Peru, IN 
Honey Bear Hollow Campgrounds Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #3 (Taken 6/2012)
4 / 192ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 

1    7/13/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: bodine1991
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very wooded, adds to the challenge, nicely laided out, well kept considering its in a woods.benches and trash can are available, pro shop is awesome staff is very helpful intruducing disc golf to me.
Cons: terrain is a little rough,hilly and there are some deep valleys, some debris needs to be cleared away.
Other Thoughts: this was my first course,i am new at disc golf but i love it, yes i am hooked,the pro shop was very helpful in getting me started with disc, carring bag and great advice, time to sell the golf clubs!! thank you

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course

1    3/27/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: Jermy
Played: 60  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is very well maintained with benches, trash cans and signs at nearly every hole. Good concrete t-pads.
Lots of challenging short holes which make for some exciting ace runs.
The course map made the course very easy to navigate.
EXCELLENT pro shop! This place has tons of discs including collectors at good prices.
Cons: Not alot of variation in the holes. Throw through these trees 150-200 ft and hope for the best kinda shots. Could use some longer drives.
Other Thoughts: Overall I thought this course was very enjoyable, started to get bored toward the end of the initial 18. The holes all seemed pretty much the same, but definitely a finesse course.
The 2$ to play is worth it for the well taken care of course and map / scorecard and pencil you get.
The extra 6 holes are only really good for working on unobstructed approach shots as they are all wide open zig zagging across a field, would be an excellent place to work on midrange with noone around.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Not for the R-Pro plastic!

1    11/7/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: numbernine
Played: 45  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2010
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: First, I love the pro shop there! They had every disc that you can think of, baskets, bags, shirts, etc. Awesome!

The course is different for me, in that my home course is wide open and a "swing for the fences" type of course. This is very much a midrange/putter course that requires MUCH patience of the golfer.
Great test of my game.

- Good pads on every hole!
- easy to navigate even though the entire course is in the woods. great signs on every hole and no mistaking where you should be going. there's a lot to be said for a logical layout and signs.
- quality baskets on every hole. every one of them caught well.
- great variety of shot types. Though I didn't throw a driver all day, no hole seemed to be the same. lots of throwing over ravines, around corners, trying to keep it on top of the hill you are on, etc.
- have I mentioned the awesome proshop!?
- practice baskets at the front of the course when you first pull in.
Cons: - As dumb as it sounds, especially since the entire course runs through the woods, the leaves were REALLY bad in places. it took a long time to find some shots that were in the fairway. I can see this causing issues with the place backing up.
- I am still not a fan of pay to play. sure, this course is awesome and worth the play, but something inside me cringes a little when I have to pay to play. but I am a tightass, so there's that.
- no "driver" holes. I would have liked one or two holes to air it out. minor con, but it is there for me.
Other Thoughts: Fun course. I wish it wasn't an hour and change from home. the peru guys have a great community and are super nice guys. Go up there, buy a new disc and play a super fun course!

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great times, great setting...

2-4    8/24/2009   9/1/2009
Review By: DOGvsRAPTOR
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/14/2010
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: easy to navigate, lots of shot selection, great pro shop with discs for cheap (Star Plastic at $14) cheap to play ($2), excellent signs, elevation, ditches, trees, clean, benches, trashcans
Cons: in the fall leaves can be a bit of a problem
Other Thoughts: get a group of friends, split into teams and play some run-for-aces doubles, lots of go for shots, just a really enjoyable course that works your midrange game. If you really wanted to you could get away with just a couple of discs for the day.

This is a finesse course, you really don't need too many drivers, maybe a teebird, xs, eagle, firebird, ect. Mostly just go run baskets with rocs, buzzes, metoers, aftershocks, gators, ect. Plenty of 'ace' holes as well as placement shots and hitting smallish windows to access the basket.

Have fun.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Indiana's Oldest Course?

5+    8/7/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: oxalate
Played: 107  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Other Thoughts: Pitch & Putt course, but still a lot of fun to play. If you are trying to decide which of the Peru courses to play and you are a bit experienced & looking for a challenge, try Mississinewa and Pieradise. If you are more of a recreational player, then Honey Bear is the right choice.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Fun Fun!!!

1    10/15/2008   2/16/2009
Review By: mmyersdisc
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very fun course! Most are in tight fairways, uphills and downhills. Bright orange baskets so you can see them easily. Very well stocked pro shop, VERY HELPFUL STAFF. The lady there called the owner from pieradise for me to get directions! (another course you must go to)..they had 18 more holes set up on the field on the way to the original 18, and the same price!
Cons: Not very easy to travel from hole to hole, some vandalism on the benches and had some local kids that weren't very kind (threw a couple discs at a time knowing we were behind them)
Other Thoughts: Worth the 2 hour drive I took to visit this place and Pieradise (another great course to visit)

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Scenic

5+    10/18/2008   10/18/2008
Review By: zud00
Played: 116  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2011
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well maintained, nice concrete tee pads, nice facilities, excellent pro shop.
Cons: Baskets seemed a little old, but they are still in pretty good shape. The baskets/chains/poles are all painted orange-I guess that makes it a bit easier to see.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course and thought it was definitley worth the 45 minute drive. This course is laid out through thick woods with ravines and valleys. There are many elevation changing holes which make for some fun shots. Even though there are so many trees, there is nearly always a clear path for a disc from the teepad to the basket. Most of the holes are short; several were under 250 feet, but the trees made it seem like over 300 feet. There are tee signs marking the length of each hole as well as a picture of the hole. A bench at every teepad made it nice to have a seat and catch your breath after climbing the hills from the previous holes. The proshop has a very nice selection of discs. It only costs $2 to play all day. I really enjoyed this course and plan on coming back.

***EDIT***
This was originally my first course review. After playing and reviewing many more courses since first writing this review, I have different thoughts on this course as far as ratings go. This is a fun course, but mostly short. It is challening, but short. It is enjoyable and very beginner friendly and would recommend anyone to play this course. This course is a solid 3 in my opinion rather than a 4 I originally rated it.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.