Arcata, CA 
Humboldt State University Share
Uploaded By: humchris85 Hole #10 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 341ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
stunning fun

1    6/21/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: bentpenny
Played: 74  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 26.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Simply beautiful--what an amazing course. The holes have tremendous character, with gems like teeing off a redwood stump on #2. In general, it was easy to find errant discs and the grounds were dry and relatively easy to navigate, even with steep elevation. Almost every hole was a stunning view to the basket, with creative and interesting placements for the pins. Advanced throwers will find it challenging, yet there are birdie opportunities as a reward for making it through the gaps between giant redwoods. This is simply one of the most amazing courses I've ever seen.
Cons: We would have been desperately lost without guides. Don't even think about playing this course the first time without someone to show you the way. Fortunately, we met not one but two groups who were willing to let us tag along for the front/back respectively.
Other Thoughts: I've played only one other course--Base Camp Adventures in Moab--that compares with The Redwood Curtain in terms of beauty and quality discing experience. This course was instantly one of my all-time favorites.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Simply Amazing

1    7/23/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: jmp55
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery meets challenging course. I'm still very new to the sport, so this was a bit challenging for me. But since it was so beautiful, it cushioned the blow of my less than stellar score.
I started this sport to get get a little exercise and enjoy some more time with nature. This course really delivered on both.
Cons: A couple of the holes have not been updated to baskets yet. Also, if you have a shot that leaves the fairway, you may find yourself hard pressed to find your disc amongst the foliage.
Other Thoughts: Truly a can't miss course in California! I mean, hole #2 has a tee box atop a massive Sequoia Red Wood Tree stump (at least 10ft tall), how can you beat that?!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/15/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: tehrain
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.6 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Best marked course on the Nor-Cal coast.
-Great, narrow fairways with huge redwoods guarding every window
-Full arsenal of shots required. You WILL need good recovery skills at some point in the round.
-Great terrain. The elevation changes will give you a little bit of a workout and you'll love it.
Cons: -Most first-timers will get lost without a guide. Make sure to follow the locals. New signs help once you're on the teepad, but just knowing where the next teepad is tends to get people.
-The only thing missing on the course to me is the chance to really open up. The holes aren't short by any means, but it's nice to have a couple holes on every course where you can test your arm.
Other Thoughts: Don't miss this course if you're in the area. It will be worth it, I promise.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Aaron McKenna

1    4/26/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: StringPeachIncident
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9.4 Years
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: *Sick elevation
*Decent hike
*Some really technical and fun shots
*Playing in the Redwoods (what beats that?)
Cons: *Some thick bushes
*Entirely unmarked and incredibly hard to even know where to start if youve never played here before
*Tone Holes mixed with baskets it random order
*No official te spots
Other Thoughts: If it werent for this guy i met there at the beginning of the coursei probably wouldve played about 7holes and left. Luckily i had a personal guide through this really interestig and beautiful course, theres a bunch of sick shots downhills and over ponds from up above. The back holes are deffinately my favorite with a wider variation of shots and take a little more skill than the front. I would for sure come back, especially knowing where all the holes and tee spots are now. if you havent already, go for hike and find the back, ill post pictures at some point, dope huck over water

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 My personal favorite

5+    8/29/2009   9/10/2009
Review By: DocMenach
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.6 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is my personal favorite course. Great hole variety, spectacularly beautiful, and challenging. Any time I go to another course I always find myself comparing it to this one. Also one of the only 18 hole courses nearby.

This course will keep you on your toes. Lots of trees to watch out for, which is excellent for dialing in your accuracy. Plus, since the course is in the forest it often changes from year to year due to trees growing/falling.

Hole variety makes it good for righties or lefties.
Cons: Only 7 of the holes have baskets, the rest are tonepoles (though they are decent tonepoles). Tees are dirt. The course becomes unplayable due to mud and closes during the rainy part of the year.
Other Thoughts: It's good to be able to throw both forehands and backhands on this course.

Watch out for the Trillum flowers(they are delicate and rare), and try not to trample the vegetation.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 All around, best course I have played

5+    5/13/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: gobias
Played: 90  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.3 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery, challenging disc golf, friendly people. The course has plenty of variety, and hence does not favor lefties or righties. After hole 14, head up the hill to the left for 6 extra holes, giving the course at least 24 holes (more if you ask others).
Cons: The holes are poorly marked- almost as if the locals prefer newbies to not be able to find their way around, which is unfortunate. It rains all the time in Humboldt which make the course a mudfest for much of the year. Dirt tees make the mud issue even worse. Keep an eye on every wayward shot, as ferns are good at swallowing up your discs. All of the holes are par threes- I would have liked to play a few longer par fours or fives winding through the redwoods. Only 6 of the 18 targets are baskets, the rest being tone poles, which can be strange if you're used to only baskets. In my opinion, however, slamming a tone pole is just as rewarding as hitting the chains.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is the most unique and fun course you are likely ever to play. Teeing off from the top of a redwood stump on # 2, drives through stands of gorgeous, gigantic trees, throwing over a water hazard on # 10- this course will bring numerous "firsts" to your dg experience. If you pass through Arcata, CA, PLAY THIS COURSE! You won't regret it. Don't try to do it on your own, however. Wait at the first tee for a local and tag along (they won't mind), or else you'll be lost after hole 3. I love this course!!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 One of a kind

