Frankfort Square, IL 
Indian Boundary South Park Share
Uploaded By: erickmj Hole #1 (Taken 10/2011)
-- / 200ft.   -- / --   3 / 200ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Scruffy little course

1    11/14/2009   11/23/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 751  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small flat park with a few scattered trees and a nice little pond. The larger trees come into play on a couple holes, and a couple others have a few small trees to keep it from being completely wide open. The pond and creek are not really in play, though they could possible catch really errant drives. Though most of the holes are pretty short, there are a couple with more length that allow you to throw a drive.
Cons: There isn't really a whole lot of interest going on with this course. It looks pretty scruffy, with a muddy weed filled field as the fairways, a mucky creek, and some longer weeds along the sides. The pond looks nice, but unfortunately doesn't come into play.

Other than a couple longer holes, all the shots here are short and straight and don't offer any challenges. The tees are terrible, short asphalt tees with large wooden posts laid across the front end to prevent any follow through if you want to use the tee. The signs seem to have inaccurate distances, though all the holes are easily visible from the tee so the signage isn't as important.
Other Thoughts: This is an ok place for beginners, though it won't offer any challenge to learn different shots. More experienced players won't find much to enjoy here, it's a pretty boring course in a mediocre park. Definitely don't drive out of your way to play this one, it's only worth it if you happen to be right in the area and want to play a new course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/14/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: trimixjoe
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good pads, not to hard to navigate for a beginner...good for kids and beginners!
I like the creek, and pond but you really would to have to be a bad thrower to miss these baskets.
Cons: #3 the soccer field I had to skip due to soccer practice...poorly planned basket
Also the #3 sign states 30 ft to basket and no par indicator

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 C- = a little below average for a 9 holer

1    7/31/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == D (Wide open and not long enough where it is not conceivable to card more than a 3. No punishment dished out by the course, no decision making needed.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == C+ (Several of the holes are in the challenging length for me - 280-340'. Problem is, there is nothing that forces you to shape shots in any particular way.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == D (Not wooded, not shaping, flat as a pancake)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C- (A few scraggly trees in a weed-infested field. The pond is kinda nice and it is away from the hustle bustle.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Cons: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Youth Course

5+    6/6/2007   7/13/2009
Review By: WindyCityROCer
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is usually well kept, as it's in a multi use park.

Creek on hole 1, and long grass on 5 are the only places to lose discs (unless you have a really poor shot on 6 and it goes over fence/into a yard).

Baskets in good shape.
Cons: VERY short, the longest hole is 350ish.

Dangerous asphalt tees w/4x4's in FRONT of pad, very easy to injure yourself by tripping on them.
A FEW trees come into play on 4 holes, otherwise the course is wide open.

Distance to Hole 9 is wrong, it was accidentally measured to hole 2 basket (past 9), so sign is about 60' off.

Multi-use park, primarily for soccer I've seen as many as 4 holes unplayable due to games.
Other Thoughts: Not much to offer for anyone other than youth or beginner. Makes an ok place for fieldwork/practice. Drainage is also very poor, and the backside of the course lends itself to ducks, and their droppings.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.