Disc Golf Store
Tiffin, OH 
Hedges Boyer Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 249ft.   3 / 354ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Just ok

1    8/17/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: icandisc
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Parklike setting
Impossible to lose a disc
Elevation!
Beginner Friendly
Cons: Some holes are a bit boring
Course intersects park, so you must watch for others on some holes
Other Thoughts: Overall not a bad course, but nothing extremely memorable. If in the area, I would play a different course again before coming back. That said, it seems well kept up, beginner friendly, and located very conveniently to get to. Definitely worth playing once, but next time I run through I'll be curious to try a different course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 "I CAN TURN THIS AROUND"

1    10/21/2011   10/25/2011
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well marked and well designed course offers a variety of shots and takes advantage of shifting terrain, keeping the static at bay. Concrete tees provide sure footing even on the wettest of days (as this was), and bright yellow baskets are easy to spot. Course fits well into an already busy park; a fine addition to the landscape. Quite a few signature holes amp up the experience of a typical city park-style round.
Cons: Nothing too bad to say about this course. We started playing at #13 because we didn't drive far enough into the park to see the massive sign at #1...so that was our bad. #14-18 are in lowlands that were puddled out (especially under the grouping of trees on #15). Massive amounts of rain over the previous few days made it muddy throughout. I could see on a busy summer day that parkgoers would be in the way on a few shots (especially #1). A few "next holes" were hard to spot, but plenty of baskets actually had directions written on the top rim telling you where to go!
Other Thoughts: #1 blasts over a huge open field and ends on the other side. #2-4 shirk this open area and are nice plays under some sparse mature trees. #5 hugs a massively steep ravine with its pin precariously tucked...KNOW YOUR SURROUNDINGS if your disc goes down it is gone. #6 is the first signature hole - a beautiful overlook down into the woods, with an alley that looks far more open that it actually is... #7 is a straight shot with heavy woods on either side. #8 takes you back up the hill you went down two holes back, and it a difficult upshot (another sig hole). #9 is wide open but be careful of the steep hill leading down the baseball diamond... #10 is a beauty! a rip over rolling hills with the river coming into play on your right. #11 is less than 200' almost straight down - an easy birdie if you are accurate. #12 and 13 are a little too easy, and the last holes take you over the bridge and into the lowlands. #18 finishes back at the river so be careful not to overshoot form the tee.

overall a good round and i think a cut above your standard city park course. the signature holes raised this up above the 2.5 rating. pair this course with Meadowbrook and you've got yourself a nice outing.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/31/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: jchlody
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Most holes are open
-Some holes are short and others long good for practicing close shots and letting one fly
-Good mix of RH holes and LH holes
-Hole-to-hole mapped out nicely
-Concrete throwing surfaces
-Beautiful park with other things to do
Cons: -Hole 18 is not close to hole one so a little walk to parking lot
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a fantastic course. I live near Tiffin, so I get to play this course often. I have been playing for 4 years and have only played about 6 different courses and I would rate this among the top of courses I have played.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

5+    1/10/2011   1/10/2011
Review By: Matt_The_dude
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Park is set in a huge park with rolling holes ,and has two sets of tees per hole and has water in play on several holes .
You start in a open setting then get into so really wooded holes 6-8 this is where the course really shines and wish it used more of the wooded area .
holes 10-15 has water in play on the right side which doesn't really come into play unless you shank your shot .
hole 10 plays downhill with water to the right on a nice rolling hill.
11 plays on top of a steep hill and its a easy putter hole but is a improvement over the old 11 .
hole 13,15,16,17 are boring open holes that are not really good .
hole 18 is a good finishes a short hole with pines on the left and water behind the basket
Cons: Some holes are just open boring holes and kill the flow of the course .
most holes are really short .
going down 11 is dangerous when wet

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Park Course

2-4    1/5/2011   1/5/2011
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two sets of concrete tees and double chain baskets make for adequate play from an equipment perspective. The more open holes are completely open to sparsely wooded, while the technical holes (#5-8) can be brutal if you miss your line. There are a few bomber holes out here that really let you air out a disc; I'm a fan of courses with at least a couple of those. Overall a good mix of distances here. There's a few holes with elevation in play which is nice to see. Two of the downhill shots are short but with significant drops which makes for shots you don't often see. Hole #8 is a great hole that requires a drive off the tee to a rather small landing zone to set up the next shot through the wooded uphill alley to the basket; carding a three on this hole means two well executed shots and a made putt. It'd be nice to see a few more of those holes.

The DG course is located in a nice multi-use park with a swimming pool and restroom facilities. The course info board located by hole #1 is one of the nicest presentations I've seen.
Cons:
There's a lot of walking between holes at this course. Hole #18 finishes significantly far from where hole #1 starts. The direct descent from tee to basket on hole #11 can be flat out dangerous for anyone not in good shape. There aren't a lot of twisting fairways here as most of the holes are pretty straight shots and slightly favor RHBH throwers. The water nearby the course never really comes into play unless you throw long on #18. The short tees are really easy here.
Other Thoughts:
For the most part, the difficulty level of this course is not too high allowing INT+ players to score pretty well here. I played this course at 2010 PDGA AM Worlds for both Mixed Doubles (Best Shot) and Singles. While I enjoyed the course, overall I found it mostly average and wouldn't consider it a destination course: playable if you're in the area but not worth going far out of your way for. Note that a lot of the reviews posted here are outdated after the course got a face lift for the 2010 AM Worlds.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A pleasant suprise

1    7/31/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: Technohic
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Nice cement tees
-Good mix tight wooded and open holes
-Nice Use of elevation
-Informative tee signs
-Bathrooms (port-a-potties) and drinking fountains made plentiful throughout the course
-Very well kept.
Cons: -Other park goers can be dangerously close to fairways
-Long walk from hole 9 to tee 10
-long walk from 18 to parking
-Not closer to where I live
Other Thoughts: This course could be better but any of the cons here are just nit picking. Its not a perfect course but it is very well maintained in a park that has everything including disc golf!

