Maysville, GA 
Hurricane Shoals Park Share
Uploaded By: WAS1 Hole #26
3 / 120ft.   -- / --   3 / 127ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #26 Approach



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
  F this place

1    2/27/2009   2/27/2009
Review By: Hillbilly
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: as the day started I was wondering why everyone gave such bad reviews. the course was decent, scenery awsome, super private.....basicly, I thought it kicked ass for a course in the middle of nowhere. its beautiful and private,
Cons: Things changed quick. the basket by the river....retarded! you will loose a disc there. Then the hillbilly cops came. What frickin redneck idiots these guys where. Not sure if they where even cops ....in camo? never showed any badge? he was "ex dea" harrassed us because he saw beer cans near the parking lot......duh. He tried to search my bag....i told him to show a badge or get a warrant. he claimed "he didn't have to carry a badge or wear a uniform"...I thought i get gunna get hillbilly raped like in Deliverance, then let us go
Other Thoughts: don't go here or anywhere else in Jackson County

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Worst course ever

1    2/6/2009   2/11/2009
Review By: Sea Bass
Played: 54  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.1 Years
20 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Easy to find from highway.
-Plenty of parking
-Course seems seperate from rest of park.
Cons: So many cons and so little space...

-Almost every shot was the same thing over and over.Either 200' sthaight ahead in a open field, or 200' anhyzer through haphazardly cut woods.
-How discs fly was given no thought in hole design.
-There was a basket missing when I played.
-Very poor use of land provided. The land here could be used to make a nice 18 holer, so why cram a bunch of holes so close together?
-Teepads are horrible. In the grass they are ok, but the woods pads are a joke. Roots and rocks and lots of bumps plauge almost every pad.
-Local cops. Usually when I see cops in the park I like it because I know my car will be safe.But here I had one cop walk out on the course to ask me "What are you doing?". Then a few minutes later, on the woods hole near the road, a squad car pulled up with 2 other officers who searched my bag and informed me that "We know all you frisbee guys are potheads." Others have had a similar experience.
Other Thoughts: This is hands down the worst course I have ever played. When I played this course there were thousands of spent shotgun shells on the ground.I think someone tried to put this course out of its misery. Everyone who plans on designing a course should come here to see what not to do. Redundant, boring holes over and over. This course needs a complete redesign.

20 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Strange Design

1    3/4/2008   2/4/2009
Review By: Marc B.
Played: 28  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Cool piece of land. The front 9 play very open with mowed fairways through waist high grass/weeds.The back 18 play much tougher through the woods. Nice view of the river from a few tees. A few cool holes. Course has a lot of potential.
Cons: Only a few cool holes out of the 27 played. Lost discs in high grass on front 9. Some fairways seemed to cross other fairways in woods. Horrible footing on teepads in the woods.Some were at 45 degree angles! Something needs to be worked out on this course. The potential is there for a good layout. I think they should focus on 18 holes and not 27. Some basket placements seemed wack! The mixed baskets were in pretty bad shape as well.
Other Thoughts: Needs some TLC!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Weird

2-4    9/23/2008   12/23/2008
Review By: Galahad
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good for beginners, off the beaten path, minimal interaction with other activities.
Cons: Lame layout, especially in the woods. Should make it an 18 hole course, needs a serious re-design effort.
Other Thoughts: Benefit is that it is a course, but beyond that...it's just weird.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/16/2008   10/16/2008
Review By: rgarcia140
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good variety here; 9-holes in a field with tall grass around the fairways, tight woods play with plenty of turns and trees to dodge. One wicked hole next to the water be careful
Cons: Dogs not allowed. I Believe that dogs should be allowed on courses. I've never heard of dogs not allowed in a park, but here they're not allowed. I think people would be willing to up there dogs' stuff

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing special

12/25/2007   12/25/2007
Review By: mactavius
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Lots of holes to play.
Cons: Lacks variety. First 9 holes are OPEN, then into the woods. Course was designed without disc flight characteristics in mind. Course is not marked well.
Other Thoughts: I don't think they have 27 holes anymore; closer to 23.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.