Maysville, GA
Hurricane Shoals Park Share
Uploaded By: WAS1  
Park Sign



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Would pass it up

1    8/28/2013   8/28/2013
Review By: koak1958
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
Pros: Could not find any. Maybe in the winter
Cons: First 8 holes in open field. Mowed fairways about 6-8 feet wide. Either side of fairway 4-5 foot tall grass. Good luck finding a disc.
No tee signs or next hole directions you are on your on.
Other Thoughts: Looks like course has little or no play. Wood holes covered by vegetation and no clear paths

trying to be nice

1    6/9/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: willyb943
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Pros: I'll get back to ya
Cons: Wow wear your snake boots if you throw off the fairway on the front 8 well nine is still missing you'll find knee high weeds that will stick you and hides ant hills and who knows what else. Danger of the purple plants the thorns are like daggers. We tried to find the tee for ten no luck so we left. The upkeep is not good and the signage is missing on most holes.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hurricane Shoals Review

1    1/10/2011   6/23/2011
Review By: Chain Bangin' Joshua
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 holes of mixed types and styles. Challenging variations in elevation. Quiet area. Front 18 are in the open, last 9 holes in the woods.
Cons: Poor maintenance. Poor guide signs. Heavy underbrush and poor maintenance of wooded paths lends itself to ticks and chiggers. Heavy and hungry mosquito population.
Other Thoughts: Each time I pull into this park, I've been talked to by a passing policeman checking for alcohol, so my impression is that the park has had issues or that the police just patrol the area well. I also recommend bug spray and tick checks if you choose to play the wooded section. This course is like a mixture of Lenora state park and Redan.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Maint Req'd

5+    9/6/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: Bakenstine
Played: 66  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: _Hole 5 Connection!_ (Chillaxation spot before or after hole 5)
-3 nines can be Played independently of each other as they all lead back to parking lot
-mix of open, wooded, heavily wooded, and dogleg holes, with 1 water hazard on 23
-23.... I love this hole, tricky water hazards can make or break you. This basket is under a bridge tucked away, and it is less than 10 feet from the bank's edge. Throw softly and carry a big stick
Cons: UPKEEP! I have played here several times, today was by far the worst. By 21, we had to leave due to too much overgrowth. The field is way too tall for morning disc with the dew factor.
-WASP ALERT! Nests in baskets 4 and 7
-POISON IVY on the much overgrown woods holes, and intense underbrush to avoid
Other Thoughts: Notice nothing negative I said about the course had to do with the play, simply the upkeep. A local community or the county park & rec. should step in to fix this gem of a course.

Local police have been present every time I have played, haven't hassled me personally, but always seem to be watching and slowing down to look in on play. Locals fire off weapons pretty regularly (ruining several shots), but apparently people playing disc present a more serious threat to the community....

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hurricane shoals

1    9/1/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 88  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.6 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is set off from the rest of the park you will not have to worry with other park patrons getting in the way. Plenty of parking close to the course with are nice sign and map showing the layout of the holes. There are enough trash cans around and the course was very clean. The park was very quiet the day I played and I was able to observe a variety of wild life while playing. Holes 10 thru 27 are located in the woods winding around the trees and rolling terrain. There are multiple tees at each hole and a variety of shots are required. A few holes even had multiple pin positions. The baskets are of an older type I am not familiar with but seemed to catch my disc well. Each hole has a home made but laminated sign with distances and direction of the basket. This was very helpful as many of the baskets are not visible from the tee pad. If you are one who likes to throw the disc far with nothing to run into play the first nine. While there are no holes over 350 feet, the place is wide open nothing says you can't pick any basket and throw to it.
Cons: We have to start with the tee pads, the tees are dirt marked with square tiles painted red or blue. I don't personally mind dirt pads but these could use a little maintance as many were uneven. Many of the signs are placed someplace between the red and blue pads, with the faded tiles it was difficult to find the pad at times. The field for the first nine is in need of mowing, and there is a lot of underbrush in the woods so watch your disc carefully or you may have difficulty finding it.
Other Thoughts: The first nine holes are just baskets in a field. Good place for beginners but I skipped them after one and went out into the woods and had a great time. There is nothing longer than 350 feet here, however there are plenty trees to provide challenge in the woods. Some of the lines are pretty tight but there is a line to every basket, you just have to hit it. All is all this is a fun course to play if you are in the area try it out. With a little maintance this course could rate much higher.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Better Not Bring Yo Kids!

5+    9/20/2009   4/6/2010
Review By: ProOffense
Played: 19  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 3/23/2011
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It's just alot of fun. Any local disc golfer appreciate it as, "Well, it's the closest." And thats about all they say about it. Personally, i like it because it's long, and it's kind of a really good workout. All the walking will definately encourage a little sweat. I do enjoy this course, but it's not one i would travel to play.
Cons: Very little thought to disc flight. With that said, it's not the worst planned course. But far from the best. It's just Average... thats it. No WOW factor, except, "WOW are we done yet!" I mean, come on... 27 HOLES!!!!
If you do bring your kids or go with someone elses kids, you will probably not finish the full course, and will get really anal remarks from the youth about why the crap are ya'll still doing this. Tears will probably be included with the comments...
Other Thoughts: Drink an energy drink, bring some comfotable shoes, and tell momma you will be late for dinner. Don't be discouraged though. Just think of it like running a marathon, sucks during, but very glad and relieved after finished.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not too shabby

1    3/27/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: Subicon
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good mix of open and wooded holes
-Well designed course
-Plenty of risk/reward shot opportunities
-Holes and tees are clearly marked
-Nice and quiet course- relaxing
Cons: -No tee pads
-Tons of fire ant hills
-Hole layout diagram signs are cheaply made and some are missing and/or partially torn up
-No benches
Other Thoughts: -Come with a fresh set of legs. This course has a lot of up and down hill walking. I was very tired (played after a long day of work) and couldn't make it through the whole course.
-Lots of opportunities to get in some major shule, so keep your shots nice and tight.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Could use some work

1    5/10/2009   9/10/2009
Review By: MrFixIt
Played: 38  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Unfortunately...
Cons: This course could use some re-design.There wasn't a sense of flow.
No benches or trashcans.(When I played earlier this spring)
No signage.
The (I believe) 27th basket location right at the river/bridge is horrible.
Other Thoughts: Still a course to play.
I am waiting for some of the locals to step in and announce re-vamp.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Don't Bother

1    10/27/2008   2/27/2009
Review By: reggaB
Played: 102  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 29.2 Years
4 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Beautiful Park - Nice scenery
Cons: Too many to go into.
Whoever designed this course has no clue.

All the holes kinda run together. The local "police" here have nothing else to do but harass the disc golfers.
Other Thoughts: Don't bother wasting your time playing this course.

4 of 15 people found this review helpful.

  F this place

1    2/27/2009   2/27/2009
Review By: Hillbilly
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: as the day started I was wondering why everyone gave such bad reviews. the course was decent, scenery awsome, super private.....basicly, I thought it kicked ass for a course in the middle of nowhere. its beautiful and private,
Cons: Things changed quick. the basket by the river....retarded! you will loose a disc there. Then the hillbilly cops came. What frickin redneck idiots these guys where. Not sure if they where even cops ....in camo? never showed any badge? he was "ex dea" harrassed us because he saw beer cans near the parking lot......duh. He tried to search my bag....i told him to show a badge or get a warrant. he claimed "he didn't have to carry a badge or wear a uniform"...I thought i get gunna get hillbilly raped like in Deliverance, then let us go
Other Thoughts: don't go here or anywhere else in Jackson County

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.