Lakeport, CA
Highland Springs Reservoir Share
Uploaded By: humchris85  



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Very well designed course

2-4    2/16/2014   2/18/2014
Review By: kevaunne
Played: 26  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Uncrowded, serene, beautiful
- Very strong course design, lots of technical and interesting layouts that utilizes varied terrain, elevation and foliage. Most holes feel distinctive and present unique challenges. Lots of risk/reward decisions and tight, but attainable, lines
- Multiple (5!) teepads per hole and multiple pin positions leads to very high replay value.
- For the most part, the holes flow together well. Never got monotonous
- Reasonably large rubber teepads and adequate signage. Course is in good shape and very well maintained. This course is loved and it shows
Cons: - This course needs more distance. They've made the right decision by adding longer teepads but...
- The alternate teepads are all dirt and on the small side. I played a couple days after a rain and the mud made them unappealing
- Isolated location. It's deep in the hills and tucked away in a corner of Lake County far from any major highways or amenities
- Baskets are older and shallow but in good working condition
- There were a handful of so-so holes but with 22 to work with, you will play a very solid 18
- I got a bit lost during my first round especially around hole 14. Definitely grab a map near hole 1 the first time you play.
Other Thoughts: This course is a hidden gem. I had a blast playing here. So much so that I returned the following day to play a second round. Transplant this course to a more populated and accessible area and I have no doubt it would be flooded with players and strong course reviews.

What would it take to increase my rating? A 2nd set of concrete tees that adds some distance.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wowzerz

1    5/13/2013   5/13/2013
Review By: noodraider
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging
Lots of Trees
Fun Elevation Changes
Beautiful Scenery
Rest Spots
Cons: Not the best teepads
Outdated signs
Hard to navigate
Confusing multiple teepads
Other Thoughts: Weird locals
Quality bonus holes
BRING WATER
420

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Highland Springs Reservoir

1    1/25/2013   1/27/2013
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice large rubber tee pads on the original tees. 6 tee pads per hole, significantly changing the holes. 22 holes. Multiple pin positions on every hole. Practice basket. Lots of unique benches throughout the course. Large detailed signs with hole numbers, hole layout, and distances. Moderately to heavily wooded. Hole numbers on baskets. Small creek in play on several holes. Very technical course with tight throwing lanes requiring you to hit your line. Several blind shots. Great variety of hole types. The course doesn't favor any one throwing style. Fantastic scenery throughout the course. Good elevation change and use of it. Hanging basket on hole 19. Hole 21: shoots uphill and over a ravine; hit a tree and you'll likely drop to the bottom and have a tough time getting out. Hole 22: shoots back over the same ravine with a very tight window for a straight shot at the basket, or you will have to go over the top of the trees. The course is secluded and surprisingly doesn't see a ton of traffic. Easy to navigate. Challenging. Great flow to the course and no repetitive feeling from one hole to the next.
Cons: Some tees were pretty muddy and slippery when I played. A couple baskets are pretty close to one another and other tees and fairways. Old baskets, but still perfectly functional. The signs are a little weak and could do a better job showing flight paths to the baskets and indicating current pin location. Inconsistent basket height. Shooting range across the street; can be annoying when throwing. Only trash cans at hole 1&12.
Other Thoughts: This is a fabulous course and I wish I could have stayed here all day to play all the different tees. Most of the holes are shorter to medium distance, but they are very technical and offer great risk/reward shots. Bad throws can be very tough to recover from. I played early on a Friday morning and was surprised to see only two other cars there. Much lower traffic than I was expecting. I think the parking must have improved since other reviewers played because I had no problems at all in a small hatchback. A few holes play around the reservoir, but it really only comes into play on hole 13, and depending on which tee you throw from, isn't much of a hazard unless you really bomb it past the basket. Very fun and challenging course. Can't wait to play again!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Course Upgraded! best all around

5+    4/29/2012   5/2/2012
Review By: Drake367
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New tee boxes on Steady Ed's original tees,
huge upgrade from the natural dirt pads.
well maintained,
Low traffic,
Variety of difficulties with 6 tee boxes per hole
caters to all players,
Well marked and mapped,
Long and Short shots,
Variety of Pin locations,
Good use of hills in terrain,
Very nice family park near by and a great view,
benches and seating at nearly every hole,

Cons: parking sucks,
15min drive from nearest gas/grocery/convenient store so pack some extra water,
back side "new holes" are less thought out than original 18 and also provide very little shade in a hot area,
Other Thoughts: All things considered this is by far my favorite course i have played, i'm not a pro but, an experienced intermediate player and for me this is the best course i have tried. I make the drive whenever possible. Note i read some other reviews and was surprised this course isn't rated higher but, most of the other reviews may be outdated as this course is constantly growing and improving every time i'm up there something is new. Takes a little under 2 hours to play the full course

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Thank you steady ed for an AWESOME course!

