Lakeport, CA 
Highland Springs Reservoir Share
Uploaded By: humchris85  



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Really fun course!

1    9/3/2016   9/3/2016
Review By: mattrowe
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
Pros: I had a great time on this course. I played on a Saturday afternoon (of Labor Day Weekend), and there were only a few other groups out there. There are a wide variety of very fun shots, and I felt like the course was really well designed. The elevation was used creatively. It was pretty easy to find my way around the course. The picnic table tribute to Steady Ed is classy!
Cons: This course was obviously designed for frisbee golf. The original teeboxes don't really allow most players to unload on distance drivers. Most holes are roughly the same distance. I wish the tee signs showed distance (for at least the "1" teeboxes). It would have been nice if mandos were marked on the tee signs as well (I wasn't sure if the red arrow on the 3rd hole was a mando or not). I can I imagine this place gets really hot during the summer.
Other Thoughts: The local club obviously takes great care of this place. It's always a treat to play a Steady Ed course. The wind coming off the lake adds difficulty!

A course that stands the test of time

5+    7/19/2016   9/1/2016
Review By: deft
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5
Pros: -Huge number of tee pads and pin locations
-Wide range of difficulty depending on layout
-No foot traffic aside from golfers
- great use of land and natural features
Cons: -Gun range next door can razz you on some putts
-Alternate tee pads are dirt
Other Thoughts: This course is 30 years old and still a challenge. Be prepared for the summer heat and plan accordingly.

Where it all begain

1    7/8/2016   7/12/2016
Review By: GripNFlip
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.6 Years
Pros: - huge variety of shots
- 5+ tee options on most holes
- great history here, for any disc golf fans

Cons: - a few of the tee pads are difficult to locate
- gun range close by is quite noise-y
Other Thoughts: Knowing that this course was created by the man himself, Steady Ed, I had high expectations. I was not let down. It is a fantastic course with a ton of variety, not just in the holes themselves but also the tee "set" options. Having the spinning wheel near hole one is a terrific way to randomize the tee options you play and create even more variety. The terrain here is not forgiving, especially the grabby manzanita trees; I consider most of this a challenge rather than a annoyance. The only exception to this is the obnoxious sticker burrs that WILL get stuck in your pants/socks/leg hairs if you have any throws that don't land in a favorable location. Regardless, the course is more than worth it and after playing it three times in two days, I still greatly enjoyed it. The historic pre-basket pole targets are cool addition as well.

 Lots of variety

1    6/29/2014   9/9/2014
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a pretty huge amount of tees and pin positions. With 5+ tees and a few pin locations on every hole it makes for a lot of different looks. The alternates change some of the holes quite a bit, making for a great mix of left and right turning shots. There were some random tone poles around, I assumed these were even more alternate options for locals.

There are enough trees to force you down the fairways on a lot of the holes, others have multiple lines or opportunities to try high risky lines over the trees. There's not a ton of brush here, enough to make a few bad places to land but not enough to hide discs or really be punitive. Some elevation comes into play, with a couple really fun valley shots and enough ups and downs to keep things interesting.
Cons: Some of the long pin positions aren't well designed. They're simply tucked 60' back into brush or trees, leaving holes that are easy 3s but don't have enough of a look for birdie or enough punishment to cause scoring separation. It's too bad, since the course is fairly short overall and a little length seems like a good way to add variety, it's just not done well on a lot of holes here. There are some serious erosion issues on some of the slopes, this course clearly gets a lot of traffic and it's showing.

The signage is pretty terrible, with this many tees and pins you need to make it obvious what tees shoot to what pins. There aren't pin position markers, many of the tees aren't even numbered, and with several blind shots there's a lot of extra walking needed to find your way the first time through this course.
Other Thoughts: I would love to have this as a home course, the huge variety of tee-pin combinations makes it rank high for re-playability. It would be nice to see a little more effort made to keep it more accessible for new or traveling players. Beginners will find the course challenging but not so punitive that it's frustrating. Experienced players won't find this course long or super challenging, but it has enough different hole shapes to be a great test of line shaping skills and to be a fun round.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very well designed course

2-4    2/16/2014   2/18/2014
Review By: kevaunne
Played: 39  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Uncrowded, serene, beautiful
- Very strong course design, lots of technical and interesting layouts that utilizes varied terrain, elevation and foliage. Most holes feel distinctive and present unique challenges. Lots of risk/reward decisions and tight, but attainable, lines
- Multiple (5!) teepads per hole and multiple pin positions leads to very high replay value.
- For the most part, the holes flow together well. Never got monotonous
- Reasonably large rubber teepads and adequate signage. Course is in good shape and very well maintained. This course is loved and it shows
Cons: - This course needs more distance. They've made the right decision by adding longer teepads but...
- The alternate teepads are all dirt and on the small side. I played a couple days after a rain and the mud made them unappealing
- Isolated location. It's deep in the hills and tucked away in a corner of Lake County far from any major highways or amenities
- Baskets are older and shallow but in good working condition
- There were a handful of so-so holes but with 22 to work with, you will play a very solid 18
- I got a bit lost during my first round especially around hole 14. Definitely grab a map near hole 1 the first time you play.
Other Thoughts: This course is a hidden gem. I had a blast playing here. So much so that I returned the following day to play a second round. Transplant this course to a more populated and accessible area and I have no doubt it would be flooded with players and strong course reviews.

