Tiffin, OH 
Hedges Boyer Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #12 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 243ft.   3 / 243ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee: Basket is behind the left tree on the hillside



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 2010 Am Worlds Course - Worth a Stop

2-4    7/1/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is beautiful and well-maintained. There is very little schule on the course and slight chance of losing discs.

The course provides a solid blue level challenge from the back tees and white level challenge from the front tees, thus providing a fun challenge to nearly the whole spectrum of disc golfers.

There is ample opportunity to utilize power and a few holes that require strategy. Several of the holes are unique aesthetically and many of the baskets are nicely framed.

Most of the holes require good shots in order to earn birdies.

The tee signs, cement pads and baskets are all adequate and in good repair. The course flow is intuitive.

The course is placed nicely within the park to minimize potential conflicts with other park users.

The park has a pool for post-round cooling off.
Cons: The course is a bit too wide-open for my taste.

The design is biased towards forcing low shots at every opportunity. It feels a bit redundant.

Hole 18 finishes a long ways from the primary parking area near the first tee.
Other Thoughts: Very friendly locals.

Don't be a dirty discer! Leave the course cleaner than you found it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for beginners

1    7/31/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: newsguru
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy holes. Nice, family park setting. Mostly empty. Mature trees offer shade from the sun. Great for RHBH players with weak arms. Good course to learn on.
Cons: Easy course with unimaginitive pin placement. Confusing layout. No indications where the tee pads are. Holes placed dangerously close to walking paths, street paths, playgrounds, tennis courts and fast moving cars.
Other Thoughts: Despite the low rating I really enjoyed playing this course. I'm typically a +9 player, and I ended up -2. Beginners will enjoy playing this course but advanced players will find it very easy.

I like the course but the pars are extremely easy, even for beginners. The par 5s should be 4s, and most 4s should be 3s.

At some points I was afraid of hitting a walker or car driving through the park. The layout is VERY confusing, even with a printed map. Sometimes you have to backtrack onto holes to get to other tee pads, making it easy for someone to hit you with a disc. Watch out for the confusing 6-7-8 tee placement.

But while the course is really easy, it teaches beginners how to throw to the right and left. The easy holes will not only boost your ego, but it'll actually help you throw better. You can play the entire course with a ROC and a putter.

It offers some fun holes AND a practice tee (shown as 9 to 10 on the map).

Really enjoyed hole 14 with a water hazard on the right, difficult pin placement and large mature trees to throw round. By far the course's signature hole.

I'll play the course again when I visit Tiffin, not for the competition but for the fun throws and to get out of the house.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

1    7/25/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 111  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/20/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two Set of Tees
Baskets are in Great Shape
Variety of Distances
Made Great Use of What Elevation is There
Water Hazards in Play On A of Couple Holes
Cons:
Natural Tees Are Slippery When the Least Bit Wet
Blue Tees Can be Hard to Find
Navigation Could be an Issue (Print Map)
Park Can Get Crowded (Other park users will block fairways and baskets by parking, playing baseball, etc.)
Most Holes are Wide Open
Other Thoughts:
Course would be a great course to learn on. There is just enough distance without a lot of obstacles, so you can really concentrate on controlling the disc while still getting distance without having to worry about the rough getting in the way on most holes.

Course can be hard to navigate in some spots. At the beginning of the course, right next to hole 1 there's a bulletin board with a map of each hole. One of the nicest boards I have seen at a course. This will come in handy if you are going to play from the blue tees, as all the tee markers are at the shorter, red tees. We actually took a picture to use a reference throughout the course. The first 6 holes are all pretty easy to navigate. After hole #6 you can't see the tee pad for seven. If you are looking at the basket for #6 from the tee pad, after you play the hole head to the right, its a bit of a walk down the path, but follow it around to the left and you will come to #7.

There is also a long walk between holes 9 and 10. After 9 head towards the blacktop path and over towards the picnic areas and pool, you will see the tee pad for 10. After 10 you can either stay at the bottom of the hill and follow the walkway to the blue tee, or head up the hill and around to the right for the red tee. The red tee is much more fun on this hole in my opinion, but there is also a lot more change you will put it into the river from there as well.

After hole # 12, cross over the bridge to finish up the rest of the holes. Once across the bridge head to your left, you have to walk past the basket for #14 to get to the tee pad. This seems like it could be a bit annoying if it was crowded. After that its easy to finish out, although there is a pretty long walk back to the parking lot after hole #18.

Like I said pretty good course for beginners, and the distance and shots from the blues could make it more of a challenge for advanced players. I wouldn't say I would make the trip back up to play this one, but I might stop by again if I was in the area hitting up some other courses.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

1    4/15/2009   4/15/2009
Review By: SigmaChris
Played: 47  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 17.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - good beginner course
- great signs on the tee pad
- each hole is sponsored by a local business...great idea for people trying to set up a course in their area to reduce expenses to the city.
- At #1 tee, there is a 10' x 6' board that has each hole mapped and their sponsor.
-Discatcher baskets

This course is in a large city park with walking paths, baseball, soccer, BMX track etc. The course is laid out so only a few holes will get in the way of the other activities. The design is decent with the lay of the land. The course has 6 holes of 350' plus from the blue tees.

The course map and tee signs are set up for the red tees which are dirt / grass tees. The blue tees are also dirt / grass but they should be marked with a wooden stake.
Cons: - dirt / grass pads
- some holes come close to walking paths
- not very technical but the designer tried to hide the baskets amongst trees when he could.
Other Thoughts: This would make a great course to learn the game on. I enjoyed it but I really prefer wooded courses which this is not. The park in general is a great family park for all of its attractions.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.