1    4/12/1996   4/12/2009
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 31.6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Unbelievably beautiful setting. Very friendly local players. I had posted to the old BB that I would be passing through and managed to meet up with one of the course contacts who was in the middle of a safari round. He stopped his round and started over on one to give me the tour. I liked the tone poles, there was no doubt that you hit one. The tee on top of the old growth stump was epic.
Cons: Would have been very difficult to find/follow without my guide. The fern carpet means you have to keep a really close eye on your shots.
Other Thoughts: I only got to play the front nine due to time constraints but this is one of my favorite disc golf memories. This course is a must play if you're in the area but try to arrange for a tour.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Hucking in the Redwoods

5+    10/2/2008   3/2/2009
Review By: tdluxon
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a really great course... it is tough, with some long and unusual holes through some tight trees. It is also is one of the most beautiful disc golf courses out there, weaving through a beautiful redwood forest (which coincidentally was where the Ewok scenes in Return of the Jedi were filmed). Lots of tough shots, and tons of fun. There is a cool water hazard shot where you have to tee off over a small, muddy pond, and if you have a bad shot are likely to lose your disc into the water. Another really cool feature, is that the tee for one of the holes is on top of a giant redwood stump. Also, some of the best chronic you will find is usually being burned throughout the course... be nice to the locals, you may be rewarded.
Cons: This is very much a homemade course, which was made and is maintained by the locals who play it. As such, it is not as well maintained or professionally laid out as some courses. There are no cement tee pads, or signs, so the course is hard to find your way through if you are playing it for the first time (although everyone up there is really nice... if you get lost just ask, you may make a new friend). I rains all of the time in Humboldt, so the dirt tee-pads, and the course in general is fairly muddy (I recommend hiking boots, or at least some shoes you don't mind getting dirty). Also, the fairways have lots of thick ferns and undergrowth, so it is easy to lose your disc if you aren't careful. Finally, some people are bothered by the fact that most of the course has tone-poles instead of regular baskets, but to me, this is one of the charming aspects of the course, which was literally put together by local players on their own.
Other Thoughts: Great course, tough holes of all sorts, very beautiful, and in Humboldt... what more could you want? I can see how people (like the guy from Maine who gave the course a bad review) would not like it, because, if you are playing the course for the first time, and you don't have someone who knows the course with you to show you around, it would be really hard to find all of the holes, but, once you learn it, this is one of the funnest and most beautiful courses around... my favorite course other than Dela.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Redwood Curtain is Great!!

5+    2/3/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: pinso707
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: It has great technical holes and distance holes too.
Lots of lumber, lots of it! Located in the beautiful Arcata Community Forrest. Funnest course i have ever played that was open to public.
Cons: too many Totem poles

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Redwoods, redwoods, and more redwoods

5+    7/25/2012   6/7/2008
Review By: humchris85
Played: 113  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2012
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the most beautiful courses in the world.
Giant Redwoods towering over your head
A fun and challenging course for all.
Lots of different shots will test every throw in your bag.
Lefty and Righty fair
Lots of elevation change.
Many very unique holes that you can't play anywhere else in the world.
Some ace-able holes.
Teeing off of a giant stump on hole 2 is one of the coolest things ever.
Lots of cool people that play here.
Nice new handmade wooden tee signs.
Baskets on every hole now.
Multiple pin positions on most holes
Cons: Some beginners will feel overwhelmed.
Bad shots can put you into very bad places.
*Lots of ferns to eat your discs (the ferns add a lot to scenery)
Tee boxes get a little muddy in winter.
Parking can be a pain in the @$$ when the RSL lot isn't open for parking and HSU is in session.
Trash on the course is a real drag when you're on such a beautiful course.
Other Thoughts: A guide is a must for your first couple of rounds.
Pack your own water and food.
PACK OUT WHAT YOU PACK IN!!
Hole 18, "Stairway to Hell", is a tightly wooded throw over a canyon that is an epic hole.

Edit. Work party on 12/04/10. We got new tee signs on all the holes as well as 2 new baskets on holes 9 (G-Curve) and 10 (Alder Slash), with 2 pin placements on 10. We also cleaned up a larger green on hole 8 (Tunnel Vision), put redwood bark paths in on 8 and 9, put down a hand shredded redwood bark tee pad on hole 7 (Don't Fret), and a wider tee box on hole 18 (Stairway to Hell).

Edit 2012: Baskets now on every hole, with multiple pin positions on most holes. Also tee pads have been further improved and are quite nice now.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.