Jamesville, NY 
Jamesville Beach Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 257ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 nice course to air it out

2-4    5/25/2012   5/25/2012
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 90  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - cement tee pads
- excellent basket placement with lots of well guarded holes
- great place to work on drives as it is mostly wide open
- few wooded holes but each of them are good yet short
- great use of trees whether you have to throw under or around or right through the middle of them
Cons: - not very easy to navigate. There are no signs and you will need a map. I missed hole 16 and this was the fourth time I played
-most of the required shots are the same (to the left)
- some of the holes are disc eaters- be especially cautious on hole #6
Other Thoughts: The basket placements make this course. It is pretty wide open which could be a negative for some people. However you can drive a half hour away to oxbow falls park to work on controlled throws in the woods. I really enjoyed playing this course.

Update: I played this course on 6/13/12 again and decided to lower my rating to a 3 based on many of the holes being wide open and sometimes a little monotonous. The tees are not labeled and can sometimes be hard to find. Don't get me wrong, I still find the course quite fun and I play it whenever I am in the area which isn't much being that I am from Rochester.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Solid but simple

1    9/26/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is located in the front of a nice county park. Pull in and it is easy to find immediately on your right. Navigation was relatively simple. Very nice concrete tee pads at every hole. Baskets were numbered and in great shape.

Course has mostly well maintained , mowed fairways. It is very open and easy to figure out what shot you need to execute. Seems like a good place to bring newer players or family since it is open, and offers few opportunities for lost discs or blind shots. This would be a good course to practice or evaluate new discs as it is wide open in most places.
Cons: No signs at tee pads. There is score cards at the first tee so make sure you grab one. The card has a map and hole distances.

Most of the holes are wide open and offer very little challenge as far as shot shaping goes. There is a wide margin for error on probably every hole except 4 or 5 of them.

No exceptional holes, or holes that are memorable. There is also very little elevation.
Other Thoughts: Jamesville Beach is simply a basic course with no big cons, but also very little to get excited about. I thought the front 9 was a little dull, but starting on #10 it got a little more interesting. 10 is a short little wooded hole that is designed pretty well. It's a tight 188' slightly downhill to a basket with a creek bed below it. Fun little hole. Holes 14-16 offer some trees that at least make you throw a certain line for a chance at an ace or birdie. 17 has a row of pine trees blocking the basket, and gives you a choice of lines to go around.

Since there isn't a ton of courses in the Syracuse area this one is definitely worth playing if you're in town. It not a great play, but you could do a lot worse. It's clean, well kept and has great pads.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A big arm course

2-4    11/12/2009   12/1/2009
Review By: jonnieoh
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great course if you want to practice big drives. Good exercise, because of its' length. Wide open.
Cons: A couple more holes in the woods would have added a lot more character to this otherwise wide open, (if not boring to some) course. You have to share the course with dog walkers, where the dogs are off-leash. Most time, this isn't a challenge, but the potential for an eager retriever to inflict bite marks on your disc is there. Bring sunscreen, because you're out in the open 90% of the time.
Other Thoughts: Mostly open course is a good place to increase your drive distance and accuracy, but won't do too much to help your short game/putting.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My arm is tired

2-4    8/16/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: hack123
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice park. Well kept. No garbage, bottles, etc. The course flows well and is wide open. Fun to just let it rip. You can make a bad tee throw and still save par.
Cons: Lots of dogs and dog walkers. Pay to play (parking).
Other Thoughts: I like this course. I can see that very good players might not challenged because of the lack of obstacles. As a relative newbie it was nice to throw a decent score and not be crushed by a course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 3's are good

5+    2/11/2009   2/12/2009
Review By: 80playedin10states
Played: 84  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 21.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2009
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: nice concrete pads and shiny new chainstars..set in a very nice county park..
Cons: sharing the course with a dog park...pay to park from spring to fall...not many trees(weird con?)..to me there's not much variety or trouble here..
Other Thoughts: pretty simple to follow even with no tee signs, longer arms will have an advantage here as 5 of the holes are "wide" open and 400'-600'...scorecards are usually in a the box near 1's tee...course record is a 43 by 2 guys..

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Golf Course or Disc Golf Course?

5+    9/15/2009   10/10/2008
Review By: nickstaudt
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/5/2009
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good place to practice throwing it all out on huge bare fairways. Reminds me of a par 3 golf course in the layout and the amount to which it is manicured. Concrete tees. Good use of the landscape available. Easy to navigate.
Cons: A little bit too wide open. It is also a dog park so there may be some unleashed dogs running around. Usually not a problem though.
Other Thoughts: Planting some trees or shrubs on holes 2, 8, 9 and 18 would serve this course well. Tiring course on your arm, or atleast on MY arm. Solid course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center