Brenham, TX 
Hohlt Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #1 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 155ft.   3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Long Tee: Wide open



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
It Isn't THAT Bad

2-4    2/8/2014   2/8/2014
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 117  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is the only course in a 20 mile radius and is very easy to find from the street; it is just a bit north of the rest of the city of Brenham.

All 9 baskets are there. I know with the amphitheater being built, basket #3 was removed because of the construction. It is in a different position than it was originally, but it is there.

There is a creek that runs parallel to a few holes, which adds a little bit of risk and hazards at a course that is lacking in those departments.

A few of the holes have strategically placed baskets that involve a little bit of shot shaping off the tee. The holes may be all virtually open, but the few trees are in a good place. The course is played on a hill; me being from Houston, I can really appreciate a good hill.
Cons: There are literally no tee pads to speak of. Only the semi browner patches of grass that the locals swear was where the tee was before they were mowed over. This course could be a decent course if the tee sign problem was fixed. I would have been impossible to find the correct tees without the help from locals. However, the land is big enough for a safari course with your own made up holes.

A parking lot with plenty of cars and buses flanks one side of the park, and a residential fence flanks another. It would be very easy to lose a disc over the fence or hit a car in in the parking lot from the real tees.
Other Thoughts: The locals that I played with mentioned that there are talks about building another nine holes on the other side of the creek and making real tee signs. That would be giving a little bit of love to a course that seriously needs a bit of love. Frankly, I was surprised to have seen a person playing the course. This shows that a updated course would be used.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/10/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: Kovar34
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is not much that I can say about the course that is good other than it was pretty easy to find, and the only course that was close to brenham that I did not have to drive 30 or 40 miles to get to.
Cons: No markings, no map, very confusing. I found hole one, and then found the basket for hole 2 but never found the tee box. Never did find hole 3 and the only two tee boxes that I found I did not know what hole they went for. Very very open. Only like three trees in the whole course, even for a beginner like me there was no challenge what so ever.
Other Thoughts: If your in town and want to just get out and throw then go ahead, but don't make a special trip out to this course. I think you will waste your time. I will not be going back unless they make some major improvements.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good for Practice

1    4/16/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Being from Houston, having decent elevation is about the best perk of this course with hole lengths are average ranging from 200' to 350'. Everything is a straight shot, and if you're not looking for a challenge, but rather warm-up from somewhere else or some practice with a new disc in the open field, then this is your place. Hole #9 was the only hole where I had to make a decision on to go right or left (playing an unmarked mando) of the big oak instead of right up the gut.

This is a multi-use park, but it's the facilities are so far away from the disc golf portion, you'll want to consider driving over walking. The park itself is well maintained, and again would be the perfect place for a local to basically get in their fix or learn to throw.

BEST HOLE/S: #2; #9
Cons: Pin #3 is currently out of the ground because of clearing of the area for the pavilion. Basically you can place this course with two discs, and not have to think much. Hole #2 has thankfully been fixed since it was the nicest hole on the course using the trees.

Holes are poorly marked; some mis-marked and a little over half of the tee boxes are identifiable by small wooden markers in the ground. First timers will have to so some searching, but the ground is worn away in most of the tee box areas. I believe #7 tee box was also a causality of the clearing, so you have to create your own box. As mentioned earlier - hole #4 O.B. is a real danger for any errant throws to the right.

WORST HOLE/S: #7
Other Thoughts: This is the perfect case of good course potential gone south. I kept wishing for the course to play the creek/walking trail area and across where soccer field #8 and #9 are located. Under the right supervision and permissions, it could have been a pretty cool small town course. However, as it stands - unless you live in Brenham, no need to stop on your way to a better course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Not all that bad really

2-4    10/3/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
An easily playable course once you know the layout. Has three uphill holes that play longer than they look. Two downhill holes make nice use of the park elevation. Most of the double chain Discatcher baskets are still in good shape. Most of the holes are open but a couple have trees with which to contend. There are some unmarked mandos in play to protect cars: #7 must go to the right of the tree by the basket to avoid the parking lot and #9 must go to the left of the first tree to avoid the street. While definitely not a "destination course" this is the only game in town and is by no means a bad course once you know the layout. Was originally marked with dual tees where the alternates are shorter/easier.
Cons:
The biggest issue at Hohlt is the poor marking of tees for first timers. An attempt was made to secure ~18" long small log tee markers to the dirt/ground with ~10" lag bolts, but the logs are easily pulled up by vandals or shattered by park lawn mowers. As such some tee pads are completely unmarked. Luckily I had a local show me where all the main tees were. I've linked a very rough Google map here on DGCR to point new players in the right direction and will upload a better map when I have more time.

The tray on basket #2 is broken and laying on the ground. A tree fell on basket #9 and bent the top chain assembly. There's a chance of losing a disc over the fence of the horse pasture if it drifts too far right on hole #4. Also hole #2 has a creek on the right that you may or may not get wet while trying to retrieve your errant disc.
Other Thoughts:
This course doesn't really need alternate tees as the mains aren't very hard; the alts only serve to shorten the distance.

The local that I talked to said that the park is planning to put a building or pavilion at the end of the parking lot that will interfere with several of the existing holes. The hope is that some of the course can be relocated to the part of the park that currently has a nature trail.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  If you like…

7/13/2008   7/13/2008
Review By: Jheff!
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: If you want to make your own course/direction then this is the course for you!
Cons: Seven of the nine holes are numbered. There are no tees or signs.
Other Thoughts: Great if you just want to practice hitting the baskets.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.