Jasper, AR 
Horseshoe Canyon Ranch Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7 (Taken 11/2005)
4 / 516ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Thanksgiving Treat

1    11/29/2013   12/3/2013
Review By: dmarsh27
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful. Creative basket placements. Even compared to some of the best courses in Colorado and California, almost half of the holes stand out as memorable, and I already want to go back for more. Some par 4s and 5s. Calls for some long RHBH anhyzers or forehands with fade. Nice use of the ups and downs of the terrain (although I'd like for them to add one huge down hill shot - even bigger than #16, maybe off of a bluff with some kind of incorporation of the 2,800 foot zip line). Some nice through-the-tree-gap shots. Water hazards require some care in spots.

This is the kind of course that gets better and better the more you play it, and every hole is distinct. (Some other reviewer already did a nice job of describing the holes).

One of the prettiest places in Arkansas, and the drive out there is nice too. Stop at the Marble store for catfish, or better yet, try the Low Gap Cafe. Mix in some time on the Buffalo River or Lost Valley trail/cave before heading back home.
Cons: Your $5.50 does not include a map or scorecard. They encouraged me to take a photo of the course map on their clubhouse wall, which was slightly better than nothing, but the map here on dgcoursereview is 100X better. You will likely not have cell coverage, so load the map onto your phone before venturing out towards Jasper. I spent way too much time and energy searching for baskets. Some of the baskets are truly hard to find, especially #8 (way up the hill) and #12 (don't overshoot to #14). I also spent too much time looking for tees (#4 is across the pond and up the hill). With leaves on the ground and much distance between some of the holes, you'll end up just on a pretty hike if you just try to wing it.

Tee boxes are dirt or grass, and not always entirely flat. There are wood boards that let you know what line to throw behind, and give you a good sense of which way to throw.

Only a few holes had signage with a distance, direction, and par listed. And since many holes are not par 3, I'd recommend loading par info before playing. It will make you feel better about that 4, 5, or 6.

The ranch was packed with a hundred or so climbers, horse riders, and kids petting animals. This is only a con because many of them were camping there and a few had pitched tents on the course. People were friendly, but I had to warn them of potential danger before teeing off. Maybe it was just the Thanksgiving weekend crowd.
Other Thoughts: This is rural Arkansas, not a groomed city course. Bring a towel to clean your discs, just in case (there's manure).

The pictures for holes #16,17,18 do not match what I just played. Just be mindful of that if you're trying to use the photos to navigate the course.

The course basically makes a big counter-clockwise loop, and at times you will be a long ways from a bathroom or water source.

We were the only group playing disc golf, and judging by the lack of foot-traffic wear on the course, it appears as though disc golf is far from the most popular activity at the ranch.

There are farm animals roaming around. I adjusted my route on #18 to avoid hitting a group of horses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Intermediate/Expert

1    12/27/2012   5/8/2013
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a private ranch, which is home to general camping, climbing, and horse riding activities. As long as the course is open, there shouldn't be any major interference.
- Terrain here is pretty mountainous, with plenty of elevation changes, rock formations, and scenic views. Steep downhill shots include #5, a nasty downhill hyzer or sneaky flick into dense woods, #6 plays down on the back end, and #7 is an open bomber. Plenty of valley shots as well; #8 is the mother of all valley shots; with a long steep uphill approach past a line of trees. #2 is a smaller creek valley, but has a tight line to snake through. #15 shoots through some trees over a deep valley as well. Not too many uphill tee shots, really, but plenty of uphill approach shots. Also many many spots with slopes off the fairway to swallow errant drives, like holes #9 thru #12.
- Decent amount of trees and woods here to force line shaping; both off the tee and on approach shots. #2 is a tight FH shot through trees, #5 forces some sort of wide shot, probably a hyzer, into a large patch of woods, and #6 is a FH flex out of some woods. #3 has a hard right turn at the end of the fairway for a tough approach. Other holes have woods on the right side to take away hyzer lines as well.
- Lots of hazards here to cause trouble; #2 has a small creek to go over, #3 has a decent sized pond in front of the basket, #6 has a pond way way left of the fairway. Plenty of valleys/rollaways on holes to make trouble. #13 has the signature basket on a boulder; a nearly vertical upshot is required to stick on the 'green'.
- Plenty of distance at this course, there are some BOMBERS out here that the biggest arms will reach back on. #1 is 529' and slightly downhill, #3 is a long uphill at 484' (with the hard turn at the end). #8, the gigantic uphill valley shot, plays looooong at 650'. Also shorter holes to get deuces on with a good shot - or much much worse with a bad shot. #12 is a blind, short flick around a boulder with rollaway potential. #14 is open, pretty short, but again has a rollaway behind the basket. Scoring out here can take raw power AND a gentle touch.
- Wooden posts with hole numbers are good enough to locate the tees, but the map is definitely needed to get going at first. Tees seemed OK, doesn't seem to get much traffic to wear them down. Baskets are having a rough go; a couple were tipped over and others were in really bad shape. Kinda sucked having to walk up and set up the basket before a couple of putts.
Cons: - Cons, cons, let's see... oh, I got one. Horse crap. Horse crap everywhere. EVERYWHERE. Teeing off? Horse poop. Approach shot? Horse pie. Putting? Might just be a big pile in the basket. I understand that this place is called Horseshoe Canyon Ranch because it is in a canyon shaped like a horseshoe. But honestly, just call it Horsepoop Canyon Ranch.
Other Thoughts: - Well, this is a big time course with big time shots. Elevation changes, woods, water, rock formations, technical lines, bombers, doglegs, really a little bit of everything. A fair amount of pretty open shots, but there is enough variety where it doesn't detract too much.
- Best suited for advanced players, intermediate players will be fine as well. Beginners might be a tad overwhelmed.
- If things like teepads, signs, and baskets make or break your round, you might be disappointed. But the golf itself is top notch,

