Holly, MI 
Holly Woods DGC Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #15 (Taken 6/2010)
4 / 486ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Enjoyable Course

2-4    11/13/2016   11/15/2016
Review By: MisterJ
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 18.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenge - wide range of shots, with 4 420ft+, and a back to back 540/480. Lots of elevation changes, and technical shots that require forehand and backhand shots.

Signage - For the most part signs are decent, hole, distance. Not the greatest, but decent, would be nice to show layout of hole, but this is bare minimum.

Variety - I do like the variety; if you get bored you can opt out after 9, or even 18, or go for the whole 24. There is a group of shorter technical shots, and the handful of longer shots 420+. There are left and right hand shots, elevation. I've seen courses with much more variety.

Fun - This course is fun, with the changes in the terrain, and the length of the course, unless you're a regular, its kind of a wonder of what's coming next after each hole.

Locatability - there are a lot of maps, get one, it will make things easier, especially since there are ways to exit after 9 holes, and to cut out and do only 18 and not all 24. Some signs don't exist, that isn't so good. But I would say with as flexible this course is, and as little as they paid for signage, it is not the worst., actually it is relatively easy to get around, but having a map makes it easy, go see the links.
Cons: Aesthetic - Nothing overly pleasing to me. It's in the woods. No special little lake, or unusual glen of trees or anything. Not to say it's ugly, it's fine, just nothing special.

TeePads/Baskets - Teepads are concrete but are too short for each hole. I found them more of a hindrance and often wanted to do my walk-up on the side of the existing teepad. Baskets are fine, not marked the best and often had to walk ahead to identify where the basket was before throwing.

Congestion - This is a very popular course, even with the course and park fees. When I went in November, I let 3 groups play thru, we also played thru 2 groups, and were in-between 2 groups that were going our pace the whole time. There can be a lot of people on the course. But this is a pretty standard disc golf crowd, some have dogs, mix of men and women, young and old, families and not. But all are super nice and all let you pass or whatever you need, standard disc golfers like I said.

Maintained/Bugs - Grass was fine, but in fall the leaves are horrid, and in summer the bugs were horrid. I know, you'll think, of course there are leaves in the fall, but some holes, particularly the 12 - 17, almost all of them have a blanket in the fairway 2 to 4 inches deep. If your disc slides in, even on a perfect throw down the middle at the basket 350 feet, you could search 10 minutes for it. FYI, I did, and found it 4 feet past the basket, thought it was a little in front of the basket but it went and slide under and thru. FYI, I would still go back and play the course even with the leaves. It's a good course.
Other Thoughts: What's holding it back from higher rating - if there were no bugs in summer, or no leaves in fall I would give this a 4 rating, and I would visit more often, still like it a lot.

Kid Friendly - I went with 3 boys age 10 to 13 and all had a great time. None thought it was overly difficult and most wanted to stick it out for all 24 holes. Each played a one person scramble, but they did fine.

Rookie Friendly - Can show to be a bit of a challenge for rookies. There may be some frustration with all the trees strategically placed, and distance of some of the holes. This may not be the most friendly course for Rookie's.

Older/Less Active Player Friendly - There are a lot of elevation changes, some holes start up a hill to go down and then back up, kind of steep. But on the first 9 holes, it's good for anyone. If they liked it, try the longer course next time.

Average Player Friendly - I think this course is probably made for these guys. No water to drown your disc, the rough on the edges isn't that bad, just a bit of searching. Mix of challenge for the average player, work on some skills. You'll probably rock out on some holes, and just miss par on a few tough ones.

Pro Player Friendly - I think a pro player can find some interest here. There is a nice mix of challenging shots, when you miss the line, you'll hear it. It's such a long course, with a few different things to see. I would recommend stopping by at least once if you were in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed Feelings

1    5/24/2013   5/24/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 292  Reviewed: 283  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Aesthetic-- Course plays through a state park but is exclusively DG. plays through rolling terrain and around swampy areas.

Teepads-- nice to have teepads but some are a bit short. the longer holes 12-18 are a bit longer tees.

Teesigns-- most of them are there, some of them have distances, most of them do not, or idiots have sharpied them to read the wrong distance. no layout on the signs which could be super helpful in places. there is one teepad that faces entirely the wrong direction.

Routing/Nav-- easy easy. nice to have the option to play 9, 18, or 24 holes by changing your routing at 7 or 11. nicely broken in pathways help to assure your routing.

Baskets-- Nice discrafts. could most certainly use flags to aide in visibility in these thick woods.

challenge/variety-- most of the holes from 1-11 and 18-24 are relatively short and unchallenging. please see the cons for holes 12-17. Plays up down over left right and every which way but loose, a nice variety here.

Cons: 12-17-- such a departure from the original 18 it almost doesn't feel like the same course. they're odd to be sure. overly long and overly complicated for this course. no definitive lines and no way to make par.

Rough-- Super freakin' rough, but again, we shouldn't be in the weeds to begin with.

Trash/upkeep-- there is a ton of trash here and a ton of deadfall from both planned tree removal and natural tree fall.
Other Thoughts: this was fun after playing toboggan but there were parts that were fun and parts that were just over done and punishing. the balance of this course is thrown way off by the middle 6...

