Layout Extinct

The Colony, TX 
Bill Allen Memorial Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #5
3 / 261ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Nice course that will get better

5+    5/20/2010   5/20/2010
Review By: matk26
Played: 59  Reviewed: 9
Pros: Nice mix of short shots that will include longer shots with the expanded layout. There are open and more tight shots from what I have seen and the water hazards are not bad enough where you cant get most erant shots back. The city does a great job of taking care of this course.
Cons: Currently there are shorter shots and the course can get a little flooded after rains. Tree branches and trees fall on the course but the city normally removes the debris quickly.
Other Thoughts: This course will be awesome with the new layout. The new holes are going in so some of the holes from the original 9 are not there and there are new pins in place (like on number 3).

  Nice, easy short course

5+    5/10/2010   5/11/2010
Review By: kamezzle13
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Can be fun for both advanced or beginner disc golfers, or especially if you have a mix of players. It can be considered a con as well, but the holes are short enough to take your girlfriend out with you and let her give it a shot. The course is very well manicured and maintained, I have been out there at least 50 times and never have seen the grass the slightest bit high. Not very many opportunities to lose discs, unless you throw wildly or the wind catches it. Only on hole 8 and sometimes 9 do you really have a chance to lose a disc due to water hazards, although i did lose a disc on hole 9 in about 6 inches of water once, unable to see where it landed. For the most part, the course doesn't get too crowded with other golfers. Fun, short, semi-technical throws, can finish the course in about 30-45 mins depending on the amount of people you have and their experience. I play this course regularly, we like to use it to practice, especially if its too windy to throw at other courses. The course has concrete tee pads and easy-to-read signs. I played this course yesterday and they have begun setting up the baskets for the newly designed 18 hole course, cant wait to see what they do with it!
Cons: As mentioned in the 'pros' the course is short, so just about the time you are getting warmed up, the course is basically finished. The only opportunity to really test your arm and throw a long drive comes on hole 8, with most of the other holes being short throws. May not be challenging enough for the more experienced golfers. I've never had a problem parking, but with the expansion of the course to 18 holes, i could see it attracting more golfers, with little space to park.
Other Thoughts: Safe neighborhood, with the ability to see your car from most holes if you are worried about security. I ranked this course a 3.5 because it really is a fun little course, being alot better then some of the other courses in the area. Maybe with the expansion to 18holes will we see some longer or more challenging throws, i believe this is the only thing really holding this course from being in the upper echelon.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  An objective review for my home course

5+    4/25/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: etaine
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short fun drives with lots of ace and birdie possibilities
Great for a quick game and practice.
Very nice walk through the park.
Even though it's not a dedicated golf park people are pretty good about staying out of the way (except on hole 1 sometimes)
Cons: Short drives with technical pieces on only a few holes
By the time you are warmed up it's over.
Gets pretty bad after a rain.
Somewhat annoying attached signs
No bathrooms/fountains/soda or water machines
Other Thoughts: I'm giving this course a 3 although I play it daily.I wouldn't call it my favorite but it really does rank up there (partially because it's spitting distance from my house)
It's a wonderful practice course and I can play through the 9 holes on my lunch break if I want or draw it out and take my time on the weekends. There are a couple fun ace opportunities (hole 4 with a little left hook) and birdies all over. A couple challenging holes if you are trying to beat par (9 for instance)
Overall its just a great little "quickie". I wouldn't go out of your way to play here as there are lots of more challenging courses around DFW but if you are in the area it's a very relaxing walk/play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 link to "new 18 hole design"

5+    3/2/2010   3/2/2010
Review By: kreinartz83
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: fun course good for a quick 9 holes some challenges for newer players, a good variety of shots and hazards
Cons: when it rains it gets very damp and has standing water and can get muddy in spots. but it is manageable
Other Thoughts: http://lsdga.com/maps/thecolony.html
link to the future course design which is underway now and will be finished spring/summer 2010 converting from 9 to 18 hole

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short, But Sweet

5+    1/18/2010   1/19/2010
Review By: Neuey
Played: 27  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some interesting technical shots, lots of ace opportunities, quick play, great park with lots of trash recepticles
Cons: Only 9 holes (although rumor has it they will be installing 9 additional holes), not a lot of opportunities to air it out, basket #9 is (slightly) tilted
Other Thoughts: My friends and I play here regularly because it is close to where we live, and it's also a great course for both inexperienced players to get their feet wet and experienced players to get some solid practice in. Hole #8 is really the only hole where you need a quality long drive, so the rest of the holes are a lot more fun for players who haven't played enough to launch it 300'. While there are a lot of short holes, only two holes (#4 and #7) lack much technicality. And though #4 and #7 aren't particularly challenging, they are very fun to try your best ace throw on - it's always exciting throwing on these because of the potential for anyone to ace. For me and my more experienced friends, this is just a great practice course to get in a quick round after work, or when other plans are involved on the weekend. Hopefully with the expansion to 18 holes, a few long shots will be added to make this course even more interesting. As the course currently stands, I would say this would be a great course to play for beginners and those who live nearby who want to practice. If you're experienced and planning a big trip out to see it, I'd wait until the extra 9 holes are installed. My only real gripe is that the basket on Hole 9 is slightly tilted. It's not enough to ruin the hole, but it's just something to think about when making that last putt.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Course Wears Short Shorts

