Holly, MI 
Holly Woods DGC Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #15 (Taken 6/2010)
4 / 486ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Mid-Fairway/Basket



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great Course!

1    9/22/2013   9/23/2013
Review By: Gu5To
Played: 38  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great mix of long and short holes, open and obstacle laden. This was my first time playing and I didn't need to refer to the map once because it was so clearly laid out. The elevation change kept the round interesting. Garbage bins spread out through the course help keep it clean.
Cons: There could have been more hole detail at each tee sign.
Other Thoughts: Would love to play again if I'm in the area.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

First time I played it

1    3/9/2013   3/10/2013
Review By: todddarling1
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice challenging wooded course (at least on the front 9 didn't play the whole course) I will update the review once I play the whole course.

5-11-13
Played the original 18 today and I have found a new course! The use of trees and the landscape is wonderful! Really challenging!! Lots of risk and reward holes (pin up on a hill that drops off not 10 feet behind, etc) Lots of blind drives and tree lined(covered is more like it) fairways that really make you work to find a clear path. Not a beginner course.
Cons: Tee signs didn't show the holes, just interesting facts on the trees and animals there. Maybe they didn't have them out yet but would have been helpful, most baskets are easy to spot so wasn't a huge deal but not sure all baskets would be as the course goes on. I will update the review when I play the whole thing after it dries up some.

5-11-13
Tee signs don's show hole layout (but did have distance to the pin info) Wish the tee pads were a little longer they seem short to me, but they are nice and level so you can start a few steps behind without much trouble.
Other Thoughts: Love the course it is very challenging can be frustrating but will really help you learn to take your time and find your lines. Also will help you learn control, nothing is really wide open for ripping (atleast on the original 18) I played in my first tourney on 5-11 and while I shot horrible I learned a lot and had a great time.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course!

1    8/22/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: GoldenRakerRock
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 34.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I have to agree with all the comments by BogeyNoMore! Our sixsome today included: a World Champion, a very first timer, and two others at the start of their dg enjoyment. Extended family outing and we had a blast battling the trees,mosquitos and stumps. It was the first time playing Holly Woods for 4 of us.
Cons: Stumps are a bummer especially for those having mobility issues. It would be MUCH appreciated if some effort were put into removing those obstacles. Thanks!
Other Thoughts: Our only round on this trip into Oakland County and we picked well. Cya next time. Come to our course in Alabama, the Fairways of Fairhope. A loaned disc of mine was left behind today. If ya find a white Aviar with a custom hot stamp, ROCK of ACES, I have a local that would like to pick it up for me. Somewhere on the first 7 holes. Thanks again.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 You’ll get abused… and like it!

2-4    5/27/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 172  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2011
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Setting: Wonderfully wooded course set on rolling terrain in a peaceful, very scenic, well maintained state park. Course is completely isolated from other park activities. Except where the course comes near the road in a couple of spots, you can easily forget you are just 20 minutes from suburban Detroit.

Disc Play: Most fairways demand control and good shot execution. Plenty of shot variety with a nice mix of distances, several holes that work from left to right, many tunnel shots, a few rollaway greens that favor controlled upshots and solid putting. I like the way the course eases you into your round with a few moderately open holes, and seems to throw a few more trees into play on successive holes before it becomes heavily wooded for the majority of the course. Elevation changes ramp up the challenge as well as the aesthetic appeal on many holes.

Bonus holes (12-18) really change the look, feel and challenge of this course in a big way. Not only do they have tougher lines to execute, but they are some of the longer holes on the course, and can be quite humbling if you don't execute well, or take a bad bounce off a tree. Even with all the difficulty, there enough Ace and Birdie opportunities to help you get a few strokes back… because you're going to throw some bogies (consider yourself lucky if your worst hole is a 4).

Sprinkle in some blind holes, a few well-guarded baskets, and fairways with thick brush lining them requiring clever escape shots, and yep… Holly Woods is a pretty complete course: 24 holes requiring variety of discs, a host of shots and release angles, and a player who can use them to stay out of trouble, and escape it with minimal damage when it finds them.