It starts off pretty mondain and flat for about 5 holes, then you go down in the woods for the next 4 where I thought there were a lot of technical, wooded mid range shots that play with elevation changes. From there you walk for a ways around the pool to start 10 and once again have some nice elevation changes and trees just enough to ruin your ace.

Around hole 15 or 16 it gets flat again and the trees begin to be reduced and hole 17 plays with a pavillion pretty close to a danger zone for a slightly griplocked throw but just use restraint if you see people there.

Overall I love this course! It kind of puts me in mind of an easier Roscoe Ewing which is a lot better for my fiance and kids who struggle a lot, or not to mention my bad days. I just wish it was closer. Every town should be so lucky to have a park like this.

If you are in the area or passing through (like I was) this is a must stop!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Updated Hedges DGC

2-4    7/18/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: KGosche
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Newly constructed, concrete tee pads.

-Multiple tees on several holes.

-Nice mixture of open vs. wooded holes.

-Some unique hole layouts including #5, #6, #8, #11, #12 and #14.
Cons:
-Course can be hard to navigate if playing for the first time, you must walk across the bridge after #13 to get to the back 5 holes that seem to be segregated from the rest of the course.

-#18 ends rather far from the first tee and parking areas, but is never a big deal to me as you can enjoy a walk along the creek.
Other Thoughts: Having returned to this course recently after about two years, I was pleasantly surprised to find freshly constructed, concrete tee pads as well as a few new hole layouts.

Hole #5 has changed in that it is no longer a straight shot off the tee. The hole now plays shorter but the tees are tucked against the woods and plays to a left-to-right disc flight, into a neatly tucked away basket.

The old #8 that is listed on the course map no longer exists and it has replaced the old #9 which includes an uphill shot to a low tree branch-guarded basket. The new #9 has replaced the '9-to-10' hole, which was originally meant as a buffer between the walk from 9 to 10.

Hole #11, although requiring a trek up the hill after #10, displays a beautiful elevated tee looking down toward the creek and landing area. My favorite hole to play.

Hole #17 plays much longer than I remember, with the front tees at 387 ft. and the back tees at 624 ft.

After recently playing this course I took it upon myself to update the hole lengths and par as the course has listed on the tee signs.
These differ from the course map, but after reading several reviews that the course plays rather easy to its par, I felt the par score on the tee signs made it much more difficult to score low.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Home Town Course

2-4    7/3/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: kinger
Played: 37  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/27/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~Large, well maintained city park with lots of activity.
~Course is in very good condition with 10' concrete tee pads, nice baskets and good signage.
~Enjoyed the layout of the course, most of the holes are well placed and provide for a multitude of skill shots.
~Scenery is hard to beat for North West Ohio.
~Very impressed overall.
Cons:
~No need for the Par 4's and Par 5's should be 4's at best.
~Played the short tees as this was my 1st experience here and overall the course played too easy, even for a guy like me with minimal experience at the game.
~Could use some bigger/better directional signs between a few of the holes, I had no idea where the No. 10 Tee was and ended up walking back to the board next to No. 1 to find out for sure.
Other Thoughts: My Valkyrie didn't see too much action as most holes were played using my Teebird, Roc, and Aviar, in fact I think I only used 5 different discs over the entire round. Most holes are fairly short in distance, but this is countered by the need for more control to navigate through the trees and other obstacles.
I found this to be a real nice technical course along with a couple odd ball holes (one that requires going straight up hill through a narrow gap and then another that goes down hill fairly dramatically).
Tiffin is the town I was born and raised in so Hedges-Boyer Park is a part of my childhood, and I am very glad to see a course of this caliber here. This will be a destination of mine whenever I come back for a visit.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 2010 Am Worlds Course - Worth a Stop

2-4    7/1/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is beautiful and well-maintained. There is very little schule on the course and slight chance of losing discs.

The course provides a solid blue level challenge from the back tees and white level challenge from the front tees, thus providing a fun challenge to nearly the whole spectrum of disc golfers.

There is ample opportunity to utilize power and a few holes that require strategy. Several of the holes are unique aesthetically and many of the baskets are nicely framed.

Most of the holes require good shots in order to earn birdies.

The tee signs, cement pads and baskets are all adequate and in good repair. The course flow is intuitive.

The course is placed nicely within the park to minimize potential conflicts with other park users.

The park has a pool for post-round cooling off.
Cons: The course is a bit too wide-open for my taste.

The design is biased towards forcing low shots at every opportunity. It feels a bit redundant.

Hole 18 finishes a long ways from the primary parking area near the first tee.
Other Thoughts: Very friendly locals.

Don't be a dirty discer! Leave the course cleaner than you found it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 hedges

1    7/5/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: zero_43502
Played: 54  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes
Nice cement tees with both pro and short layout
holes across the river play longer with a technical touch.

Woods holes are clear enough where losing a disc is hard .

the tee pads are nice

course is huge

water holes add a risk but only if you throw without control
Cons: To easy from short tees

not every tee has a pro tee

long walks between some holes

some next tee signs for some of the wooded holes would be nice


Other Thoughts: If your in the area play it ,but i wouldn't drive way out of my way to play here.

A am 1 player will shoot way under from the short tees but the long tees make for a good challenge

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.