What would it take to increase my rating? A 2nd set of concrete tees that adds some distance.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wowzerz

1    5/13/2013   5/13/2013
Review By: noodraider
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Challenging
Lots of Trees
Fun Elevation Changes
Beautiful Scenery
Rest Spots
Cons: Not the best teepads
Outdated signs
Hard to navigate
Confusing multiple teepads
Other Thoughts: Weird locals
Quality bonus holes
BRING WATER
420

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Highland Springs Reservoir

1    1/25/2013   1/27/2013
Review By: Hazer
Played: 159  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 10.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice large rubber tee pads on the original tees. 6 tee pads per hole, significantly changing the holes. 22 holes. Multiple pin positions on every hole. Practice basket. Lots of unique benches throughout the course. Large detailed signs with hole numbers, hole layout, and distances. Moderately to heavily wooded. Hole numbers on baskets. Small creek in play on several holes. Very technical course with tight throwing lanes requiring you to hit your line. Several blind shots. Great variety of hole types. The course doesn't favor any one throwing style. Fantastic scenery throughout the course. Good elevation change and use of it. Hanging basket on hole 19. Hole 21: shoots uphill and over a ravine; hit a tree and you'll likely drop to the bottom and have a tough time getting out. Hole 22: shoots back over the same ravine with a very tight window for a straight shot at the basket, or you will have to go over the top of the trees. The course is secluded and surprisingly doesn't see a ton of traffic. Easy to navigate. Challenging. Great flow to the course and no repetitive feeling from one hole to the next.
Cons: Some tees were pretty muddy and slippery when I played. A couple baskets are pretty close to one another and other tees and fairways. Old baskets, but still perfectly functional. The signs are a little weak and could do a better job showing flight paths to the baskets and indicating current pin location. Inconsistent basket height. Shooting range across the street; can be annoying when throwing. Only trash cans at hole 1&12.
Other Thoughts: This is a fabulous course and I wish I could have stayed here all day to play all the different tees. Most of the holes are shorter to medium distance, but they are very technical and offer great risk/reward shots. Bad throws can be very tough to recover from. I played early on a Friday morning and was surprised to see only two other cars there. Much lower traffic than I was expecting. I think the parking must have improved since other reviewers played because I had no problems at all in a small hatchback. A few holes play around the reservoir, but it really only comes into play on hole 13, and depending on which tee you throw from, isn't much of a hazard unless you really bomb it past the basket. Very fun and challenging course. Can't wait to play again!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Course Upgraded! best all around

5+    4/29/2012   5/2/2012
Review By: Drake367
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New tee boxes on Steady Ed's original tees,
huge upgrade from the natural dirt pads.
well maintained,
Low traffic,
Variety of difficulties with 6 tee boxes per hole
caters to all players,
Well marked and mapped,
Long and Short shots,
Variety of Pin locations,
Good use of hills in terrain,
Very nice family park near by and a great view,
benches and seating at nearly every hole,

Cons: parking sucks,
15min drive from nearest gas/grocery/convenient store so pack some extra water,
back side "new holes" are less thought out than original 18 and also provide very little shade in a hot area,
Other Thoughts: All things considered this is by far my favorite course i have played, i'm not a pro but, an experienced intermediate player and for me this is the best course i have tried. I make the drive whenever possible. Note i read some other reviews and was surprised this course isn't rated higher but, most of the other reviews may be outdated as this course is constantly growing and improving every time i'm up there something is new. Takes a little under 2 hours to play the full course

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Thank you steady ed for an AWESOME course!

1    5/9/2011   5/10/2011
Review By: Jaerex09
Played: 43  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2011
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very open, lots of open and fun shots with challenging bends and hills that make this course one of the best. Every hole is marked with a sign at the tee pad also every tee has up to 5 some holes have 6 alternate tee pads. Also there are multiple hole locations. Also has a water mister on hole 12 to keep you cool on hot days.
Cons: The all natural pads can cause you to slip at times. maybe too many tee pad locations, which can be a bit confusing at first.
Other Thoughts: play on a beautiful sunny day. Also bring water and food, and allow plenty of time to play this course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    7/3/2007   7/3/2009
Review By: Mergz
Played: 48  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 18.3 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Some elevation. There are a lot of "blind" shots. This course is not big but offers a risk/ reward factor whereby good throws will set you up nicely in the open. Bad ones will make you pay dearly in the brush and trees. Near some nice camping spots. Nearby water for cooling off.
Cons: It can get very hot.
Other Thoughts: The Steady Ed tournament is very fun

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.