Pascagoula, MS 
IG Levy DGC Share
Uploaded By: jbrock Hole #17 (Taken 12/2009)
4 / 420ft.   4 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Drove My Wraith Into The Levy, And The Levy Wasn’t Dry

1    12/17/2012   12/27/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Variable tightness.
Cons:
Quite flat. Single, natural tee locations; single basket positions. Backtrack from basket-9 to tee-10.

Walking paths, playing fields, and recreational areas are quite near a majority of the holes.

While navigation wasn't overly difficult, the course I played December 2012 was a bit different than the October 2007 map. The first twelve holes seem to be as described by the map, then:
- new hole-13 is a short right-turner, basket near the levy, tee in the opening leading to the housing area
- new hole-14 is old hole-13; new hole-15 is old hole-14
- new hole-16 is most of old hole-15, but is shorter, and does NOT cross the water
- new hole-17 has a tee near the restroom, and is a short toss across the water, to old basket-16 (or so it appears to be)
- new hole-18 is old hole-18, so essentially old hole-17 has been eliminated
Other Thoughts:
Course is set upon an odd-shaped (backward-Z) piece of land in a public park, bordered by roads, housing areas, and Navy property (high fence paralleling the right-side of fairway-10 - farewell to your disc if it goes over). The land is perfectly flat, but does contain some large, scattered pockets of trees, and some water hazards.

Roughly half the holes offer some mid-fairway and/or near-basket scattered trees to avoid, about one-third of the holes are open in their (near) entirety, allowing your disc plenty of leeway, and the few remaining holes have multiple trees defining a throwing path throughout their duration. The majority of the holes simply call for straight shots - only a handful of holes require any type of left/right from the tee. Holes range from ~200' to ~500', with an average of ~300'.

Favourite hole: #5, a steady left turner, just under 300'. Trees on the left prevent the disc from going too high, or left too early, while the levy along the right-side awaits any disc that doesn't turn enough.

Worth a play if passing nearby, but not worth a major detour.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Course

5+    7/29/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: Red Ant
Played: 61  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 26.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fun and challenging course. Good mix and variety of shots. Fairly well designed and layed out through the park. The local club was working on remaking some of the tee markers.
Cons: Needs concrete tee pads and hole signs.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Local Course

5+    5/16/2012   5/16/2012
Review By: DiscCoulter09
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It has a great mix of long and short holes, and great use of a creek and the pond. Lots of different wholes and is a great place for beginners and experts alike. The course is beautiful in the spring and summer and the foliage is thick and in the fall and winter is open.
Cons: Tee pads are natural and many are very uneven. Signs for the wholes are always broken or non existent and the baskets are only single chained. Some of the tress and growth get in the way of the fairway.
Other Thoughts: It would be nice to see a course map at the park and scorecards.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good potential

1    7/3/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: Madmoojuice
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Beautiful park with lots of shade.
- Variety of holes for different skills
- Nice park & playground on site for family
- Good use of water on several holes
Cons: - Poor identification of tee's
- No on-site map
- Often difficult to locate the next hole
- One hole is a little close to children playing
Other Thoughts: With little work, this could be a very good course! If you go, make sure to print out and take the map listed under the files/links tab above. Without it or someone who knows the course, you will likely spend half your time trying to find the next tee.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not the greatest

1    3/18/2010   4/9/2010
Review By: Suic
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A somewhat decent variety of holes.
Cons: 1)There is no course map that I know of (and no one in the nature center to even give me a map if there were one)
2)Many of the tees have multiple numbers written on them.
3)The course starts from a back entrance to the park rather than the front
4)Several holes are too close to a playground for comfort
5)not enough long open shots
6)if there has been any rain then several holes turn into marshland
Other Thoughts: It took around an hour or more for me and the guys I was playing with to figure out the course layout. Many of the "tees" were just small flags stuck in the ground that will soon wash away. The only real plus to this course is that it is free. The Shepard State Park course only a few minutes from this one is much better laid out (especially during winter when brush isn't a problem) and more peaceful.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Revamped

