Grapevine, TX 
Bear Creek Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #8 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 299ft.   3 / 368ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 84
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Disc Thieves

5+    7/5/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: riqr
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: love this course. mostly short to medium shots. lots of trees. creek play on seven holes. lots of technical shots.
Cons: several holes where people can lurk to steal discs. i had one stolen yesterday. i've heard and read about it, but hadn't experienced it until yesterday. clear drive across a creek, landed in wide open. came around the path across a bridge (can't see the fairway from the path) and my disc was gone. the rest of my group's discs were still there, but mine was gone. i hadn't believed the rumors or reviews, but now i'm one of the victims. this is the ONLY reason i won't give this course a solid 5 ... the trash that swipes discs.
Other Thoughts: REMEMBER, STEALING A DISC ISN'T THE SAME AS "FINDING" ONE.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good playin', tough navigatin'

1    4/18/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.9 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Bear Creek Park is pretty secluded which can lead to a nice calm round without much interference from other typical park activities. Only holes #1-4 are adjacent to the walking trail. There are dual concrete tees and decent double chain baskets with two pin positions. That's getting to be the standard to be considered even a typical DFW course. Good variety of shots available to players on this course, good mix of open vs. technical/treed holes as well. Trash cans throughout the course to help minimize litter. Several memorable holes here including #1, #2, #12, and #18. Not too tough, but still a reasonable challenge.
Cons:
This course is a mess to navigate as a first timer without a map. You can eventually muddle your way through it, but as one reviewer likes to write: "frustration foils fun". The transition from #12 to #13 is ridiculous with no signage posted to assist you. The creek crossing from tee #1 to basket #1 is annoying. There are no hole numbers on the baskets; on long holes that can lead you to question if you're playing to the right basket or not. The course signage starts out will with labeling standard and "Advanced" tees but starting on holes #6 and #7 the signs are swapped with the "Advanced" sign on the standard tee pad this leads to more confusion. The mosquitoes and poison ivy were pretty bad when I played and the fairway of #6 was a swamp. The creek ravine that #12 plays over is eroding and poses a challenge to find the right place to cross. The creek on #15 and #16 will claim discs. No significant elevation in play.
Other Thoughts:
The majority of my cons are specific to playing the course the first or second time and lead me to believe this course is not very "first time friendly". Hole #5 can be a rude awakening if you throw even just a bit long your first time through. I suspect that the regulars love this course as I can see the course familiarity breeding a greater appreciation. One of the DGCR regulars has created a map that's posted here now that would help first timers a lot.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course!

5+    5/27/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: drgnslyr221
Played: 25  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well marked and tees are in excellent condition.With the exception of between 12 and 13 the flow of the course is good and and it is easy to find the next hole.It also has a good mixture of hole types.

There are very few instances were you feel the course is unfair in its toughness.The holes that stick out to me are. 1,3,7,10,12 and 18

1.Fun starting hole that has you throwing over a deep gully.Great chance to start out your round with a bird maybe even an ACE!

3.Starts out open and ends in the woods.The long bombers can get close but you don't want to be left.

7.Great short dogleg wooded hole fairway goes out about 150 than cuts sharp to the right.short hole but basket is well protected by dogleg and trees.

10.Risk/reward hole were going for birdie can lead to double bogie.this hole is driveable to just about everybody from the shorts.creek on the right and heavy foliage will make you think twice about going for the ace.

12.signature hole at bear creek.About a 270 ft throw over a bend in the creek.Mind you this creek bed is about 25-30 feet deep in places.Multiple trees look to ruin your day on this great hole.

18.Fun finishing hole.late breaking hyzer hole with the creek behind and left of the basket.If you can throw a sharp hyzer were it breaks at the right treeline right after the concrete gully your golden!
Cons: POISON IVY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Lots of it everywhere.If your real allergic to it don't play here.I have a moderate sensitivity to it so as long as I get a shower right away I'm fine.

The first 4 holes play along the park walking trails but the people seem courteous and don't dawdle in the middle of the fairway.

I've heard police send their undercover guys to play and catch smokers.You shouldn't be doing anything illegal in a public anyways so I don't see this as a bad thing.Maybe just a waste of taxpayers money.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth checking out if your in the area and can handle poison ivy,LOL

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Average disc course

1    5/12/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.7 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: You do get some variety on this course. Lots of right/left, open/tight and elevation changes. Pin placements were well thought out. It can be played fairly quickly.
Cons: The baskets are old and worn. The signs are old and missing and of little hlep. Definate navigation issues here. Lots of trast on the course.
Other Thoughts: It appears to be a well used course, lots of people there. The creek comes into play on several hole so watch out. Needs some longer holes to it. If in the area check it out.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 09 review.

