Arcata, CA 
Humboldt State University Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #6 (Taken 11/2012)
-- / --   3 / 201ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
You're playing disc golf in a redwood forest!

1    7/20/2013   6/17/2014
Review By: 12thManJustin
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Super cool climbing up the redwood stump that is hole 2's tee pad.
The back half was absolutely stunning for me, after you shoot the pond hole the remaining holes are full of huge redwood trees. Much nicer then the college of redwoods course in my opinion.
Cons: It was kind of hard finding the parking lot as an out of towner. Couldn't have imagined playing this course with out a guide, would've made for a longer round I'm sure.
Other Thoughts: I was lucky to find a local on hole one to guide me through the course. He was a nice dude and he shot his best round with us.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Playing The Redwood Curtain Course Without A Guide Is Frustrating!

1    8/15/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Inviting start with kiosk and lots of notes of players asking for their lost discs returned. Handwritten note at # 1 tee pad warning of Hornet's nest. I'm already a little worried. Gorgeous redwood forest mountain terrain.

The course has these new but little wooden signs. They're cure but hard to spot. I'm sure they're made to blend in to the forest. They did so well that I couldn't find a few.

Course keeps you climbing through first six holes before heading back down.

Many epic/memorable throws holes such as the # 2 throwing from atop a 10 foot high Redwood stump.

# 15 was awesome. It's a 242' downhill thread the needle shot to a basket guarded by six smaller Redwoods. It's like being a 6 foot white guy driving the lane and finding Kareem Abdul Jabbar, David Robinson, Shaquille O'Neal, Wilt Chamberlin, Labron James and Dwight Howard all waiting to swat your shot!

# 17 was a wonderful little 211' open ACE run to a basket sitting on an open landing with major trouble behind.

And then # 18 was a really memorable finishing hole, 304'/325', downhill through a tight tunnel through the trees to a basket sitting on a little grassy landing area.

Cons: Need a local for a guide everyone says. After hunting around for the # 2 tee box ( I looked everywhere but 10 feet straight up on a giant stump) a guy comes playing up behind me. Wonderful, thinks I. A local to guide me or perhaps to follow. Nope, this guy is playing speed disc golf with his dog. One disc, throw and run. He barely takes time to point me to the next tee and then he disappears into the forest like a gnome or something. So much for my local guide. The only people I met thereafter were more lost than me. I was giving them directions!

How about something on the baskets helping with the next tee? Either a simple little sign w/arrow hanging from the bottom of the basket or maybe painting the rung that is pointing to the next tee pad.

As beautiful as this course is, my experience was definitely soured by the frustration of trying to navigate it without a guide. I missed the # 11 throw over the little pond as I never quite found the tee pad.

Other Thoughts: The front nine isn't long or overly memorable but the back nine has some super downhills and # 11 is supposedly a fun little throw over the gross, green pond.

But this is a beautiful Redwood's forest and with just a little more help navigating, I would have left with a much more positive vibe.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

stunning fun

1    6/21/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: bentpenny
Played: 73  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 26.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Simply beautiful--what an amazing course. The holes have tremendous character, with gems like teeing off a redwood stump on #2. In general, it was easy to find errant discs and the grounds were dry and relatively easy to navigate, even with steep elevation. Almost every hole was a stunning view to the basket, with creative and interesting placements for the pins. Advanced throwers will find it challenging, yet there are birdie opportunities as a reward for making it through the gaps between giant redwoods. This is simply one of the most amazing courses I've ever seen.
Cons: We would have been desperately lost without guides. Don't even think about playing this course the first time without someone to show you the way. Fortunately, we met not one but two groups who were willing to let us tag along for the front/back respectively.
Other Thoughts: I've played only one other course--Base Camp Adventures in Moab--that compares with The Redwood Curtain in terms of beauty and quality discing experience. This course was instantly one of my all-time favorites.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The forest from the trees.... An out of towner's view

1    4/4/2013   4/5/2013
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 178  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 22.3 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It goes without saying that this forest is lush with big gorgeous trees. These and the nice people gave this place a great atmosphere.

The course itself is challenging (albeit fairly short), forcing tight lines over undulating elevation changes. Beginners may find it frustrating, and advanced players will still find many holes somewhat demanding, though there are many opportunities for birds here.

The memorable holes would include a short (but deadly shot over a pond- #11) and the only tee box INSIDE a giant tree stump I've ever played - #2.
Cons: I did not have a guide, which was recommended in some of the posts here. I wish I had one, but one didn't magically appear for me. I used the online map but still got lost several times. Most important - to find hole 11 - walk back to the parking lot, straight down the road past the kiosk and hook a right on the trail as the road bends left! In a nutshell, I had to downgrade the score by a half point based on the frustration of hiking around looking for the nice (but almost camouflaged) signs on the trees, next to the tees which are natural but almost invisible themselves. The course could really use some "next tee" signs. Sorry, but getting lost can just ruin the fun- now matter how good a course may be. And I like to have fun!

