Arcata, CA 
Humboldt State University Share
Uploaded By: Tolbert Hole #1
-- / --   3 / 207ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket and Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Hucking in the Redwoods

5+    10/2/2008   3/2/2009
Review By: tdluxon
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a really great course... it is tough, with some long and unusual holes through some tight trees. It is also is one of the most beautiful disc golf courses out there, weaving through a beautiful redwood forest (which coincidentally was where the Ewok scenes in Return of the Jedi were filmed). Lots of tough shots, and tons of fun. There is a cool water hazard shot where you have to tee off over a small, muddy pond, and if you have a bad shot are likely to lose your disc into the water. Another really cool feature, is that the tee for one of the holes is on top of a giant redwood stump. Also, some of the best chronic you will find is usually being burned throughout the course... be nice to the locals, you may be rewarded.
Cons: This is very much a homemade course, which was made and is maintained by the locals who play it. As such, it is not as well maintained or professionally laid out as some courses. There are no cement tee pads, or signs, so the course is hard to find your way through if you are playing it for the first time (although everyone up there is really nice... if you get lost just ask, you may make a new friend). I rains all of the time in Humboldt, so the dirt tee-pads, and the course in general is fairly muddy (I recommend hiking boots, or at least some shoes you don't mind getting dirty). Also, the fairways have lots of thick ferns and undergrowth, so it is easy to lose your disc if you aren't careful. Finally, some people are bothered by the fact that most of the course has tone-poles instead of regular baskets, but to me, this is one of the charming aspects of the course, which was literally put together by local players on their own.
Other Thoughts: Great course, tough holes of all sorts, very beautiful, and in Humboldt... what more could you want? I can see how people (like the guy from Maine who gave the course a bad review) would not like it, because, if you are playing the course for the first time, and you don't have someone who knows the course with you to show you around, it would be really hard to find all of the holes, but, once you learn it, this is one of the funnest and most beautiful courses around... my favorite course other than Dela.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Humboldt Paradise

5+    2/19/2009   2/20/2009
Review By: union1mc
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/22/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful, challenging course. New Tone poles on a bunch of the holes. Looks like some new bedding (hard packed gravel?) was laid down recently on the tee boxes, which makes them much more flat and less muddy. Just a downright gorgeous setting that makes it hard to not enjoy yourself, even if your hitting trees all day.
Cons: There are some muddy tee boxes (which is to be expected this time of year) and a couple of just very uneven ones (with nice big roots running through). I really wish we could get all the massive piles of branches/brush out of the fairway on some of the holes. If you are new to this course, it could be one big puzzle as it is not marked out well overall. I've definitely had to help show the way to more then a few people in the past. I've added a hand drawn map (made by Par Infinity) under the "Links/Files" tab, to hopefully help show the way if you are new to the course (hole #19 shown on the map is no longer there btw). Unlike what was posted by a reviewer on here awhile ago that "there are no fairways or tee boxes, etc" there actually are, you just need to know where they are.
Other Thoughts: I've been in Humboldt County the last 10 years and this is by far my favorite course up here. If your visiting the area and would like to play (or shown) any of the courses up here, drop me a PM. I usually play everyday if I have the chance.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Redwood Curtain is Great!!

5+    2/3/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: pinso707
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: It has great technical holes and distance holes too.
Lots of lumber, lots of it! Located in the beautiful Arcata Community Forrest. Funnest course i have ever played that was open to public.
Cons: too many Totem poles

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/19/2009   1/19/2009
Review By: mike shoys
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/18/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -super-epic course. tightly wooded, but there's always some line through...
-lots of tall redwoods with no low branches.
-i personally like the mix of baskets and tone poles.
-course feels pretty isolated for being right next to HSU and close to town.
Cons: -on an off day, this course will demoralize and break you (me) there are plenty of opportunities to hit some branch 50 feet away and screw yourself into a 200 foot approach from behind a few groves of redwoods...
-no teepads. tough to play in the winter, but i played it in december and it was soupy, but i was wearing sandles and kept my socks dry...
Other Thoughts: IF YOU PLAY THIS COURSE HAVE SOMEONE WHO KNOWS IT SHOW YOU, OR FOLLOW A LOCAL... me and my friends had a terrible time the first time through, because we spent 2/3rds of our time looking for holes... once you know it, it flows nicely, with only 2 cris-crossing fairways both on the front 10.

I give this course a 4 only because of tee box condition, lack of signage and two crossing fairways. other than that, I feel this course is perfect in a setting that is second to none.

