Arcata, CA
Humboldt State University Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #6 (Taken 11/2012)
-- / --   3 / 201ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Approach



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Fun and Difficult

5+    11/5/2010   2/5/2011
Review By: Cole
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2011
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Its a must play course for any disc golf enthusiast. Quintessential north coast disc golf course. New wooden plaque hole markers have been installed on every regular hole. Great addition, gives you distance as well as a rough layout of the hole. These additions can really help those unfamiliar with this course. Great craftsmanship.
Cons: Its already been said in the other reviews. Muddy in the off season. A guide helps if you've never played, but with new wooden hole markers it is much easier to find your way around.
Other Thoughts: There are a few secret holes too, but they don't have baskets or tone tubes, usually just an upright log or branch. Its fun to play them sometimes if you get tired of the regular holes.

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Aaron McKenna

1    4/26/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: StringPeachIncident
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8.7 Years
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: *Sick elevation
*Decent hike
*Some really technical and fun shots
*Playing in the Redwoods (what beats that?)
Cons: *Some thick bushes
*Entirely unmarked and incredibly hard to even know where to start if youve never played here before
*Tone Holes mixed with baskets it random order
*No official te spots
Other Thoughts: If it werent for this guy i met there at the beginning of the coursei probably wouldve played about 7holes and left. Luckily i had a personal guide through this really interestig and beautiful course, theres a bunch of sick shots downhills and over ponds from up above. The back holes are deffinately my favorite with a wider variation of shots and take a little more skill than the front. I would for sure come back, especially knowing where all the holes and tee spots are now. if you havent already, go for hike and find the back, ill post pictures at some point, dope huck over water

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 this course rules!

5+    5/2/2007   11/4/2009
Review By: number4
Played: 52  Reviewed: 7
5 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: Playing in the redwoods, not many courses offer that. unique tee location on hole 2, it's off an old growth redwood stump.
Cons: some thick vegetation on a few holes, but if you keep to the fairway you are ok.
Other Thoughts: definitely play this course, and come out for leagues, always a fun time at the redwood curtain.

5 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 My personal favorite

5+    8/29/2009   9/10/2009
Review By: DocMenach
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.9 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is my personal favorite course. Great hole variety, spectacularly beautiful, and challenging. Any time I go to another course I always find myself comparing it to this one. Also one of the only 18 hole courses nearby.

This course will keep you on your toes. Lots of trees to watch out for, which is excellent for dialing in your accuracy. Plus, since the course is in the forest it often changes from year to year due to trees growing/falling.

Hole variety makes it good for righties or lefties.
Cons: Only 7 of the holes have baskets, the rest are tonepoles (though they are decent tonepoles). Tees are dirt. The course becomes unplayable due to mud and closes during the rainy part of the year.
Other Thoughts: It's good to be able to throw both forehands and backhands on this course.

Watch out for the Trillum flowers(they are delicate and rare), and try not to trample the vegetation.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 All around, best course I have played

5+    5/13/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: gobias
Played: 78  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.6 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery, challenging disc golf, friendly people. The course has plenty of variety, and hence does not favor lefties or righties. After hole 14, head up the hill to the left for 6 extra holes, giving the course at least 24 holes (more if you ask others).
Cons: The holes are poorly marked- almost as if the locals prefer newbies to not be able to find their way around, which is unfortunate. It rains all the time in Humboldt which make the course a mudfest for much of the year. Dirt tees make the mud issue even worse. Keep an eye on every wayward shot, as ferns are good at swallowing up your discs. All of the holes are par threes- I would have liked to play a few longer par fours or fives winding through the redwoods. Only 6 of the 18 targets are baskets, the rest being tone poles, which can be strange if you're used to only baskets. In my opinion, however, slamming a tone pole is just as rewarding as hitting the chains.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is the most unique and fun course you are likely ever to play. Teeing off from the top of a redwood stump on # 2, drives through stands of gorgeous, gigantic trees, throwing over a water hazard on # 10- this course will bring numerous "firsts" to your dg experience. If you pass through Arcata, CA, PLAY THIS COURSE! You won't regret it. Don't try to do it on your own, however. Wait at the first tee for a local and tag along (they won't mind), or else you'll be lost after hole 3. I love this course!!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Going to miss the Curtain

5+    5/23/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 244  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 12.6 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- The Redwood Curtain (locals name) is a great course with a variety of shots - uphill, downhill, tight, moderately open, short, long, etc...
- Course repays accuracy - there is a lot of trouble out there for poor drives.
- Beautiful scenery through the redwoods, a great Nor-Cal DG experience.
- Several infamous shots - treestump tee-pad for Hole #2, lake shot on Hole #11 (in the video Bang Da' Chains), tight redwooded fairways (everywhere).
- HUMBOLDT Greenery!
Cons:
- If you've never played on tone-poles before it will be a shock the first time you see one. I'm used to it now, but I hated them at first.
- The natural tee-pads get muddy and a few of them are ankle breakers. Tee-pads are also short, uneven, off camber, etc...
- Can be hard/impossible to find your way around "the curtain" the first time. NO SIGNAGE/NO MAP.
- There always seems to be an 8-sum in front of you... and to make it worse they probably can't golf.
Other Thoughts:
- It would be beneficial to get a guide for your first trip through this course - easy to do if you wait a while since someone is always there. Otherwise you'll be looking everywhere for tee-pad #2 (on a redwwod tree stump) and every tee-pad from there on.
- There are the "Hidden 6" holes in the back that are set up part of the year. Need a local to find them.
- If you're coming to Humboldt for a DG vacation, hit up a fellow dgcr'er for some guidance... especially since there are several courses in Humboldt that are on private property and not listed on this site.
- I'm moving out of Humboldt and going to miss this - my 2nd Home Course.
- My best score: -8

