Columbia, MO
Indian Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: Mind Expansi0n Hole #18 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 388ft.   4 / 388ft.   3 / 388ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee: The hole plays directly through the gap in the trees (there is a safer left lane) - with the basket being located in the next grouping of trees ~150ft after the gap.



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great Course

2-4    5/14/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 99  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Large variety of holes and shots on the course. The first 8 or so holes are fairly wide open but with obstacles and doglegs on most of the holes, after 8 or so the course starts going through some woods which leads to some great tight shots that require accuracy until hole 18 presents another open shot to a basket in a guarded pin position
-Decent range of distance with holes ranging from right around two hundred feet all the way up to a little over 400 hundred feet.
-Good tee-pads and decent baskets on the course
-Several benches throughout the course
-The course provides a lot of shade on the back nine for those hot Missouri days
-The course does a good job of steering clear of other park users and you never really have to worry about interfering with other park users, and the holes never cross fairways which is nice
-The course will punish you for going off the fairway on many of the holes, which is nice because it rewards accuracy
Cons: -The tee-signs are a little outdated and not the most helpful and two of them were missing.
-For the most part the flow of the course is pretty easy to follow but there are a few spots where you can get turned around and several of the holes have a decent walk between them which can lead to getting turned around while looking for a few holes (I suggest taking a map the first time you play)
-In the summer the course gets a lot of thick rough on the side of the fairways that could lead to some lost discs.
-Not the best part of town but its also not the worst part of town either.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course to play when I visit Columbia. It provides a great variety of shots and a good amount of challenge without getting to frustrating or unfair. During the hot summer months make sure you bring a good amount of water with you. If you are stopping in Columbia or nearby definitely make sure you stop by and play this course, it is definitely worth it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best of Columbia

5+    3/28/2012   4/19/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 105  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 8.7 Years
Pros: Secluded park not much traffic. good teepads, mach 3 baskets. good flow of course. some trashcans. Test of ability
Cons: No benches, signs are a little dated, neighborhood a little sketchy but if you park on the backside and start on 6 OK, sketchy neighbor hood leads to trash bummer try and help a piece here and there helps.
Other Thoughts: I love this course, best play in como, will test your skill set. A lot of people say a poke and hope course but with a heavily wooded course what you learn is risk reward how to get up and down. Cool thing final 9. 6-7 par 4 tall grass OB, 5-6 par 3 sidewalk tall grass OB, 7-5 par 3 tall grass OB, 4-2 par 3 tall grass OB, 3-1 par 4, by 1 basket to 18 par 3, 1-3 par 5 tall grass OB E-W sidewalk OB, S in sidwalk on 3 fairway to 4 tall grass OB par 4, by basket 4 to 3 par 4 tall grass sidewalk OB

Challenging

5+    11/14/2011   11/17/2011
Review By: rfdiscer32
Played: 114  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/31/2012
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Challenging but Fair. Every hole has a fairway even though they are not easy to hit.
-Great Mix of shots are needed to be successful
- Variety to the hole lengths 150-450 ft.
-Par is a good score ~1000 rated
-Accuracy and distance are of equal importance to score well
-Sitting areas on many of holes
-Signature Holes would be 2,4,9,11,12,15,16
Cons: -Could use updated tee signs
Other Thoughts: I would park near hole 6 because the neigborhood is much better.

You can create an epic safari course on this property as well.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Be ready for a challenge...

1    7/10/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A VERY difficult course with a good variety of holes. Most holes are extremely wooded with not very wide of a fairway to hit. But the open holes give you a break from all the crazy shots. I personally think the open parts are the strong point of this course. The wooded holes have very think roughs. If you get in there, you will be lucky to save par. There are a few holes where the top is open, but the lower part is very tight. It makes you feel like your not creeping around in the woods as do other technical courses.
Cons: Definitely not recommended for new players. Every hole is extremely difficult. Signs aren't very good. Navigation can be an issue. I wish I could play better...
Other Thoughts: I would love to play this course some other time, but at a tournament never seeing it before: not fun. I still think it's a great course...

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The better course.

1    10/3/2010   8/3/2011
Review By: mcooley
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good technical course with some great wooded holes. Nice variety of shot type demanded. I'll play this one again when I go back there.
Cons: A little tough to navigate, and I'm not a huge fan of concrete tees, but they'll last.
Other Thoughts: A better course, overall than Albert Oakland, which I've played a couple times.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Indian Hills!

