Layout Extinct

The Colony, TX
Bill Allen Memorial Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #4
3 / 161ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
  18 Holes Coming

5+    4/22/2009   4/23/2009
Review By: Orbital08
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 9 holes and plays fast, recently saw (April 22nd) the layout to make Bill Allen Memorial Park an 18 hole course and is in the works with the city of The Colony now.
Cons: Short teeboxes but still reasonable, Gets really muddy after it rains, joggers and kids populate the area sidewalks/playgrounds, people are very friendly though.
Other Thoughts: Parking could be a problem once it goes to 18 holes, already an issue now, and I dislike parking in front of someones home. Don't want to disgruntled a nice neighborhood.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Beginner

5+    3/5/2009   3/6/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 12.8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good luchtime course. Very well manicured compared to what it used to be. Very short so beginners can play and boost their confidence!! A bunch of hyzer shots(RHBH) but has some annys in there too. You can play it VERY fast. Fun to go out and try out the other arm.
Cons: The tee signs are on the front of the pad so they are kind of annoying but not really in the way. The water is nasty when up but pretty dry now. And the water smells bad even though its just puddles now.
Other Thoughts: WATCH OUT for snakes!!! Playground and basketball court there too.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/8/2009   1/9/2009
Review By: chopz33
Played: 72  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: very nicely landscaped 9 hole course...i live within walking distance from this course and play several days a week. good pin location and maps of the hole
Cons: some of the water hazards on 4 and 8 have a disctinct smell on windy days
Other Thoughts: course is in a park that also has picnic table and a play area for kids

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nifty Nine

1    11/28/2008   1/6/2009
Review By: fly_hyzer
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course with a good mix for only nine holes. All the holes are short, but make use of obstacles and hazards well. This was an enjoyable course for myself (moderately advanced player), my dad (beginner @ best), and my mom who just walked it with us. Basically, this is to say that the course offers enough challenge to be enjoyable for players of varying skill ranges, as well as being tolerable by a 3rd party (ie, mom, ladyfriend, roommate w/ no coordination...) that may just want to walk the course while others play.

Course has versatility with room to create your own expanded holes, not alot (any) traffic while I was there, which is a plus for this course. Has one slightly elevated tee pad and a b-ball court in the middle of it, if you feel like hooping it up after your round. Also a plus is that the course plays back to parking area, well laid out course with good use of land
Cons: Tee pads are small even before the signs get in the way...signs are anchored into the tee pad concrete, which is quite frankly one of the dumbest things I have ever seen on a disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: Course is versatile in the since that there is room around the tee pads to make your own "launch spot" or pro-tees-ish. I turned that 1st hole into a 400 ft, and pretty much just kept foot-marking a line in the grass 15-100' behind the tees, this kinda helps turn a good 9-hole into an ok 18 that plays super fast. If you're in The Colony play this course, it's worth it atleast once, nothing super special, but fun never-the-less.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun 9 hole Course

2-4    8/21/2008   9/27/2008
Review By: Tortoise
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a nice 9 hole course that is a very achievalbe Par. I played this course a few times on my way home from work. It took me about 30 minutes every time. The course is well maintained and in a nice neighborhood. All the signs are there and accurate. There are trees as obsticales on most of the holes. I ecspecially like 8 and 9. The tee pad for 8 is on a hill about 20 feet up and there is an open fairway. So you can really get a nice looking long drive. The basket is in a group on trees on the other side of the fairway. 9 is probably the most difficult hole on the course. There is a large tree on the right hand side and a large tree close the basket on the left hand side. So if your right handed and throw the classic S curve from the tee you can watch your disc go around the first tree make its way back to the right, float around the other large tree, and end up close to the basket for a birdie. In a prefect world that is. Over all this is a great little course for someone looking to play a casual round.
Cons: I had a little trouble finding the 3rd and fourth tees. There is a also a drainage ditch with some pretty nasty smelling water in it on hole 4 or 5.
Other Thoughts: I will definetely keep stopping by this course. I usually leaves a relaxing care free feeling after a long day.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing spectacular but great signs.

4/10/2008   7/18/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads and such informative signs were awesome. Pretty open and good variety of shots, some very short, made it fun.
Cons: Had to skip a few holes because I did not want to walk across a couple of soggy floodprone fields.
Other Thoughts: Play this course during a drought and you'll be fine.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bill Allen Memorial Park

7/3/2008   7/3/2008
Review By: climber3201
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Overall a very nice course.Well maintained. Cement tees. Nice mix of trees and open space. Course moves very quickly. Walks between holes are short. Par is relatively easy to score. Signs at each tee are accurate and in good condition.
Cons: The sign poles at the tees are inconvenient obstacles in throwing. Holes are very short, most are 250 ft. or less.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.