Walkersville, MD 
Heritage Farm Park Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #2 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 425ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Nice course with a good future

1    6/5/2015   6/7/2015
Review By: thirtydirtybirds
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 7/7/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For a player getting back into the game this course is great. Lots of room and doesn't overlap the common use areas of the park too much. Variety of shots and lines to take, with good mix of open and wooded. Young trees planted within the last few years will be great once they grow in, the group that keeps this course placed the trees well. Overall a solid course that is easy to follow and fun to play.
Cons: Could use a little trimming in my opinion. Not a lot, but there were a few shots that felt like the designer intended a riskier play to be an option, but a vine or young branch cuts right through the flight path. I'm not talking limb removal here, just a small amount of snipping to entice the riskier shots.

A few holes do play near well used walking paths, watch your throws.
Other Thoughts: If anyone finds a deep blue opto River to the right of the basket on hole 6, in the real deep rough call me! My number is on the inside of the rim.

This is a neat opportunity for me to play a course as it grows in. It's not too far from my home, and is the second best option for me after work. I look forward to seeing how different the course plays once the trees grow in a bit more.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Terminal Poison Ivy

5+    5/17/2015   5/19/2015
Review By: HawaiiJack
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of grip-it-and-rip-it holes with good advantage taken of vegetation and elevation changes where possible.
Cons: Very poor drainage on holes #6 - #9 and #19. Intense poison ivy growth along the fence line from #3 - #6. Thick rough near the creek leads to disc loss risk at #3 - #9 and #17 - #19. Pedestrian and other traffic along walkways which border many holes. Occasional sports team activites in this multi-use park.
Other Thoughts: Wind is often a factor here and helps bolster the course's defenses. 20 holes is unusual for a golf course and #19 and #20 feel like they were add-ons just to mitigate the long walk from basket #18 back to the start and to help keep traffic out of fairways #9 - #10. Though short in length holes #3 - #8 can be as obstreperous as any, particularly Red #5 and Blue #6, and many players have been surprised who thought they were coming to play a course often derided as being too wide open. Red #5 can be played equally poorly from the tee with a roller, a moderate right dogleg approach, an overhead, or a big right dogleg drive.

New course signage was recently put in place. Ideally a tee sign would be at each tee. If there is only one sign per hole then it should be at the first tee the player encounters when walking from the prior basket. The sign should include at minimum a map of the hole showing all tees and baskets, distances, and pars. Some even include game tips. This course can be tricky to navigate as the Red and Blue tees are often widely separated. All the tee signs were placed at the Red tees which make them nearly useless to a Blue player who is unlikely to walk up to the Red tee and back just to check a distance. In cases where the tees are widely separated or the Red tee is reached first (#3 - #9, #12, #15, #16, #19, #20 ) a map on the tee sign would be quite useful.

Hole #20 has long been a secret hole here that only locals know about because no tees are marked for it and the basket is the unmarked practice basket near the #6 Red tee. It is commonly played as Championship tee = Red #9, Blue tee = Blue #9, and Red tee = Blue #8. The large new map installed at the course start has a bad error. It shows a phantom tee exclusively for #20, it doesn't exist, don't bother searching. If you want to play #20 use the existing tees for #8 and #9 as above.

I appreciate the new signage was an Eagle Scout project. But the truth is folf has been taking off as a sport across the country and the bar has been raised for what is the standard. This project would have benefitted from studying the signage at more courses, particularly the newer ones and interacting with more players. Signage that may cause players new to the game and the course frustration is going to have me downrate this fun and picturesque course slightly.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Farm Course

1    5/20/2014   6/5/2014
Review By: SnowSerf
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 16.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cool course on an old farm that has been converted into a huge multi-use park. Being from the CT/NY area this course was much more open than I was used to, but still challenging. A lot of holes to the right so it forced you to use a variety of throws. The hole with the antique barn was extremely picturesque. The back nine was more open than the front, but with recent plantings in a few years it will be great.
Cons: Like I said before the park was huge so finding the exact location was hard. I kept seeing baskets, but couldn't figure out where the first hole was. There was signage indicating each hole, but nothing on yardage or pin location. This made it especially difficult on the back 9 where in the teens there was a multiple of tees and baskets and no indication, which went to which in a large field. Fortunately for us a kind local ran over to the tee box and gave us the run down on the next few holes.
Other Thoughts: Fun course. Don't forget your sunscreen on the sunny days because there is not a ton of shade.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    10/24/2012   10/24/2012
Review By: Steever
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Effective use of space and terrain
Nice tees - good flow to holes
Beautiful signature hole
Cons: Back nine needs time to grow in
Other Thoughts: Just played this course for the first time on a beautiful fall day and was very impressed. The course designers did a good job of using what they had in the way of vegetation and terrain to make a fun course. The signature hole with the old barn as the backdrop is one of the most scenic disc golf holes I have seen. Once the back nine grows in a bit this will be a fine course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Good Lightly Wooded Course

5+    7/23/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: lions240
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/17/2012
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great fairways that allow clear drives and shots. I live only 3 or 4 min form the course and it is in a convenient location.
Cons: There are places on the course that make me nervous, like on the front 9 the holes seem to be near a tree line that makes it very easy to loose disks

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


2-4    10/21/2011   10/22/2011
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 32.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Eighteen basket in good repair, with two reasonably-sized asphalt tees per hole. The tee locations are marked by a 4 X 4 post with the hole number and color (red for short, blue for long), the hole #s are also marked on the tees themselves. Holes are long enough to air it out a bit and with a nice variety of distances, from 230' to over 500'. The short layout averages about 280' per hole, the longs run about 350'.

