Disc Golf Store
Arcata, CA 
Humboldt State University Share
Uploaded By: mike shoys Hole #15
-- / --   3 / 242ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
You're playing disc golf in a redwood forest!

1    7/20/2013   6/17/2014
Review By: 12thManJustin
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Super cool climbing up the redwood stump that is hole 2's tee pad.
The back half was absolutely stunning for me, after you shoot the pond hole the remaining holes are full of huge redwood trees. Much nicer then the college of redwoods course in my opinion.
Cons: It was kind of hard finding the parking lot as an out of towner. Couldn't have imagined playing this course with out a guide, would've made for a longer round I'm sure.
Other Thoughts: I was lucky to find a local on hole one to guide me through the course. He was a nice dude and he shot his best round with us.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Environment

1    7/7/2012   7/12/2012
Review By: underpar24
Played: 118  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course is placed in the Redwoods and it is absolutely beautiful. Great placement of pins up and down hills. Tight course but not unrealistically tight. Great shade for summer play.
Cons: Course tee boxes are poor.
Hard to navigate for first timers
Other Thoughts: Getting the chance to play in the Redwoods is something to jump on. This is a great course and allows you to hike through Redwoods while you play.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

18 Baskets are now installed!!!

5+    2/4/2012   2/5/2012
Review By: trashmonster1985
Played: 80  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: OVERVIEW: Extremely fun, but difficult 18 holes! A lot of work has been done recently and despite rumors saying otherwise, there are 18 BASKETS now. The Par Infinity club deserves a lot of thanks and are continually making the course better. Gorgeous walk through redwoods, this course is a unique must for disc golfers everywhere.
Cons:

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Going to miss the Curtain

5+    5/23/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 284  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.2 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- The Redwood Curtain (locals name) is a great course with a variety of shots - uphill, downhill, tight, moderately open, short, long, etc...
- Course repays accuracy - there is a lot of trouble out there for poor drives.
- Beautiful scenery through the redwoods, a great Nor-Cal DG experience.
- Several infamous shots - treestump tee-pad for Hole #2, lake shot on Hole #11 (in the video Bang Da' Chains), tight redwooded fairways (everywhere).
- HUMBOLDT Greenery!
Cons:
- If you've never played on tone-poles before it will be a shock the first time you see one. I'm used to it now, but I hated them at first.
- The natural tee-pads get muddy and a few of them are ankle breakers. Tee-pads are also short, uneven, off camber, etc...
- Can be hard/impossible to find your way around "the curtain" the first time. NO SIGNAGE/NO MAP.
- There always seems to be an 8-sum in front of you... and to make it worse they probably can't golf.
Other Thoughts:
- It would be beneficial to get a guide for your first trip through this course - easy to do if you wait a while since someone is always there. Otherwise you'll be looking everywhere for tee-pad #2 (on a redwwod tree stump) and every tee-pad from there on.
- There are the "Hidden 6" holes in the back that are set up part of the year. Need a local to find them.
- If you're coming to Humboldt for a DG vacation, hit up a fellow dgcr'er for some guidance... especially since there are several courses in Humboldt that are on private property and not listed on this site.
- I'm moving out of Humboldt and going to miss this - my 2nd Home Course.
- My best score: -8

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites

5+    4/13/2009   4/29/2009
Review By: welshjohn74
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 19.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Outstanding scenery. Challenging shots. Friendly locals.
Cons: Seeing garbage left in the forest. Easy to lose your disc if you're not careful.
Other Thoughts: The real name of this course as Par Infinity, after the club that installed and maintains the course. Getting lost on the course is not really a problem, you are never alone on the course and locals are always willing to point you in the right direction. There is what's known as the Fern Rule: if your disc lands in a fern or other sensitive vegetation, step to the side of the fern and take your shot. This rule is important in a place like this to protect the plants. Also try to stick to the trails as much as possible to help prevent erosion. I played and loved this course for years and I will dearly miss playing it. Summer evening rounds before sunset are sublime! I personally enjoy the mix of baskets and tone poles. There is nothing more satisfying than hitting a tone pole from far away. Everyone in the forest knows you just made your shot and the celebration of an ace is instantaneous.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Humboldt Paradise

