Walkersville, MD 
Heritage Farm Park Share
Uploaded By: gameboy9 Hole #15
3 / 333ft.   3 / 288ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Farm Course

1    5/20/2014   6/5/2014
Review By: SnowSerf
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cool course on an old farm that has been converted into a huge multi-use park. Being from the CT/NY area this course was much more open than I was used to, but still challenging. A lot of holes to the right so it forced you to use a variety of throws. The hole with the antique barn was extremely picturesque. The back nine was more open than the front, but with recent plantings in a few years it will be great.
Cons: Like I said before the park was huge so finding the exact location was hard. I kept seeing baskets, but couldn't figure out where the first hole was. There was signage indicating each hole, but nothing on yardage or pin location. This made it especially difficult on the back 9 where in the teens there was a multiple of tees and baskets and no indication, which went to which in a large field. Fortunately for us a kind local ran over to the tee box and gave us the run down on the next few holes.
Other Thoughts: Fun course. Don't forget your sunscreen on the sunny days because there is not a ton of shade.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

1    10/24/2012   10/24/2012
Review By: Steever
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Effective use of space and terrain
Nice tees - good flow to holes
Beautiful signature hole
Cons: Back nine needs time to grow in
Other Thoughts: Just played this course for the first time on a beautiful fall day and was very impressed. The course designers did a good job of using what they had in the way of vegetation and terrain to make a fun course. The signature hole with the old barn as the backdrop is one of the most scenic disc golf holes I have seen. Once the back nine grows in a bit this will be a fine course.

 Good Lightly Wooded Course

5+    7/23/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: lions240
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/17/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great fairways that allow clear drives and shots. I live only 3 or 4 min form the course and it is in a convenient location.
Cons: There are places on the course that make me nervous, like on the front 9 the holes seem to be near a tree line that makes it very easy to loose disks

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Genteel

2-4    10/21/2011   10/22/2011
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 31.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Eighteen basket in good repair, with two reasonably-sized asphalt tees per hole. The tee locations are marked by a 4 X 4 post with the hole number and color (red for short, blue for long), the hole #s are also marked on the tees themselves. Holes are long enough to air it out a bit and with a nice variety of distances, from 230' to over 500'. The short layout averages about 280' per hole, the longs run about 350'.

Course is located in a fairly large multi-use park surrounded by farms, very pretty setting. The town of Walkersville is only a few miles away and has a couple shopping centers with a nice complement of stores and restaurants in case you need them. Park appears to be very well maintained and clean.

There a kiosk near hole #1 that has notices and a course map, but the image is pretty washed out. Recommend printing out a scorecard (with map) found in the links section here.
Cons: Most of the trees on the front nine are very young, some look like they were recently planted and may or may not make it. Unfortunately, my understanding is that most of them were planted by a local arborist group that didn't consult with the course designers. The result is that when these trees mature, holes 3 - 5 may not have much in the way of viable fairways. The big arms will go up and over, the rest of us will roll (or chop a lot of wood). Right now though these holes are pretty fun to play.

The back nine is pretty much a collection of baskets strewn across a large open field. Fun for working on your drives (from the long tees) and handling the wind but mostly flat and featureless otherwise, with exceptions of #13 and #17. The grass was too long to roll today but we've had a lot of rain recently, the previous time I was here it was mowed pretty close.

I didn't see any alternate pin settings, and the baskets appear to be permanently set so that adding additional anchors doesn't seem to be an option.

#18 ends fairly far from the parking lot near hole #1. There's a 19th hole that runs along the lowland down the hill and to your left from the #18th green, if it's rained recently it may be a swamp and unplayable. This hole shares a pin with #9 (you'll see flags with both numbers on the basket). You might consider parking in the second lot near the middle of the field that makes up the back 9. You'll have a long walk to number #1 but you can loosen up with a few drives along the way if the course isn't too crowded and you'll be closer to the 18th pin when you're finished.
Other Thoughts: Before today the last time I played here was shortly after it opened 4 or 5 years ago. It's apparent some golfers have adopted it and put in a lot of effort and care (like adding the second set of tees). The new tees do a nice job of bring the few trees that are present into play.

#6 is an odd one. When you walk to the long tee you'll see a wall of trees between you and the basket down the hill and to your right (at about 2 o'clock). This because most of the land between the tee and green is private and O.B., making a deuce very unlikely unless you have a huge anny or forehand (assuming RH). You basically have to drive along the tree line to the end of the fence, then throw your 100' approach down the hill to your right.