1    12/21/2009   12/21/2009
Review By: jbrock
Played: 656  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has a good balance of shots including straights, hyzers and anhyzers. It's a tight, technical course for the most part, but it does have a few holes to grip it and rip it big. It has some beautiful fairways like 5 and 6 that throw alongside water. The park is in a safe area and has restrooms on site. Most of the complaints about this place have to do with the course not having all 18 holes. I just finished a round and all 18 baskets are up and include tee boxes. Baskets 15-18 are brand new.
Cons: The course is still missing solid tee pads and signs. There were flags up, but those won't last very long before they are gone making it difficult for newcomers. You MUST print the map from the "links" tab or pick one up inside the nature center during business hours.
Other Thoughts: The course has some negative reviews from people, but I enjoyed playing here and will do it again when I travel this way. If you go during the right times, you can avoid high traffic from kids playing and soccer games.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 What a Waste

1    3/21/2009   3/21/2009
Review By: Jager
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I absolutely loved the first 14 holes. This course is in a neighborhood atmosphere, so there is plenty of space and you don't have to worry too much about getting stuck in deep woods. Good variety of dofg lefts and dog rights. Some wide open distance holes, and short precision. I loved the grassy fairways, the holes that played along the creek, and the nice walking paths that surround most of the park. with a map this course was verry easy to navigate.
Cons: ONLY 14 BASKETS!!! It looks as if the city took out baskets 15-18. What a shame. Tee's were difficult to find, without a map this course is impossible to play. Because it navigates through a park there were lots of kids running around. Nobody got in my way, but it could happen.
Other Thoughts: This course had so much potential until the disheartining realization that the city destroyed the last 4 holes for reasons I'm not sure of. The 1st 14 holes are fabulouse, but the last four no longer exist. It's a shame because this could have easily been my favorite in the area. If you have the chance I recommend playing it. I still think it's better than Shepard State Park, but the absence of the last 4 holes is devistating.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Well... at leaste it's FREE!

1    10/26/2008   10/26/2008
Review By: ninja-don
Played: 29  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: FREE!!! Had some interesting holes. Did I mention it was FREE... I have a hard time blasting this course for it's down falls when it is free. But all and all the course could be very nice and probably was at one time. "Most" of the Holes are marked with the number, but few of the Tees are marked.
Cons: Construction took out 5 of the holes. # 1 is missing... not sure why, but when you get there and you can't find # 1 it can be a hard time getting started. So if you want to play # 1 I suggest throwing from near the restrooms to Hole # 14 clear across the soccer fields. then you'll be near Tee # 2. at this point you can pretty much follow the map (YOU WILL NEED A MAP) the tees are not well marked and were different numbers at one time. Vandalism and poor upkeep have made the tees hard to find and or read.
There are a lot of people walking through this course so be careful.
There is an incredible playground here, but it puts children to close to play on hole # 5. Holes 15 - 18 are gone because of the construction.
There is basket near tee 13 and hole 12 that is not on the map... no idea what that was for, but we threw from behind Hole 12 to it.
Other Thoughts: Print the High Resolution Map from the links/files part of this course review so that you will have one. We were lucky enough to find one. There is a score card on the other side of the map, but since the majority of the distances are incorrect I didn't scan it for this site. Also the map/scorecard is about 5" by 11" so it's kind of bulky. But I say again YOU WILL NEED A MAP!!!
I was so displeased with this course that I ended up going to Shepard State park again (only 7 miles away) and didn't take any pictures of IG Levy. I doubt I'll ever go back. I'd only play it if I lived next to it.
Lastly... I really do believe that this course at one time was easily a 3.0 - 3.5, but now it's just sad.
To the people who run this park... please fix up the holes that are still playable with some markers, arrows, updated distances etc...

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course

4/28/2008   4/28/2008
Review By: fabots
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great layout. A few holes are a bit challenging due to trees, but overall a good day on the greens. Water hazards on four holes and construction closes three, but alternate tees make up the difference.
Cons: The tree hazards on five holes are a bit to deal with but you can easily deal with them if you go for accuracy instead of distance.
Other Thoughts: I'm kinda biased because it's my home course, but it is worth the walk...

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.