Course is located in a fairly large multi-use park surrounded by farms, very pretty setting. The town of Walkersville is only a few miles away and has a couple shopping centers with a nice complement of stores and restaurants in case you need them. Park appears to be very well maintained and clean.

There a kiosk near hole #1 that has notices and a course map, but the image is pretty washed out. Recommend printing out a scorecard (with map) found in the links section here.
Cons: Most of the trees on the front nine are very young, some look like they were recently planted and may or may not make it. Unfortunately, my understanding is that most of them were planted by a local arborist group that didn't consult with the course designers. The result is that when these trees mature, holes 3 - 5 may not have much in the way of viable fairways. The big arms will go up and over, the rest of us will roll (or chop a lot of wood). Right now though these holes are pretty fun to play.

The back nine is pretty much a collection of baskets strewn across a large open field. Fun for working on your drives (from the long tees) and handling the wind but mostly flat and featureless otherwise, with exceptions of #13 and #17. The grass was too long to roll today but we've had a lot of rain recently, the previous time I was here it was mowed pretty close.

I didn't see any alternate pin settings, and the baskets appear to be permanently set so that adding additional anchors doesn't seem to be an option.

#18 ends fairly far from the parking lot near hole #1. There's a 19th hole that runs along the lowland down the hill and to your left from the #18th green, if it's rained recently it may be a swamp and unplayable. This hole shares a pin with #9 (you'll see flags with both numbers on the basket). You might consider parking in the second lot near the middle of the field that makes up the back 9. You'll have a long walk to number #1 but you can loosen up with a few drives along the way if the course isn't too crowded and you'll be closer to the 18th pin when you're finished.
Other Thoughts: Before today the last time I played here was shortly after it opened 4 or 5 years ago. It's apparent some golfers have adopted it and put in a lot of effort and care (like adding the second set of tees). The new tees do a nice job of bring the few trees that are present into play.

#6 is an odd one. When you walk to the long tee you'll see a wall of trees between you and the basket down the hill and to your right (at about 2 o'clock). This because most of the land between the tee and green is private and O.B., making a deuce very unlikely unless you have a huge anny or forehand (assuming RH). You basically have to drive along the tree line to the end of the fence, then throw your 100' approach down the hill to your right.

My favorite holes are #7, #13 and #17. #7 tees from the other side of the bridge down a fair sized hill to a pin guarded (but available through) a line of good-sized pines. The blue tee adds a nice tree near the tee that require an anhyzer to clear. The #13 pin is located next to a scenic barn and stone wall. The #17 pin is in the far back corner of the course and has a steep drop and rough just behind the basket.

The current average for this course (2.8) is pretty fair as I was torn between 2.5 and 3.0. I wouldn't consider this a destination course but it's worth stopping by if you're near the area. There's also another 9 holer (Woodsboro only 3 miles away).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    4/9/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: aDedhed
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 15.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: nice tees and nice baskets. nice layout and very easy to go from teebox to teebox. beautiful setting in the park
Cons: the back 9 are pretty much just a zig zag back and forth through a field. no trees nothing.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Prettiest course in NOVA area!

1    3/12/2011   3/15/2011
Review By: Get-N-Busy
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful mountain valley view. Nice new black top tees. Had printed maps with hole info near hole#1. Great course to really practice your drive without any trees in the way like most northern virginia area courses.
Cons: I agree with other comments about challenging the layout. Course hard to follow. The numbers are at the bottom of the tee box to help with drive direction.
Other Thoughts: Perm. Maps at the tee would make this course top notch.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Will Definitely Be Back!

2-4    1/15/2011   2/11/2011
Review By: Jimb
Played: 83  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Relatively short drive from all of the eateries and shopping in Frederick. Lots of other nice facilities on site (Walking trail, soccer, ball golf course, playground equipment, etc.).

Practice basket on site near tee #1. And there are two "bonus" holes, #19-20, available. (See Swatso's review for details.)

I had two excellent hosts when I played, which made navigation a breeze. However, if you don't have the benefit of such gracious hosts, the course is pretty self explanatory once you find #1 anyway. And the map makes things even easier.

