Defiance, OH 
Independence Dam Share
Uploaded By: jbrock Hole #8 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Gone, I Think

1    11/9/2013   11/9/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 155  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 2.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Situated in a beautiful strip park between the dam/ spillway on the Maumee river and a canal, and just past a shelter with a pop machine and bathrooms across the driveway, this "disc golf course" still has one basket out. It might be a positive that they appear to have pulled the course (see other thoughts).
Cons: They've not only pulled baskets (a la Defiance Reservoir), Independence Dam does not have any tee posts remaining, suggesting this may now be an extinct course.
Other Thoughts: Before I get flamed for noting this in a "review", let me explain: I came to town with my wife and daughter to visit the college Open house and play all three 9 hole courses here. Clearly, Independence Dam had its detractors and difficulties as a course. The holes played along the narrow green space on either side of the park drive, with every shot being longer than the distance between the woods lines bordering the river on the south and the canal on the north. Hole 6 played through a children's jungle gym playground, and all the shots were at risk of putting a disc in the water.

I walked the entire length of the course down and back, to confirm that there were no tee posts or baskets, except for the one nice DGA target I saw (hole 8). Having found the sleeve for the 7th pin (looking like it had been cut and wrenched out), I went ahead and 'played' the 8th from there, so technically, I played 100% of the existing course on 11/9/13 (in winds gusting up to 30mph, btw).

Hopefully, the baskets were pulled for another use, and not spirited away nefariously. Personally, I hope they make their way over to the college, which has some wonderful terrain to make a really nice course. But if this is just a seasonal way to pull and store the course, I look forward to seeing updates here on dgcr, and will edit out this "review".

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Straight Straight Straight

1    7/2/2010   7/3/2010
Review By: McGrady
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is in a state park, so it is very well kept, parking is more than adequate and there are other things to do while in the park. The actual course itself is probably the weak point of the park. Would be a decent course to play if you were already at the park, but would avoid this park.
Cons: Course is very boring, it is a long narrow and repetitive course that also has hazard risks. I lost my first disk ever on a relatively basic drive as it nicked a tree branch and sent it flying into the trees next to the river, I assume it rolled its way into the water, but either way after some time searching, I wasn't getting it back. Nearly every hole is exactly the same, a 300-450ft straight shot with little if any obstacles. Holes 1-3 are literally the exact same hole just increasing length, and the rest don't get much better. It really just feels like the park forced the course into the space they had to offer another attraction for the park, but failed at creating a decent playable course.
Other Thoughts: Like I said, if you are at the park for a cookout or something, sure, give it a run through, but anything else, just skip this one, it really is disappointing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 not worth it

5+    6/25/2010   6/25/2010
Review By: zero_43502
Played: 50  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: long holes ,never busy,well kept
Cons: water risk on last few holes are insane a little slip up your disc is gone ,boring layout ,wide open 2 trees come into play but thats it,last basket is in the worst spot a 5 feet wide area with road on one side water on the other ,
Other Thoughts: the design sucks hopefully the remove the baskets and add then to the other defaince course to have a 18 hole course

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/11/2010   6/11/2010
Review By: ejvogie
Played: 61  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained course, as this is a state park. Reasonable challenge for noodle arms such as myself.
Cons: Natural Tees
Tee sign missing for hole 3, I had to guess where to throw from.
Hole 5 plays across a road.
Hole 6 plays around a playground.
Road could come into play on all 9 holes.
Tees were not much more than 50' to the left or right of the previous basket.
Other Thoughts: If your disc goes into the water, it's probably lost forever. However, the river to the right of holes 1-4 and the canal to the right of holes 5-9 are protected by a treeline. Assuming your disc does not go into either treeline, it would be near impossible to lose one. If you're in the Defiance area it's worth a round or three, but don't go out of your way. I would have given this a 2.5, but had to rate lower because of the safety concerns.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/27/2008   12/28/2008
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1142  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 26.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is very narrow, about 150 yards across at the most, with a park-road running down the center.

Holes play out on the right side of the park, then back on the left side of the park.

OB is a serious threat here, as on either side of the park, there is either the Maumee River (and today the river was running pretty good and was higher than it probally is normally), or the Canal that runs around the Independence Dam. Being a LHBT, I thought the course was pretty easy as most of my shots just hyzered into position for a birdie putt.

This course will never be a World Championship style course, but is another course for people to enjoy. And thats a good thing.
Cons: not all tee signs are present, but course is pretty easy to play. Water comes into play when water level of the river is up on the first 4 holes and water comes into play on most of the remaining holes too.

# 6 plays through a kids playground.
Other Thoughts: course # 608. record temps the day I played (65 degrees).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Practice Course

1    4/1/2008   12/16/2008
Review By: OneBallWonder
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 16.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nine holes in an interesting setting. Park is very narrow, about 150 yards across at the most, with a park-road running down the center.

Holes play out on the right side of the park, then back on the left side of the park.

OB is a serious threat here, as on either side of the park, there is either the Maumee River, or the Canal that runs around the Independence Dam.
Cons: Holes lack variety, but that's only because it's in a really small park. If you throw RHBH, your shot will always skip toward the road. If you throw LHBH, your shot will always skip toward the water.
Other Thoughts: Not worth the drive from another area to play. For those visiting Defiance anyhow, bring your discs, it's worth playing. You can put together with the 9-hole course in Bryan Ohio and have a decent day of Disc Golf.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.