Disc Golf Store
Walkersville, MD 
Heritage Farm Park Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #7 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 265ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 nice

1    4/9/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: aDedhed
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: nice tees and nice baskets. nice layout and very easy to go from teebox to teebox. beautiful setting in the park
Cons: the back 9 are pretty much just a zig zag back and forth through a field. no trees nothing.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Will Definitely Be Back!

2-4    1/15/2011   2/11/2011
Review By: Jimb
Played: 76  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Relatively short drive from all of the eateries and shopping in Frederick. Lots of other nice facilities on site (Walking trail, soccer, ball golf course, playground equipment, etc.).

Practice basket on site near tee #1. And there are two "bonus" holes, #19-20, available. (See Swatso's review for details.)

I had two excellent hosts when I played, which made navigation a breeze. However, if you don't have the benefit of such gracious hosts, the course is pretty self explanatory once you find #1 anyway. And the map makes things even easier.

Two sets of excellent black-top tees, clearly identifiable with wood posts painted red or blue on top with hole numbers. The tees were big enough with good grip. They are also level to the ground, so even if you need a bigger run-up, you could have one. The flags on the pins are the biggest I've seen and are extra helpful on the back 9 where some pins are close together.

Nice variety of holes... on the front 9 especially. There's not a lot of elevation change available, but the course takes advantage of it where it can. Holes 3-8 really make you think about hitting a good line and each can be played with several different tee shots. You can get creative on these holes with anhyzers, hyzer-flips, overhand shots, etc.

And even though the back 9 holes are really open, the pin placements help keep it interesting. Several pins are close to the edge of a hill. This make roll-aways a serious possibility and puts a premium on accurate approaches. Plus a couple are close to OB areas, again, making accuracy very important.

From the blue tees, there are 7 holes over 375' so there should be enough distance to keep many players' needs for Big D satisfied.
Cons: The nature of the property itself causes about half of the holes to be almost completely open, just playing over lightly rolling, grassy hills. If this course were just about holes 10-18, it would be a big disappointment to anyone other than the complete novice. And it might not encourage the novice to keep playing, either.

When I played, it was January and the park was empty other than the group I was playing in. So I didn't experience any issues with people interfering with the course. I can see, though, that it could be an issue as holes 3-11 basically parallel a walking path. And the soccer goals on hole #1 make for interesting obstacles, as long as there's nobody playing soccer.
Other Thoughts: Considering its' shortcomings, this course is a lot of fun. Here are my highlights.

Hole #2, as simple and straightforward as it is, is made interesting by a dug-out/drop-off area just to the left of the pin. Stay above the pin and you may have a good birdie opp. Fall over the edge, though, and you'll be working for your par.

#3 plays down-hill to a nicely protected pin, surrounded by evergreen trees and having other trees in the fairway. Don't go long or right, though, or you're OB in a hurry.

#6 is a great right turning, down hill shot. It's protected by OB short of the "green" area. If you go too far right, or end up short, you're OB in the adjacent farmland.

#7 is a fun, "across the valley" shot, playing to a pin nestled in behind a big row of mature trees.

#13 would be a pretty uneventful, straight-forward hole, if not for the backdrop of the old red barn immediately behind the pin along with the drop-off created by the driveway "ramp" running up to the barn. It's just a simple, but pretty hole.

And bonus hole #19 is a great disc golf hole... Long, tight, low ceiling and mean.

As mentioned in my title, I will definitely be back to play Heritage again. I look forward to getting the play the long tees when the weather is better. It's not a great course, but it's definitely worth checking out. And it does have a few outstanding, individual holes.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Driving Range

1    7/19/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm going to try and be as fair as possible, as I tend to gravitate towards the wooded/technical courses. With that being said, I had a very good time here!

Some of the things that help the course are:

- Dual sets of asphalt tees. Nice for run-ups, and both tees cater to rec and more advanced players.
- Maps and scorecards provided
- Not a bad commute from I-70, but parking for first-timers may be tricky (park as close to the football field as possible)
- Intuitive navigation from hole to hole. Once I found the first hole, I didn't have any issues going to subsequent ones. The signage helped, too.

- As I said, the course isn't entirely flat, and some elevation changes is evident. Some shots are blind as well as require a sharp hyzer or anhyzer angle, which can be fun, but you also have to watch for other parkgoers. Hole #6 comes to mind as such a hole, and the basket is well-guarded with trees.