2-4    4/12/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: Trev_Masta
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Short simple course with a great mix of technical shots.This course would be good for beginners. Very well maintained park with concrete teepads on each hole.
Cons: Getting through this course is sometimes difficult. From the "t" box on hole 1 to the pin you have to balance your way across a pole over a creek unless you want to take the long way to the bridge. Also the back 6 holes are on a seperate part of the park so you sometimes walk into players shooting hole 1.
Other Thoughts: This is an amazing course for windy days. All the trees surrounding the course provide great cover from wind/sun. It's a beautiful layout and will be alot of fun to beginners and regular players.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Bear Creek

5+    4/10/2009   4/11/2009
Review By: XxInnovaxX
Played: 46  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.2 Years
12 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great technical course. Two tee boxes for begginers or advanced players. I feel its a course for all skill levels. its small enough for begginers to still have exciting rounds, and technical enough to still give the regulars a hard time, especially from the longs. awesome course with bear creek running right through the middle. all concrete boxes which is always a big plus, although they could be a little bigger. on most pads there a stumps to sit down and rest while waiting for other groups ahead or just taking a quick break. Trash cans at most tees.
Cons: There needs to be more signage. i play here often so its no big deal to me anymore but for first timers it might get a little confusing, especially after crossing the creek to get from 12 to 13.

Always tons of people out here, probably one of the busiest courses in the dfw area. If you wanna play a quick round you have to get out early, or play during the day on a weekday.

People say there is lots of poison ivy. Me personally im not allergic so i dont look for it as often but i have seen it around so be careful!
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the creek on hole 15 and 16!! i have had numerous discs lost in the gator pit.

Watch out for the poison ivy

be on the look out for snakes! have seen several lately and theyre about to be out a lot more

Early Morning start = quick finish
Late Afternoon start = dont make plans, you will be there for a while.

12 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 The Creek

5+    4/4/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.3 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sweet course with 2 sets of pads on every hole. There are many shots out here from the longs but not from the shorts. Its mostly hyzers(RHBH) from the shorts. Not too many places to lose plastic except hole 15 and maybe 5 if the pond is up. Good baskets and good tees. The longs bring in a good mix of shots and makes you earn your score.
Cons: Lots of people can make for a long round. The tee signs dont give you much direction but there is not too much needed as mostly everything is easy to find. The creek thats behind the basket of 15 is deep and nasty. The "gator pit" on 5 is pretty gross as well. Lots of poison ivy. There is no bridge that goes over the creek on 12 which makes the cross over interesting. The walk from 12 to 13 crosses the fairway of 1.
Other Thoughts: Fun course that has stood the test of time. When all the baskets are in short, it can be very boring. The parking can get full fast on Saturday when there is sports going on next to the course.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 great course!!

5+    3/28/2009   3/28/2009
Review By: mitchdrums
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great water holes, tests accuracy, great challenge if you throw from the long tee's. and most of all....you get a workout climbing through the gourge and if you are adventurous, walk across the pipe on hole 1!
Cons: sometimes there are a lot of people, but if you go by yourself as i often do, most everyone will let you throw with them.
Other Thoughts: i love this course, not easy...but not too hard to where you will storm off the course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Bear Creek

1    3/17/2009   3/17/2009
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9.2 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a challenger. Great tee pads, and you have the option to choose the long or short one. The park is beautiful, and the creek looks good. Nice signiture holes, especially the taunting #12. It is a fine test of accurracy, as the trees will play with you all day if you don't mind your placement, so it makes you think before you play. Well wooded, with a nice mix of open shots as well. Good course for all levels of player. Mostly friendly locals, a few unfriendly younger players, but we just blew them off.
Cons: Of course I must put the disconnection between #12 and #13. It was quite confusing; we Had to get help. The bridges always seemed to be just far enough away to slow the game, so you ended up crossing the creek anyway, even if you didn't land in it. Signage...There are wooden posts in the ground with a number on them. Sometimes hard to follow without directions, but not too difficult. Tons of golfers=tons of waiting. Eventually we played through most of them and finished up, but be prepared to play the waiting game. Those water hazards are monsters, so keep that plastic out of them.
Other Thoughts: This course was a tricky little booger to get to, but we finally got there. It was a fun round of DG, even with the giant crowd. It will probably receive another visit from us. It is definately worth playing at least once, so if you are thinking about, just do it. If you end up not liking it, you can blame me. :)

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Challenging Course In The DFW

5+    5/30/2010   3/15/2009
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2010
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If your looking for a fun and very challenging course to play, this is the one. This course has a real good pin layout for each hole. There is a great variety of some dogleg left and right shots and some long and short shots with plenty of trees to make it more difficult. Water comes into play on some holes and requires some accurcy to keep from over throwing the basket with the creek just behind it. There are multiple pin locations and multiple concrete tees for different skill levels and the tees are just the right size. Each hole has a challenge of its own with each pin tucked away very well. There are signs on most holes that tell you all of the imformation for each hole. Look for the wooden post on the short tees for the hole number. The park is very clean and well maintained with plenty of trash cans and seating throughout the whole course.
Cons: This course can be a little tricky to navigate for a first timer who has never played here before. The signs don't seem to help out too much. It is kind of hard to see the pin from the tee, so you might have to walk up and look for the basket before you throw. Some of the long tees seem to be hidden but they are there. Since this is a popular park in DFW, it can get very busy so you might want to get here early to get a good round in.
Other Thoughts: Over all, this was a very fun and challenging course to play. It really brought out the best in me to see where I stand. This is another great course in the DFW and is well worth the stop if you are in the area. You will not be disappointed so come by and throw a round.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.