy days. All the trees surrounding the course provide great cover from wind/sun. It's a beautiful layout and will be alot of fun to beginners and regular players.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Bear Creek

5+    4/10/2009   4/11/2009
Review By: XxInnovaxX
Played: 46  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.8 Years
12 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great technical course. Two tee boxes for begginers or advanced players. I feel its a course for all skill levels. its small enough for begginers to still have exciting rounds, and technical enough to still give the regulars a hard time, especially from the longs. awesome course with bear creek running right through the middle. all concrete boxes which is always a big plus, although they could be a little bigger. on most pads there a stumps to sit down and rest while waiting for other groups ahead or just taking a quick break. Trash cans at most tees.
Cons: There needs to be more signage. i play here often so its no big deal to me anymore but for first timers it might get a little confusing, especially after crossing the creek to get from 12 to 13.

Always tons of people out here, probably one of the busiest courses in the dfw area. If you wanna play a quick round you have to get out early, or play during the day on a weekday.

People say there is lots of poison ivy. Me personally im not allergic so i dont look for it as often but i have seen it around so be careful!
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the creek on hole 15 and 16!! i have had numerous discs lost in the gator pit.

Watch out for the poison ivy

be on the look out for snakes! have seen several lately and theyre about to be out a lot more

Early Morning start = quick finish
Late Afternoon start = dont make plans, you will be there for a while.

12 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 The Creek

5+    4/4/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 128  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 14 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sweet course with 2 sets of pads on every hole. There are many shots out here from the longs but not from the shorts. Its mostly hyzers(RHBH) from the shorts. Not too many places to lose plastic except hole 15 and maybe 5 if the pond is up. Good baskets and good tees. The longs bring in a good mix of shots and makes you earn your score.
Cons: Lots of people can make for a long round. The tee signs dont give you much direction but there is not too much needed as mostly everything is easy to find. The creek thats behind the basket of 15 is deep and nasty. The "gator pit" on 5 is pretty gross as well. Lots of poison ivy. There is no bridge that goes over the creek on 12 which makes the cross over interesting. The walk from 12 to 13 crosses the fairway of 1.
Other Thoughts: Fun course that has stood the test of time. When all the baskets are in short, it can be very boring. The parking can get full fast on Saturday when there is sports going on next to the course.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.