Grapevine, TX 
Bear Creek Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #9
3 / 330ft.   3 / 348ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 85
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A Great Challenging Course In The DFW

5+    5/30/2010   3/15/2009
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2010
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If your looking for a fun and very challenging course to play, this is the one. This course has a real good pin layout for each hole. There is a great variety of some dogleg left and right shots and some long and short shots with plenty of trees to make it more difficult. Water comes into play on some holes and requires some accurcy to keep from over throwing the basket with the creek just behind it. There are multiple pin locations and multiple concrete tees for different skill levels and the tees are just the right size. Each hole has a challenge of its own with each pin tucked away very well. There are signs on most holes that tell you all of the imformation for each hole. Look for the wooden post on the short tees for the hole number. The park is very clean and well maintained with plenty of trash cans and seating throughout the whole course.
Cons: This course can be a little tricky to navigate for a first timer who has never played here before. The signs don't seem to help out too much. It is kind of hard to see the pin from the tee, so you might have to walk up and look for the basket before you throw. Some of the long tees seem to be hidden but they are there. Since this is a popular park in DFW, it can get very busy so you might want to get here early to get a good round in.
Other Thoughts: Over all, this was a very fun and challenging course to play. It really brought out the best in me to see where I stand. This is another great course in the DFW and is well worth the stop if you are in the area. You will not be disappointed so come by and throw a round.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 This Was FUN But Busy

1    2/22/2009   2/23/2009
Review By: Nastynate
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.9 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I had heard of this course but had never made it to it until last weekend. I went with a buddy of mine after warming up at Tommy and Sue Brown. The difficultly factor of some of the holes are excellent.
Cons: This place was so freaking busy it was unbelievable. I had to wait 7 minutes per hole. On hole 12 I cleared the gourge, but still had to walk through it to get to the basket. so I was beaten to have to walk though it it
Other Thoughts: I would love to play it when not so crowded