Essentials and Extras: Course is well laid out, and flows nicely from basket to next tee. Throw in tee posts with hole # and distance for fairly painless navigation. Score cards with simple but effective maps provide even more assistance (if needed) for 1st timers. Cement pads were good shape (some were short), baskets were decent. There are even a few signs that elaborate on the wildlife in the park. Picnic tables and benches scattered on some holes throughout the course. Practice putting basket.
Cons: I'm stumped. No really -stumps a few inches in diameter sticking up about 2 inches or so are scattered about some of the wooded fairways. They can be tough to see if you're not looking for them. If you're wearing flip flops or lightweight running shoes… guess who wins that fight. A pair if sturdy hikers is the way to go here.

Stray from the fairway with caution: I'm no botanist, but apparently thorny brushy foliage is indigenous to the region (it certainly lines enough fairways of many area courses…along with Poison Ivy).
Foliage is dense in spots - disc loss is a real possibility, and with lots of leaf litter, fly-dies may be tough to find even if the shot isn't all that bad.

Bugs - bring repellent
Other Thoughts: Yet another disc golf success story for southeast Michigan!

Several holes will have you thinking about how you want to attack them … or how to keep them from attacking you. But whether you decide to play aggressive or play it safe, this is a good round of disc golf.

Holly Woods would work well with Addison Oaks (new cement pads), Stony Creek, and River Bends (if dry) for a nice weekend disc golf trip (if you're inclined to do that sort of thing).

Some won't like the single day State Park entry fee, (must be at least $6 now) but for only $10, state residents can pick up the State Park Rec passport when they renew their tag.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 play no games

5+    9/20/2010   4/19/2011
Review By: intimadator
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: ive played this course more then 100 times no joke-this course rocks it is a new challange every time, well the first nine holes are good try to stay out of the swamp on ur right of number 9 on the 18 hole route, after that hole 10 has crazy picker bushes on the left side if u go right u will be fine and have a reasonable shot at the pin- the back 6 in thwoods if ur playing 26 holes suck try to throw long and consistant or u will gain strokes other then that the course is beautiful haveent found a course like it yet, it challanged me fo sho!
Cons: new players dont try the back 6 of the 26 holes u will lose a disc no doubt but u might find one, be carefull on hole 6 people might want to get down... and dont park off dixie hwy your car will get towed the state po's suck and on hole 7 dont try to go over the huge bushes on the left unless u can throw pretty hard or u will gain a few strokes! oh and if u see a group of old timers playing let them play threw they are the shit!
Other Thoughts: have fun i did...

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

5+    7/25/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: Ymeister19
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging lay out, good use of terrain, a nice mix of shots that favor both forehand and backhand play. Easy to navigate and easy to rest occasionally as there are picnic tables and trash cans frequently.
Cons: There are a ton of stumps and stones protruding from the ground trip hazards a plenty on the back half of the course. One of the latter holes has a very steep hill to contend with. There used to be a tow rope to help you get down but no longer. I don't mind rugged terrain but for elderly players navigating that hole may pose problems. Only other problem is cement tees are very short and often muddy or dirty with bad footing.
Other Thoughts: Wear shoes with good traction for this course as this will help with the terrain as well as skid prevention on the cement tees. Make sure to bring something to drink as the course is long and difficult if you play the full 24. The first 8 holes are big arm friendly especially for Forehand throwers, where 9-18 are all about control and being able to throw both forehand and backhand. 19-24 are wooded holes that are very drivable in 1 shot if you can thread the wooded fairways.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very tough for a beginner

5+    9/30/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: kw83028
Played: 36  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: **UPDATE** I'm a little less of a beginner now and I'm getting better at this place! They have framework for concrete tees laid out on the back where there were only dirt tees!! This will be a huge plus once these get poured!.** Well, I'm a beginner and this was very tough for me, but really fun. I lost my new Champion Eagle on hole 1 today....so that wasn't fun...But, it seems to be a very nice course. Well laid out. Great upkeep. Tables and trashcans are good. Scorecards at the beginning.
Cons: Lots of stumps and roots when walking through the woods. I tripped 7 or 8 times. A Lot of trees that seem to be unnecessary, but I guess adds to the challenge.
Other Thoughts: Well put together, very tough for a beginner. I'm getting better. Put up my best score yet of 100 even. Still a ton of tough shots that I'm not good at yet though.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Threading The Needle

1    4/29/2010   4/29/2010
Review By: InTheGroove
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was my first time playing this course, and was very impressed with the variety and difficulty of some of the holes. I chose the "b" route which took me through the new 6 to complete 24 holes. Beautiful layout and scenery. Very well marked, never a question where the next tee was. It was actually a busy day on the course, several groups present. Fortunately, a couple groups let me play through.
Cons: I can see where insects would be a problem as the summer season approaches. This early spring day was fine.
Other Thoughts: The holes vary quite a bit, some offering dog-legs to the left, some to the right, and some snaking in both directions. You must have a good handle on disc control and placement, otherwise this course could frustrate you. Fortunately for me, my game was on this day!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good and Evil, Naughy and Nice

1    4/4/2010   4/7/2010
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 76  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/15/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set in a stunningly beautiful and insanely huge state park with lots of other activities available. The course itself is well separated from any other activities so chances of injury to non-players is nil.

