Jamesville, NY 
Jamesville Beach Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
3 / 480ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Could Be Excellent, but....

1    7/26/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: 1spdbike
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pleasant area, good mixture of challenging/easier holes and terrain.
Cons: In dire need of signage. Parking fee. Missing 9th hole.
Other Thoughts: This course could be excellent, but we spent half of the time looking for the next hole because there are no signs on the tees or anywhere else for that matter. Also, hole 9 is apparently no longer there. I would also recommend parking outside of the Jamesville Beach park, because it is $6 Fri-Sun and the money clearly does not go towards the disc golf course. Otherwise, it is a nice layout and very minimal insects to deal with.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 nice course to air it out

2-4    5/25/2012   5/25/2012
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 90  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - cement tee pads
- excellent basket placement with lots of well guarded holes
- great place to work on drives as it is mostly wide open
- few wooded holes but each of them are good yet short
- great use of trees whether you have to throw under or around or right through the middle of them
Cons: - not very easy to navigate. There are no signs and you will need a map. I missed hole 16 and this was the fourth time I played
-most of the required shots are the same (to the left)
- some of the holes are disc eaters- be especially cautious on hole #6
Other Thoughts: The basket placements make this course. It is pretty wide open which could be a negative for some people. However you can drive a half hour away to oxbow falls park to work on controlled throws in the woods. I really enjoyed playing this course.

Update: I played this course on 6/13/12 again and decided to lower my rating to a 3 based on many of the holes being wide open and sometimes a little monotonous. The tees are not labeled and can sometimes be hard to find. Don't get me wrong, I still find the course quite fun and I play it whenever I am in the area which isn't much being that I am from Rochester.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Solid but simple

1    9/26/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is located in the front of a nice county park. Pull in and it is easy to find immediately on your right. Navigation was relatively simple. Very nice concrete tee pads at every hole. Baskets were numbered and in great shape.

Course has mostly well maintained , mowed fairways. It is very open and easy to figure out what shot you need to execute. Seems like a good place to bring newer players or family since it is open, and offers few opportunities for lost discs or blind shots. This would be a good course to practice or evaluate new discs as it is wide open in most places.
Cons: No signs at tee pads. There is score cards at the first tee so make sure you grab one. The card has a map and hole distances.

Most of the holes are wide open and offer very little challenge as far as shot shaping goes. There is a wide margin for error on probably every hole except 4 or 5 of them.

No exceptional holes, or holes that are memorable. There is also very little elevation.
Other Thoughts: Jamesville Beach is simply a basic course with no big cons, but also very little to get excited about. I thought the front 9 was a little dull, but starting on #10 it got a little more interesting. 10 is a short little wooded hole that is designed pretty well. It's a tight 188' slightly downhill to a basket with a creek bed below it. Fun little hole. Holes 14-16 offer some trees that at least make you throw a certain line for a chance at an ace or birdie. 17 has a row of pine trees blocking the basket, and gives you a choice of lines to go around.

Since there isn't a ton of courses in the Syracuse area this one is definitely worth playing if you're in town. It not a great play, but you could do a lot worse. It's clean, well kept and has great pads.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great for what it offers

5+    6/19/2011   6/24/2011
Review By: throwfromthewoods
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained course. Park keeps it very clean and never has long grass. Very relaxed course; great for trying out new discs or just having a lazy afteroon with friends. Also a good place to practice throwing in winds.
Cons: Lack of variety. Shorter, technical arms may get frustrated with the length. It's a heavy-use park so there are events throughout the summer that make portions of the course unplayable (only course I know of where I had to stop playing because of a Civil War re-enactment).
Other Thoughts: Before you decide to play here, you have to ask yourself what you're looking for. If you and your friends are looking for a casual, relaxed round to bring some beer and enjoy yourselves, then this will be your ticket. If you're looking to try new ways to stretch your drives but you don't like throwing over and over in a field, this is your ticket. If technical courses just involve you losing 3 discs a round, this is definitely your ticket. I played here a lot when I first started out because I could visualize obstacles and try to work around them as opposed to going to the other local courses and losing plastic. Nowadays I only play here when my friends and I are interested in burning off some stress and enjoying the weather. Head over to Oxbow Falls or Clay Park if you want some more challenges.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 hard to figure out

