Jasper, AR 
Horseshoe Canyon Ranch Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16 (Taken 11/2005)
4 / 506ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Thanksgiving Treat

1    11/29/2013   12/3/2013
Review By: dmarsh27
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful. Creative basket placements. Even compared to some of the best courses in Colorado and California, almost half of the holes stand out as memorable, and I already want to go back for more. Some par 4s and 5s. Calls for some long RHBH anhyzers or forehands with fade. Nice use of the ups and downs of the terrain (although I'd like for them to add one huge down hill shot - even bigger than #16, maybe off of a bluff with some kind of incorporation of the 2,800 foot zip line). Some nice through-the-tree-gap shots. Water hazards require some care in spots.

This is the kind of course that gets better and better the more you play it, and every hole is distinct. (Some other reviewer already did a nice job of describing the holes).

One of the prettiest places in Arkansas, and the drive out there is nice too. Stop at the Marble store for catfish, or better yet, try the Low Gap Cafe. Mix in some time on the Buffalo River or Lost Valley trail/cave before heading back home.
Cons: Your $5.50 does not include a map or scorecard. They encouraged me to take a photo of the course map on their clubhouse wall, which was slightly better than nothing, but the map here on dgcoursereview is 100X better. You will likely not have cell coverage, so load the map onto your phone before venturing out towards Jasper. I spent way too much time and energy searching for baskets. Some of the baskets are truly hard to find, especially #8 (way up the hill) and #12 (don't overshoot to #14). I also spent too much time looking for tees (#4 is across the pond and up the hill). With leaves on the ground and much distance between some of the holes, you'll end up just on a pretty hike if you just try to wing it.

Tee boxes are dirt or grass, and not always entirely flat. There are wood boards that let you know what line to throw behind, and give you a good sense of which way to throw.

Only a few holes had signage with a distance, direction, and par listed. And since many holes are not par 3, I'd recommend loading par info before playing. It will make you feel better about that 4, 5, or 6.

The ranch was packed with a hundred or so climbers, horse riders, and kids petting animals. This is only a con because many of them were camping there and a few had pitched tents on the course. People were friendly, but I had to warn them of potential danger before teeing off. Maybe it was just the Thanksgiving weekend crowd.
Other Thoughts: This is rural Arkansas, not a groomed city course. Bring a towel to clean your discs, just in case (there's manure).

The pictures for holes #16,17,18 do not match what I just played. Just be mindful of that if you're trying to use the photos to navigate the course.

The course basically makes a big counter-clockwise loop, and at times you will be a long ways from a bathroom or water source.

We were the only group playing disc golf, and judging by the lack of foot-traffic wear on the course, it appears as though disc golf is far from the most popular activity at the ranch.

There are farm animals roaming around. I adjusted my route on #18 to avoid hitting a group of horses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Layout, Long Walks, Terrible Management

1    12/14/2012   12/15/2012
Review By: RC51ManSam
Played: 27  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course has a great layout and lots of challenging and awesome holes.
Cons: The bad side of this course is that there are long walks between holes and the terrain is rough. The lack of tee pads, and the fact where you tee is very uneven and rocky means you can't really set your feet or get a good run-up. The management (Jamie) was very rude and unaccomadating. She was very rude and unwilling to work with the group I was with.
Other Thoughts: Due to the cons of this course I would only recommend it as a play it to experience it and my group will not be returning.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging length

2-4    3/17/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: Filipeeno
Played: 31  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging distance on almost every hole. Great views of the Ozark Mtns.Great changes in elevation throughout the course. Variety of shots needed. Use full skill set for a good score.
Cons: Pay to play. No concrete tee pads. Tee signs minimal.
Other Thoughts: If this course could take care of the cons I mentioned, it would be a 4.5 or 5 for me. I love a course covering an expanse of mother nature like this one.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Fun course!

1    3/18/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: mhwalkabout
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great layout, fun and challenging holes, awesome scenery, only $5. Holes 13 and 15 are great!
Cons: Really hard to navigate. No maps available.
Other Thoughts: Owners should at least paint an arrow on the basket bases pointing the way to the next tee. A hand-drawn map that they photocopy and give out would even be helpful.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

2-4    9/5/2009   9/6/2009
Review By: zudalu
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: By far the most spectacular course i have ever played. Set down inside a canon in the middle a nation forest. Shot that extremely unique. Huge variety of shots. Just a great experience.
Cons: Poor tee box, dirt and with a 2x4. Most sign have been knocked down. No map so first time playing it is very hard to navigate, especially with the knocked down signs.
Other Thoughts: Live 2 hours and have driven to here to play 2 now. Love the course. I wish they would be just a little more work into it and could easily be by a 5 disc course.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 An Ozark Gem

5+    9/3/2009   9/3/2009
Review By: DiSCRoCKeR
Played: 107  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 14.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I can't really say much more about this course that hasn't already been said. Beautiful course with amazing scenery. Many long and challenging throws. A few tight alley shots but most of the holes are pretty open. Almost all of the holes are over 300 feet with #8 being a 650 ft. uphill toss. There are a few risk/reward shots thrown in to make things interesting. This course is a must play if you are in the area and it is also worth driving several hours to just to play it. The ranch is also a popular site for camping and rock climbing. Don't pass this one up!!
Cons: Dirt tees. No course map and most of the tee signs have been knocked down by horses. Horse poo a plenty though I have never had a disc land in any on any of my visits there.
Other Thoughts: Holes 16 - 18 have been moved due to compaints from the campers since these holes used to play through the camping area. I talked to one of the ranch workers at the camp store and it seems that the course is one of the least concerns regarding the ranch. I said that was a shame because they have one of the best courses I have ever played and that it would be nice to see them give some more attention to their wonderful course and the sport.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/28/2006   11/28/2008
Review By: Pitch
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 38.6 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fantastic views,Huge layout(Pack a few things,Your gonna be out there a while)Monster distances that can be reached.Great facility.A MUST see if you can.Several signature holes.
Cons: Not for the faint of heart.If your not in shape better stay away.Can't get there enough LOL!
Concrete T Pads and Alternate Pin Placements would make it a 5.
Other Thoughts: This course should be the A Tier or Super Tour location for Arkansas.I'd like to see the big boys on this one.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.