Chimacum, WA 
HJ Carroll Park Share
Uploaded By: Aragorn Hole #1
3 / 210ft.   3 / 246ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
#1 tee - dogleg right



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
EasyPeasy

2-4    3/19/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: longandwrong
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 4.6 Years
Pros: Fun and quick playing course. Good place for beginners. First 3 holes in the trees are pretty technical. Just a nice fun outing. Hole #9 lets you uncork your power. That's kind of fun.
Cons: If the park is busy with other activities...soccer, alot of people walking their dogs or running the outer trail...you have to be careful not to hit someone. The tee pads are very poor...concrete ones are crumbling apart. Plays on 3 holes are tooooo close to the soccer field.
Other Thoughts: So...all that said...play during the week in the morning and you should be okay. Plenty of parking and bathrooms. Wife and kids can picnic and play at the playground while you toss a few discs! Totally awesome.

 HJ Caroll Park

1    3/24/2010   3/25/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: HJ Carroll Park is the only place in the area for disc golf unless you want to drive really far. This course is very flexible for a large amount of people which is good with this being the only course in the area. There are a couple of downhill throws that are short and open but advanced players can bypass these by playing safari golf and go for one of the longer baskets on a different hole to make some long bombers. Holes one through three are the best holes on the course as they are tightly wooded and fairly short, which is a huge switch from holes six through nine, it's a good thing that this course has both open and wooded.
Cons: The biggest flaw that I found with the course was that the tee pads were all very dangerous to run up on. The natural pads early on the course weren't too bad but the open holes had concrete pads that were breaking apart and had gravel and pebbles all around the pads making me throw from the grassy areas to the side or behind the tees for fear of falling down. The open holes are boring for advanced players unless you play safari to longer holes as I mentioned above. Navigation was simple except for hole six which was behind a dirt mound but because we couldn't see this basket from the tee but we could see hole nine from the tee we accidentally drove to this basket and in my opinion these baskets should be switched to the way we played it as it makes hole nine harder and hole six less confusing. Hole eight seemed like a filler hole that was boring and pushed disc golf closer to the soccer field, I think it would of been alright to not make this hole and just keep the course to eight holes. Some of the throws play around a walking trail so you might have to wait for a couple of people to cross out of the way, please do so. :)
Other Thoughts: There is a lot going on at this park including multiple soccer fields, a baseball field, BMX track, walking trails, two full basketball courts in great shape, plenty of picnicking areas and a large bathroom that even has a soda machine outside. Just remember that the course starts on your right as you drive in to the parking lot. There are lots of signs through the wooded section that tell you not to cut down trees to make better lanes or the course will be shut down, hopefully people abide by that.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

If heading to Port Townsend, come by!

2-4    12/27/2009   12/29/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 178  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 22.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A pleasant park in a quiet setting. Mostly skirts the edge of a large field but having a third go into technical wooded sections. You get a nice little blast of tree fever on these first 3 and then you play the burm, hitting pins that are nestled on the sloping hillsides. They can be tougher than they look, but solid shots are all that are required for par. The open bowl can invite wind and really makes things interesting. The tight wood holes are by far my favorites and present more challenges for advanced players to shape their drives. I would love to see more of these kinds of holes, would certainly hope that could be done on this property.

Once you find the first tee (go immediate right into that parking lot) it's quite easy to find your way around. Next tee signs are prevalent, and when you're in the field you can see all the pins. The tees on the field holes had a light concrete base and were fairly grippy. The woods holes tees hopefully will come along.
Cons: Not much at all for trees out in the bowl- 5 holes are completely open saving for mounds on the edge and an interesting mound that tricks your view off the tee on #6. I must admit, the designers have worked well with the land they had to work with!
Other Thoughts: Certainly worth the stop if you're heading into Port Townsend. If the club could petition the Parks to allow a full 18 this could really be a boon for the Chimacum Valley and I would be happy to put my name on that. I have heard that the parks will only allow 9 holes for the time being.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.