Columbia, MO 
Indian Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: Mind Expansi0n Hole #8 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 259ft.   4 / 259ft.   3 / 259ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee: This signature hole of the course plays straight down into a grove of cedars with small clearings on the left - while the right is relatively unobstructed before ending in a clearing just before an OB path ~ 250ft. Think 'overhand'!



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Course

2-4    5/14/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 122  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Large variety of holes and shots on the course. The first 8 or so holes are fairly wide open but with obstacles and doglegs on most of the holes, after 8 or so the course starts going through some woods which leads to some great tight shots that require accuracy until hole 18 presents another open shot to a basket in a guarded pin position
-Decent range of distance with holes ranging from right around two hundred feet all the way up to a little over 400 hundred feet.
-Good tee-pads and decent baskets on the course
-Several benches throughout the course
-The course provides a lot of shade on the back nine for those hot Missouri days
-The course does a good job of steering clear of other park users and you never really have to worry about interfering with other park users, and the holes never cross fairways which is nice
-The course will punish you for going off the fairway on many of the holes, which is nice because it rewards accuracy
Cons: -The tee-signs are a little outdated and not the most helpful and two of them were missing.
-For the most part the flow of the course is pretty easy to follow but there are a few spots where you can get turned around and several of the holes have a decent walk between them which can lead to getting turned around while looking for a few holes (I suggest taking a map the first time you play)
-In the summer the course gets a lot of thick rough on the side of the fairways that could lead to some lost discs.
-Not the best part of town but its also not the worst part of town either.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course to play when I visit Columbia. It provides a great variety of shots and a good amount of challenge without getting to frustrating or unfair. During the hot summer months make sure you bring a good amount of water with you. If you are stopping in Columbia or nearby definitely make sure you stop by and play this course, it is definitely worth it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best of Columbia

5+    3/28/2012   4/19/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 109  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9.1 Years
Pros: Secluded park not much traffic. good teepads, mach 3 baskets. good flow of course. some trashcans. Test of ability
Cons: No benches, signs are a little dated, neighborhood a little sketchy but if you park on the backside and start on 6 OK, sketchy neighbor hood leads to trash bummer try and help a piece here and there helps.
Other Thoughts: I love this course, best play in como, will test your skill set. A lot of people say a poke and hope course but with a heavily wooded course what you learn is risk reward how to get up and down. Cool thing final 9. 6-7 par 4 tall grass OB, 5-6 par 3 sidewalk tall grass OB, 7-5 par 3 tall grass OB, 4-2 par 3 tall grass OB, 3-1 par 4, by 1 basket to 18 par 3, 1-3 par 5 tall grass OB E-W sidewalk OB, S in sidwalk on 3 fairway to 4 tall grass OB par 4, by basket 4 to 3 par 4 tall grass sidewalk OB

Challenging

5+    11/14/2011   11/17/2011
Review By: rfdiscer32
Played: 120  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/31/2012
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Challenging but Fair. Every hole has a fairway even though they are not easy to hit.
-Great Mix of shots are needed to be successful
- Variety to the hole lengths 150-450 ft.
-Par is a good score ~1000 rated
-Accuracy and distance are of equal importance to score well
-Sitting areas on many of holes
-Signature Holes would be 2,4,9,11,12,15,16
Cons: -Could use updated tee signs
Other Thoughts: I would park near hole 6 because the neigborhood is much better.

You can create an epic safari course on this property as well.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Indian Hills!

5+    4/29/2011   4/30/2011
Review By: Mind Expansi0n
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Usually quiet, the fairways are often maintained, decent baskets, a variety of shots to challenge the player, nice private benches where you can take a break with plenty of shade, demanding of accuracy and good for shaping your game. Friendly and fun loving people are typically found here; B-Holes are #5 tee and #10 tee.
Cons: Trash (lack of trashcans), tends to be a bit muddy/wet, thorns and lack of top notch maintenance. Discs can be lost here, as with anywhere, but Indian Hills is full of particularly vicious cedar trees of various shapes and sizes. Lack of signage (bring a map if you've never played it!)
Other Thoughts: Difficulty: Intermediate - Pro. This is where I learned to play DG - I prefer it over the Oakland Park courses here in Columbia. It's more challenging, less crowded, and features longer holes. Bring your midranges, you are going to need them. Definitely worth playing - great 'private' feel to it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Indian Hills

2-4    6/29/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: kcRhyno
Played: 53  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: a beautiful course that makes you feel like youre in the middle of the country, very peaceful. a great varity of holes from long hyzers to short tunnels. great tee pads, well use of park and OBs and very well maintaned and groomed. a very fun course that will challenge every golfer.
Cons: couldnt find too many cons out here. there where no tee signs and at times could be tricky to navigate from tee to tee. also if you are unfamilar with the course, you will want to walk the fairway to find the basket first. it also lacked trash cans, it had a couple, but it could have used more. parking wouldnt normally be an issue, but i could see it causing some problems for tournies.
Other Thoughts: 3 of us made a road trip from KC to check out the 3 local courses. we played oakland top and back, and figured we would play Indian once then return to play the Back course because we enjoyed it so much. after the 4th hole we new right then adn there we had to stay and play another round, it really is a great course, i highly recommend playing it if passing by, or to make a small raod trip for it

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Glad to find this course

1    5/2/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: green_hornet915
Played: 100  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is at the top of my list it has the best of both worlds here. You like to pitch your disc out there you have the frount nine if you want the tight alleys play the back nine. I can not say enough about the layout take a spotter on some of the holes you are going to need one very tight holes and kindof grown up.
Cons: A brush hog could be used so lesser players can find there discs it is rough if one hits the brush on the back nine you could be saying good bye to your fav disc.
Other Thoughts: If some of the holes had some clearing done not much but just enough to be able to enjoy the time and find that errend shot this would be a great course for all to play and have fun.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 eh or neh?

5+    4/30/2006   7/30/2009
Review By: dirtydmix
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long, short, and medium holes. there even is a tomahawk throw i had to use on hole 17. I love the way that you have to walk quite far on this course. (some may think that this is a con). But, i love to get something more outta playing than just throwing.
Cons: no maps. until you learn the course you will walk around a bit on the first couple of times.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to play on. By far a favorite of mine. We had a great time. The best pro about this course is that it gives you a wide variety of different holes.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tough on a windy day

1    4/26/2009   4/26/2009
Review By: Chucktown
Played: 18  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really liked this course for its diversity of hole lengths and obstacles. The first 12 holes or so play mostly through open areas with big pine trees on each side. The next 5 holes are in some open woods and some really tight woods. The wood holes are not easy, they are short but they are really easy to bogey or double bogey. Despite the name "Indian Hills" the course is nice a flat, easy to walk, you could play 36 holes easily and not be too tired.
Cons: The course really needs a map or new tee signs that show the path of the hole. Many times I had to walk quite a ways to find out where the pin is. Trees are a big problem here, you really have to be able to throw straight every drive.
Other Thoughts: Love this course, could play it over and over again.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.