Kiel, WI 
Hingiss Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: adeehr Hole #8 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 198ft.   3 / 198ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Beginner's/Family course

2-4    9/19/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 81  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 3.1 Years
Pros: This is a decent 9-hole course packed into a one block area of a small town park. The Sheboygan River runs along it, providing for some nice atmosphere.

There are a decent amount of trees here to force your lines and challenge accuracy on several holes.

Solid catching baskets and decent pin placements on all the holes.

Hole 3 plays completely along the river, with the other side covered by an OB road, which can provide some pucker factor if you run a hyzer line along the river, especially if the wind is a factor.

A great course for a putter-only round.
Cons: This is mostly a short course, with the exception of hole 3. Most of the holes are fairly open as well, with a few trees to contend with on most holes.

One teepad for each hole, and one pin placement...which isn't unusual for a park course.
Other Thoughts: There is ample parking here and available bathrooms that are open during spring/summer/fall.

This is a really nice park to take the kids to and play, with mature trees, shorter holes and other activities available. There is a large horseshoe pit area, park, walking paths and the river all in the same vicinity. I take my kids here, and they enjoy it quite a bit.

A solid park 9 hole course, in a nice park.

 Hingiss Khans (and Hingiss Pros)

2-4    11/20/2011   11/20/2011
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 16.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Variety. This park sits on the Sheboygan River and features a variety of large mature trees and some very gently rolling terrain. While lacking any extreme elevation, the slopes are used quite well. There aren't any really tricky greens except for #9 on one of the slopes, but a few holes present an intended line with a riskier alternative route by using the trees. The signature hole here is obviously #3 -- when played properly (thanks to this insight from tallpaul), with "road and beyond" to the left OB and obviously the river right OB, this gives you a narrow strip of fairway to hit on a 350' hole, and definitely adds some pucker factor when you consider the left-sided bailout area just as dangerous as the water (score-wise, not plastic-losing-wise). There are a couple RHBH anhyzers required off the tee to score well, adding to the balanced feel.
2. Navigation. True, first-timers might wander after a hole, but this is a very tiny park bordered by a river and a cemetery and a road, so you'll eventually find what you need to. The flow is pretty intuitive, although it's easy to get mixed up after #6 (walk past the building towards the side facing the parking lot).
3. Tees. Nice concrete tees, in great shape, level, no cracks, no standing water.
4. Baskets. The Mach V baskets are in great shape, very little rust and wear considering that they're the same ones I recall seeing when I first played out here about 5 years ago (probably when they were brand new).
5. Signage. Basic signage similar to other Sheboygan courses
Cons: 1. Distance. The average hole length is about 240', with the aforementioned signature #3 being the longest AND toughest. The rest of the holes are pretty straightforward, and the whole course can be played easily with a mid and/or putter.
2. Design. I've never seen this park extraordinarily busy, but some of the fairways ARE somewhat cramped, and I could see there being issues on busy days, especially with groups of chuckers with high-speed drivers flying everywhere. Ideally, this should be a 6-hole course in the style of the redesigned Johnson Park in Madison (http://www.dgcoursereview.com...php?id=3728),which could spread out the holes a little more...but I'm not knocking the current design too badly, especially considering that for Kiel locals they have to drive at least 15 minutes to get to a decent 18-holer. Just being nitpicky!
3. Location. As I alluded to in the above paragraph, Kiel is a *bit* removed from the local cities...it's a good 15 miles to Sheboygan, and the only other offering nearby are some 9-holers in St. Nazianz and New Holstein (which DO make for a fun little side journey if you're a traveling DGCR reviewer or just want to tick off more courses played!). There are some goofy turns on the roads leading into this park, which should be described sufficiently in the course info page, but just be forewarned.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course in a nice park on the river. There is a playground and horseshoe pits, some paved walking paths, and the scenic river, so the whole family can enjoy the park while you play (if they're not the playin' kind). I can't recommend it too highly being such a short niner, but definitely play it if you're in the area. You will definitely feel unsatisfied if you don't play #3 the way it was intended to be played, so take advantage of the opportunity to play this unique hole. I guess there are some safari options, too, so if you can't get to other nearby courses you can alleviate any boredom you would get playing this layout repeatedly.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice clean course

2-4    7/24/2011   7/27/2011
Review By: ZDotHalbach
Played: 21  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice mix of left and right shots
Nice scenery
Good use of the river
Possible aces
Clean
Cons: Pretty short
Can have conflicting fairways and other park activities
Other Thoughts: Great course to play at and nice people there

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 C- = Run of the mill, much better than nothing

1    10/15/2010   3/3/2011
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is your run of the mill small park that has incorporated disc golf for recreational players and makes good use of a limited area. Certainly not a destination, but a nice addition to the community.

What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9 hole courses (over 110 played):

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C
(While a few holes have some trees to knock you down if you are off line, there is no punishment that will turn a deuce run into a bogey (other than the river on hole 3 if you are really off). This is due to short holes and an open park. There are only 1-2 holes on the top side of the park that have some interesting choices on what line to take.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == C-
(Only 2 out of 9 are rewarding holes due to distance. The 3 holes that are 250' are nice midrange testers, but ones that I am disappointed to miss…..hardly the definition of rewarding.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C-
(There is some slight terrain that adds a little bit of variety and a few holes that you need some shot-shaping on….but both are slightly below what one finds on an average course.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C
(The course is presentable if not a little tired feeling. The river adds a really nice atmosphere to this quiet neighborhood that is at the end of a dead end street. Seclusion is nil in that there are houses all around and you never get away from the town park feeling.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == NA (0 bonus points for this)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nicely done 9 holer in a small town.

1    5/9/2009   5/9/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice big concrete tee pads, nice new looking signs, and nice baskets.

2) Nice use of the trees in the park as well as the river that runs alongside #3. You don't have to take the drive over the river, but you could griplock one into it, or get a bad bounce or an overshot on your putt that might bring the river into play.

3) Some decent distance on a few holes despite being set on a small park.

4) Disc course is set on its own in the park, so no real worried about runins with other patrons except on #9 when you have to skirt the edge of the horseshoe pits, and he path running to the left of #3.

4) Fun holes because you have a real ace chance on a few of the holes despite having their own obstacles and challenges.

5) Beginner friendly course because it is fairly open. Although the challenege is still there even for an advanced player because of well placed tree and baskets.
Cons: 1) Somewhat short and simple course, could use a few more challenges.

2) Maintenance of the turf areas is not the hottest because it is filled with weeds and could bemuddy at times from lack of turf.

Other Thoughts: I can't really think of much else negative with this course, but I cannot rank this course higher than a 2 1/2 because of the above issues. They can't do much to improve the rating of this course except by improving the turf quality really. They cannot change the limitations in this park because of the size, but it is a great fun little 9 holes I would gladly play again if I am in the area. It was the 6th stop on my 7 course trip through the Sheboygan area. I had seen some nicer and been challenged more, but I had also seen worse and had less challenege at another course. I give it a 2 1/2, that could max out at 3 probably if the maintenance was improved. I consider 3 1/2 disc courses to be solid in most scenarios however.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Meh

7/28/2007   3/9/2008
Review By: Gumbo
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, decent baskets, and well groomed. Very suitable for beginning players.
Cons: Hingiss Park is a beautiful city park, but the course is nothing to tell your friends about. Pretty much every hole is the exact same shot; 150' - 250' with a slight left or right fade at the end and a few trees along the way.
Other Thoughts: Unless you're a first-timer or just looking for a boring course to play, don't stop here.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.