Each hole is marked with a tall 4x4 sporting a plaque with hole number and distance. The main 18 tee markers also house plaques with information on native vegetation and wild life. The main 18 and the alternate 2 also have short but level cement pads with great footing. Scorecards with a rudimentary map and pencils are available at the course kiosk.

Course flow is really nice with well-worn paths, good signage, and the scorecard map making navigation pretty painless. Even the cut-off and alternate holes for a round of 9 is well marked and obvious! Each hole is unique with a great combination and fairly even distribution of short, long, open, wooded, right, left, curvy, and straight holes. Many make exceptional use of the abundant and sometimes extreme terrain changes in the park. Distances of 177 to 544 offer fun and challenge enough for everyone. In general, the new 6 in the middle of the course offer the longest distances, the most evil and heavily wooded layouts, and the most extreme terrain changes, while 1-5 offers a chance to warm-up the arms and "get in-the-groove". #8B looks deceptively simple but a stand of trees in the middle of the fairway, a basket tucked into another stand of trees, a slight downhill, and prevailing winds makes it more difficult than you'd think. The tight trees and curving fairway of #9B will truly challenge your disc control and line choice. The fun continues through the entire course, right down to #24 with its narrow S-shaped fairway to a lightly wooded opening and basket tucked up next to a large bush.

Plenty of trash cans and several benches and picnic tables keep the full 24 clean and user friendly . The practice basket and picnic tables at the parking lot are a nice touch.
Cons: Holes 1-4 are all of similar distances and parallel to each other in a semi open field, making them both a bit monotonous and slightly dangerous given the large groups of kids that play here who have distance but no control. There are also several places where the tee box of the next hole is directly in line with the basket of the previous, again giving overthrows a chance to be dangerous to others.

The new 6 have a very different feel from the rest of the course. The terrain is more rugged, the distances are huge, the foliage is dense, and the elevation changes are big! These holes are so much more difficult than the rest of the course, it's almost like playing a whole different course. No cement tee pads or distance markers have been installed here yet. Truly, this section reminds me a lot of the wooded section of Myles Kimmerly, but without the polish.....massive thinning of the forest on most of these holes is going to be necessary to make this section enjoyable (rather than just challenging and frustrating) to all but the biggest and most accurate arms. Gobs of "toss-and-pray" play here right now.
Other Thoughts: There is a charge of $6 a day or $24 a year for entrance via a State Parks sticker. This sticker allows access to all Michigan State Parks for the day/year. Set to go into place October 1, 2010 is the "Parks Passport" bill that will add $10 to the cost of each Michigan Vehicle license plates, but will allow any car with Michigan tags free entrance into all State Parks. Either way, once in the park, play is free.

Shelters, water, and restrooms are spaced throughout the park although I didn't see any of the above at or around the course itself.

If you choose to play the new 6, you'll want sturdy shoes or hikers for the extreme elevation changes, and I'm thinking bug spray will be a necessity as these holes play around the edge of a swampy area/shallow pond.

Admittedly, we were there on Easter Sunday, but it appears that large groups of "young people" descend on this course regularly. We encountered lots of rude and destructive people during our short stay here. Other players threw in on us and almost hit me 3 times, large groups refused to let others play through, and generally loud and obnoxious behavior was rampant. (just sayin')

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Drive.

5+    6/10/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: Bitaddict
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete tees. Good variety of open and closed shots. Course has evolved nicely. Most people are pretty friendly.
Cons: Anyone who is not serious about playing here trashes the course. People do not understand the concept of letting smaller groups play through. Bugs can get bad certain times of the year.
Other Thoughts: Over all this course if very nice. If you have never played it before i think you will enjoy it. It is a good course for beginners and experts. You would benefit from arriving earlier in the day to avoid the crowd.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.