My favorite holes are #7, #13 and #17. #7 tees from the other side of the bridge down a fair sized hill to a pin guarded (but available through) a line of good-sized pines. The blue tee adds a nice tree near the tee that require an anhyzer to clear. The #13 pin is located next to a scenic barn and stone wall. The #17 pin is in the far back corner of the course and has a steep drop and rough just behind the basket.

The current average for this course (2.8) is pretty fair as I was torn between 2.5 and 3.0. I wouldn't consider this a destination course but it's worth stopping by if you're near the area. There's also another 9 holer (Woodsboro only 3 miles away).


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 nice

1    4/9/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: aDedhed
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: nice tees and nice baskets. nice layout and very easy to go from teebox to teebox. beautiful setting in the park
Cons: the back 9 are pretty much just a zig zag back and forth through a field. no trees nothing.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Prettiest course in NOVA area!

1    3/12/2011   3/15/2011
Review By: Get-N-Busy
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful mountain valley view. Nice new black top tees. Had printed maps with hole info near hole#1. Great course to really practice your drive without any trees in the way like most northern virginia area courses.
Cons: I agree with other comments about challenging the layout. Course hard to follow. The numbers are at the bottom of the tee box to help with drive direction.
Other Thoughts: Perm. Maps at the tee would make this course top notch.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Will Definitely Be Back!

2-4    1/15/2011   2/11/2011
Review By: Jimb
Played: 73  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Relatively short drive from all of the eateries and shopping in Frederick. Lots of other nice facilities on site (Walking trail, soccer, ball golf course, playground equipment, etc.).

Practice basket on site near tee #1. And there are two "bonus" holes, #19-20, available. (See Swatso's review for details.)

I had two excellent hosts when I played, which made navigation a breeze. However, if you don't have the benefit of such gracious hosts, the course is pretty self explanatory once you find #1 anyway. And the map makes things even easier.

Two sets of excellent black-top tees, clearly identifiable with wood posts painted red or blue on top with hole numbers. The tees were big enough with good grip. They are also level to the ground, so even if you need a bigger run-up, you could have one. The flags on the pins are the biggest I've seen and are extra helpful on the back 9 where some pins are close together.

Nice variety of holes... on the front 9 especially. There's not a lot of elevation change available, but the course takes advantage of it where it can. Holes 3-8 really make you think about hitting a good line and each can be played with several different tee shots. You can get creative on these holes with anhyzers, hyzer-flips, overhand shots, etc.

And even though the back 9 holes are really open, the pin placements help keep it interesting. Several pins are close to the edge of a hill. This make roll-aways a serious possibility and puts a premium on accurate approaches. Plus a couple are close to OB areas, again, making accuracy very important.

From the blue tees, there are 7 holes over 375' so there should be enough distance to keep many players' needs for Big D satisfied.
Cons: The nature of the property itself causes about half of the holes to be almost completely open, just playing over lightly rolling, grassy hills. If this course were just about holes 10-18, it would be a big disappointment to anyone other than the complete novice. And it might not encourage the novice to keep playing, either.

When I played, it was January and the park was empty other than the group I was playing in. So I didn't experience any issues with people interfering with the course. I can see, though, that it could be an issue as holes 3-11 basically parallel a walking path. And the soccer goals on hole #1 make for interesting obstacles, as long as there's nobody playing soccer.
Other Thoughts: Considering its' shortcomings, this course is a lot of fun. Here are my highlights.

Hole #2, as simple and straightforward as it is, is made interesting by a dug-out/drop-off area just to the left of the pin. Stay above the pin and you may have a good birdie opp. Fall over the edge, though, and you'll be working for your par.

#3 plays down-hill to a nicely protected pin, surrounded by evergreen trees and having other trees in the fairway. Don't go long or right, though, or you're OB in a hurry.

#6 is a great right turning, down hill shot. It's protected by OB short of the "green" area. If you go too far right, or end up short, you're OB in the adjacent farmland.

#7 is a fun, "across the valley" shot, playing to a pin nestled in behind a big row of mature trees.

#13 would be a pretty uneventful, straight-forward hole, if not for the backdrop of the old red barn immediately behind the pin along with the drop-off created by the driveway "ramp" running up to the barn. It's just a simple, but pretty hole.

And bonus hole #19 is a great disc golf hole... Long, tight, low ceiling and mean.

As mentioned in my title, I will definitely be back to play Heritage again. I look forward to getting the play the long tees when the weather is better. It's not a great course, but it's definitely worth checking out. And it does have a few outstanding, individual holes.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Driving Range

1    7/19/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm going to try and be as fair as possible, as I tend to gravitate towards the wooded/technical courses. With that being said, I had a very good time here!