- For being a municipal park, it's really pretty -- kind of has that Civil War Battlefield feel to it.

- Love hole #19! It's so out of place here with its long length and heavy presence of trees from tee to basket. Kind of like one of those "gauntlet" holes you see on the world class courses.
Cons: The back nine holes kind of run together and start to seem like a broken record over and over. Whereas the front nine have anyhyzer/hyzer doglegs and some tree obstacles, the back nine is pretty much a series of straight-line drives to the basket.

For being a wide-open course, I was kind of disappointed at some of the hole lengths. I'm not saying they all have to be 700 feet -- nor am I scoffing at the several 400+ ones, but a handful of loooong bombs would be fun and spice the course up a little.

Other cons include:

- Criss crossing holes. This seemed especially true on the front nine, but the heat may have detracted from my focus on the latter ones. Doesn't seem like much of an issue unless you were to have a tournament here, but a consideration nonetheless.

- Lack of technical holes, mandos and obstacles on many holes.

- Walkway, road, and sidewalks come into play on many holes. Be aware of this!
Other Thoughts: I'm not going to lie; when I first arrived, I thought to myself: "is this really it? A bunch of flat and open holes? Sigh." And while that's true, there is some nice variety within these holes, even if they aren't super challenging. A driver will help you here, of course, but you won't be needing your Nuke, Destroyer, or Katana -- that's for sure. Seems like a cool place for glow golf, although I'm not sure when the park closes. All in all, if you like wide open courses, this place will be perfect for you. Personally, I'd like to see some more trees.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Spacious

1    8/8/2009   8/8/2009
Review By: GroundHog
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Asphalt tees are better on leg joints than concrete.

Hole 19 is thoughtful concept.
Cons: Some difficulty finding start. Extra sign(s) along drive into park would help.
Other Thoughts: Reminiscent of Middletown.
Glad to discover another course in my vicinity.
Growth of numerous saplings will enhance the experience.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Begineer Course

5+    9/1/2008   1/1/2009
Review By: dtwo
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 21.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with one set of asphalt tee pads.

Many holes with 350+ distances.

The holes that finish near OB areas require good accuracy to get a duece and not a bogey (#3, #5, and #6).

The #19 hole is a blast!

Dogs are allowed on this course. I had one person tell me that unleashed dogs on the perimiter of the park are ok too!
Cons: Many of the back 9 holes require an accurate 380' drive to duece (#10 uphill 323, #12 - 382, #13 - 385, #14 - 360, and #18 - 347).

#19 is sometimes water logged.

Park closes at sunset (not dusk)!
Other Thoughts: #18 finishes far from the parking at #1, but there is a #19 down in the valley.
Some people play it to #8s basket, and some people play it to #6s basket. You can stay in the valley, or cut out to the hill on top; makes for a fun finish to the rounds.

This course is roughly as difficult as Middletown Blue Tees, but it has better tee pads.

Course Record from Monday Singles
Erik Grolton: 43

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Mostly Wide And Open

2-4    11/8/2008   11/8/2008
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/12/2011
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Two asphalt tee pads per hole, wooden vertical posts with red (or blue) numbers on them. Big, yellow flags on top of each basket. Easy-to-follow flow. Scoresheets with suggested handicaps! Practice basket. Close to 9-hole course at Woodsboro.
Cons:
#18 basket "far" from parking lot". Minimal elevation change. Kids soccer fields come into play early. A much-used walking path, oft-times blind from the tee, is near/comes into play on holes 3-11. Some tee positions potentially interfere with one another or too close to previous basket.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays in a very large public park which has a wide variety of playing fields available.

Holes 3-9 offer a variety of obstacles (trees, mostly) to throw around/over, while the back nine is wide/nearly-wide open, with some interesting exposed, but low, rock formations pushing through the grass - must have made farming very difficult!

Favourite hole: #9, one of the longer holes with some trees early and a narrowing approach, dropping a bit at the end amongst the rocks.

Blue tee-12 is near the walking path, next to/under a group of hardwoods, ~150' away from the red tee.

Blue tee-19 is down and left from red tee-18, so you'll need to re-trace your steps after finishing basket-18 if you want to play blue-19.

Unofficial hole #20: For blue-20, tee from blue tee-9, and play to the practice basket - about 630'. For red-20, tee from blue tee-8 - makes it about 380'. Play the road/parking lot on the right as OB.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.