1    5/9/2011   5/10/2011
Review By: Jaerex09
Played: 41  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2011
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very open, lots of open and fun shots with challenging bends and hills that make this course one of the best. Every hole is marked with a sign at the tee pad also every tee has up to 5 some holes have 6 alternate tee pads. Also there are multiple hole locations. Also has a water mister on hole 12 to keep you cool on hot days.
Cons: The all natural pads can cause you to slip at times. maybe too many tee pad locations, which can be a bit confusing at first.
Other Thoughts: play on a beautiful sunny day. Also bring water and food, and allow plenty of time to play this course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    7/3/2007   7/3/2009
Review By: Mergz
Played: 34  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 15.9 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Some elevation. There are a lot of "blind" shots. This course is not big but offers a risk/ reward factor whereby good throws will set you up nicely in the open. Bad ones will make you pay dearly in the brush and trees. Near some nice camping spots. Nearby water for cooling off.
Cons: It can get very hot.
Other Thoughts: The Steady Ed tournament is very fun

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/15/2009   3/15/2009
Review By: mike shoys
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/1/2009
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-really, really liked the course layout. good use of small hills and trees.
-perfect amount of trees and hills (for my skill level)
-this was a fun, somewhat challenging course. much more accuracy required than distance.
-scenery and feel of the park is near epic. reminded me of a shorter, more technical Stafford Lake
-steady ed knows how to design a course. period.
-fairly easy to navigate with signage and worn paths
-this course had somewhat of an ancient feel to it. It seemed like the ground had adapted to foot traffic, the trees almost calloused from getting hit by discs. it felt like the course was part of the landscape rather than impeding on it.
-watch for risk/reward shots. after many drives, i wished i'd just layed up into the shorter open space for the easy approach.
Cons:
-manzanitas are thick and eat discs
-gun range not far away (noisy)
-people who are picky about tee box condition may be dissatisfied (dirt with slight divots)
-some shallow baskets for extra putting paranoia.
Other Thoughts:
-tee boxes tend to be fairly easy to find. after 13, you will see the tee box for 18 just uphill. walk straight through it up the hill 1-200 ft to the tee box for 14.
-for a player of my skill level, this was perfect. there was always a decent line to take off the drive, but nothing guaranteed. good length too. (I throw 300 max)
-its a few miles from the airport to the Y, then a mile or so past that to the course. Look for a big dirt parking lot on the right with a basket at the far end. be careful in the parking lot if you're vehicle has low ground clearance.
-this course is a bit out of the way, but its instantly in my top 5.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 "Steady" Ed is the man

1    11/26/2008   12/9/2008
Review By: humchris85
Played: 109  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 8.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of teepads that change the holes completely.
-Good Variety of holes, Lefts, Rights, Uphills, and Downhills.
-Risk/Reward shots.
-Very friendly locals.
-President of the local disc golf club sells discs out of his trunk for a good price.
-Lots of ace runs
-Realy fun to be able to play on a course that "Steady" Ed himself designed
-System of screws and nuts that show pin placement.
-Lots of room for more expansion.
Cons: -Some holes feel too short, though that is partialy due to the disc technology when the course was designed (and that's why there are longer tees on most holes).
-Parking lot is super rutted and with trees randomly placed in it.
-Some tees too close to the pins.
Other Thoughts: This is a realy fun course in an area that has tons of great disc golfing land, but only one listed course. It's realy cool to be able to play a course that "Steady Ed" Designed. I met the president of the local disc golf club here, he was very cool. I bought some discs off him and he showed me around the course. All the profit that he makes off the discs goes directly into upkeep of the course. The one thing this course realy needs is to FIX THAT STUPID %$@&^ PARKING LOT. I shouldn't be that mean, but I had one of those trees in the parking lot jump out and bust my tail light.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Highland Springs

5/16/2008   5/16/2008
Review By: martinb
Played: 130  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 34.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Uncrowded location, caters to most player levels, multiple teepads per hole. Excellent use of terrain to create challenging variety of shots.
Cons: Needs more long tee shots, only one on the course. Rattlesnakes in the summer.
Other Thoughts: This course is set out in a county park in the northern california country side with mature oak, mesquite, and underbrush to navigate around, through and over from dirt tee pads. For the most part its a technical course you dont need a big arm for. Once you play the course you can use the alternate dirt tee pads to play a completely different round. Since its away from everthing you need to bring food and drink with you, there is a small resevoir too, so bring a towel and innertube to cool off in the summer heat. If this course was anywhere else it would command a rating of 3.5 to a 4, but its in one of the most prolific areas for disc golf so it gets a three.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Out there

10/20/2007   11/6/2007
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
0 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: Nice park, very wooded
Cons: all the trees are in the way

0 of 18 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.