1    7/29/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was beautiful and had a great community feel to it. This is a birdie haven. I really liked a few of these holes as they took some interesting approach shot type drives. This is a great beginner or short game practice course. Hole #9 takes a real accurate drive to get through the tree line. They did have cement tee pads and signs. Trashcans were readily available.
Cons: The holes were rather short as the title of this review is referring. The signs are actually installed in the tee pad and can be in the way for some. The signs also need to be cleaned up as many of them have been 'tagged." There are lots of people using this park, so watch out for the people. The holes were of the simple design. No bathrooms at this park.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor was just ok for me. It is a great place to make a bunch of ace runs, but that may be about the end of the thrills. I did enjoy the walk, as it is very beautiful, but not much of a challenge.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little neighborhood course

5+    7/5/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 103  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice overall park, very scenic. Concrete tee pads. It has a lot of shade for hot Texas summers. Good use of available terrain with some elevation changes and many trees in play. beginner friendly
Cons: Tee pads are a little short and the signs are on the pads and sometimes in the way. No bathrooms or other facilities at the course. Since I last played the course some trees and vegetation were missing and some of the water hazards were dry changing the character of some holes for the worst.
Other Thoughts: This is a very easy little course but very fun to play. It is beginner friendly and can be a good change of pace for better players. If you want extreme challenge then it is not for you. there are plans in place to make this 18 holes next year some time.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Great way to start my day

1    7/10/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: MilwaukeeMike
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I started at 6:15 am when it was nice and cool (compared to the 100+ degrees) that are planned later in the day. Being a newbie, I enjoyed the short holes, it was fun to play and I wanted to go for another round, but I had an 8 am meeting.
Cons: I had a hard time finding the 2 holes/poles based on the map at the T-pad. I was rushed because of the time constraint of my 8 am appointment. Given more time I should have walked to find the holes before I teed off.
Other Thoughts: I picked this course because it was 9 holes for my "quickie" and because it was close to my hotel (less than 5 miles). I will be back again in a couple weeks on my next planned trip to Plano.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great course layout!

1    1/28/2007   5/28/2009
Review By: Killer B
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course layout! After playing your 9 hole round, you will want to play again. Most of the holes are an easy par 3 and there is only one 400 foot hole. Though this may be an easy course, you still need to bring your skill to the table. There may not be any super long drives, but there are plenty of curves, possible water hazards, and obstructions to work around to make for a fun game.
Cons: If it is summer and it just rained recently, STAY AWAY. It's "Mosquito Heaven" in a Mud Palace. It's great that there are concrete tee boxes but they are very small. For some reason, the tee signs are connected to the tee pad on the left side. This makes it very difficult for you lefties and you wide approach righties. The location is right in the middle of an active neighborhood which may provide minor distractions.
Other Thoughts: Bill Allen Memorial Park is a cool little 9 hole course located North of Dallas in The Colony. As of 2007, this is the only course located between Lewisville and McKinney. If you live in The Colony, Frisco, or North Plano Area, this is a great choice for a quick game or practice.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ace Run City...with your putter

5+    5/3/2009   5/3/2009
Review By: XxInnovaxX
Played: 46  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.1 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: really nice smooth layout, alwyas good for a quick round. well maintained, plenty of trash cans, next tee boxes are close enough its not a long walk bout far enough to be outta the way.

concrete tee boxes...always a plus

great course for begginers. REAL short holes, great confidence booster. or if you have a little more experience just take a putter and practice on your accuracy, really fun in the wind.

good neighborhood, cops patrol every now and then(on the road, not the park).
Cons: very small.

short holes

couple signs on teepads?!?! i dunno why lol

not very technical except for 2-3 holes

not much too it
Other Thoughts: overall this is a very good nine hole course. if you got an extra 30 min give it a shot, but i wouldnt drive out of my way to go play here.

I have heard that this will eventually become an 18 hole course and they are gonna switch up a lot of the park. cant wait!!

playground and basketball court if kids dont wanna play golf with ya.

water hazards on 4 and 9, but easily retrievable

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center