1    4/2/2010   4/2/2010
Review By: badmofo27
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: some nice holes to stretch your arm,clean,scenic in areas. nice concrete pads
Cons: hard at times to figure out the next hole, no signs to tell u where the next hole is or if its a par 3,4 or what. the only way to know the next hole is to shoot at one and when u get to the basket c what its # is
Other Thoughts: disapointed in the course

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A big arm course

2-4    11/12/2009   12/1/2009
Review By: jonnieoh
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great course if you want to practice big drives. Good exercise, because of its' length. Wide open.
Cons: A couple more holes in the woods would have added a lot more character to this otherwise wide open, (if not boring to some) course. You have to share the course with dog walkers, where the dogs are off-leash. Most time, this isn't a challenge, but the potential for an eager retriever to inflict bite marks on your disc is there. Bring sunscreen, because you're out in the open 90% of the time.
Other Thoughts: Mostly open course is a good place to increase your drive distance and accuracy, but won't do too much to help your short game/putting.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not much variety

1    9/12/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: Hattrick12488
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11 Years
Pros: There are some creative holes that make use of the few obstacles found in the wide-open park.

Decent concrete tee pads on every hole.
Cons: Not too much variety. Most holes are very wide open, except for two very short ones through the woods.
Other Thoughts: There were no course maps when I went, but we brought one. You might want to, as some of the tees are a bit hard to find without it.

The second time I went to play here there seemed to be a high school cross country meet going on. The course was unplayable because there were tents and people all over the fairways. I wish I had seen NIBSTOOLS' review. ("Check the CNYDGA web forum before heading out. The park Staff usually posts on there if it will be closed or otherwise hindered for disc golf. www.cnydga.org ")

 My arm is tired

2-4    8/16/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: hack123
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice park. Well kept. No garbage, bottles, etc. The course flows well and is wide open. Fun to just let it rip. You can make a bad tee throw and still save par.
Cons: Lots of dogs and dog walkers. Pay to play (parking).
Other Thoughts: I like this course. I can see that very good players might not challenged because of the lack of obstacles. As a relative newbie it was nice to throw a decent score and not be crushed by a course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 worth the stop

2-4    6/6/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: Gator
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good baskets and excellent cement tee pads make the course nice. It seemed very well maintaned.
Cons: Its WIDE open with the exception of two woods holes that are the shortest holes I've ever seen. I played this during a tourny and the OB's added some difficulty but on a regular round I can't imagine being challenged by this course.
Other Thoughts: Its worth stopping by if your in the area but I wouldn't make it my sole reason for coming to the area. Stop by and eat at Robbie T's and tell him your a DGer, they support the sport in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great park, Great club

5+    3/7/2009   3/10/2009
Review By: cdavid74
Played: 30  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.4 Years
Pros: A great park with multiple amenities. Beautiful concrete tees and quality baskets. Fairways are always immaculately manicured. An active club hosts a great league and annual tournaments. It would be tough to lose a disc here. Clean permanent bathroom facilities down by the beach. Fantastic course for working on your long game. Maps and scorecards at hole 1 in season.
Cons: Lack of obstacles. Repetitive holes. No tee signs. Overlaps a dog park. Fairways 12 and 18 can collide.
Other Thoughts: This course is the perfect compliment to nearby Oxbow Falls which is a course that tacticians will love and boomers with limited accuracy will struggle with. These two courses cater to locals with different tastes and offer variety to area golf enthusiasts.
The local designers did a nice job working with the terrain available to them. Stop at nearby Robbie T's Pizza for lunch. They do a lot to support the sport.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.