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great Layout but that's ALL

1    12/14/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: inoladiscgolf
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 22 Not
Pros: Course is on some great land. Up,down,flat and all kinds of shots.
Cons: Horses and goats all over coures. No tee pads(rocks and hores poo) on the so called tees. Talked to office day before was good with my group paying when finished with first round. Went in to pay after one and was told we are lucky we didn't get kicked off. Was told had good disc selection (10-12) guess that is good for them.

2 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 Great Layout, Long Walks, Terrible Management

1    12/14/2012   12/15/2012
Review By: RC51ManSam
Played: 27  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course has a great layout and lots of challenging and awesome holes.
Cons: The bad side of this course is that there are long walks between holes and the terrain is rough. The lack of tee pads, and the fact where you tee is very uneven and rocky means you can't really set your feet or get a good run-up. The management (Jamie) was very rude and unaccomadating. She was very rude and unwilling to work with the group I was with.
Other Thoughts: Due to the cons of this course I would only recommend it as a play it to experience it and my group will not be returning.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging length

2-4    3/17/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: Filipeeno
Played: 31  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging distance on almost every hole. Great views of the Ozark Mtns.Great changes in elevation throughout the course. Variety of shots needed. Use full skill set for a good score.
Cons: Pay to play. No concrete tee pads. Tee signs minimal.
Other Thoughts: If this course could take care of the cons I mentioned, it would be a 4.5 or 5 for me. I love a course covering an expanse of mother nature like this one.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 OKAY Course

1    10/24/2011   11/9/2011
Review By: Zfreeman43
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great for long arm throws, scenery, challenging, lots of unique shots.
Cons: Gotta hike to find basket then hike back to throw, no signs to let you know where to even begin looking on some holes, horse manure- LOTS!!, not taken care of, and goats just roaming in middle of course
Other Thoughts: cost $5 to play which is not bad, but its not worth it for this course, bring a camera to take pictures.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Very scenic, but not care for...

1    10/24/2011   10/25/2011
Review By: dlopez916
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.4 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very Scenic, Challenging Holes, Good Baskets, they made use of the land very well.
Cons: No Concrete Tee Boxes, No signs on the holes. The course is extremely hard to navigate, especially if it is your first time. Horse droppings everywhere. Tee off spots not only lacked concrete, but they weren't reliably flat or sure footed. 5$ to play.
Other Thoughts: I like the scenery, but you could tell this place w did not care about it's disc golf course. We spent a ton of time trying to find the next hole, and a ton of time trying to find the basket for each hole. No signs, terrible tee off spots, could easily roll an ankle teeing off if not careful. This is one I can say I played, but probably wont go back.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Should host the National Championships

2-4    8/24/2009   6/26/2011
Review By: StoneWallKid
Played: 18  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2012
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: This is a huge course! These are some long and interesting holes! There are multiple lines for almost all of them. There are water shots, wooded shots, field shots, cliff shots, bridge shots, etc shots. Its beautiful!
Cons: A few of the fairways are always soaking wet which usually leaves you with at least one soggy shoe. Length of the course is both a pro and a con. I'm always exhausted by the end.
Other Thoughts: While I put the length under con cause the hike in the summer can be unbearable, Its really this distance that makes it so epic.. There are shots off cilffs, up cliffs, over hills, around, down, between, hills/creeks/woods/Horse barns.. This place is Great if you have a long arm and good hiking boots! There is one hole that you play down a tiered hill into a family of goats, then play over and cross a huge swinging bridge! Brilliant layout!

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 horseshoe canyon

1    4/1/2011   4/3/2011
Review By: arkansas_banjo
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: absolutely phenomenal course blew my mind the scenery was fantastic the elevation changes are crazy awesome; had a goat dog follow us for all 18 holes. Great hole locations
Cons: the front 9 is waaaaaaaaay long rest up your arm for this course. the only way this course could have been any better is if they had concrete tee pads and if they had a map in the pro shop showing where the holes were
Other Thoughts: Best Course in Arkansas......Period

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 LONG

1    9/17/2010   1/5/2011
Review By: chains314
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: - Beautiful scenery
- Good variety of holes
- Bouldering, Hiking, and Mountain climbing in the same canyon.
- Ranch activity all around makes it a neat experience
Cons: - Long. I mean super long.
- Very difficult to navigate. (keep an eye out for tiny patches of pink synthetic grass because that and a 2x4 are the only things marking tees.
- $5 fee to play.
Other Thoughts: - Find someone who can help you navigate the course.
- Don't play the day before you play here. You will need your arm fresh.

3 of 15 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.