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Local Enough

5+    4/24/2013   2/5/2009
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 181  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2014
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Eagle scouts added ten nice sized benches on 1/21/13.Double up an play some long tees! Plenty of disc golfers around.Signage 2012! Theres a brand new map at hole one by the Bridge don't let it confuse u the holes have individual maps!Snap a pic helps too!Short tees are very popular here allowing for low scores,long tees here provide a more challenging disc golf experience for sure.Hole15 has a new location as of 1/8/13.The water is still present but the hole is no longer so easy to throw into with the right line being hit.When there's a cold wind blowing out of the north holes 3-10 have virtually no wind ensuring on a cold windy day that you'll be secluded from weathers wrath.Logs to sit and/or to place your bag.The ditch behind hole 10's long placement shortcuts you to 11 short tee.Also on hole 12 you can walk straight down and up the narrow peninsula up to 12's basket. People like to say Bear Creek is easy but the thickness of the flora here can wreak havoc if your disc isn't kept low and/or leaves the fairways.Remember this is a very fast moving 18 hole shin-dig take it to Lewisville, Gateway, Turner or North park none of which are too far from this course for a more DIFFICULT disc golf expierience. Cheap used disc sellers in abundance in the p lot due to the creek.
Cons: The worst problems are too many people,land degraded to dirt, its a short course and poor unmanaged broken down concrete tee boxes.Theres also only 3 tees reaching over 400 and of course the massive amounts of thorny vines and darn near year round poison Ivy that flourish here.Little league has taken over what use to be our field.Car Break-ins in broad day light brought Police presence even more.These new family events have been taking place every day of the week almost now creating a very crowded parking lot.K-9's randomly sniff cars here.Beer, weed,even cursing is frowned upon by the neighborhood and these families .WATCH YOURSELF IN THE PARKING LOT.Expired tags are what the cops look for to guys an gals;Okay i said my piece about going to jail possibly from from bear creek which i've witnessed more then a handful people.Some Reject/dooche ripped and broke limbs on alot of our cedar trees recently esp. 9 and 10. Some fool chopped trees also on 16 and 17(No Talent)in 2007.7 long is no longer as hard as it once was with a tree cut down in 2012.We know who cut it, REALLY SUCKS. I wish we had better ways of catching an prosecuting these scums of society that choose to whack down trees on fairways.Beavers are the only ones' allowed to cut our trees! Bring A leash!Idiots that don't respect the leash laws only cause conflicts to flare up when the sidewalk neighborhood pedestrians clash with unleashed dogs.Even if you have the sweetest dog in the world Bear Creek is "NOT" a Dog Park.We aren't out there to watch you schmoozing with the other dog walkers.Honey bees are abundant in warmer months around the zillion trash cans scattered about! Watch Out! A large moccisin bit someone here summer 09' right next to 15's basket while attempting to come onto the shoreline from the creek the moccasin came from under the water to get one anda half fangs in ol' Jeremy S.Consensus is that this snake which he nick-named "Big Poppa" is still around and/or has mated.Wanna hunt him?Follow the shore line downstream from 15 not as far as the backside of hole six.We believe moccasins still live in this area under the creekbanks.
Other Thoughts: After playing the front 12 with Barry Schultz once he said he enjoyed 6 and 9 long.If your hungry the park has pecan trees on 5,8 and 14 and 18's tee areas.Wild onions grow on 10 an 11 and the famous Texas Grapevines never die around hole 13's tees. Plenty of squirrels and rabbits too for added protein.Over five hawks live along the creekway near holes 10,11 and 16 don't be surprised if you hear them being loud while u play.Bring a fishing line if you think your good enough to catch some of the Bass that are spotted swimming upstream as well.Dam yellow jacket bit me! Don't badger the tree and rat snakes they're harmless and not aggressive or venomous unlike the moccasins of course .Moccasin wrangling is approved if you can get one. Copperheads have been seen numerous times too.the Bullfrogs,snapping turtles,ducks and the beautiful Blue Herring are seen soaring thru as well.Clyde is what we're callin the big ass Beaver that has been spotted by me and others. Bobcats,Coyotes,racoons and fox round off the complete # of natve fauna I've seen that the DFW airport wilderness has kept safe to roam our disc course.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable course; watch out for the poison ivy

5+    9/7/2006   1/7/2009
Review By: t i m
Played: 224  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 17.6 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bear Creek makes good use of the available land and has aged well over the years, growing from a little 9-hole course back in the late 90s to a full 18-holes with multiple pin placements and dual teepads on every hole.

In most cases the long teepads not only add distance but open up (or force) differently shaped lines to the pins, offering a variety of shots for the course. The course -- from both the longs and the shorts -- flows well with very little wasted space and very little extra walking between holes. This clean design allows the course to play much faster than most courses, as long as you can keep it on the fairways.

Fortunately, the fairways are a lot more obvious than they were a few years ago. The underbrush and poison ivy used to be legendary. Now, the course has worn in to the point where only truly errant shots get penalized by bad underbrush and unreasonable foliage.

The course makes good use of the underbrush and tees that are there, forcing a lot of different lines, ranging from big hyzers to low tunnel shots to delicate anhyzers to flicks, thumbers and skip shots around corners.

The course is almost completely flat -- all of the elevation is dropoffs into creeks/ponds -- so if you are playing well, everything is flat ground. This is good for speed-of-play, but is weak from a course-design standpoint. Having at least a couple elevation changes would have been nice variety.
Cons: My biggest pet peeves on a course are waiting to play and loosing discs, and unfortunately, Bear Creek is frequent home to both occurrences...

Bear Creek is one of the busiest courses in Texas, and lots and lots of high school kids play here recreationally (and sometimes are into other, less sanctioned activities on the side). Backups can be prevalent on the course, and often there are groups that lack the tact to allow more serious golfers to play through.

