Disc Golf Store
Ottumwa, IA 
Indian Hills Community College Share
Uploaded By: CwAlbino Hole #12 (Taken 9/2009)
4 / 250ft.   4 / 350ft.   4 / 355ft.   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Potential

1    6/4/2011   8/26/2011
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Environment: I am a sucker for a college course. I enjoy the campus atmosphere, and this is an excellent way to introduce students to the game. I know this could be a "con" if you were attmepting to play at 1:00 pm on a Thursday, but given that this is a Community College, weekends probably leave the course fairly uncrowded.

Design: There was plenty of variety here. Ponds and fountains were used well. There is a lot of elevation for a course in a relatively flat region of the country. While there are no true wooded holes, mature trees and groves provided acceptable obstacles.

Equipment: Tee pads and baskets were all in good condition. I expect that being on campus helps contribute to the lack of vandalism. There are very few points on the course that are out of vision from a campus building.

Challenge/Length: On our excursion, this course stood out as one that has a fair amount of both factors without being overbearing. There are some long holes. There are some tight fairways through groves. There are even some ace runs in the mix. In short, this course does not cater to a specific type of disc golfer...and for a campus course, this is a great attribute.
Cons: Construction: I played this course with bjreagh (which is typically the case) and there was a lot of campus construction going on. At least 4 holes that I can remember were affected in some manner.

Semi-trailers on hole #11: These were simply an eyesore. I went ahead and threw over top of them. (I didn't see a "mando" listed) If there is no mando on this hole, playing over the parking lot is a big risk/reward as your shot covers OB nearly its entire flight path...but that route is much more "open".

Hole #3 groundskeeping (across the pond): There was absolutely no semblance of a landing zone across the pond on this hole. All it would take is some weed-eating to identify the desired path or landing areas. Instead, you simply throw across a pond to a forested hillside with tall grass and ground cover. This hole could be beautiful...but it was pretty nasty-looking the day we played it.

Lack of the "Wow Factor": While the course is well-designed and challenging, there wasn't a hole where I stepped to the tee and thought 'this is an amazing hole'. Lots of good holes, but no great holes.

Navigation/Confusion: There are a few spots where multiple baskets are visible from the tee, and it can get a little confusing. There are also some places where campus roads and parking lots must be crossed between holes. These instances are fairly negligible to me, but I list them because others may find this information useful.
Other Thoughts: IHCC is the home of a "very good" disc golf course. The atmosphere is relaxing. The scenery is very nice (sans construction) and the course is fairly well maintained. The strength here is in the lack of "filler" holes. I never got the feeling that any of the holes was only serving the purpose of getting from Point A to Point B. While there are not any epic holes on the course, the overall level of the course is solid.

Ottumwa seems like a quiet little place. we had a hard time finding food as the downtown area looked really run-down. In any case, the town is off the beaten path a little bit. While IHCC is a good course, I am not sure I would call it a "destination" course as was indicated in some earlier reviews. If you happen to be in the area, however, give this course a shot and I doubt you will be disappointed.


8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of water and trees and fun

1    9/19/2010   8/25/2011
Review By: RockStarValkyrie
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 16.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well maintained, lots of trash cans, no litter, nice tee pads, landscaped nicely, lots of differing and challenging holes
Cons: Water and trees everywhere, lots can go wrong here from losing discs to ruining your score because of all the obstacles, $5 tag to play
Other Thoughts: Very nicely designed and maintained, you can tell a lot of effort went into this and continues to go into this, nicer than most park courses as far as maintenance and amenities go

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/25/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: bengalsfan11
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained campus. Challenging shots. Trash cans at every tee. Baskets well marked at tees.
Cons: Large ponds are very hard to avoid and very easy to lose discs. Heavily wooded holes (fair amount) also present a hazard to losing discs. $5 tag to play. Spread out over campus so it takes quite a while to play.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great college course

1    6/4/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Indian Hills CC is home to a very nice 18 hole course generously spread throughout the grounds of this beautiful and clean campus. College campuses often make great places for courses, and this is one of the best college courses I have played. It plays like you would expect for a college or a park- well-manicured fairways with mature isolated trees as the primary obstacles. There are also 3 ponds that you must throw over/around and roads and parking lots that play as O.B. There is some thick rough in spots, but not on every hole. There are elevation changes on most holes in the form of rolling hills.

The course has 2 sets of concrete tees, 1 set of tee signs, and excellent baskets. Navigation was pretty easy without a map. (*See Other) Hole design is good, with very little repetition.
Cons: For about half of the holes the only true challenge was just length with ample room to work your disc. If there were obstacles like a tree or a pond, they were pretty easy to avoid.

There were no signs at the short tees, making them a little harder to find and making you have to stop by the long tee first if you were playing the shorts. The signs were difficult to decipher with the A, B, a, b in different colors with not flight lines. They are a little jumbled and overwhelming.

There was not a course map available, on-line or at the course. There were a couple of spots where there were longer walks and tees where throwing at the wrong basket is possible. Some holes have a 3rd tee, but we only found 1- on hole #2. A map would have been a nice aid (thankfully some locals gave us a few navigational tips before we began.)

$5 seems a bit much to play a college course, however the day we played in June we never found anybody to pay.

There were some old semi trailers parked just off hole 11 that were ugly. There was a construction project disrupting hole 11. Both of these detracted from the overall beauty found on the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: Navigation tips:
#5 tee is up hill over concrete bridge
#8 you see 9's basket on the left, 8 basket is blind to the right
#11 tee is down the road from 10, cross the parking lot

I enjoyed playing this course, and it is recommended for players of just about any skill level. It is challenging enough for experienced, but not impossible for newer players. It favors length over accuracy. However, I was a little disappointed with its near 5.0 rating expecting something unique and amazing. Indian Hills CC is a solid course, but it is probably not a top national disc golf destination as there is nothing super special here. I give it a strong 3.5 (Very Good) as it definitely worth playing if you are in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 10/1/11 Update

5+    10/15/2010   10/21/2010
Review By: DGman
Played: 42  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 26.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/2/2011
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A very nice course on the campus of IHCC. Lots of mature trees create a fairly challenging course. There are water hazards on holes 2, 3, 12 and 13. Hole fourteen is a 661 foot par 5 with some nice elevation in play. Most of the course is fairly flat with the exception of hole 2 which is a slight downhill over a pond and hole 3 which is an uphill over a pond with a nice swinging bridge to cross. There is a good mix of shots otherwise with a few nice open holes where you can air it out. They are alternate tees on 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 9, 10, 12 and 13. No real worries about loosing a disc except from the long tees on the water hazard holes. Campus is usually well maintained.

***The baskets are currently in the long positions***
Cons: Hole 3 is often over grown in the summer on the basket side of the pond and full of leaves in the fall.
Lots of construction projects have left the course in a mess...
The short tee on 4 is now cracked.
There are several semi trailers in the parking lot to the right of hole 11 which eliminates a hyzer shot around all the trees.
The fairway on 14 has been torn up and the short tee pad is gone.
Very busy campus Mon-Thurs 7- 4:30
Other Thoughts: $5 bag tag required. Good for one year. Can be purchased from the book store across the road from #1 tee or from security.
FYI...there is no smoking on the campus and alcohol restrictions.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.