Two sets of excellent black-top tees, clearly identifiable with wood posts painted red or blue on top with hole numbers. The tees were big enough with good grip. They are also level to the ground, so even if you need a bigger run-up, you could have one. The flags on the pins are the biggest I've seen and are extra helpful on the back 9 where some pins are close together.

Nice variety of holes... on the front 9 especially. There's not a lot of elevation change available, but the course takes advantage of it where it can. Holes 3-8 really make you think about hitting a good line and each can be played with several different tee shots. You can get creative on these holes with anhyzers, hyzer-flips, overhand shots, etc.

And even though the back 9 holes are really open, the pin placements help keep it interesting. Several pins are close to the edge of a hill. This make roll-aways a serious possibility and puts a premium on accurate approaches. Plus a couple are close to OB areas, again, making accuracy very important.

From the blue tees, there are 7 holes over 375' so there should be enough distance to keep many players' needs for Big D satisfied.
Cons: The nature of the property itself causes about half of the holes to be almost completely open, just playing over lightly rolling, grassy hills. If this course were just about holes 10-18, it would be a big disappointment to anyone other than the complete novice. And it might not encourage the novice to keep playing, either.

When I played, it was January and the park was empty other than the group I was playing in. So I didn't experience any issues with people interfering with the course. I can see, though, that it could be an issue as holes 3-11 basically parallel a walking path. And the soccer goals on hole #1 make for interesting obstacles, as long as there's nobody playing soccer.
Other Thoughts: Considering its' shortcomings, this course is a lot of fun. Here are my highlights.

Hole #2, as simple and straightforward as it is, is made interesting by a dug-out/drop-off area just to the left of the pin. Stay above the pin and you may have a good birdie opp. Fall over the edge, though, and you'll be working for your par.

#3 plays down-hill to a nicely protected pin, surrounded by evergreen trees and having other trees in the fairway. Don't go long or right, though, or you're OB in a hurry.

#6 is a great right turning, down hill shot. It's protected by OB short of the "green" area. If you go too far right, or end up short, you're OB in the adjacent farmland.

#7 is a fun, "across the valley" shot, playing to a pin nestled in behind a big row of mature trees.

#13 would be a pretty uneventful, straight-forward hole, if not for the backdrop of the old red barn immediately behind the pin along with the drop-off created by the driveway "ramp" running up to the barn. It's just a simple, but pretty hole.

And bonus hole #19 is a great disc golf hole... Long, tight, low ceiling and mean.

As mentioned in my title, I will definitely be back to play Heritage again. I look forward to getting the play the long tees when the weather is better. It's not a great course, but it's definitely worth checking out. And it does have a few outstanding, individual holes.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Driving Range

1    7/19/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm going to try and be as fair as possible, as I tend to gravitate towards the wooded/technical courses. With that being said, I had a very good time here!

Some of the things that help the course are:

- Dual sets of asphalt tees. Nice for run-ups, and both tees cater to rec and more advanced players.
- Maps and scorecards provided
- Not a bad commute from I-70, but parking for first-timers may be tricky (park as close to the football field as possible)
- Intuitive navigation from hole to hole. Once I found the first hole, I didn't have any issues going to subsequent ones. The signage helped, too.

- As I said, the course isn't entirely flat, and some elevation changes is evident. Some shots are blind as well as require a sharp hyzer or anhyzer angle, which can be fun, but you also have to watch for other parkgoers. Hole #6 comes to mind as such a hole, and the basket is well-guarded with trees.

- For being a municipal park, it's really pretty -- kind of has that Civil War Battlefield feel to it.

- Love hole #19! It's so out of place here with its long length and heavy presence of trees from tee to basket. Kind of like one of those "gauntlet" holes you see on the world class courses.
Cons: The back nine holes kind of run together and start to seem like a broken record over and over. Whereas the front nine have anyhyzer/hyzer doglegs and some tree obstacles, the back nine is pretty much a series of straight-line drives to the basket.

For being a wide-open course, I was kind of disappointed at some of the hole lengths. I'm not saying they all have to be 700 feet -- nor am I scoffing at the several 400+ ones, but a handful of loooong bombs would be fun and spice the course up a little.

Other cons include:

- Criss crossing holes. This seemed especially true on the front nine, but the heat may have detracted from my focus on the latter ones. Doesn't seem like much of an issue unless you were to have a tournament here, but a consideration nonetheless.

- Lack of technical holes, mandos and obstacles on many holes.

- Walkway, road, and sidewalks come into play on many holes. Be aware of this!
Other Thoughts: I'm not going to lie; when I first arrived, I thought to myself: "is this really it? A bunch of flat and open holes? Sigh." And while that's true, there is some nice variety within these holes, even if they aren't super challenging. A driver will help you here, of course, but you won't be needing your Nuke, Destroyer, or Katana -- that's for sure. Seems like a cool place for glow golf, although I'm not sure when the park closes. All in all, if you like wide open courses, this place will be perfect for you. Personally, I'd like to see some more trees.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.