There is a garbage can at the parking lot, along with a soda machine, no bathrooms. no food within easy walking distance. Its a campus parking lot so check the signs on the way in.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf in Humboldt County

1    1/2/2009   1/11/2009
Review By: MaineCGgolfer
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.5 Years
10 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: The area is beautiful, especially the back 9. The players are friendly. This has the potential to be an amazing course to play, if LOTS of work were put into it.
Cons: There was only one map of where a tee was supposed to be, but when I looked for it, nothing was there. The 'course' is also a bike/hiking trail. Every person I asked about course information had varied information after hole three. 4 of 18 holes do not have baskets. In winter the 'tees' are simply mud flats. What you may think is a sign for the next tee, is more than likely a hiking trail sign. None of the holes have a fairway, you play from where you think the tee is and where you think the basket might be.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is terrible. The most knowledgeable player I talked with said the tees are marked with what looks like a small white bristle brush stuck in the ground. If you are in the mood for a gorgeous hike, smoking pot, friendly conversation and a small chance of playing disc golf this is your course. Aside from that steer clear of HSU's disc golf course!

10 of 29 people found this review helpful.

 Redwood madness

1    6/12/2006   11/4/2008
Review By: Starwraith169
Played: 48  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 11.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It was a gorgeous course in cool ass town. Really technical shots and elevation changes were awesome.On hole 2 you get to climb the side of this massive redwood stump and tee off from the top of it like 10 ft off the ground. Sweet shot. Also, I liked hole 18 "Highway to Hell", I think the locals said.
Cons: Could be confusing playing by yourself the first time, and the gong setup wasnt my bag. Easy to lose your discs on some holes
Other Thoughts: I was on a road trip and was traveling thru, and just happened to catch a Sunday Doubles tourney. Great people to play with.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Old growth forest

7/20/2008   7/21/2008
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: High hikiing trails through the woods with excellent views. Easy to find your discs and decent fairways.
Cons: This course could use a map and markers to help you figure it out. You can easily get lost or shoot at the wrong pins. The shots are a short and straight so be prepaired.
Other Thoughts: The locals are very friendly and informative, always a plus.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Forest Moon of Endor

6/28/2008   7/6/2008
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 246  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Being from the east coast playing a redwoods course was a real treat. Giant trees aside, the course offered many throwing challenges and a wide variety of holes, a couple over water. Large ferns and other plants were fun too and the joke of the day was we were playing on the forest moon of Endor. Also, love the tone poles. A very unique course.
Cons: Course was a little hard to navigate but well worth the time to figure out. A map at the bulletin board could be a huge improvement.
Other Thoughts: Teeing off from on top a huge redwood stump was fantastic. Also the locals we met on the course we a lot of fun. "Welcome to Humbolt County"

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Redwoods, redwoods, and more redwoods

5+    7/25/2012   6/7/2008
Review By: humchris85
Played: 113  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2012
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the most beautiful courses in the world.
Giant Redwoods towering over your head
A fun and challenging course for all.
Lots of different shots will test every throw in your bag.
Lefty and Righty fair
Lots of elevation change.
Many very unique holes that you can't play anywhere else in the world.
Some ace-able holes.
Teeing off of a giant stump on hole 2 is one of the coolest things ever.
Lots of cool people that play here.
Nice new handmade wooden tee signs.
Baskets on every hole now.
Multiple pin positions on most holes
Cons: Some beginners will feel overwhelmed.
Bad shots can put you into very bad places.
*Lots of ferns to eat your discs (the ferns add a lot to scenery)
Tee boxes get a little muddy in winter.
Parking can be a pain in the @$$ when the RSL lot isn't open for parking and HSU is in session.
Trash on the course is a real drag when you're on such a beautiful course.
Other Thoughts: A guide is a must for your first couple of rounds.
Pack your own water and food.
PACK OUT WHAT YOU PACK IN!!
Hole 18, "Stairway to Hell", is a tightly wooded throw over a canyon that is an epic hole.

Edit. Work party on 12/04/10. We got new tee signs on all the holes as well as 2 new baskets on holes 9 (G-Curve) and 10 (Alder Slash), with 2 pin placements on 10. We also cleaned up a larger green on hole 8 (Tunnel Vision), put redwood bark paths in on 8 and 9, put down a hand shredded redwood bark tee pad on hole 7 (Don't Fret), and a wider tee box on hole 18 (Stairway to Hell).

Edit 2012: Baskets now on every hole, with multiple pin positions on most holes. Also tee pads have been further improved and are quite nice now.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.