Grapevine, TX
Bear Creek Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #12 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 225ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Old rusted out car between #12 and #13



Reviews: 81
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Average disc course

1    5/12/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: You do get some variety on this course. Lots of right/left, open/tight and elevation changes. Pin placements were well thought out. It can be played fairly quickly.
Cons: The baskets are old and worn. The signs are old and missing and of little hlep. Definate navigation issues here. Lots of trast on the course.
Other Thoughts: It appears to be a well used course, lots of people there. The creek comes into play on several hole so watch out. Needs some longer holes to it. If in the area check it out.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 09 review.

2-4    4/12/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: Trev_Masta
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Short simple course with a great mix of technical shots.This course would be good for beginners. Very well maintained park with concrete teepads on each hole.
Cons: Getting through this course is sometimes difficult. From the "t" box on hole 1 to the pin you have to balance your way across a pole over a creek unless you want to take the long way to the bridge. Also the back 6 holes are on a seperate part of the park so you sometimes walk into players shooting hole 1.
Other Thoughts: This is an amazing course for windy days. All the trees surrounding the course provide great cover from wind/sun. It's a beautiful layout and will be alot of fun to beginners and regular players.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Bear Creek

5+    4/10/2009   4/11/2009
Review By: XxInnovaxX
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.6 Years
12 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great technical course. Two tee boxes for begginers or advanced players. I feel its a course for all skill levels. its small enough for begginers to still have exciting rounds, and technical enough to still give the regulars a hard time, especially from the longs. awesome course with bear creek running right through the middle. all concrete boxes which is always a big plus, although they could be a little bigger. on most pads there a stumps to sit down and rest while waiting for other groups ahead or just taking a quick break. Trash cans at most tees.
Cons: There needs to be more signage. i play here often so its no big deal to me anymore but for first timers it might get a little confusing, especially after crossing the creek to get from 12 to 13.

Always tons of people out here, probably one of the busiest courses in the dfw area. If you wanna play a quick round you have to get out early, or play during the day on a weekday.

People say there is lots of poison ivy. Me personally im not allergic so i dont look for it as often but i have seen it around so be careful!
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the creek on hole 15 and 16!! i have had numerous discs lost in the gator pit.

Watch out for the poison ivy

be on the look out for snakes! have seen several lately and theyre about to be out a lot more

Early Morning start = quick finish
Late Afternoon start = dont make plans, you will be there for a while.

12 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 The Creek

5+    4/4/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 12.8 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sweet course with 2 sets of pads on every hole. There are many shots out here from the longs but not from the shorts. Its mostly hyzers(RHBH) from the shorts. Not too many places to lose plastic except hole 15 and maybe 5 if the pond is up. Good baskets and good tees. The longs bring in a good mix of shots and makes you earn your score.
Cons: Lots of people can make for a long round. The tee signs dont give you much direction but there is not too much needed as mostly everything is easy to find. The creek thats behind the basket of 15 is deep and nasty. The "gator pit" on 5 is pretty gross as well. Lots of poison ivy. There is no bridge that goes over the creek on 12 which makes the cross over interesting. The walk from 12 to 13 crosses the fairway of 1.
Other Thoughts: Fun course that has stood the test of time. When all the baskets are in short, it can be very boring. The parking can get full fast on Saturday when there is sports going on next to the course.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 great course!!

