Course Extinct
Olympia, WA 
Yauger Park Share
Uploaded By: Aragorn Hole #3
3 / 144ft.   3 / 207ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    5/10/2010   11/10/2010
Review By: geezergolfer
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: a variation of hole placements. this park is in a baseball park and may be very hard to be compatible during the busy ball season. It has good baskets that were placed in a variety of obstruction setting.
Cons: This course was under water so we got very wet.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Only if your close

5+    8/24/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: Kickedbk
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/29/2009
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is now concrete tee's.
Cons: The course is not very well thought out and/or is to cramped. At times you will have to skip multiple holes or disrupt organized events that the holes cross. The signage is non existant so holes are hard to find if you have never played the course.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for cars in the parking area if you are a newer player; hole 17 is dangerously close to the border of the parking area.

Hole #9's tee changes if there is a game going on and you have to use the tee of hole #8.

Hole #11 sometimes will have to be skipped altogether if there is a game happening. (I know of no alternate tee)

Hole #12 watch out for heavy pedestrian traffic at times, mostly if you use the alternate tee. The pro tee has no signage.

#13 is over a parking lot and at times you will have long waits or to many hazards to play it.

#14 is over a pond, its a simple throw and is no big deal for experienced players, though there is no alternate tee for begginers and you can almost expect to lose your disc.

Hole #15 is over the front entrance to the park. Carefull for cars.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/4/2008   12/9/2008
Review By: KG_MCDGC
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 19.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've edited my rating of this course according to it's degradation in overall quality. There is construction on two separate ends of the park, which forced the course from being 18 holes down to 9 holes. I think that the eventual acceptance of Yauger Park as a "family-friendly" 9 hole course is it's biggest pro, at the moment.

I believe in the local Club, and I expect that there are future courses on the horizon.
Cons: In it's current incarnation, Yauger Park has approximately 9 playable holes. This number of holes is sometimes fewer depending on the flooded areas of the park. Also, there is little or no signage, which unless you're accustomed to the course layout, can lead to confusion.
Other Thoughts: This course is IN Olympia, which has been in need of a course for quite some time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 needs good design work

2-4    8/1/2008   8/1/2008
Review By: Aragorn
Played: 36  Reviewed: 19
This review was updated on 1/1/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A place to throw in Olympia. There are two ponds that come into play for an added water feature. Top Foods has an extensive beer selection down the street.
Cons: This place needs serious design help. There is no map and the tees actually have old and new tee numbers on them. The new tee #2 throws to a basket marked #1. The course feels like someone placed a few temporary baskets out there and then more and more were added. A non-local really has no idea what basket to throw at.
Other Thoughts: My friend played this course in the afternoon and swore he will never play it again. Several holes have the entire fairway as a heavily used pedestrian path. I purposely went early to try and avoid this. Even then while I was lining up my drive on #16 tee, a jogger pops up and ran strait down the path to me. I had to wait until they passed before I threw.

While playing this course I couldn't help but think what a well designed course Van Zee is in Port Orchard. It is small but very enjoyable to play. Yauger is a crowded, multi-use park but it has the space for a well designed 9 holes (or 12 or whatever fits best). The design flat out needs to be better. Then map it and sign it. I give the locals credit for making this course but please give some strong thought to how it can be improved. Don't have 18 just to have 18. Pick the number of baskets that make the most sense. If you want to play more then start a new round.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A work in progress...

6/22/2008   6/26/2008
Review By: LanceInTacoma
Played: 35  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 24.2 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Considering the space available, I guess they did all right with course design. Plenty of parking and other options for activities in the park for non-golfers in your group (though why you would have a non disc golfer with you seems odd).
Cons: Not much distance except on a couple of the alternate tee spots. Several of the alternate tees, I couldn't actually find, though distances were listed on the tee posts. The few shots in the woods seemed to me to require as much luck as precision.
Other Thoughts: In addition to the practice basket, there was one basket between hole 6-7 and about 5 more around a large parking lot, and at least one more over by hole number one. I can only assume the long term goal is to turn this nine hole course into an 18 hole course. However, the additional baskets near the lower parking lot are so close to each other, that most of the holes look like they will play between 125-200 feet, which seems to me to be too short. I would rather have a 12 or 13 hole course with decent holes instead of 18 holes that are all short, but of course, that is just my personal opinion.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 They Somehow Squeezed It In!

4/12/2008   4/13/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 611  Exp: 36.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course starts out with two holes set in a wooded area . The next three play right along the side of soccer/softball fields. #6 through #9 then play up and behind a skate board park, a picnic area and another ballfield. Yauger Park is an extremely busy park and I'm impressed that the designers were able to squeeze 9 holes here. Navigating the course is fairly easy, although it did get a little messy around 6 & 7.
Cons: The designers of this course had very little room to work with. The park is so very busy with softball, soccer, skateboarders, familys picnicking, joggers, bicyclists and horse-shoe players. Holes 4 & 5 are both strikingly similiar. On both of these, you tee off down a narrow jogging path with the same swampy, marshy rough on the left, and open ballfields on the right. The dirt tee pads are a little rough in places.
Other Thoughts: First of all, kudos to the designers/developers for squeezing this into the space they did and for getting the parks department's approval. Disc golfers on this particular course are going to have to really work on their disc golf etiquette and people skills considering the close proximity they share with the other park users.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.