It would be helpful to have flags , perhaps on top of some pins to help identify some of the pins that are blind from the tee.
Other Thoughts: Wear good, sturdy shoes, as there is a lot of slick muddy hills to navigate.

As previous reviewers have stated, watch yourself, as many holes and tee pads cross each other, or share very close proximity to each other. Respect each other out there.

I'm sure that I will get a lot of negative feedback on my review, but I am only being honest about my experience. Thank you to the local club for all their hard work!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful scenery, bad design.

5+    1/16/2013   1/16/2013
Review By: Wayne Disqus
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of technical shots through huge redwoods. There's nice elevation changes on every hole. Very good weather year round. Some rain occurs but is covered by trees for the most part. Locals often come here on bad weather days due to the protection the trees offer from both rain and wind.
Cons: Design is lacking good flow. The transition from 1 to 2 is a good example. After completing 1 the tee for 2 is right next to the pin on a huge log. After teeing off from 2, players must cross past 1's basket again on the way to 2's basket. Similar problems come up throughout the layout. Wouldn't be a great tourney set up. A lot of waiting would be problem. Hitting people with discs could also an issue on a few of the holes that have blind landings. This course eats discs in the ferns. A lot of the holes are short and can be completed with a mid or putter. Not many opportunities to open up.
Other Thoughts: This course has natural tee pads, which I like, but they are poorly maintained on a few holes. Some tee's are squishy. There are some pedestrians and equestrians roaming the forest who cross fairways on occasion. Just recently got a few extra pin locations on 3 or 4 holes that mixed up the layout nicely.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Environment

1    7/7/2012   7/12/2012
Review By: underpar24
Played: 118  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course is placed in the Redwoods and it is absolutely beautiful. Great placement of pins up and down hills. Tight course but not unrealistically tight. Great shade for summer play.
Cons: Course tee boxes are poor.
Hard to navigate for first timers
Other Thoughts: Getting the chance to play in the Redwoods is something to jump on. This is a great course and allows you to hike through Redwoods while you play.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Forest!!

5+    7/9/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: ashmgee
Played: 53  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Putting baskets in for the last six tone poles was a great improvement. This course is beautiful in the redwood forest adjacent to the Arcata community forest. The holes here are typically shorter and technical so accuracy is the key to score well here. Multiple pin locations for many of the baskets provides some longer locations and a good change in difficulty. Tees have been improved some. The course plays on a hillside so the greens in some areas are fast and punishing. Locals are friendly and willing to show people around which is needed on your first time through. In the summer when school is not in the course is generally empty because many people around here enjoy playing the other less challenging courses.
Cons: No bathrooms
Fairways cross on some holes proving to be a hazard
Tough to find your way through the back without a guide the first few times.
Some holes are so technical it almost feels a little "poke and pray"
Will be muddy for much of the year.
Tees although improved, are not great and probably will never be concrete.
Other Thoughts: This course is unlike any course I have played. It is lots of fun and is worth playing if you are in the area. It offers a significantly tougher challenge than the other courses in the immediate Arcata area. Even though it is tough and technical you can score well there if you learn the course.

Over all it is a unique experience that should be checked out if you happen to be in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

18 Baskets are now installed!!!

5+    2/4/2012   2/5/2012
Review By: trashmonster1985
Played: 80  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: OVERVIEW: Extremely fun, but difficult 18 holes! A lot of work has been done recently and despite rumors saying otherwise, there are 18 BASKETS now. The Par Infinity club deserves a lot of thanks and are continually making the course better. Gorgeous walk through redwoods, this course is a unique must for disc golfers everywhere.
Cons:

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Simply Amazing

1    7/23/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: jmp55
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery meets challenging course. I'm still very new to the sport, so this was a bit challenging for me. But since it was so beautiful, it cushioned the blow of my less than stellar score.
I started this sport to get get a little exercise and enjoy some more time with nature. This course really delivered on both.
Cons: A couple of the holes have not been updated to baskets yet. Also, if you have a shot that leaves the fairway, you may find yourself hard pressed to find your disc amongst the foliage.
Other Thoughts: Truly a can't miss course in California! I mean, hole #2 has a tee box atop a massive Sequoia Red Wood Tree stump (at least 10ft tall), how can you beat that?!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The sickest for me yet!

1    9/15/2011   9/20/2011
Review By: Dirt4dinner
Played: 72  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: It's the most unique location, technical, but birdieable', scenic and KICK ASS!
Cons: Not for the newbie looking to figure out how their discs work. This is a pretty technical course that will test a veteran.
Other Thoughts: I'm in love with this course.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.