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites

5+    4/13/2009   4/29/2009
Review By: welshjohn74
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 18.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Outstanding scenery. Challenging shots. Friendly locals.
Cons: Seeing garbage left in the forest. Easy to lose your disc if you're not careful.
Other Thoughts: The real name of this course as Par Infinity, after the club that installed and maintains the course. Getting lost on the course is not really a problem, you are never alone on the course and locals are always willing to point you in the right direction. There is what's known as the Fern Rule: if your disc lands in a fern or other sensitive vegetation, step to the side of the fern and take your shot. This rule is important in a place like this to protect the plants. Also try to stick to the trails as much as possible to help prevent erosion. I played and loved this course for years and I will dearly miss playing it. Summer evening rounds before sunset are sublime! I personally enjoy the mix of baskets and tone poles. There is nothing more satisfying than hitting a tone pole from far away. Everyone in the forest knows you just made your shot and the celebration of an ace is instantaneous.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of a kind

1    4/12/1996   4/12/2009
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 30.9 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Unbelievably beautiful setting. Very friendly local players. I had posted to the old BB that I would be passing through and managed to meet up with one of the course contacts who was in the middle of a safari round. He stopped his round and started over on one to give me the tour. I liked the tone poles, there was no doubt that you hit one. The tee on top of the old growth stump was epic.
Cons: Would have been very difficult to find/follow without my guide. The fern carpet means you have to keep a really close eye on your shots.
Other Thoughts: I only got to play the front nine due to time constraints but this is one of my favorite disc golf memories. This course is a must play if you're in the area but try to arrange for a tour.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Hucking in the Redwoods

5+    10/2/2008   3/2/2009
Review By: tdluxon
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a really great course... it is tough, with some long and unusual holes through some tight trees. It is also is one of the most beautiful disc golf courses out there, weaving through a beautiful redwood forest (which coincidentally was where the Ewok scenes in Return of the Jedi were filmed). Lots of tough shots, and tons of fun. There is a cool water hazard shot where you have to tee off over a small, muddy pond, and if you have a bad shot are likely to lose your disc into the water. Another really cool feature, is that the tee for one of the holes is on top of a giant redwood stump. Also, some of the best chronic you will find is usually being burned throughout the course... be nice to the locals, you may be rewarded.
Cons: This is very much a homemade course, which was made and is maintained by the locals who play it. As such, it is not as well maintained or professionally laid out as some courses. There are no cement tee pads, or signs, so the course is hard to find your way through if you are playing it for the first time (although everyone up there is really nice... if you get lost just ask, you may make a new friend). I rains all of the time in Humboldt, so the dirt tee-pads, and the course in general is fairly muddy (I recommend hiking boots, or at least some shoes you don't mind getting dirty). Also, the fairways have lots of thick ferns and undergrowth, so it is easy to lose your disc if you aren't careful. Finally, some people are bothered by the fact that most of the course has tone-poles instead of regular baskets, but to me, this is one of the charming aspects of the course, which was literally put together by local players on their own.
Other Thoughts: Great course, tough holes of all sorts, very beautiful, and in Humboldt... what more could you want? I can see how people (like the guy from Maine who gave the course a bad review) would not like it, because, if you are playing the course for the first time, and you don't have someone who knows the course with you to show you around, it would be really hard to find all of the holes, but, once you learn it, this is one of the funnest and most beautiful courses around... my favorite course other than Dela.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Humboldt Paradise

5+    2/19/2009   2/20/2009
Review By: union1mc
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/22/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful, challenging course. New Tone poles on a bunch of the holes. Looks like some new bedding (hard packed gravel?) was laid down recently on the tee boxes, which makes them much more flat and less muddy. Just a downright gorgeous setting that makes it hard to not enjoy yourself, even if your hitting trees all day.
Cons: There are some muddy tee boxes (which is to be expected this time of year) and a couple of just very uneven ones (with nice big roots running through). I really wish we could get all the massive piles of branches/brush out of the fairway on some of the holes. If you are new to this course, it could be one big puzzle as it is not marked out well overall. I've definitely had to help show the way to more then a few people in the past. I've added a hand drawn map (made by Par Infinity) under the "Links/Files" tab, to hopefully help show the way if you are new to the course (hole #19 shown on the map is no longer there btw). Unlike what was posted by a reviewer on here awhile ago that "there are no fairways or tee boxes, etc" there actually are, you just need to know where they are.
Other Thoughts: I've been in Humboldt County the last 10 years and this is by far my favorite course up here. If your visiting the area and would like to play (or shown) any of the courses up here, drop me a PM. I usually play everyday if I have the chance.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.