5+    3/28/2009   3/28/2009
Review By: mitchdrums
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great water holes, tests accuracy, great challenge if you throw from the long tee's. and most of all....you get a workout climbing through the gourge and if you are adventurous, walk across the pipe on hole 1!
Cons: sometimes there are a lot of people, but if you go by yourself as i often do, most everyone will let you throw with them.
Other Thoughts: i love this course, not easy...but not too hard to where you will storm off the course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Bear Creek

1    3/17/2009   3/17/2009
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 8.7 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a challenger. Great tee pads, and you have the option to choose the long or short one. The park is beautiful, and the creek looks good. Nice signiture holes, especially the taunting #12. It is a fine test of accurracy, as the trees will play with you all day if you don't mind your placement, so it makes you think before you play. Well wooded, with a nice mix of open shots as well. Good course for all levels of player. Mostly friendly locals, a few unfriendly younger players, but we just blew them off.
Cons: Of course I must put the disconnection between #12 and #13. It was quite confusing; we Had to get help. The bridges always seemed to be just far enough away to slow the game, so you ended up crossing the creek anyway, even if you didn't land in it. Signage...There are wooden posts in the ground with a number on them. Sometimes hard to follow without directions, but not too difficult. Tons of golfers=tons of waiting. Eventually we played through most of them and finished up, but be prepared to play the waiting game. Those water hazards are monsters, so keep that plastic out of them.
Other Thoughts: This course was a tricky little booger to get to, but we finally got there. It was a fun round of DG, even with the giant crowd. It will probably receive another visit from us. It is definately worth playing at least once, so if you are thinking about, just do it. If you end up not liking it, you can blame me. :)

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Challenging Course In The DFW

5+    5/30/2010   3/15/2009
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2010
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If your looking for a fun and very challenging course to play, this is the one. This course has a real good pin layout for each hole. There is a great variety of some dogleg left and right shots and some long and short shots with plenty of trees to make it more difficult. Water comes into play on some holes and requires some accurcy to keep from over throwing the basket with the creek just behind it. There are multiple pin locations and multiple concrete tees for different skill levels and the tees are just the right size. Each hole has a challenge of its own with each pin tucked away very well. There are signs on most holes that tell you all of the imformation for each hole. Look for the wooden post on the short tees for the hole number. The park is very clean and well maintained with plenty of trash cans and seating throughout the whole course.
Cons: This course can be a little tricky to navigate for a first timer who has never played here before. The signs don't seem to help out too much. It is kind of hard to see the pin from the tee, so you might have to walk up and look for the basket before you throw. Some of the long tees seem to be hidden but they are there. Since this is a popular park in DFW, it can get very busy so you might want to get here early to get a good round in.
Other Thoughts: Over all, this was a very fun and challenging course to play. It really brought out the best in me to see where I stand. This is another great course in the DFW and is well worth the stop if you are in the area. You will not be disappointed so come by and throw a round.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 This Was FUN But Busy

1    2/22/2009   2/23/2009
Review By: Nastynate
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.2 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I had heard of this course but had never made it to it until last weekend. I went with a buddy of mine after warming up at Tommy and Sue Brown. The difficultly factor of some of the holes are excellent.
Cons: This place was so freaking busy it was unbelievable. I had to wait 7 minutes per hole. On hole 12 I cleared the gourge, but still had to walk through it to get to the basket. so I was beaten to have to walk though it it
Other Thoughts: I would love to play it when not so crowded