5+    2/19/2009   2/20/2009
Review By: union1mc
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/22/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful, challenging course. New Tone poles on a bunch of the holes. Looks like some new bedding (hard packed gravel?) was laid down recently on the tee boxes, which makes them much more flat and less muddy. Just a downright gorgeous setting that makes it hard to not enjoy yourself, even if your hitting trees all day.
Cons: There are some muddy tee boxes (which is to be expected this time of year) and a couple of just very uneven ones (with nice big roots running through). I really wish we could get all the massive piles of branches/brush out of the fairway on some of the holes. If you are new to this course, it could be one big puzzle as it is not marked out well overall. I've definitely had to help show the way to more then a few people in the past. I've added a hand drawn map (made by Par Infinity) under the "Links/Files" tab, to hopefully help show the way if you are new to the course (hole #19 shown on the map is no longer there btw). Unlike what was posted by a reviewer on here awhile ago that "there are no fairways or tee boxes, etc" there actually are, you just need to know where they are.
Other Thoughts: I've been in Humboldt County the last 10 years and this is by far my favorite course up here. If your visiting the area and would like to play (or shown) any of the courses up here, drop me a PM. I usually play everyday if I have the chance.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/19/2009   1/19/2009
Review By: mike shoys
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/18/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -super-epic course. tightly wooded, but there's always some line through...
-lots of tall redwoods with no low branches.
-i personally like the mix of baskets and tone poles.
-course feels pretty isolated for being right next to HSU and close to town.
Cons: -on an off day, this course will demoralize and break you (me) there are plenty of opportunities to hit some branch 50 feet away and screw yourself into a 200 foot approach from behind a few groves of redwoods...
-no teepads. tough to play in the winter, but i played it in december and it was soupy, but i was wearing sandles and kept my socks dry...
Other Thoughts: IF YOU PLAY THIS COURSE HAVE SOMEONE WHO KNOWS IT SHOW YOU, OR FOLLOW A LOCAL... me and my friends had a terrible time the first time through, because we spent 2/3rds of our time looking for holes... once you know it, it flows nicely, with only 2 cris-crossing fairways both on the front 10.

I give this course a 4 only because of tee box condition, lack of signage and two crossing fairways. other than that, I feel this course is perfect in a setting that is second to none.

There is a garbage can at the parking lot, along with a soda machine, no bathrooms. no food within easy walking distance. Its a campus parking lot so check the signs on the way in.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Redwood madness

1    6/12/2006   11/4/2008
Review By: Starwraith169
Played: 48  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 11.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It was a gorgeous course in cool ass town. Really technical shots and elevation changes were awesome.On hole 2 you get to climb the side of this massive redwood stump and tee off from the top of it like 10 ft off the ground. Sweet shot. Also, I liked hole 18 "Highway to Hell", I think the locals said.
Cons: Could be confusing playing by yourself the first time, and the gong setup wasnt my bag. Easy to lose your discs on some holes
Other Thoughts: I was on a road trip and was traveling thru, and just happened to catch a Sunday Doubles tourney. Great people to play with.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Forest Moon of Endor

6/28/2008   7/6/2008
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 246  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Being from the east coast playing a redwoods course was a real treat. Giant trees aside, the course offered many throwing challenges and a wide variety of holes, a couple over water. Large ferns and other plants were fun too and the joke of the day was we were playing on the forest moon of Endor. Also, love the tone poles. A very unique course.
Cons: Course was a little hard to navigate but well worth the time to figure out. A map at the bulletin board could be a huge improvement.
Other Thoughts: Teeing off from on top a huge redwood stump was fantastic. Also the locals we met on the course we a lot of fun. "Welcome to Humbolt County"

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.