Greenville, SC 
Holmes Park Share
Uploaded By: bk_ching Hole #8 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 229ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee: Must throw between 'mandos' - trees marked with arrows.



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 decent 9 holer

1    7/20/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 7 foot concrete tee pads.
a suprising amount of variety and elevation for such a small course.
5 and 6 were insanely short, but they still had some character.
Minimal tee signs with distance
Solid beginner course
Cons: 1 plays near road, but does not seem to be a major safety concern. 4 comes closer to the road if you play to the left of the basket. 4 was a small concern.
Very tight and cluttered, discs can easily cross fairways and play can be slow if multiple groups are present.
Tee 9 faces the wrong way. The basket is at a 45 degree angle with no mando or obstacles, so you end up throwing diagonally off the tee.
No markers to guide you to the next basket. (we had a guide, so I am not sure how difficult the flow would have been with out a map.)
Tee pads seemed small (though they measured at over 7 feet long), and you could not start your run up behind the tee pad because there was a drop off at the end of most pads.
Other Thoughts: If this course is free of players it is an enjoyable quick play, but I would not want to play it when numerous groups are out due to the tight conditions.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Better 9-Hole Courses in the Upstate

5+    11/15/2010   11/15/2010
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 85  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great use of the space available
-Level, concrete tees
-DISCatchers in great shape.
-All missing Tee Signs have been replaced by wooden hand made signs (which are awesome).
-Interesting variety of shots. Something for everyone: forehand, backhand, uphill, downhill, ace runs, etc.

-Great place to practice on a windy day.
Cons: -One hole is straight uphill and terribly designed.
-No course map
-The course is super tightly packed into this space. Holes 4, 6, 7, and 8 are right on top of each other, so watch for errant shots.
-Lack of amenities (bathrooms usually locked)
Other Thoughts: Holes 1,2,3, & 6 are well designed and fun to play. These 3 are the type of holes I could play all day.

Holes 4 is one of the most difficult holes in he upstate. Straight uphill, wooded, plays along the road, and 351 ft.

Hole 8 has a mando left which creates a challenging tee shot, but forces a lot of players directly into 7's fairway.

Hole 7 is the best hole on the course. Great slope, clearly defined lines.

Hole 9 is an uphill anhyzer shot that is a great way to end the course.

Overall, it's a decent course and worth playing if you're in the area. It adds another course to the Upstate/Greenville area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A nice neighborhood park course

1    10/17/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 9.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Entry Level: Nice little 9 hole course incorporated into a neighborhood park.
-varying terrain, plays up and downhill.
-Great beginner course, or short game practice
-Concrete Tee's, Signs (No Map)
-No map needed
-Plays quickly
-Other park amenities available (Picnic Shelter, Playground, etc)
-There are other courses are nearby (Timmons & Gower), which makes hitting multiple courses an easy accomplishment.
-Decent fun factor
-There are multiple chances at Ace's & Birdies.
Cons: -Plays near a playground (#5)
-Other activities may interfere with play
-Partially segregated from the park. (Park is small enough, that other park attendees may find themselves strolling or playing through the course.
-#5 is the only hole that can be hard to locate.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little rec course that is located in a neighborhood park. I wouldn't drive out of my way to play here, but since I was hitting Timmons, this made a nice addition to my schedule. It's geared more towards being a "Park activity" type course. If I lived nearby, I wouldn't have any problem frequenting this course. It had a decent "fun factor" for me, and it played fast enough that I was able to couple it with my round at Timmons nicely. If you are in Greenville, and you want to add a quick round to your schedule. Or, if you are traveling through, and would like to make a rest stop for lunch with kids, then this is a nice family friendly stop. Eat lunch at the picnic tables, and one spouse can watch the kids at the playground, the other can get in a quick round. * Just don't HIT your kid, when you are teeing off from #5.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Little 9

5+    9/19/2009   10/17/2009
Review By: JBryant
Played: 54  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love this course. I got my first ACE here. Just an all around nice course that you really have to put some interesting shot selections on. First hole, sweet. Nice air it out hyzer. Second shot is aceable. Third a nice anhyzer. Fourth, probably my least fav hole, uphill bomb. Fifth, short aceable (I did it) hole. Sixth, downhill tricky touch shot. Still ace chance here. Seventh, anhyzer but fun technical hole. Eight, mando hyzer. Tight squeeze but if you don't try to kill it here you will be okay. Ninth, uphill air it out low and you are good. Just for me, an all around nice course.
Cons: Tee signs are absolutely in the WORST place. Some missing. Whoever made them obviously does not throw right hand backhand because they are right where you need to be. Teepads are too small. Concrete but small. That is usually the case at alot of course. The skimp here and it can be costly to ankles and drives.
Other Thoughts: One of my favs. Holds a little place in my heart forever because of my first ace.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden gem #2

1    9/5/2009   10/1/2009
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 78  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Another clean little 9-holer in this area. Decent tee pads & use of the available elevation. They have new wood tee signs.
Cons: No benches. The tee signs are in bad spot. Need to move the tee signs! Watch out for kids on the playground in middle of course.
Other Thoughts: I would play here a lot if I lived here. Hit this place up on a road trip if you're in the area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice 9 Holer

1    9/5/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 258  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 13 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Nice park in a nice neighborhood with a cute little 9 hole disc golf course in it.
- They had some engraved tee-signs (must be new... the dirt looked freshly dug)... and the course had a nice flow. Without a map... this course was easy to follow.
- A few good holes... 3, 4, 7. The others were average. And a few holes guarded by OB.
- Great use of the minimal elevation available... 6 holes had some vertical elevation component.
Cons:
- Tee-sign Placement!!! The tee-signs were placed on the back right corner of the tee-pad. The perfect spot to start your run-up from if you're right handed. Whoever did this clearly never played DG before. They need to be moved. Especially since the tee's are short.
- Hole 5's basket is pretty close to a play area and a tennis court. Could be a little dangerous.
Other Thoughts:
- This 9 holer is better than the other 9 holer in town (Gower). It's a much nicer park, with nicer shots. Although, there is no "privacy" at this course.
- There are 3 other courses within 10 miles, making this area a road trip destination.
- GPS directions: The houses address across the street from the parking lot is: 104 Holmes Dr. Greenville 29601.
My Score: -2

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Fast Course

5+    3/8/2009   3/18/2009
Review By: bethehole
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: When I review a course I really try to be objective and honest. This course is typical of a city park that has made use of available space. There are opportunities to play hyzers, anhyzers, sidearm, you name it! Most holes are midrange and many can be played with a putter. The course is clean and the locals I have played with are friendly.
Cons: I wish this course was longer. Many holes can be played with a putter. The rec dept has recently upgraded the sidewalks and I met a local who isreplacing or has replaced the signs with new wooden signs but I haven't been back in a few weeks.
Other Thoughts: This course is only 4 minutes from my house so I see a lot of it. It is a step up from Holmes but not as challanging as Timmons or Century park.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 good for newbies

1    11/24/2008   11/24/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good design and plays fast. Good for learning on, practicing upshots and midrange drives. One long uphill hole. Easy to follow, good tees. Clean well maintained and nice area. Some hills.
Cons: #5 is hidden behind tennis courts, not where you'd look for it and a sidearm may come in too fast and towards a playground- possible safety issue. Provides no challenger for experienced golfers. A few signs missing.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.