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Local Enough

5+    4/24/2013   2/5/2009
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 168  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/25/2013
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Parking lot construction is over new streetlights as well! .Eagle scouts added ten nice sized benches on 1/21/13.Double up an play some long tees! Plenty of disc golfers around.Signage 2012! Theres a brand new map at hole one by the Bridge don't let it confuse u the holes have individual maps too!Snap a pic helps too!Short tees are very popular here allowing for low scores,long tees here provide a more challenging disc golf experience for sure.Hole15 has a new location as of 1/8/13.The water is still present but the hole is no longer so easy to throw into with the right line being hit.When there's a cold wind blowing out of the north holes 3-10 have virtually no wind ensuring on a cold windy day that you'll be secluded from weathers wrath.Logs to sit and/or to place your bag.The ditch behind hole 10's long placement shortcuts you to 11 short tee.Also on hole 12 you can walk straight down and up the narrow peninsula up to 12's basket. People like to say Bear Creek is easy but the thickness of the flora here can wreak havoc if your disc isn't kept low and/or leaves the fairways.Remember this is a very fast moving 18 hole shin-dig take it to Lewisville, Gateway, Turner or North park none of which are too far from this course for a more DIFFICULT disc golf expierience. Cheap used disc sellers in abundance in the p lot due to the creek.
Cons: The worst problems are too many people,land degraded to dirt, its a short course and poor unmanaged broken down concrete tee boxes.Theres also only 3 tees reaching over 400 and of course the massive amounts of thorny vines and darn near year round poison Ivy that flourish here.Little league has taken over what use to be our field Police presence has increased since these new family events have been taking place every day of the week almost now.K-9's randomly sniff cars here.Beer, weed,even cursing is frowned upon by the neighborhood and these families .WATCH YOURSELF IN THE PARKING LOT.Expired tags are what the cops look for to guys an gals;Okay i said my piece about going to jail possibly from from bear creek which i've witnessed more then a handful people.Some Reject/dooche ripped and broke limbs on alot of our cedar trees recently esp. 9 and 10. Some fool chopped trees also on 16 and 17(No Talent)in 2007.7 long is no longer as hard as it once was with a tree cut down in 2012.We know who cut it, REALLY SUCKS. I wish we had better ways of catching an prosecuting these scums of society that choose to whack down trees on fairways.Beavers are the only ones' allowed to cut our trees! Bring A leash!Idiots that don't respect the leash laws only cause conflicts to flare up when the sidewalk neighborhood pedestrians clash with unleashed dogs.Even if you have the sweetest dog in the world Bear Creek is "NOT" a Dog Park.We aren't out there to watch you schmoozing with the other dog walkers.Honey bees are abundant in warmer months around the zillion trash cans scattered about! Watch Out! A large moccisin bit someone here summer 09' right next to 15's basket while attempting to come onto the shoreline from the creek the moccasin came from under the water to get one anda half fangs in ol' Jeremy S.Consensus is that this snake which he nick-named "Big Poppa" is still around and/or has mated.Wanna hunt him?Follow the shore line downstream from 15 not as far as the backside of hole six.We believe moccasins still live in this area under the creekbanks.
Other Thoughts: After playing the front 12 with Barry Schultz once he said he enjoyed 6 and 9 long.If your hungry the park has pecan trees on 5,8 and 14 and 18's tee areas.Wild onions grow on 10 an 11 and the famous Texas Grapevines never die around hole 13's tees. Plenty of squirrels and rabbits too for added protein.Over five hawks live along the creekway near holes 10,11 and 16 don't be surprised if you hear them being loud while u play.Bring a fishing line if you think your good enough to catch some of the Bass that are spotted swimming upstream as well.Dam yellow jacket bit me! Don't badger the tree and rat snakes they're harmless and not aggressive or venomous unlike the moccasins of course .Moccasin wrangling is approved if you can get one. Copperheads have been seen numerous times too.the Bullfrogs,snapping turtles,ducks and the beautiful Blue Herring are seen soaring thru as well.Clyde is what we're callin the big ass Beaver that has been spotted by me and others. Bobcats,Coyotes,racoons and fox round off the complete # of natve fauna I've seen that the DFW airport wilderness has kept safe to roam our disc course.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable course; watch out for the poison ivy

5+    9/7/2006   1/7/2009
Review By: t i m
Played: 209  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 16.9 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bear Creek makes good use of the available land and has aged well over the years, growing from a little 9-hole course back in the late 90s to a full 18-holes with multiple pin placements and dual teepads on every hole.

In most cases the long teepads not only add distance but open up (or force) differently shaped lines to the pins, offering a variety of shots for the course. The course -- from both the longs and the shorts -- flows well with very little wasted space and very little extra walking between holes. This clean design allows the course to play much faster than most courses, as long as you can keep it on the fairways.

