Greenville, SC 
Holmes Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #1 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 289ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee: Straight, long & slightly downhill. Fade left to basket. OB street along entire left side



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 decent 9 holer

1    7/20/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 7 foot concrete tee pads.
a suprising amount of variety and elevation for such a small course.
5 and 6 were insanely short, but they still had some character.
Minimal tee signs with distance
Solid beginner course
Cons: 1 plays near road, but does not seem to be a major safety concern. 4 comes closer to the road if you play to the left of the basket. 4 was a small concern.
Very tight and cluttered, discs can easily cross fairways and play can be slow if multiple groups are present.
Tee 9 faces the wrong way. The basket is at a 45 degree angle with no mando or obstacles, so you end up throwing diagonally off the tee.
No markers to guide you to the next basket. (we had a guide, so I am not sure how difficult the flow would have been with out a map.)
Tee pads seemed small (though they measured at over 7 feet long), and you could not start your run up behind the tee pad because there was a drop off at the end of most pads.
Other Thoughts: If this course is free of players it is an enjoyable quick play, but I would not want to play it when numerous groups are out due to the tight conditions.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/3/2011   1/26/2011
Review By: goldenpecan
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent grass areas for tee boxes. Holes are close together so fairly easy to find. Great for beginners, who need to avoid any and all chances of losing a disc.
Cons: Very short course, not challenging or difficult to play.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area there are other courses that have more to offer.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Most Played Local Course

5+    1/24/2011   1/25/2011
Review By: Disc Wolf
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great location to downtown Greenville and why i play it so often on my breaks from work.
-Excellent variety of shots from the tee. just about everyshot can be used in a drive.
-quick play time and generally someone around you can play with if you're lacking a buddy that day
-a great 'practice' course where you shouldnt get in the way of bigger more competitive groups.
Cons: -can be very confusing your first time out with no map and tee pads sometime being far from the last pin (5,6&7)
-some tee pads are short but it is nice theyre concrete for such a small park.
-a couple fairways are squeezed together and you can bomb someone approaching from another hole
Other Thoughts: -Needs a map at the start, and some work to the tee signs.
-wish #9's tee pad pointed at the basket.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Better 9-Hole Courses in the Upstate

5+    11/15/2010   11/15/2010
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 85  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great use of the space available
-Level, concrete tees
-DISCatchers in great shape.
-All missing Tee Signs have been replaced by wooden hand made signs (which are awesome).
-Interesting variety of shots. Something for everyone: forehand, backhand, uphill, downhill, ace runs, etc.

-Great place to practice on a windy day.
Cons: -One hole is straight uphill and terribly designed.
-No course map
-The course is super tightly packed into this space. Holes 4, 6, 7, and 8 are right on top of each other, so watch for errant shots.
-Lack of amenities (bathrooms usually locked)
Other Thoughts: Holes 1,2,3, & 6 are well designed and fun to play. These 3 are the type of holes I could play all day.

Holes 4 is one of the most difficult holes in he upstate. Straight uphill, wooded, plays along the road, and 351 ft.

Hole 8 has a mando left which creates a challenging tee shot, but forces a lot of players directly into 7's fairway.

Hole 7 is the best hole on the course. Great slope, clearly defined lines.

Hole 9 is an uphill anhyzer shot that is a great way to end the course.

Overall, it's a decent course and worth playing if you're in the area. It adds another course to the Upstate/Greenville area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A nice neighborhood park course

1    10/17/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Entry Level: Nice little 9 hole course incorporated into a neighborhood park.
-varying terrain, plays up and downhill.
-Great beginner course, or short game practice
-Concrete Tee's, Signs (No Map)
-No map needed
-Plays quickly
-Other park amenities available (Picnic Shelter, Playground, etc)
-There are other courses are nearby (Timmons & Gower), which makes hitting multiple courses an easy accomplishment.
-Decent fun factor
-There are multiple chances at Ace's & Birdies.
Cons: -Plays near a playground (#5)
-Other activities may interfere with play
-Partially segregated from the park. (Park is small enough, that other park attendees may find themselves strolling or playing through the course.
-#5 is the only hole that can be hard to locate.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little rec course that is located in a neighborhood park. I wouldn't drive out of my way to play here, but since I was hitting Timmons, this made a nice addition to my schedule. It's geared more towards being a "Park activity" type course. If I lived nearby, I wouldn't have any problem frequenting this course. It had a decent "fun factor" for me, and it played fast enough that I was able to couple it with my round at Timmons nicely. If you are in Greenville, and you want to add a quick round to your schedule. Or, if you are traveling through, and would like to make a rest stop for lunch with kids, then this is a nice family friendly stop. Eat lunch at the picnic tables, and one spouse can watch the kids at the playground, the other can get in a quick round. * Just don't HIT your kid, when you are teeing off from #5.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Quick park