Some of the things that help the course are:

- Dual sets of asphalt tees. Nice for run-ups, and both tees cater to rec and more advanced players.
- Maps and scorecards provided
- Not a bad commute from I-70, but parking for first-timers may be tricky (park as close to the football field as possible)
- Intuitive navigation from hole to hole. Once I found the first hole, I didn't have any issues going to subsequent ones. The signage helped, too.

- As I said, the course isn't entirely flat, and some elevation changes is evident. Some shots are blind as well as require a sharp hyzer or anhyzer angle, which can be fun, but you also have to watch for other parkgoers. Hole #6 comes to mind as such a hole, and the basket is well-guarded with trees.

- For being a municipal park, it's really pretty -- kind of has that Civil War Battlefield feel to it.

- Love hole #19! It's so out of place here with its long length and heavy presence of trees from tee to basket. Kind of like one of those "gauntlet" holes you see on the world class courses.
Cons: The back nine holes kind of run together and start to seem like a broken record over and over. Whereas the front nine have anyhyzer/hyzer doglegs and some tree obstacles, the back nine is pretty much a series of straight-line drives to the basket.

For being a wide-open course, I was kind of disappointed at some of the hole lengths. I'm not saying they all have to be 700 feet -- nor am I scoffing at the several 400+ ones, but a handful of loooong bombs would be fun and spice the course up a little.

Other cons include:

- Criss crossing holes. This seemed especially true on the front nine, but the heat may have detracted from my focus on the latter ones. Doesn't seem like much of an issue unless you were to have a tournament here, but a consideration nonetheless.

- Lack of technical holes, mandos and obstacles on many holes.

- Walkway, road, and sidewalks come into play on many holes. Be aware of this!
Other Thoughts: I'm not going to lie; when I first arrived, I thought to myself: "is this really it? A bunch of flat and open holes? Sigh." And while that's true, there is some nice variety within these holes, even if they aren't super challenging. A driver will help you here, of course, but you won't be needing your Nuke, Destroyer, or Katana -- that's for sure. Seems like a cool place for glow golf, although I'm not sure when the park closes. All in all, if you like wide open courses, this place will be perfect for you. Personally, I'd like to see some more trees.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 It's groovy

5+    5/11/2011   7/19/2010
Review By: Mr Mojo Risin
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I live about a quarter of a mile from this course so it's very easy for me to get out and play here a few times a week (I'm the guy with a beard and always wears a maroon ball cap, hit me up). The pavement tee off pads are great and they have recently added additional tee off spots for each hole, now providing pro and amateur tee offs. The front 9 provides some challenge, especially the 6th hole with a wicked dogleg. Also the new tee off for the 7th hole is a challenge now as you'll need to get a decent hyzer to provide you with a good second shot.
Cons: A common gripe about the course is that the back 9 gets to be pretty boring as it's mostly (98%) open field. I spoke with one of the guys who maintains the course and they are looking to add some trees in this year which will be a huge bonus. If they get some more hazards on the back 9, this could easily become one of the best courses in central MD. UPDATE: Eric added about 30-40 baby trees to the back 9....unfortunately he placed all of these trees on a arch behind every basket...so unless you are bombing it over the basket, the trees don't ever come into play. I don't know about you guys but I approach the basket from the front, not the back. So the time and effort and trees used were a total waste. Not only were these trees put in irrelevant locations, but they were placed in the same irrelevant locations on every basket. These trees should have been planted in various locations with some hazards, not BEHIND every basket. WEAKSAUCE!!!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great holes on a decent course.

1    6/19/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 205  Reviewed: 187  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: : Front 9 holes are some of the best disc golf in Maryland, intelligently designed holes that require a mixed bag of tricks for success.
Concrete tees
Giant numbered flags on baskets to prevent shooting at the wrong basket.
The young trees give this course so much potential for the future and the land the course is on is attractive and maintained.
Nice variety in distances from 225-523.
Nice scorecards and maps available at Kiosk.
Hole 13 is up by a barn, with a drop off on the left to add some challenge if you go to far left.
Cons: 3 and 4 are blind shots that could really use tee signs.
All holes could use tee signs to give the distance and basket position.
I nailed a soccer goal on hole 1, this would not have been playable had little kids been playing soccer.
Long walk from 18 back to the car.
Other Thoughts: I liked the mound that basket 2 was on and thought that was as good as it was going to get. But hole 3 was an intimidating shot behind an army of young trees and hole 6 was nicely designed to require a high shot or nice hyzer shot. After hole 11 the course feels like the same hole over and over.
I would give the front 9 a 4-4.5 rating, but the back 9 would get a 2-2.5.
Course is vey similar to Middletown with more character.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.