The course also has more than it's share of water hazards. With most pin placements, 9 or 10 of the holes have water hazards (9 from shorts, 10 from longs), and there are seldom good opportunities to retrieve your discs. The water is often murky or covered in foul-smelling scum, trash is abundant, broken glass, snakes, etc... are prevalent. It's just not a great place to go fishing for your discs (though I have done it before). So a bad bounce off a tree or a shot pulled early or sailing just a little too long, and you can be down in the creek with the water moccasins. This is a huge detractor for me.

I've also experienced (and heard of many other instances) where neighborhood kids have waited around the corners on blind shots and grabbed and run off with discs when the owners aren't in view. I don't think this is frequent, but it's happened to enough people -- and there are enough blind holes -- that it is worth keeping in mind as you play. On some of the shots, friends and I made a point of keeping spotters -- not to find our discs, but to make sure SOMEONE ELSE didn't find our discs before we did.

A last con worth mentioning is the poison ivy. The annual tournament called the "Poison Ivy Open" held at Bear Creek is aptly named. The poison ivy has been beaten back immensely over the years, but I still have friends who catch poison ivy every time they play Bear Creek. The poison ivy is there, and is prevalent any time you toss a disc off the fairway or skip past a basket. It's not going to kill you, but it is worth watching out for.
Other Thoughts: My parents lived near this course for years and it's where my brother and I would play hundreds of rounds a year during summer and winter breaks when I was home from college...

So I admit I have a hard time being objective about this course because it is where I learned to play. I have a lot of fond memories about it, and a lot of experience. But it also means that it's been so long since I first navigated this course that I have no idea how hard it is to find your way through the holes... I have no idea whether the teesigns are any good, since I haven't looked at them in years; in short, I know I can't answer some of the basic questions most people would have about a course.

I can give a word of warning that holes 13-18 can be hard to find your first time through. After hole 12, walk back through the parking lot and turn right into the woods just before you get to the interstate access road to the park. There you will find the teebox for hole 13. However, there are so many people who play this course that it is always easy to find a helpful local to show you through... my brother had the pleasure of playing tour guide for Ron Russell several years ago when he was passing through -- my brother said he'd never seen so many birdies look so effortless...

I have many fond memories of Bear Creek -- aces hit or watched, great rounds of Glow golf, snakes snapping, blue-balled disc retrieval in the icy stream in the dead of winter, innumerable great times with friends and family... and this colors my perception of the course. It is home to amazing memories, but I'm also aware of how many better courses I've played all across the country.

What makes Bear Creek special -- the reason I suspect it has approximately a 4.0 rating -- is that so many people come to treat Bear Creek as their disc golf home. There are many great local golfers who call this home and have spent thousands of hours working on their games and teaching/inspiring others to play disc golf. This is an amazing course for the memories and for the people. However, it isn't an amazing course for the holes or for the land -- there are much better courses to play, but few better places to learn from such a great community of golfers.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Oasis in the City

1    12/20/2008   1/5/2009
Review By: Razorback Ramsey
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course in the middle of the city.
Parts of the course have you underneath huge shade trees walking across lush grass. Then the course sends you into the throws of a huge ravine, up and down embankments.
Some truly memorable holes here!
Good mix of long holes and
short/medium.
Good markers.
Well established pathways.
Cons: A little fuzzy walking from #12 to #13 - you will get lost unless you know where you are going.
Some hole markers are nonexistent
You will loose disc on a few of the more difficult holes (via the giant ravine).
Other Thoughts: Truly enjoyable course!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/18/2008   10/21/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has many beautiful fairways cutting through flat heavily wooded land with a huge deep creek winding throughout.

Some of the funnest holes have you thowing over huge gorges that were created when the creek eroded away the sandy soil.

I never got bored or tired of this course. It's like there is a hidden suprise around every corner.

The multiple concrete tees make this a course that anyone could enjoy.
Cons: I have never seen so much poison ivy on a course. It is everywhere, however, I played with my brother and 5 year old son and none of us were effected by the poison ivy.