1    8/13/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: Justin Garr
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun fast play through, quiet area and a good baseball feild to test your throws and a few picknic tables to bring friends and family and and play,
Cons: Very short course some drop offs possibly alot of blackaces holes arnt very long by them selves.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Cute little niner

1    8/30/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads
Monster variety for a nine holer
Short, fun holes
Quiet, peaceful park
A couple good ace runs
Quick rounds
Good hyzer/anhyzer/sidearm practice
Cons: Some signs missing
Several fairways very close to each other (2&9), (6&7&8) so if there are several groups playing you will need to wait.
Other Thoughts: A pretty little course in a nice neighborhood park that features 2 tennis courts, a playground, a baseball field, a pavillion and the course so there is not a lot of traffic.

Hole 1 plays real close to the road with a guardian tree on the right side approach and a line of trees along the fence on the left approach...throwing relatively long and straight or a big sweeping hyzer is necessary.

2 and 5 are ace runs with some fun obstacles and if you play sidewalks as OB then #2 has some added challenge.

There are a couple longer uphill runs a couple holes with mandos, and some nice wooded areas that aren't tight nor are they open.

This is the kind of park you wish you had outside your office or across the street from your house because you could run out and play 9 in about 30 minutes and actually feel like you accomplished something.

The holes are short and there are a lot of birdie and even ace opportunities but they are not gimmees. Even experienced players will get some pars but even the best will have a good time.

If you live in Greenville this is a great place to warm up or cool down.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 One of the better 9-holers

2-4    3/25/2010   3/27/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice neighborhood park. For a 9-holer, it's one of the better ones I've played. I was actually surprised how much I liked it.
- Course has great variety. It's more wooded than open and makes great use of elevation, and mandos, for some interesting holes. For such a small park, they did a great job squeezing in so many quality holes. What it lacks in length, it more than makes up for in difficulty.
- Almost every hole was enjoyable. #3, 4, 6 & 7 were all good holes that'd fit in anywhere.
- Course is 5 minutes from Timmons Park, so it's a good warm-up or cool down after playing there.
- As with most 9-holers, it wasn't crowded. You can play through twice in no time.
Cons: The layout of a couple holes presents potential problems. The fairway for #2 includes having to potentially throw over a bench. Obviously, you'll have to throw far around this if people are there.
- Going from #6 basket to #7 tee, you either have to walk up the fairway of one of those 2 holes. Both holes are downhill, so you're turning around and walking right back up the hill.
- #5 was hard to find. After finishing #4, the only tee pad you see is for #6. The tee for #5 is on the other side of the tennis courts. The rest of the course is easy to navigate.
- A couple fairways involving throwing towards tee pads for other holes. Be aware of this if others are on the course.
Other Thoughts: This is the better of the two 9-hole courses in Greenville.
- #4 is a seriously tough hole. 320 foot uphill, so it plays much longer, with strategically placed trees and rough. Once you get up the hill, the basket is behind another tree, creating a challenging second or third shot. This hole actually was tougher than any hole at Timmons.
- Not many easy birdie chances. Only two short/easy holes, others require solid tee shots for birdie chances.
- This is definitely worth the short drive from Timmons to check out.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Little 9

5+    9/19/2009   10/17/2009
Review By: JBryant
Played: 54  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love this course. I got my first ACE here. Just an all around nice course that you really have to put some interesting shot selections on. First hole, sweet. Nice air it out hyzer. Second shot is aceable. Third a nice anhyzer. Fourth, probably my least fav hole, uphill bomb. Fifth, short aceable (I did it) hole. Sixth, downhill tricky touch shot. Still ace chance here. Seventh, anhyzer but fun technical hole. Eight, mando hyzer. Tight squeeze but if you don't try to kill it here you will be okay. Ninth, uphill air it out low and you are good. Just for me, an all around nice course.
Cons: Tee signs are absolutely in the WORST place. Some missing. Whoever made them obviously does not throw right hand backhand because they are right where you need to be. Teepads are too small. Concrete but small. That is usually the case at alot of course. The skimp here and it can be costly to ankles and drives.
Other Thoughts: One of my favs. Holds a little place in my heart forever because of my first ace.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden gem #2

1    9/5/2009   10/1/2009
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 78  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Another clean little 9-holer in this area. Decent tee pads & use of the available elevation. They have new wood tee signs.
Cons: No benches. The tee signs are in bad spot. Need to move the tee signs! Watch out for kids on the playground in middle of course.
Other Thoughts: I would play here a lot if I lived here. Hit this place up on a road trip if you're in the area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.