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Mix and Match

5+    12/26/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: Wolfpackdiscs
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hollywoods has a good mix of holes. The long six holes added in the back (12-17) are crazy. Shortest hole out there is 310 with one close to 600. The remaining holes have a some challenging holes but a lot of birdie opportunities for the average player. Signs on every hole and multiple lay outs for rounds of 9, 18, and 24! Great place to spend a day at.
Cons: Short tee pads, your first step might be from off the pad.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    10/16/2010   5/16/2011
Review By: somerbuch
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course, great layout. They have it set up with extra baskets in case people want to just play the front or back 9. Also its very well maintained by the local club and the county parks.
Cons: Extra 6 holes on the back are pretty tough and still need some trimming before they can get better.
Other Thoughts: No mosquitoes like goldenrod which is a plus.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/25/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: mcphatty
Played: 40  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Challenging layout, lots of elevation changes and shots requiring good accuracy
-Not too busy
-Course is relatively well maintained. There was a "course cleanup crew" present while we were playing
Cons: -Short tee pads, sone holes have no pads at all
-Lots of hill climbing
Other Thoughts: Lots of hard shots followed by a couple redeeming holes. Relatively forgiving course, finished at par on my first game at the course. Accuracy is a must, there are a lot of heavily wooded shots.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great All Around Course

5+    6/1/2015   7/26/2010
Review By: kw83028
Played: 51  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Completely updated review since the original review in 2010*
-A nice course in a disc golf exclusive area in a state park
-Good variety of shots
-Original 18 is well beat in with well defined lines
-Easy turn offs to play 9, 18, 24
-Tables and trashcans at most tees
-The newer back 6 holes are a good challenge (also in cons)
-Original 18 is fairly simple, but good variety
-Baskets and pads are in good repair
Cons: -Idiots like to draw on anything and everything here
-New tee number posts got put in and then the idiots drew all over them or knocked them down
-Despite having tons of trashcans, people still find the need to just throw their garbage everywhere
-Upkeep on the fairways isn't the greatest
-Rough is usually 3ft tall
-The newer back 6 are completely out of place at this course. They are 100% different than the original 18. Lines are not well defined. Holes are very long. BUT, they are a good challenge and I don't have a problem playing them. It's just that they completely break the flow of the original course
-Can be very busy with chuckers in the afternoons/evenings and weekends
Other Thoughts: This course is my home course, and definitely still a favorite to play. There is still enough challenge to tick you off, or even make you feel good about certain shots. I avoid the course at all costs during the chucker times of the day.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  played today

2-4    7/22/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: Keith_
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 21.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Planned out nicely, very nice walk in the woods, holly's hidden gem.Reminds me of Kensington about 10 years ago,in regards to I think I heard someone else on the course not one hundred percent.
Cons: pro tees needed, closer pro shop

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Place to Play

1    8/23/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: Rupert M
Played: 78  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 18.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Practice basket at beginning of course. Cement tees, although a little short, are in good shape. Great targets and wonderful scenery. The course is laid out very nice with an even flow from basket to next tee. Maps/scorecards are available at the toll booth and at the parking lot. The course wraps you around back towards the parking lot after 9-holes, just in case you need to leave or retrieve. A good ratio of long-short, wide-narrow. Gas station nearby that sells beer, liquor, disc and eatables.
Cons: The new 'extra' holes are obscenely long and fundamentally wrong. Tron, with his light-disc, would have a hard time getting through those holes without crying, cussing and quitting. They could be cut in half and still be hard as hell.
There seems to be a contingency of feral adolescents rummaging through the garbage cans looking for supper, spilling their contents all over this really nice park. Vandalism is rampant.
There seems to be a heavily traveled roadway nearby, causing some noise that is not in line with where you feel you are.
Other Thoughts: If you want a fun and challenging round of golf, or two, this place is perfect. If you want to visit your dark side, play the extra holes. Don't say that I didn't warn you. They have some promise, just not yet. All in all, a great 18-hole course with some added bonuses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Variation, trim me a bit though

2-4    7/1/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: phishbrained
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice Variety- small elevation changes, thickly wooded and more open
Challenging
Scenic
Cool course layout with different holes to lead you to 18 or 9 at holes 8a and 8b.
Nice paths that work through the rough and tall grasses so its easier to get to and spot your disc.
Cons: Needs a little trimming, but thats the norm for most MI courses.
One hole on the back 9 is all thick prickly bushes on the right side of it, almost impossible to find your disc so be careful.
Bug Spray needed.
Other Thoughts: Locals were nice and let us play through. Course signs actually had scorecards and pencils which is a unusual pleasantry.
Would be a much better course if parking and trimming issues were taken care of, but a fun course none-the-less.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/5/2009   5/11/2009
Review By: Chris.converse
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: love this home town course the pads are great lots of hard shots many different shots to be thrown
Cons: very crowded course groups of 8+ seen multiple times everyday lacking skill and destroying the course. theft of baskets

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.