Fortunately, the fairways are a lot more obvious than they were a few years ago. The underbrush and poison ivy used to be legendary. Now, the course has worn in to the point where only truly errant shots get penalized by bad underbrush and unreasonable foliage.

The course makes good use of the underbrush and tees that are there, forcing a lot of different lines, ranging from big hyzers to low tunnel shots to delicate anhyzers to flicks, thumbers and skip shots around corners.

The course is almost completely flat -- all of the elevation is dropoffs into creeks/ponds -- so if you are playing well, everything is flat ground. This is good for speed-of-play, but is weak from a course-design standpoint. Having at least a couple elevation changes would have been nice variety.
Cons: My biggest pet peeves on a course are waiting to play and loosing discs, and unfortunately, Bear Creek is frequent home to both occurrences...

Bear Creek is one of the busiest courses in Texas, and lots and lots of high school kids play here recreationally (and sometimes are into other, less sanctioned activities on the side). Backups can be prevalent on the course, and often there are groups that lack the tact to allow more serious golfers to play through.

The course also has more than it's share of water hazards. With most pin placements, 9 or 10 of the holes have water hazards (9 from shorts, 10 from longs), and there are seldom good opportunities to retrieve your discs. The water is often murky or covered in foul-smelling scum, trash is abundant, broken glass, snakes, etc... are prevalent. It's just not a great place to go fishing for your discs (though I have done it before). So a bad bounce off a tree or a shot pulled early or sailing just a little too long, and you can be down in the creek with the water moccasins. This is a huge detractor for me.

I've also experienced (and heard of many other instances) where neighborhood kids have waited around the corners on blind shots and grabbed and run off with discs when the owners aren't in view. I don't think this is frequent, but it's happened to enough people -- and there are enough blind holes -- that it is worth keeping in mind as you play. On some of the shots, friends and I made a point of keeping spotters -- not to find our discs, but to make sure SOMEONE ELSE didn't find our discs before we did.

A last con worth mentioning is the poison ivy. The annual tournament called the "Poison Ivy Open" held at Bear Creek is aptly named. The poison ivy has been beaten back immensely over the years, but I still have friends who catch poison ivy every time they play Bear Creek. The poison ivy is there, and is prevalent any time you toss a disc off the fairway or skip past a basket. It's not going to kill you, but it is worth watching out for.
Other Thoughts: My parents lived near this course for years and it's where my brother and I would play hundreds of rounds a year during summer and winter breaks when I was home from college...

So I admit I have a hard time being objective about this course because it is where I learned to play. I have a lot of fond memories about it, and a lot of experience. But it also means that it's been so long since I first navigated this course that I have no idea how hard it is to find your way through the holes... I have no idea whether the teesigns are any good, since I haven't looked at them in years; in short, I know I can't answer some of the basic questions most people would have about a course.

I can give a word of warning that holes 13-18 can be hard to find your first time through. After hole 12, walk back through the parking lot and turn right into the woods just before you get to the interstate access road to the park. There you will find the teebox for hole 13. However, there are so many people who play this course that it is always easy to find a helpful local to show you through... my brother had the pleasure of playing tour guide for Ron Russell several years ago when he was passing through -- my brother said he'd never seen so many birdies look so effortless...

I have many fond memories of Bear Creek -- aces hit or watched, great rounds of Glow golf, snakes snapping, blue-balled disc retrieval in the icy stream in the dead of winter, innumerable great times with friends and family... and this colors my perception of the course. It is home to amazing memories, but I'm also aware of how many better courses I've played all across the country.

What makes Bear Creek special -- the reason I suspect it has approximately a 4.0 rating -- is that so many people come to treat Bear Creek as their disc golf home. There are many great local golfers who call this home and have spent thousands of hours working on their games and teaching/inspiring others to play disc golf. This is an amazing course for the memories and for the people. However, it isn't an amazing course for the holes or for the land -- there are much better courses to play, but few better places to learn from such a great community of golfers.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.