The teepads are a little short and some of them have had the sand eroded away on the end leaving a big drop off. I fell after tripping off the end of one such pad.

This course is in serious need of some new signage. There are 2-3 teepads for every hole and it would be nice to know what they are all for. For consistency we played the tees that have the original wood post signs.

Anyone playing this course has the potential to lose discs either in the creek or in the rough.
Other Thoughts: I would drive out of my way to play this course again.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful!!!

2-4    9/25/2008   9/26/2008
Review By: Joshua1972
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gorgeous course!!! Lots of mature trees, dual tee pads, varied terrain, just awesome!!! A great combination of semi-open and tight shots are needed for this course. I really wish I had played it sooner.
Cons: Really there are but 2 cons I can give this course... The first would be there needs to be better directions to following holes, maybe a course map even. even though I played with a guy who had played the course a couple times we nearly went the wrong direction and once played the wrong hole... The other con is more aimed at other user's of the park and course. There are tons of garbage cans available throughout the course, people need to use them!
Other Thoughts: This course has definately move up to near the top on my favorites.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 poison ******* ivy up the *** watch your self!

1    9/22/2008   9/22/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.6 Years
11 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice design stressing fundamentals, with all sorts of shots. Low ceilings, high ceilings, tunnels, short putter shots through thick woods, shots over and next to a creek with steep sides and murky water. Well balanced shot mix overall (but begins with 3 rhbh shots in a row). Well mowed, clean.
Cons: POISON IVY- too much to avoid, you WILL get it on you playing here.
- Needs some new signs, tough to realize there are even dual tees on the first hole with one hidden from the other.
- Hole #13 is like impossible to find without help or just luck, you must cross back over #1 to the parking lot, then enter the woods through a small trail. No sign points this out, leaving it up to you to walk around for a long time searching for it.
Other Thoughts: There's just too much poison ivy for anyone highly allergic to have a good time, or to play the course (even play well) and not get covered in it head-to-toe. Be prepared for that, or skip it as I recommend, if allergic.
You will encounter it on the follow through on the tee, on the paths between holes (sometimes have to find alt. route to the next hole to avoid touching it), surrounding baskets and lining the fairways 5 feet high.

11 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best courses around!

5+    7/16/2008   7/19/2008
Review By: cc0049
Played: 106  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2009
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the greatest things about the course is the option for short tees or long tees. Also, the baskets are moved occasionally, giving quite a variety of hole types. Bring your hiking shoes, because there is some good terrain to cross. You shoot over a creek on holes 1, 2 and 12 and over a pond on hole 8 (from the long tee). The water hazards will keep you on your toes. There are lots of holes for possible aces and birdies and a couple that you're doing well to pull out a par on. This course seems to draw a lot of beginners as well as some very good, experienced players; it has something for everyone.
Cons: Watch out for poison ivy and other miscellaneous poisonous plant. I've not really gotten it bad myself, but have heard of folks that have out there. The course is easy to follow in most places. People get mixed up after holes 3 and 12. After 3, follow the sidewalk around to hole 4, don't go to the teebox that you see first, that is actually hole 11. After 12, you have to walk back to the parking lot and enter the trees near the access road to find 13. Lots of people will start their round on 13 instead of 1 because the course flows better that way. There are usually quite a few people out playing so be prepared to be patient while you wait.
Other Thoughts: If you are consistently playing under par on the shorts, give the long tees a shot...they are a lot of fun and more challenging. This course is definitely one of my favorites in the area.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

7/1/2008   7/4/2008
Review By: slacker
Played: 37  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 21.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very fun and challenging course.Good mix of a few open holeswith lots of holes in and around trees. Hole #12 is a very unique hole that tees off on one side of Bear Creek and the basket is on the other side.
Cons: there are 7 holes where it is possible to wind up in a water hazard, some that you will not get your disk back from. To get from #12 to #13 you have to go back through the parkinglot and through the trees to the left of the first tee.#13 tee is very close to 360.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.