Disc Golf Store
Hannibal, MO 
Huckleberry DGC Share
Uploaded By: Charger440 Hole #11
3 / 150ft.   3 / 247ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun but nothing special

5+    8/18/2013   3/14/2014
Review By: wfisher74
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: Fun, medium length, not to demanding, not to easy. Concrete tee pads. Has a decent variety of shots and drives. More of an open course, good for beginners and intermediate players. Makes decent use of land, flow is somewhat natural where possible. Park seems to be maintained well and there are only a few areas of high grass and they really dont come into play.
Cons: While its not that special, its also not that bad. There are a few wacky holes, and the layout can be hard to follow the first few times you play. The water area is littered with goose poop, so even if you dont land in the lake, your disc is impregnated with goose poop.
Other Thoughts: My second home course. I play there 2-3 times a month sometimes more.

 Nice First Course

1    6/6/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: Dan Ensor
Played: 56  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good use of space. Good elevation change. Some demanding pin positions (woods, lake, and dropoffs close by). Concrete tees. Signs, some that help locate the next teebox. DisCatchers. A tough mando (a lot of people are going to complain about it because it makes an easy pitch shot a very difficult hyzer). Good shot differentiation.
Cons: Very short. One hole plays over a parking lot, and a few play over a road. The woods could use some clearing out, but it's a newer course; I'm sure that will happen. It is a little confusing, but most of the more confusing parts are explained on the signs. Not many trash cans or benches, but that's not as big an issue on smaller courses like this one.
Other Thoughts: A nice course to work on your mid-range drives. It's not hard to keep it in the fairway. A nice walk in the park, broken up by some shots that don't make you face-palm trying to decide what shot to throw.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 windy sucks!

2-4    5/8/2012   5/8/2012
Review By: skyzer213
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: there are some bigger shots (350-400) that are great in the wind.
Cons: wide open and not enough variety. when it gets windy its tough to get anything to work. hole 8 is probably the stupidest hole i have ever seen. the layout is mediocre at best (tees and holes right nest to each other.
Other Thoughts: good course for kind of being out in the middle of nowhere. not sure who actually plays here since i have never seen anyone on the course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good MidRange/Beginners Course

1    4/1/2012   4/1/2012
Review By: BreuerKyle
Played: 40  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.4 Years
Pros: Good Signage and Concrete Tees! Signs not only help spot the basket and out of bounds, but help point you to the next tee pad.

Forces players to make a wide variety of shots, and the lake comes into play on some holes, which is always fun.
Cons: Short Course, most people will be able to use one or 2 discs. Some holes could be located better to increase the flow of the course. Also, park road goes through course, and seems to have quite a bit of traffic (so, just make sure you are aware of the cars before you throw).
Other Thoughts: Fun course! Great for beginners as they should have no problem reaching each hole with their throws. It also forces them to make different shots and work on different throws.

It's also great for intermediate to advanced players, like me, to work on their midrange game. It also plays pretty quickly.

 

5+    3/23/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: Jintaq
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of park space. Varied holes with decent flow. Uses some elevation. Has an extra warm-up/putting hole. Good mix of holes favoring power RHBH and many favoring accurate forehand shots.
Cons: Last few holes criss-cross each other making some of your walking feel redundant and creating minor player hazards. There is a short hole that is a U-turn in the woods, my least favorite hole out of my five regular courses on an otherwise great course.
Other Thoughts: Very fun course. My favorite in a casual driving distance. Recommended.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Well groomed confusion!

1    6/22/2011   6/22/2011
Review By: Tricky
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My brother and I decided to play this course while on our way through from Iowa to Tennessee. The park was easy to find and parking was right by the practice basket. My first impression was that it was nice to see how well maintained the park/course is. The baskets were all easy to spot and were in good shape. I'm a huge fan of concrete tee pads and this course provided nice and level concrete pads.

All in all I would say it is an easy course, but some of it didn't make much sense.
Cons: Course is a little tricky to navigate if you have not been to the park before. Since it's a smaller park, some of the holes are in the middle of where people are enjoying their day at the park. I feel that the course designer had some great initial ideas and just not enough land. As some of the holes don't make sense. Hole #8 was is a U-Turn hole, which was just frustrating to play. And like others have said there are a few holes where the road comes into play in a big way. Some of the holes seem like they were just thrown in the mix.
Other Thoughts: I think this course would have been AWESOME if it had a little more land and didn't have to be slammed between park activities, baseball fields and roads. I think some of the holes are great and could challenge any skill level. It requires you to bring some shots to the course, yet still great for the family.

I hope they rethink a few holes and the way they flow together to make it easier to walk and make a little more sense.

I would probably play it again, but it would have to be in a weekday when I was sure there weren't going to be big crowds, baseball games and traffic inside the park.

Again, the course designer had great ideas and you see glimpses of the creativity on some holes and then scratch your head on the next. All in all, I can't complain to much when I'm playing disc golf.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/10/2009   7/24/2010
Review By: urdone00
Played: 123  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 34.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: nice, well maintained course next to hwy 61. most holes are descent
Cons: a "U" turn hole?? what the hell are you doing. got all this land and you put a hole in like this.
Other Thoughts: most holes are pretty wide open with gently sloping hills, maybe plant a bunch of trees and in 10-20 years this course could be pretty good.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 ahhh shucks Huck...

1    6/4/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: dajuicej
Played: 60  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 34.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: very well maintained course. nice baskets, and concrete tees. check the course directory on the parking lot to find tee#1 and the signs on each tee do a pretty good job of guiding you around the course.
Cons: the park is pretty small. while the first 7 holes are kinda spread out the rest are in a relatively small area. the course has a couple U-TURN holes which I really dislike, throwing in a circle around obstacles/trees to a basket not far from the tee. holes from #12 on zig zag back and forth up a long hill around parking lots and the road. half the course plays around a ball field and parking lots, if there was a game going on with spectators it would be very difficult to play. the street that runs through the park is very busy and an errant throw could easily hit a passing car. so it`s best to time your throws to the cars particularly on #7.
Other Thoughts: if you`re in the area, it`s worth a round.
even with the cons mentioned above any course this well maintained deserves
"3 discs".

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 America's Hometown Course

1    3/15/2009   3/15/2009
Review By: Keokuk Discer
Played: 28  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well maintained course. The tee signs are helpful and has good info on them. The course has a good variety of short and long shots. There is a lot of parking and the park is easy to find. This is a beautiful park.
Cons: The alternate tees aren't easy to find so me and my wife just played the white tees. Marking these would be great, especially for the novice player. Like another person said, some of the back 9 holes need to be moved to make the flow of the course a little easier. All of the tees should be concrete. Also marking which location the pin is in would be helpful.
Other Thoughts: With all concrete tees and marking the alternate tees would make this a 4 course. I enjoyed myself and had a great round. I'll definitely go back again.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good beginner coarse

5+    9/20/2008   9/29/2008
Review By: Charger440
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wide open coarse with a couple challenging holes. Well maintained and is a fairly new coarse. The skate park has disks you can buy for $8 but they are very limited on the selection. Last time I was up there they had 3 of the putter and about 6 sharks.
Cons: Another reader noted that the natural tees are in bad shape on most holes but I always play to the side of most of the tees.
Other Thoughts: Come on up and play the coarse. It's more of a casual coarse but it still a very nice coarse to play.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.