5+    4/29/2011   4/30/2011
Review By: Mind Expansi0n
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Usually quiet, the fairways are often maintained, decent baskets, a variety of shots to challenge the player, nice private benches where you can take a break with plenty of shade, demanding of accuracy and good for shaping your game. Friendly and fun loving people are typically found here; B-Holes are #5 tee and #10 tee.
Cons: Trash (lack of trashcans), tends to be a bit muddy/wet, thorns and lack of top notch maintenance. Discs can be lost here, as with anywhere, but Indian Hills is full of particularly vicious cedar trees of various shapes and sizes. Lack of signage (bring a map if you've never played it!)
Other Thoughts: Difficulty: Intermediate - Pro. This is where I learned to play DG - I prefer it over the Oakland Park courses here in Columbia. It's more challenging, less crowded, and features longer holes. Bring your midranges, you are going to need them. Definitely worth playing - great 'private' feel to it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

technical challenge

5+    8/18/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: VictorB
Played: 56  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2012
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: High technical challenge, a true pro level course for the area. If you like a challenge, this is the course for you. Lots of tight fairways, coupled along with some 400'+ open holes. This course is not for the faint of heart! It offers a challenge that is unlike most anything in Missouri.

While the holes might be tough, every single hole and placement is birdie-able, no matter how tough it might seem at first.
Cons: Lack of tee signs, and trash cans, both an effect of the neighborhood it is located in - not the best part of town for sure. No updated signs as of May2012. Trash cans are the responsibility of the city P/R dept, but they have been stolen over and over again, so I think they gave up.

This course might offer too much of a technical challenge for casual or novice players - but is a supreme test of skill and accuracy for adv ams and pros.
Other Thoughts: The best course in Columbia, but unfortunately gets overlooked due to the neighborhood it is in, and the 36 hole park at Oakland.

A lot of work has been put in this season to make it a little more friendly for everyone to come play.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Not what I expected.

1    7/26/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: jesse_v_m
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.9 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Not too much underbrush so it is easy to find your disc if you happen to throw it in the woods on some of the very tight holes. Also is nice because it has marked baskets and concrete tees. Also, there is a decent variety of holes.
Cons: Well...there are many more cons than pros. the course is not well up-kept and is not clearly marked. We had to park by hole 17 and find our way to the start.

The holes are not well designed as many baskets are just thrown in a mess of trees 300 feet from the tee.

It is a nice idea that each basket points you in the direction of the next tee, but the arrows can be moved and many were so that they did not point in the right direction...which is a huge problem.

There are a few holes that are so tightly designed that it is pretty much inevitable that your disc will bounce off of a tree into plenty potential poison ivy and oak.

Some of the holes are set up so that you WILL lose your disc in high grass and trees if you throw anything other than a miracle.
Other Thoughts: All in all, has some decent parts but also needs a lot of work for me to think of coming back there again. If you've never been there and are considering...pick another place.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Indian Hills

2-4    6/29/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: kcRhyno
Played: 53  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: a beautiful course that makes you feel like youre in the middle of the country, very peaceful. a great varity of holes from long hyzers to short tunnels. great tee pads, well use of park and OBs and very well maintaned and groomed. a very fun course that will challenge every golfer.
Cons: couldnt find too many cons out here. there where no tee signs and at times could be tricky to navigate from tee to tee. also if you are unfamilar with the course, you will want to walk the fairway to find the basket first. it also lacked trash cans, it had a couple, but it could have used more. parking wouldnt normally be an issue, but i could see it causing some problems for tournies.
Other Thoughts: 3 of us made a road trip from KC to check out the 3 local courses. we played oakland top and back, and figured we would play Indian once then return to play the Back course because we enjoyed it so much. after the 4th hole we new right then adn there we had to stay and play another round, it really is a great course, i highly recommend playing it if passing by, or to make a small raod trip for it

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Glad to find this course

1    5/2/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: green_hornet915
Played: 86  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is at the top of my list it has the best of both worlds here. You like to pitch your disc out there you have the frount nine if you want the tight alleys play the back nine. I can not say enough about the layout take a spotter on some of the holes you are going to need one very tight holes and kindof grown up.
Cons: A brush hog could be used so lesser players can find there discs it is rough if one hits the brush on the back nine you could be saying good bye to your fav disc.
Other Thoughts: If some of the holes had some clearing done not much but just enough to be able to enjoy the time and find that errend shot this would be a great course for all to play and have fun.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.